January 23, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 13, and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 12, “an other” is grammatically incorrect. The two words should be written as - - another - -.
In Claim 2, line 4, the word - - the - - should be inserted in front of the word “bracket”.
In claim 3, line 4, “an other” is grammatically incorrect The two words should be written as - - another - -.
In claim 5, lines 4 and 6, “an other” (2 instances) is grammatically incorrect. The two words should be written as - - another - -.
In claim 9, line 5, the word - - top - - needs to be inserted in front of the “one”. On line 8, the word “core” should be - - cores - -
In claim 13, line 5, “an other” is grammatically incorrect. The two words should be written as - - another - -.
In claim 17, line 12, “an other” is grammatically incorrect. The two words should be written as - - another - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Handigol et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,442,322 B2).
As for Claims 1 and 17, Handigol et al. teach a seat for a vehicle, comprising:
a first seat rail 4 and a second seat rail 4 coupled to the vehicle and spaced apart from each other in left and right directions;
a first slider positioned on the first seat rail 4 on a left side of the seat and a second slider 40 positioned on the second seat rail 4 on a right side of the seat, wherein the first and second sliders 40.40 are configured to slide in forward and rearward directions;
a first side frame 1 positioned on the left side of the seat and configured to change position with respect to the first slider 40, and a second side frame 1 positioned on the right side of the seat and configured to change position with respect to the second slider;
a link arm 54 connecting the first slider 10 and the first side frame 1 on one side in forward and rearward directions;
a linker connecting the first slider 40 and the first side frame 1 on another side in forward and rearward directions, and including a plurality of link members 50,60; and
a plurality of drivers 42,61 connected to the plurality of link members of the linker to provide rotational force;
wherein the first slider, the link arm, the first side frame, the second link member, and the first link member are hinged to each other to form a five-bar linkage mechanism, as defined in claim 17.
As for Claim 2, Handigol et al. teach that each of the first and second sliders comprise: a moving rail 40,40 sliding along the seat rail 4; and a bracket 70,71 mounted on the moving rail 40,40; wherein bracket includes a hinge hole or a hinge portion P1 connecting the link arm 54 and the linker 50,60.
As for Claims 3 and 18, Handigol et al. teach that the link arm 54 is positioned on a front side of the seat, and the linker 50,60 is positioned on a rear side of the seat; and one end of the link arm 54 is rotatably hinged to the first side frame, 1 and another end of the link arm 54 is rotatably hinged to the first slider 40.
As for Claim 4, Handigol et al. teach that after rotation of the link arm 54, a spring 53 assisting return of the link arm 54 is mounted on at least one hinge portion, among hinge portions on both ends of the link arm.
As for Claim 5, Handigol et al. teach that the linker comprises a first link member 50 and a second link member 50; wherein one end of the first link member 50 is rotatably hinged to the first slider 40; another end of the first link member 50 is hinged to one end of the second link member 60 to rotate relative to each other; and another end of the second link 60 member is rotatably hinged to the first side frame.
As for Claim 6, Handigol et al. teach that the first and second side frames 1 are connected by at least one cross-bar 102.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Handigol et al. do not teach that the first driver is connected to the first link member, and the second driver is connected to the second link member., as defined in claim 7. Handigol et al. teach that one driver is connected to the guide rail assembly 4 and the other driver is connected to the second link of the linker.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure because it teaches structures and concepts similar to those of the present invention.
/Rodney B White/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636