DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 May 2024 and 07 January 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda et al. (US 2021/0031552 – hereinafter Okuda) in view of Mizuno (US 2020/0384765.)
Regarding claim 1,
Okuda discloses a liquid ejection head [26 in figs. 1-2] comprising:
an ejection module [30 in fig. 2] including:
an ejection port [N in fig. 2] capable of ejecting a liquid [paragraph 0035],
a pressure chamber [C in fig. 2] capable of storing the liquid to be ejected from the ejection port [paragraph 0041],
a supply channel [61 in fig. 2] configured to supply the liquid to the pressure chamber [paragraph 0040],
an energy generator element [44 in fig. 2] capable of generating energy for ejecting the liquid stored in the pressure chamber [paragraph 0044], and
a collection channel [72 in fig. 2] configured to collect, to the pressure chamber, the liquid not ejected from the ejection port [paragraphs 0050-0061]; and
a support member [48 in fig. 2] joined to the ejection module [as seen in fig. 2] and configured to support the ejection module [paragraphs 0046-0048; seen in fig. 2], wherein
the liquid flowing in the pressure chamber, the supply channel, and the collection channel is adjusted to a predetermined temperature by a temperature adjustment mechanism [heater, not shown but mentioned in paragraph 0187.]
Even though Okuda teaches that the support member “can be formed by injection molding of a resin material” [paragraph 0047] and it is well-known that a resin material usually has a very low thermal conductivity, the disclosure fails to expressly disclose wherein the resin material has a thermal conductivity of 1.0 (W/m∙K) or lower.
However, in the same field of invention, Mizuno discloses a liquid ejection head [10 in fig. 1] comprising:
an ejection module including: an ejection port [25 in fig. 1] capable of ejecting a liquid [paragraph 0026], a pressure chamber [43 in fig. 1] capable of storing the liquid to be ejected from the ejection port [paragraph 0029], a supply channel [41 / 42 in fig. 1] configured to supply the liquid to the pressure chamber [paragraph 0031], and an energy generator element [26 in fig. 1] capable of generating energy for ejecting the liquid stored in the pressure chamber [paragraphs 0028 and 0035], and
a support member [12 in fig. 1] joined to the ejection module and configured to support the ejection module [as seen in fig. 1; paragraphs 0022-0023], wherein
the liquid flowing in the pressure chamber and the supply channel is adjusted to a predetermined temperature by a temperature adjustment mechanism [heater 31 in fig. 1, working in conjunction with thermistor 27; paragraph 0040], and
a material for making the support member has a thermal conductivity of 1.0 (W/m∙K) or lower [0.15 to 0.35 (W/m∙K); paragraph 0043.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Okuda invention so that the resin that forms the support member is one that specifically has a thermal conductivity of 1.0 (W/m∙K) or lower as taught by Mizuno for the purpose of the material acting like a thermal barrier, providing structural stability, stable printhead functionality, and protection of components.
Regarding claim 2,
In the obvious combination, Okuda further discloses wherein the material for making the support member is resin [paragraph 0047; also, paragraph 0043 of Mizuno.]
Regarding claim 4,
In the obvious combination, Okuda further discloses wherein the support member supports a plurality of the ejection modules [as seen in figs. 2-3.]
Regarding claim 9,
In the obvious combination, Okuda further discloses wherein the predetermined temperature is 40°C [paragraph 0187.]
Regarding claim 10,
In the obvious combination, Mizuno further discloses the liquid ejection head further comprising the temperature adjustment mechanism [as seen in fig. 1], wherein
the temperature adjustment mechanism is arranged along the channels formed in the ejection module [as seen in fig. 1.]
Regarding claim 11,
In the obvious combination, Mizuno further discloses wherein the temperature adjustment mechanism includes a heater element [31 in fig. 1], a temperature sensor [27 in fig. 2] configured to detect the temperature of the liquid, and a driver [controller] configured to drive the heater element [paragraphs 0038 and 0040.]
Regarding claim 12,
In the obvious combination, Okuda further discloses the liquid ejection head further comprising a circulator pump [75 in fig. 5] capable of generating a flow to supply the liquid to the supply channel and a flow to collect the liquid from the collection channel [paragraph 0062.]
Regarding claim 13,
In the obvious combination, Okuda further discloses wherein the ejection module includes
a first circulation path for a first color ink, the first circulation path including the pressure chamber, the supply channel, and the collection channel , and
a second circulation path for a second color ink different in color from the first color ink, the second circulation path including the pressure chamber, the supply channel, and the collection channel [paragraphs 0156-0161, 0176 and 0209-0210; implicit and well-known that the printheads for each color will have the same composition.]
Regarding claim 14,
In the obvious combination, Okuda further discloses wherein the energy generator element is a heater resistor element capable of generating heat to cause film boiling in the liquid [paragraphs 0187 and 0216.]
Regarding claim 15,
In the obvious combination, Okuda discloses a liquid ejection apparatus comprising:
a liquid ejection head [26 in figs. 1-2];
a carriage [242 in fig. 1] configured to move the liquid ejection head in a main-scanning direction with the liquid ejection head mounted on the carriage [paragraph 0033]; and
a conveyance unit [22 in fig. 1] configured to convey a printing medium in a conveyance direction crossing the main-scanning direction [paragraph 0032],
wherein the liquid ejection head includes
an ejection module including
an ejection port [N in fig. 2] capable of ejecting a liquid [paragraph 0035],
a pressure chamber [C in fig. 2] capable of storing the liquid to be ejected from the ejection port [paragraph 0041],
a supply channel [61 in fig. 2] configured to supply the liquid to the pressure chamber [paragraph 0040],
an energy generator element [44 in fig. 2] capable of generating energy for ejecting the liquid stored in the pressure chamber [paragraph 0044], and
a collection channel [72 in fig. 2] configured to collect, to the pressure chamber, the liquid not ejected from the ejection port [paragraphs 0050-0061]; and
a support member [48 in fig. 2] joined to the ejection module and configured to support the ejection module [paragraphs 0046-0048; as seen in fig. 2],
the liquid flowing in the pressure chamber, the supply channel, and the collection channel is adjusted to a predetermined temperature by a temperature adjustment mechanism [heater, not shown but mentioned in paragraph 0187],
whereas Mizuno discloses wherein
a material for making the support member has a thermal conductivity of 1.0 (W/m∙K) or lower [0.15 to 0.35 (W/m∙K); paragraph 0043.]
Claims 3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda as modified by Mizuno.
Regarding claims 3 and 5-8,
Okuda as modified by Mizuno discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above and Okuda further teaches the liquid ejection head further comprising a face cover [54 in figs. 2-3 and 7] and configured to cover a surface of the liquid ejection head on which the ejection module is arranged while exposing the ejection module [as seen in fig. 2-3 and 7] (claim 8), but fails to expressly disclose wherein
a thickness of the support member in a direction in which the support member is joined to the ejection module is 2 mm or more (claim 3), a surface of the support member facing in a direction in which the support member is joined to the ejection module has an area of 1500 mm2 or larger (claim 5), a flow rate of the liquid flowing inside the support member is 10 mL/sec or lower (claim 6), a surface of the ejection module facing in a direction in which the ejection module is joined to the support member has an area of 400 mm2 or smaller (claim 7), and a material for making the face cover has a thermal conductivity of 1.0 (W/m∙K) or lower (claim 8.)
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have components of a certain size/area or material, and a specific flow rate of liquid, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See also In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). One would have been motivated to optimize the size and material of components for the purpose of achieving high structural stability and durability while reducing warping and the risk of damage, and to optimize the flow rate of the liquid flowing inside the support member for the purpose of improving printhead longevity and ejection consistency, while achieving a stable thermal and pressure management.
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853