DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bafile et al. (US-2020031749) in view of Schaefer et al. (US-3830328).
Regarding claim 1, Bafile et al. discloses a manual unlocking device (72) for an electronic brake (50), comprising a motor (34), a brake pad (56, wherein armature 56 constitutes the claimed brake pad under its broadest reasonable interpretation because 56 is the movable braking member urged into frictional engagement with friction disk 54 to precvent rotation, and is moved out of contact to release the brake), a brake disc (54), and an unlocking mechanism (72); wherein the brake pad and the brake disc are arranged on the motor (figs 7a-7b, 54 connected through hun 64 to rotor 66); the unlocking mechanism (72) comprises a toggle plate ( at least fig 10, 78), a brake line (Bowden cable 80), and a handle (76); the toggle plate (78) is arranged on the brake disc and fixedly connected to the brake pad (fig 10, [0042] 78 fixed to armature 56) and ; an end of the brake line is fixedly connected to the toggle plate (wherein 80 connects to and pulls 78), and the other end of the brake line is fixedly connected to the handle (fig 85, 76); the handle is configured to adjust a stretching length of the brake line for switching a mating state between the brake pad and the brake disc ([0042] wherein handle 76 is manipulated, thereby adjusting the length of line 80 to actuate the unlocking mechanism and the brake is released).
Regarding the toggle plate and the push/pull operational constraints of the cable, Bafile et al discloses only a single direction pull operation for disengagement of (54) and (56) and requires springs (68) in order to return cable travel in the opposite direction engaging (54) and (56). Schaefer et al. teaches a known alternative remote-brake control arrangement employing a push-pull cable (24), wherein movement of the cable via a handle (34) in one direction positively applies the brake and movement of the cable in the opposite direction positively releases the brake. Specifically, pulling the push-pull cable operates the brake applying mechanism to apply the brake, whereas pushing rod 174 forward by cable 24 operates the release lever 158 to release the brake (at least figs 9-11 and cols. 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Bowden cable/manual release arrangement of Bafile et al. to employ the bidirectionally operable push/pull brake cable taught by Schaefer et al. at least to provide positive remote mechanical actuation of the brake in both the engaging and disengaging directions, rather than relying upon cable actuation in one direction and spring return in the other, thereby providing predictable positive control of both brake states from the remote handle.
Regarding claim 2, Bafile et al. discloses wherein the brake line is arranged with a fixing member for fixing the brake line (fig 4, unlabeled member fixing 80 to 34 adjacent the toggle plate 78); an adjusting space is defined between the fixing member and the toggle plate for adjusting the stretching length of the brake line.
Regarding claim 3, Bafile et al. discloses wherein the brake line is screwed to the toggle plate through a first nut and screwed to the fixing member through a second nut (see annotated fig 4).
Regarding claim 4, Bafile et al. discloses wherein the fixing member is fixedly connected to a motor housing of the motor (see annotated fig 4, 34).
Regarding claim 5, Bafile et al. discloses wherein the toggle plate (78) is fixedly connected to the brake pad through a pin (fig 10, pin structure sandwiching 78 together with 56). The structure sandwiching 78 constitutes the claimed pin under its broadest reasonable interpretation because the claim only requires a fixed connection through a pin, and no specific orientation or relationship between the pin and the plate has been recited.
Regarding claim 6, Bafile et al. discloses wherein the unlocking mechanism (72) is configured to be arranged under a cushion (22) of a low-speed electric vehicle (10, fig 5).
Regarding claim 7, Bafile et al. discloses wherein the handle (76) is configured to be fixedly arranged on a vehicle body of a low-speed electric vehicle (fig 8).
Regarding claim 8, Bafile et al. discloses wherein the brake line (80) is configured to extend along an outer side of the motor to connect the toggle plate (fig 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: As to claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious wherein the toggle plate is arranged on the brake disc and fixedly connected to the brake pad; an end of the brake line is fixedly connected to the toggle plate, and the other end of the brake line is fixedly connected to the handle, such that the toggle plate is configured to be pushed by the brake line to move the brake pad out of engagement with the brake disc, and to be pulled by the brake line to move the brake pad into engagement with the brake disc, and wherein the brake pad is arranged between the brake disc and the toggle plate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES K HSIAO/Examiner, Art Unit 3616