Claims 1-10 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/9/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 7/28/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups pertain to a generic concept, are not mutually exclusive and no search burden exists. This is not found persuasive because the process steps in Group II are not required in Group I. Therefore, the angiogenesis material of Group I can be made by a materially different process, such as making a dry mixture comprising calcium, a metal element and a bioabsorbable polymer and then adding an aqueous solution containing phosphorous to the mixture.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 4 recites “a bone-regeneration-promoting material comprising the angiogenesis material of claim 1” without further limiting the scope of the angiogenesis material. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al. (US2014/0170202; published June 19, 2014) in view of Chen et al. (Synthesis and Characterization of Copper Ions Doped Octacalcium Phosphate Powders with Enhanced Osteogenic Property, Journal of Biomaterials, 2021, 5(1):10-15).
Applicant claims an angiogenesis material comprising a composite of a metal-octacalcium phosphate-containing material containing octacalcium phosphate, a metal element and a bioabsorbable polymer (claim 1)
With respect to claims 1, 3 and 4, Peters et al. disclose biodegradable composite materials used in bone regeneration (abstract). The composite material comprises at least an inorganic component a), an inorganic component b), and at least one organic component c), wherein the density of a) and b) are different [0025-26]. The inorganic component is preferably selected from bioceramics, especially calcium phosphate [0028-29]. The organic component means a biocompatible organic compound or material selected from gelatin, collagen, polymers of lactic acid or glycolic acid, starch, etc. [0030; 0052-55]. The calcium phosphate is selected from octacalcium phosphate [0038]. The structures allows the composite material to acquire blood vessels (angiogenesis) and tissue for bone healing [0082].
Peters et al. do not include a metal element. With respect to claim 2, Peters et al. do not teach the metal element is Cu or Zn. It is for this reason that Chen et al. is joined. Copper is a cofactor in the production of collagen and bone minerals contain zinc and copper such that doping ions into inorganic bioceramics can simulate bone and promote the formation of new bone (page 11, introduction 1., paragraph 3).
Chen et al. teach copper ion doped octacalcium phosphate which provides a new way to construct bone regeneration biomaterials (abstract). Data compares octacalcium phosphate against various doses of copper doped octacalcium phosphate and there is a noticeable increase in ALP activity after 14 days (Figure 4, page 13). Copper containing biomaterials are desired because they protect cardiovascular systems, promote fracture healing and is widely used in repairing bone and vascular tissue by promoting osteogenic differentiation and angiogenesis (4. Discussion, page 14, paragraph 1). Doping copper ions into inorganic biomaterials slowly release the components to promote better bone formation, are biocompatible and promote the proliferation osteogenic differentiation of mBMSCs (4. Discussion, page 14, paragraph 2-3).
Both Peters et al. and Chen et al. are drawn to bone regeneration composites of inorganic biomaterials comprising octacalcium phosphate. It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Peters et al. and Chen et al. to include copper doped octacalcium phosphate with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated before the time of filing to use copper doped octacalcium phosphate because Chen et al. teach that copper doped octacalcium phosphate demonstrated higher ALP activity which promotes better bone formation and osteogenic differentiation.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/906,196 (herein ‘196) in view of Chen et al. (Synthesis and Characterization of Copper Ions Doped Octacalcium Phosphate Powders with Enhanced Osteogenic Property, Journal of Biomaterials, 2021, 5(1):10-15). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to an angiogenesis material and bone regenerating material containing octacalcium phosphate, metal element and bioabsobable polymer whereas ‘196 claims a bone regeneration material comprising a base material comprising octacalcium phosphate and polylactic-co-glycolic acid copolymer and functional molecules adsorbed to the octacalcium phosphate. ‘196 does not specify metal element. It is for this reason that Chen et al. is joined.
Chen et al. teach copper ion doped octacalcium phosphate which provides a new way to construct bone regeneration biomaterials (abstract). Data compares octacalcium phosphate against various doses of copper doped octacalcium phosphate and there is a noticeable increase in ALP activity after 14 days (Figure 4, page 13). Copper containing biomaterials are desired because they protect cardiovascular systems, promote fracture healing and is widely used in repairing bone and vascular tissue by promoting osteogenic differentiation and angiogenesis (4. Discussion, page 14, paragraph 1). Doping copper ions into inorganic biomaterials slowly release the components to promote better bone formation, are biocompatible and promote the proliferation osteogenic differentiation of mBMSCs (4. Discussion, page 14, paragraph 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of ‘196 and Chen et al. to include copper doped octacalcium phosphate with a reasonable expectation of success because Chen et al. teach that copper doped octacalcium phosphate demonstrated higher ALP activity which promotes better bone formation and osteogenic differentiation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,599,702 (herein ‘702). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are drawn to an angiogenesis material and bone regenerating material containing octacalcium phosphate, metal element and bioabsobable polymer whereas ‘702 claims a bone regeneration material comprising octacalcium phosphate and gelatin. ‘702 does not specify metal element. It is for this reason that Chen et al. is joined.
Chen et al. teach copper ion doped octacalcium phosphate which provides a new way to construct bone regeneration biomaterials (abstract). Data compares octacalcium phosphate against various doses of copper doped octacalcium phosphate and there is a noticeable increase in ALP activity after 14 days (Figure 4, page 13). Copper containing biomaterials are desired because they protect cardiovascular systems, promote fracture healing and is widely used in repairing bone and vascular tissue by promoting osteogenic differentiation and angiogenesis (4. Discussion, page 14, paragraph 1). Doping copper ions into inorganic biomaterials slowly release the components to promote better bone formation, are biocompatible and promote the proliferation osteogenic differentiation of mBMSCs (4. Discussion, page 14, paragraph 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of ‘702 and Chen et al. to include copper doped octacalcium phosphate with a reasonable expectation of success because Chen et al. teach that copper doped octacalcium phosphate demonstrated higher ALP activity which promotes better bone formation and osteogenic differentiation.
Conclusion
No claims allowable.
DANIELLE D. JOHNSON
Examiner
Art Unit 1617
/BETHANY P BARHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1611