DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Serra et al. (US 2019/0351889).
Regarding claim 8, Serra discloses a brake shoe unit for an electromechanical brake (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 1a; the brake pad disclosed therein is capable of being used with an electromechanical brake), having a rigid backplate (21), a brake pad (20, 23), connected to the backplate (see FIG. 1a) in a fixed manner and contacting the brake disc (see FIGS. 1, 1a), and a sensor element (11-13) arranged between the rigid backplate and the brake pad (see FIG. 1a), the sensor element including at least one mechanical- electrical converter (11-13) (see ¶¶ 0052, 0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the phrase “wherein the sensor element is arranged on the brake caliper in a fixed and permanent manner” is indefinite because independent claim 1, the claim from which claim 7 depends, requires that the sensor element is “arranged between the rigid backplate and the brake pad” and that the brake pad” of the brake shoe and further requires that the brake shoe “can be moved towards a brake disc.” It is therefore unclear how the sensor element can be fixed on the caliper (i.e. not movable toward the brake disc) and at the same time fixed on the brake shoe (i.e. movable toward the brake disc).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leboisne (DE 10 2006 018952) in view of Serra et al. (US 2019/0351889).
Regarding independent claim 1, Leboisne discloses an electromechanical brake for a vehicle (see machine translation, ¶ 0011), comprising an actuating element (9, 10, 11), which is accommodated on a brake calliper (2) in a linearly displaceable manner (see ¶ 0019) and cooperates with a brake shoe (5) which can be moved towards a brake disc (see ¶ 0019), wherein a sensor element (7) is arranged in a region of the brake shoe (see FIG. 1), the sensor element being designed such that it transfers data to a control unit (8) of the electromechanical brake (see ¶ 0018), wherein the sensor element comprises at least one mechanical-electrical converter (see e.g. ¶ 0018).
Leboisne does not disclose that the brake shoe has a rigid backplate and a brake pad connected to the rigid backplate in a fixed manner, wherein a sensor element is arranged between the rigid backplate and the brake pad.
Serra teaches a brake for a vehicle (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 1a), wherein the brake shoe has a rigid backplate (21) and a brake pad (20, 23) connected to the rigid backplate in a fixed manner (see FIG. 1a) and comes into contact with the brake disc (see FIGS. 1, 1a), wherein a sensor element (11-13), is arranged between the rigid backplate (21) and the brake pad (20, 23) (see FIG. 1a), the sensor element being designed such that it transfers data to a control unit (4) of the brake, wherein the sensor element comprises at least one mechanical- electrical converter (11-13) (see ¶¶ 0052, 0053).
It would have been obvious to replace the brake pad and sensor of Leboisne with the brake pad and integrated sensor element of Serra to simplify installation of the brake pad and sensor (e.g. a single integrated brake pad/sensor structure is installed into the caliper instead of two separate components) in addition to providing a sensor element that remains fixed in position thereby preventing misalignment and/or incorrect installation of the sensor assembly, in addition to encasing the sensor element thereby protecting it from environmental factors such as debris, water and/or contaminants .
Regarding claim 2, Leboisne does not disclose that the sensor element comprises at least one strain gauge.
Serra teaches a brake pad for a vehicle (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 1a) comprising a force sensor configured as at least one strain gauge (see ¶¶ 0052, 0053).
It would have been obvious to configure the force sensor of Leboisne as a strain gauge to utilize a widely known structure that is accurate, durable and cost effective.
Regarding claim 3, Leboisne does not disclose that the sensor element comprises a temperature sensor.
Serra teaches a brake pad for a vehicle (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 1a) comprising a temperature sensor (see ¶¶ 0052, 0053).
It would have been obvious to combine the temperature sensor of Serra with the brake pad of Leboisne to provide diagnostic capabilities that can identify braking malfunctions (see Serra, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 4, Leboisne discloses that the sensor element (7) is connected to the control unit (8) of the electromechanical brake via an electric line (13).
Regarding claim 6, Serra teaches that that the sensor element is secured on the brake shoe or integrated in the brake shoe (see FIG. 1a).
Regarding claim 7, Leboisne discloses that the sensor element is arranged on the brake caliper in a fixed and permanent manner (see e.g. FIG. 1, the sensor element is disposed on the caliper).
Regarding claim 11, Leboisne does not disclose that the sensor element comprises a temperature sensor.
Serra teaches a brake pad for a vehicle (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 1a) comprising a temperature sensor (see ¶¶ 0052, 0053).
It would have been obvious to combine the temperature sensor of Serra with the brake pad of Leboisne to provide diagnostic capabilities that can identify braking malfunctions (see Serra, ¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 12, Leboisne discloses that the sensor element (7) is connected to the control unit (8) of the electromechanical brake via an electric line (13).
Regarding claim 13, Serra teaches that the sensor element is secured on the brake shoe or integrated in the brake shoe (see FIG. 1a).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leboisne (DE 10 2006 018952) in view of Serra et al. (US 2019/0351889), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Fuchs (DE 10 2018 122881) (machine translation attached).
Regarding claim 5, Leboisne does not disclose that the electric line is connected to a wear sensor on the brake shoe.
Fuchs teaches a brake (10) for a vehicle (see machine translation, ¶¶ 0001, 0002; FIGS. 1a, 1b) comprising a force sensor, a temperature sensor and/or a wear sensor (11-13) (see ¶ 0020), wherein the force sensor, the temperature sensor and/or the wear sensor are all connected to an electric line (141) (see ¶ 0022; FIG. 1b).
It would have been obvious to combine the wear sensor and wire configuration of Fuchs with the brake of Leboisne to provide wear monitoring that enables preventive or predictive maintenance control (see e.g. Fuchs, machine translation, ¶ 0005), without the need for running additional wires (see e.g. Fuchs, machine translation, ¶¶ 0006-0009).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leboisne (DE 10 2006 018952) in view of Serra et al. (US 2019/0351889), as applied to claim 9, above, and further in view of Merlo (US 2019/0072143).
Regarding claim 10, neither Leboisne nor Serra disclose that the sensor element is connected to a plug component held on a circumferential edge of the brake shoe or the brake shoe unit.
Merlo teaches a brake pad (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising a sensor element (15) connected to a plug component (180) held on a circumferential edge of the brake shoe or the brake shoe unit (see FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to combine the plug of Merlo with the brake pad unit of Leboisne and Serra to allow the brake pads to be disconnected and replaced upon wear and/or malfunction of the brake pad unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection noted above.
Regarding the rejection of independent claim 8 in view of Serra, Applicant only argues that “Serra’s disclosure is therefore directed to a sensorized brake pad and associated electronic monitoring and is silent as to the structure of amended claim 1” (see Amendment, page 6) and further that “Although patentably distinct, claim 8 is patentable for at least the reasons set forth above with respect to claim 1” (see Amendment, page 7). Applicant’s arguments do not specifically point out which structures of amended claim 1 are not disclosed by Serra. As such, no further response can be provided at this time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
September 19, 2026