DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. 2017/0371513).
With regard to claim 1, Wang teaches a text selection method ([abstract] a method for text selection), comprising:
in a case of displaying a text (Fig. 1, 101; Fig. 3A, text for selection 302), receiving a first input by a user (Fig. 3A, operation point 303; [abstract] a first display position of a start selection point…receiving a dragging operation; [0041] The text for selection 302 may go into a mode for selection, when a user is pressing on an operation point 303 in the text for selection 302 for a certain period; [0042] a start selection point 304);
displaying N first controls in response to the first input (Fig. 3B, operation menu 306; [0042] A start selection point 304, an end selection point 305 and an operation menu 306 may occur, when the text for selection 302 goes into the mode for selection, as shown in FIG. 3B); wherein a first control is used to indicate a separation mark (According to [0039] of the present disclosure, the separation mark can be a sentence, a paragraph, a word, a page, etc., as such Fig. 3B displays the ‘sentence’, ‘paragraph’, ‘word’, ‘copy’ and ‘cut’ options (operation menu 306)); and N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 3B, displays the ‘sentence’, ‘paragraph’, ‘word’, ‘copy’ and ‘cut’ options on operation menu 306; [0043]);
receiving a second input by the user for a target control in the N first controls ([abstract] a first display position of an end selection point, wherein text between the start selection point and the end selection point is target text including at least one character; [0042] a first display position of the end selection point 305 are located in a predetermined area around the operation point 303); and
selecting a target text based on a target separation mark corresponding to the target control in response to the second input (Fig. 3B; Figs. 5A-5C; [0042] when the text for selection 302 goes into the mode for selection… Target text is between the tart selection point 304 and the end selection point 305; [0044] In step 203, semantic granularity is determined, which is one of a word, a sentence, or a paragraph).
With regard to claim 2, the limitations are addressed above and Wang teaches wherein the separation mark is used to indicate at least one of:
a punctuation mark or a language unit ([0046] the partitioned text blocks may be a word, a character or a punctuation, when the semantic granularity is a word; [0047] detecting punctuations in the text for selection. Each of the text blocks is a sentence including character strings and punctuations after the character strings).
With regard to claim 3, the limitations are addressed above and Wang teaches wherein the selecting a target text based on a target separation mark corresponding to the target control in response to the second input comprises:
in a case that the text comprises M target separation marks, selecting the target text according to a target step quantity by using a text length corresponding to the target separation mark as a step length ([0052] when the first display position of the start selection point or the first display position of the end selection point is located within a text block, and is of the same distance from the immediate left delimiter position and from the immediate right delimiter position; [0060] In step 208, when the dragging operation is to drag backward the start selection point, the first display position of the start selection point is moved backward by a number of text blocks to obtain the second display position; [0067] the corresponding first display position moves forward or backward by a predetermined number of text blocks. The predetermined number may be pre-set by the system of the terminal or defined by a user);
wherein the target step quantity is determined based on the second input ([abstract] a first display position of an end selection point, wherein text between the start selection point and the end selection point is target text including at least one character; [0042] a first display position of the end selection point 305 are located in a predetermined area around the operation point 303; [0055] the end selection point 305; [0064] when the end selection point is dragged forward to a position before the start selection point, the end selection point turns into the start selection point, and the start selection point turns into the end selection point); and M is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Fig. 3B, displays the ‘sentence’, ‘paragraph’, ‘word’, ‘copy’ and ‘cut’ options on operation menu 306; [0043]).
With regard to claim 4, the limitations are addressed above and Wang teaches wherein the selecting a target text based on a target separation mark corresponding to the target control in response to the second input comprises:
determining, for a text corresponding to each target separation mark (According to [0039] of the present disclosure, the separation mark can be a sentence, a paragraph, a word, a page, etc., as such Fig. 3B displays the ‘sentence’, ‘paragraph’, ‘word’, ‘copy’ and ‘cut’ options (operation menu 306)), the text corresponding to the target separation mark as the target text in a case that a ratio of a text length currently determined based on the second input to a text length corresponding to the target separation mark is greater than a target ratio ([0035] The terminal causes the text for selection into to be in the mode for selection when the terminal detects that an operation duration of the click operation corresponding to the text for selection is greater than a predetermined threshold); and
selecting the target text ([0036] In step 202, a first display position of a start selection point and a first display position of an end selection point are determined in the text for selection. Text between the start selection point and the end selection point is target text including at least one character).
With regard to claim 5, the limitations are addressed above and Wang teaches wherein the target control comprises a first target control (Fig. 1, 103; [0076] receiving a dragging operation corresponding to the start selection point or the end selection point) and a second target control (Fig. 1, 104; [0076] changing, according to the dragging operation, the first display position of the start selection point or the first display position of the end selection point to a second display position in unit of a text block), and the second input comprises a first sub-input and a second sub-input ([0086] a first determination sub-module and a partition sub-module); and
the receiving a second input by the user for a target control in the N first controls (Fig. 3B; Figs. 5A-5C; [0042] when the text for selection 302 goes into the mode for selection… Target text is between the tart selection point 304 and the end selection point 305; [0044] In step 203, semantic granularity is determined, which is one of a word, a sentence, or a paragraph); and
the selecting a target text based on a target separation mark corresponding to the target control in response to the second input comprise:
receiving the first sub-input by the user for the first target control ([0087] the first determination sub-module 821 is configured to determine semantic granularity, which is one of a word, a sentence and a paragraph);
selecting a first text based on a first target separation mark corresponding to the first target control in response to the first sub-input ([0090] A reception module 840 is configured to receive a dragging operation corresponding to the start selection point or the end selection point; [0091] An operation module 850 is configured to change, according to the dragging operation, the first display position of the start selection point or the first display position of the end selection point to a second display position in unit of a text block);
receiving the second sub-input by the user for the second target control ([0088] The partition sub-module 822 is configured to partition the text for selection into a number of text blocks conforming to the determined semantic granularity based on the semantic meaning); and
adjusting a selection range of the first text based on a second target separation mark corresponding to the second target control in response to the second sub-input, to obtain the target text ([0089] An adjustment module 830 is configured to adjust, when at least one of the first display position of the start selection point and the first display position of the end selection point is located within a text block…The delimiter position is a position between two text blocks).
With regard to claim 6, the limitations are addressed above and Wang teaches wherein the adjusting a selection range of the first text based on a second target separation mark corresponding to the second target control in response to the second sub-input, to obtain the target text comprises:
in a case that the first text docs not comprise the second target separation mark, selecting a third text from a second text other than the first text based on the second target separation mark to obtain the target text; wherein the second text is adjacent to the first text, and the target text comprises the first text and the third text;
or
in a case that the first text comprises the second target separation mark, selecting a fourth text from the first text based on the second target separation mark to obtain the target text, wherein the target text is the fourth text ([claim 3] moving backward the first display position of the end selection point by a fourth number of text blocks to obtain the corresponding second display position, when the dragging operation is dragging backward the end selection point).
With regard to claim 7, the device claim corresponds to the method claim 1, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 8, the device claim corresponds to the method claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 9, the device claim corresponds to the method claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 10, the device claim corresponds to the method claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 11, the device claim corresponds to the method claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 12, the device claim corresponds to the method claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 13, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 1, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 14, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 2, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 15, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 3, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 16, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 4, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 17, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 5, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
With regard to claim 18, the medium claim corresponds to the method claim 6, respectively, and therefore is rejected with the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (U.S. 2017/0371513) in view of Yang et al. (U.S. 2019/0332659).
With regard to claim 19, Wang teaches comprises a processor and a communication interface (Fig. 9, processor 918; [0101] The processing component 902 typically controls overall operations of the apparatus 900, such as the operations associated with display, telephone calls, data communications, camera operations, and recording operations. The processing component 902 may include one or more processors 918 to execute instructions to perform all or part of the steps in the above described methods), the communication interface is coupled to the processor (Fig. 9), and the processor is configured to run a program or an instruction to implement the steps of the text selection method according to claim 1 ([0101] The processing component 902 may include one or more processors 918 to execute instructions to perform all or part of the steps in the above described methods. Moreover, the processing component 902 may include one or more modules which facilitate the interaction between the processing component 902 and other components). However, Wang does not specifically teach:
- a chip wherein the chip
Yang teaches a portable device and a method for controlling a cursor of the portable device, by which a cursor that is displayed by using a first pressure touch (or successive motions of the first pressure touch) is controlled [abstract]. Yang also teaches a display region that can include text and/or a paragraph including one or more sentences [0119]. Additionally, Yang teaches a chip ([0053] The processor 111 may be implemented in the form of a system on chip (SoC) including a core (not shown) and a GPU). Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains to have modified the method of text selection process as taught by Wang, with the device for controlling cursors on portable devices as taught by Yang, to have achieved a method of selecting text for a first display position of a starting point to an ending selection point and the target text including at least one character.
With regard to claim 20, the limitations are addressed above and Wang teaches wherein the separation mark is used to indicate at least one of:
a punctuation mark or a language unit ([0046] the partitioned text blocks may be a word, a character or a punctuation, when the semantic granularity is a word; [0047] detecting punctuations in the text for selection. Each of the text blocks is a sentence including character strings and punctuations after the character strings).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Peleg et al. (US 2023/0153546) teaches identifying a location in an electronic document for at least one text insertion.
Cheng (WO 2020101067) teaches a device and method for selecting text in electronic terminal.
Hui et al. (US 2016/0292139) teaches a system for enhancement to text selection controls.
Clarkson et al. (US 2015/0346998) teaches a system for a rapid text cursor placement using finger orientation.
Thorsander (US 2013/0290906) teaches a touch-sensitive display which includes selection of content using the text selection icon.
/ANDREA C LEGGETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171