DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5 October 2026 have overcome the Drawing Objection of the previous Office Action.
Applicant’s amendment filed 5 October 2026 has overcome the 35 USC 112 rejection of the previous Office Action.
Regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection of claim 8, the amendment required the new reference shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korol et al. (“Korol”; US 2023/0409006), in view of Stahlkopf et al. (“Stahlkopf”; US 2011/0115223).
Regarding claim 8: Korol discloses a control system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a controller (107, 108, 143, 146, 147, Fig. 1);
a plurality of sensors coupled to the controller (105, paragraph 0069 lists a plurality of sensors that are encompassed by “magnetic field sensor”); and
a power control system (PCS) coupled to the controller, the PCS comprising:
an active front end (AFE) component (Fig. 8) configured to communicate with, at least in part, on a plurality of target control parameters and a plurality of reference signals (id_ref, iq_ref), the plurality of target control parameters (id, iq) and the plurality of reference signals generated based on signals from the plurality of sensors (as the current is provided by the sensor); and
a variable-frequency drive (VFD) in communication with the controller (paragraph 0055) and configured to store the plurality of target control parameters (Fig. 1, the control parameters are inherently stored in order for the control to be carried out).
Korol does not explicitly disclose an active front end (AFE) component configured to communicate with a grid, and the control system is communicatively coupled to at least one component of a gravity energy storage device.
However, Stahlkopf discloses an active front end (AFE) component (6896, Fig. 68) configured to communicate with a grid (6814).
And, Madison discloses the control system (22) is communicatively coupled to at least one component of a gravity energy storage device (12, 15, paragraph 0009, 0048).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Korol to communicate with the grid, as disclosed by Stahlkopf, in order to utilize a more robust data source in the control and to apply the control system to the gravity energy storage device, as disclosed by Madison, in order to allow for further applications.
Regarding claim 9: Korol discloses a sensor, but does not explicitly disclose the plurality of sensors includes at least one of a methane sensor, a level sensor, pressure sensor, a tachometer, and a meteorological sensor.
However, Stahlkopf discloses the plurality of sensors includes at least one of a methane sensor, a level sensor, pressure sensor, a tachometer, and a meteorological sensor (in this case a pressure sensor, 1008, paragraph 0276).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensors of Korol to include a pressure sensor, as disclosed by Stahlkopf, in order to use more data points in the control.
Regarding claim 10: Korol disclose the plurality of reference signals comprise at least one of a power reference and a voltage reference (while technically a current refence, the voltage can be easily determined with Ohm’s Law).
Regarding claim 12: Korol discloses the plurality of target control parameters comprises at least one of one or more quadrature current vectors (id, iq), a DC link voltage, one or more target discharge rates, one or more target velocities, and one or more target torque values.
Regarding claim 13: Korol discloses wherein the AFE component is configured to receive or generate at least one of one or more reactive power signals (var_ref) and the VFD is configured to receive one or more speed set point signals (106, Fig. 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korol, Stahlkopf, and Madison as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of vor dem Esche et al. (“vor dem Esche”; US 2015/0311751).
Regarding claim 11: Korol discloses Vref and gravity energy storage devices, but does not explicitly disclose Vref calibrates the AFE component to utilize multiple energy storage devices operating in parallel at the grid.
However, vor dem Esche discloses Vref (via 8, paragraph 0046, Fig. 1) calibrates the AFE component to utilize multiple gravity energy storage devices (2) operating in parallel at the grid (NS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of Korol to apply to the multiple energy storage devices of von dem Esche in order to allow for control over greater devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are allowed.
Claim 22 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the control system of claim 1, specifically comprising:
a rate limiter coupled to the AFE controller and configured to adjust a rate of change associated with each of the plurality of target control parameters based, at least in part, on the plurality of reference signals, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Claims 2-7 and 21 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 22 is allowable for reciting a similar limitation as claim 1.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the method of claim 14, specifically comprising:
adjusting, based at least in part on the plurality of reference signals, a rate of change associated with each of the plurality of target control parameters, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Claims 15-20 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834