DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a rate limiter coupled to the AFE controller and configured to adjust a rate of change associated with each of the plurality of target control parameters based, at least in part, on the plurality of reference signals, emphasis added, there is no depiction of the rate limiter limiting based on any parameter, as recited in claim 1, and similarly claim 14, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5: Line 2 recites “a second optional rate limiter”. It is unclear if this component needs to be included in the invention as “optional” is ambiguous.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korol et al. (“Korol”; US 2023/0409006), in view of Stahlkopf et al. (“Stahlkopf”; US 2011/0115223).
Regarding claim 8: Korol discloses a control system (Fig. 1) for a gravity well (“gravity well” is an intended use), comprising:
a controller (107, 108, 143, 146, 147, Fig. 1);
a plurality of sensors coupled to the controller (105, paragraph 0069 lists a plurality of sensors that are encompassed by “magnetic field sensor”); and
a power control system (PCS) coupled to the controller, the PCS comprising:
an active front end (AFE) component (Fig. 8) configured to communicate with, at least in part, on a plurality of target control parameters and a plurality of reference signals (id_ref, iq_ref), the plurality of target control parameters (id, iq) and the plurality of reference signals generated based on signals from the plurality of sensors (as the current is provided by the sensor); and
a variable-frequency drive (VFD) and configured to store the plurality of target control parameters (Fig. 1, the control parameters are inherently stored in order for the control to be carried out).
Korol does not explicitly disclose an active front end (AFE) component configured to communicate with a grid.
However, Stahlkopf discloses an active front end (AFE) component (6896, Fig. 68) configured to communicate with a grid (6814).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Korol to communicate with the grid, as disclosed by Stahlkopf, in order to utilize a more robust data source in the control.
Regarding claim 9: Korol discloses a sensor, but does not explicitly disclose the plurality of sensors includes at least one of a methane sensor, a level sensor, pressure sensor, a tachometer, and a meteorological sensor.
However, Stahlkopf discloses the plurality of sensors includes at least one of a methane sensor, a level sensor, pressure sensor, a tachometer, and a meteorological sensor (in this case a pressure sensor, 1008, paragraph 0276).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensors of Korol to include a pressure sensor, as disclosed by Stahlkopf, in order to use more data points in the control.
Regarding claim 10: Korol disclose the plurality of reference signals comprise at least one of a power reference and a voltage reference (while technically a current refence, the voltage can be easily determined with Ohm’s Law).
Regarding claim 12: Korol discloses the plurality of target control parameters comprises at least one of one or more quadrature current vectors (id, iq), a DC link voltage, one or more target discharge rates, one or more target velocities, and one or more target torque values.
Regarding claim 13: Korol discloses wherein the AFE component is configured to receive or generate at least one of one or more reactive power signals (var_ref) and the VFD is configured to receive one or more speed set point signals (106, Fig. 1).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korol and Stahlkopf, as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of vor dem Esche et al. (“vor dem Esche”; US 2015/0311751).
Regarding claim 11: Korol discloses Vref and gravity energy storage devices, but does not explicitly disclose Vref calibrates the AFE component to utilize multiple energy storage devices operating in parallel at the grid.
However, vor dem Esche discloses Vref (via 8, paragraph 0046, Fig. 1) calibrates the AFE component to utilize multiple gravity energy storage devices (2) operating in parallel at the grid (NS).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the control of Korol to apply to the multiple energy storage devices of von dem Esche in order to allow for control over greater devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 and 14-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the control system of claim 1, specifically comprising:
a rate limiter coupled to the AFE controller and configured to adjust a rate of change associated with each of the plurality of target control parameters based, at least in part, on the plurality of reference signals, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Claims 2-7 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 1.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the method of claim 14, specifically comprising:
adjusting, based at least in part on the plurality of reference signals, a rate of change associated with each of the plurality of target control parameters, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Claims 15-20 are allowable due to their dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834