DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-9, 11-19, 21-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11, 13-16, 19, 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fyfe et al. [US 20190363568] in view of Kato et al. [US 20170012455].
As to claim 1. Fyfe discloses A memory device for a human-powered vehicle, the memory device comprising:
a memory, [fig. 2, 0037] data hub 102 integrated with a bicycle 103 comprises a memory 222;
a first communicator configured to perform communication with at least one component provided on the human-powered vehicle, [0025, 0028] the data hub receives signals from data sources 120 integrated with the bicycle 103, including onboard sensors, which requires a communicator to receive the data from the sensors; and
an electronic controller, [fig. 2, 0037] processor 220, configured to control the memory, [fig. 5, 0070-0072] processor stores data from sensors into the memory data buffer 246, [0037, 0072] processor controls storage of data, so that the memory stores log-related information, [0083, 0084] hub 102 stores information related to the bicycle in the memory 222, received from the at least one component, [0083] information received from sensors on the bicycle;
the electronic controller being configured to control a second communicator, [fig. 2, 0035] communicator 214, so that the second communicator transmits the log-related information stored in the memory to a component that is separate from the memory device, [0055, 0064, 0073] send stored information to a server,
the electronic controller being configured to control, [0037] processor 220 implements the functionality of the hub 102, [0042, 0072] and controls the reading of onboard sensors, the at least one component to transmit the log-related information to the memory device upon determining that the at least one component has been operated by a user, [0036] power meter on a crank of the bicycle sends sensed power applied to a pedal, and
the electronic controller being configured to control the memory to store the log-related information upon receipt of the log-related information from the at least one component, [0037, 0072] processor controls storage of data, [0083, 0084] store log-related information in the memory.
Fyfe fails to disclose wherein the first communicator communicates through a first communication line.
Kato teaches a bicycle system comprising local components 10, 20, [fig. 1], wherein the components communicate through a power line communication line 50, [fig. 1, 0069].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fyfe with that of Kato so that the system can communicate with onboard and local components reliably.
As to claim 2. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, further comprising a base, the memory being provided on the base and the base being configured to be arranged in a cavity of a frame of the human-powered vehicle, [fig. 13, 0090].
As to claim 3. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 2, wherein: the base includes an accommodation compartment that accommodates the memory and the electronic controller, [fig. 13, 0090].
As to claim 4. Fyfe fails to disclose The memory device according to claim 2, further comprising: a first communication line connector provided on the base and connected to the first communication line.
Kato teaches a bicycle control system comprising local components 10, 20, [fig. 1], communicating through a power line communication line 50, [fig. 1, 0069]; wherein a connector is required for the line to be able to connect to the component.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fyfe with that of Kato so that the system can communicate sensor data reliably.
As to claim 5. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, wherein:
the memory device is configured to be supplied with electric power from a battery, [0034], that is separate from the memory device, [0034].
Fyfe fails to disclose the memory device is configured to be supplied with electric power from the battery through the first communication line.
Kato teaches a bicycle control system comprising local components 10, 20, [fig. 1], communicating through a power line communication line 50, [fig. 1, 0069], to a battery that supplies power to the devices, [0067, 0068].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fyfe with that of Kato so that the system can communicate sensor data reliably using the same connection used for providing power.
As to claim 6. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1,
wherein the memory device is configured to be supplied with electric power from a battery that is separate from the memory device, [0034].
Fyfe fails to disclose through a power line, the memory device further comprising: a power line connector connected to the power line.
Kato teaches a bicycle control system comprising local components 10, 20, [fig. 1], communicating through a power line communication line 50, [fig. 1, 0069]; wherein a connector is required for the line to be able to connect to the component.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Fyfe with that of Kato so that the system can communicate sensor data reliably.
As to claim 7. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, wherein: the second communicator is configured to perform at least one of wired communication and wireless communication with the component that is separate from the memory device, [fig. 2, 0042, 0044, 0055] communicator 214 implemented as one or more wireless transceiver.
As to claim 8. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 2, further comprising: a display provided on the base, [fig. 2, 0040].
As to claim 9. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 2, further comprising: a first operating portion provided on the base, [fig. 2, 0040] user interface 260.
As to claim 11. Is rejected using the same prior art and reasoning as to that of claim 7.
As to claim 13. Fyfe discloses the memory device according to claim 1, wherein the memory device excludes an electric actuator and a display, [fig. 2] the memory 222 does not include the display and actuator.
As to claim 14. Fyfe discloses the memory device according to claim 13, the memory device differing from a cycle computer, a assist drive unit, a transmission device, a adjustable seatpost, a suspension, a brake device, a lamp, and a battery unit, [figs. 2, 12] the memory 222 is its own component.
As to claim 15. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, wherein the log-related information includes sensing information obtained from a sensor by the at least one component, [0036].
As to claim 16. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a second operating portion, [fig. 2, 0041] display 228;
the electronic controller being configured to control the at least one component so that the at least one component transmits the log-related information to the memory device in a case where the second operating portion is operated, [0041].
As to claim 19. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, wherein the electronic controller is configured to control the at least one component so that the at least one component transmits the log-related information to the memory device upon receipt of an acquisition instruction of the log-related information, [0042] processor reads sensors.
As to claim 21. Fyfe discloses the memory device according to claim 1, wherein the memory device and the at least one component are both configured to be supplied with electric power from a battery, [0030, 0034] battery supplies power to the components of the hub 102, [0090] which includes the memory.
As to claim 22. Fyfe discloses the memory device according to claim 1, wherein the battery is separate from the memory device, [fig. 2].
As to claim 23. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, wherein the log-related information includes information regarding at least one selected from the group consisting of: a torque based on a human driving force, a power based on the human driving force, [0036] power applied to a pedal, a rotational speed of a crank axle, a traveling speed of the human-powered vehicle, an acceleration of the human-powered vehicle, an inclination angle of the human- powered vehicle, a second torque based on an assist force, a second power based on the assist force, an assist mode, a transmission ratio, a transmission operation signal, a braking force, an operated amount of a brake operating device, a height of the adjustable seatpost, an actuation time of the adjustable seatpost, an operation signal regarding the adjustable seatpost, a level of a battery, an internal temperature of the battery, an electric power consumption of the battery, a voltage of the battery, an internal temperature of the at least one component, an electric power consumption of at least one of an actuator and a substrate included in the at least one component, a voltage in a circuit of at least one of the actuator and the substrate included in the at least one component, and a time on a clock included in the at least one component.
As to claim 24. Fyfe discloses A memory device for a human-powered vehicle, the memory device comprising:
a memory, [fig. 2, 0037] data hub 102 integrated with a bicycle 103 comprises a memory 222;
a first communicator configured to perform communication with at least one component provided on the human-powered vehicle, [0025, 0028] the data hub receives signals from data sources 120 integrated with the bicycle 103, including onboard sensors, which requires a communicator to receive the data from the sensors; and
an electronic controller, [fig. 2, 0037] processor 220, configured to control the memory, [fig. 5, 0070-0072] processor stores data from sensors into the memory data buffer 246, so that the memory stores log-related information, [0083, 0084] hub 102 stores information related to the bicycle in the memory 222, received from the at least one component, [0083] information received from sensors on the bicycle;
the electronic controller being configured to control, [0037] processor 220 implements the functionality of the hub 102, [0042] and controls the reading of onboard sensors, a second communicator, [fig. 2, 0035] communicator 214, so that the second communicator transmits the log-related information stored in the memory to a component that is separate from the memory device, [0055, 0064, 0073] send stored information to a server,
the electronic controller being configured to, upon receipt of an acquisition instruction from the at least one component, [0070] data module 238 causes the processor to control communicator to receive one or more signals, control, [0037] processor 220 implements the functionality of the hub 102, [0042] and controls the reading of onboard sensors, the at least one component to transmit the log-related information to the memory device, [0072] then read sensor data, [0036] sensor data includes power meter on a crank of the bicycle sends sensed power applied to a pedal, and
the electronic controller being configured to control the memory to store the log-related information upon receipt of the log-related information from the at least one component, [0037, 0072] processor controls storage of data, [0083, 0084] store log-related information in the memory.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fyfe in view of Kato as applied to claim 10 above, further in view of Stephens et al. [US 20230202608].
As to claim 12. Fyfe discloses The memory device according to claim 1, wherein the memory device is configured to control the second communicator so that the second communicator transmits the log-related information to the component that is separate from the memory device, [0036].
The combination of Fyfe and Kato fails to disclose wherein the communication is via a component provided on the human-powered vehicle.
Stephens teaches an electric bicycle object detection system comprising a controller 215 mounted on a bicycle 200 with a memory to store object detection information, [0154]; wherein the controller sends data to a remote system through a communication device 230, [0065].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of the combination of Fyfe and Kato with that of Stephens so that the communication device can be used to integrate other components in the bicycle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: The prior arts on file fail to teach the newly amended limitations.
Response 1: The Office Action is amended to address the newly amended limitations as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688