DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Restriction to one of the following inventions is required under 35 U.S.C. 121:
I. Claims 1-5, drawn to a permanent magnet, classified in C22C38/005.
II. Claims 6-9, drawn to a permanent magnet alloy casting, classified in H01F1/055
III. Claims 10-20, drawn to a method of casting the permanent magnet alloy, classified in B22D21/00
The inventions are independent or distinct, each from the other because:
Inventions I and II are related as mutually exclusive species in an intermediate-final product relationship. Distinctness is proven for claims in this relationship if the intermediate product is useful to make other than the final product, and the species are patentably distinct (MPEP § 806.05(j)). In the instant case, the intermediate product is deemed to be useful as an electric motor and the inventions are deemed patentably distinct because there is nothing of record to show them to be obvious variants.
Inventions III and II are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process such as casting a molten 1:7 Ce-based alloy without Zr, Fe and Cu and then adding Zr, Fe and Cu later in order to form the permanent magnet alloy casting of claim 5.
Inventions III and I are related as process of making and product made. The inventions are distinct if either or both of the following can be shown: (1) that the process as claimed can be used to make another and materially different product or (2) that the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process (MPEP § 806.05(f)). In the instant case, the product as claimed can be made by another and materially different process such as by powder metallurgy.
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because all the inventions listed in this action are independent or distinct for the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and/or examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification
the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter
the inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention may be made with or without traverse. To reserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
During a telephone conversation with Ed Timmer on 06/22/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-5. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 6-20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 06/09/2026, 08/11/2025 and 05/23/2025 and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “improved extrinsic magnetic properties” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The relative term “improved” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
As a result of rejected claim 1, all dependent claims are also rejected under the same statue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated Pan (CN107689292A).
As for claims 1-2 and 4-5, Pan discloses a Ce-based double main multi layer composite permanent magnet, where molten CeCo alloy is poured into a mould to obtain a CeCo alloy. The obtained CeCo alloy is CeCo7 magnets (Claim 4). Hence, instant claim 1 required 1:7 Ce-based main matrix phase is expected. Instant claim 2 required (REE, Co) rich phase wherein REE being Ce is expected. The fact the molten CeCo alloy is poured into a mould to obtain a CeCo alloy and then vacuum heat treated meets instant claims 4 and 5 required as cast, and heat treated.
When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the prior art products necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. See MPEP 2112.01.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985)
In the instant case, in view of Pan’s Ce-based alloy having same microstructure as claimed, instant claimed improved extrinsic magnetic properties would be expected according to MPEP 2112.02.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated Lee (US20060005898A1).
As for claims 1-2, Lee discloses a bulk, nanocomposite, rare earth permanent magnetic comprising at least one magnetically hard phase and at least one magnetically soft phase. The at least one magnetically hard phase is RxT100-x-yMy where R is Ce (Claim 3), ratio of R:T is 1:7 (Claim 2), wherein T is Co (claim 5) The at least one magnetically soft phase is 0.5-80% vol. (Claim 9)
Hence, Lee suggests 1:7 Ce-based main matrix phase as microstructure of instant claim 1 and (Ce, Co) rich phase as required by instant claim 2.
in view of Lee’s Ce-based alloy having same microstructure as claimed, instant claimed improved extrinsic magnetic properties would be expected according to MPEP 2112.02.
As for claims 4-5, instant claimed limitations are interpreted as process limitations in a product claim.
When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either Section 102 or Section 103 is proper. See MPEP 2113.
According to MPEP 2113, determination of patentability of product is based on the product itself. That is, the patentability of product does not depend on its method of production unless the process of making the claimed product imparts any structural and/or functional limitation and characteristic on the claimed product.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated Zhang (US20180174722 A1).
As for claims 1-2, Zhang discloses permanent magnet material , the magnet material has at least one hard magnetic phase as main phase.
Ratio of R:T is 1:7 ([0089]) as composition of the at least one hard magnetic phase. R is rare earth such as Ce [0080]. T is transitional metal such as Co [0081].
Hence, Zhang suggests instant claim 1 required permanent magnet including 1:7 Ce-base main matrix phase and instant claim 2 required (REE,Co) rich phase wherein REE is Ce.
in view of Zhang’s Ce-based alloy having same microstructure as claimed, instant claimed improved extrinsic magnetic properties would be expected according to MPEP 2112.02.
As for claims 4-5, instant claimed limitations are interpreted as process limitations in a product claim.
When the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either Section 102 or Section 103 is proper. See MPEP 2113.
According to MPEP 2113, determination of patentability of product is based on the product itself. That is, the patentability of product does not depend on its method of production unless the process of making the claimed product imparts any structural and/or functional limitation and characteristic on the claimed product.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan.
As for claim 3, Pan explicitly discloses main phase is CeCo or CeFeB alloy with Ce2Fe14 as the main matrix phase. Ce is 32.3-38.2%, Fe is 60.5-72.5%, B: 0.8-1.6%, Mo: 0.1-0.6%, Zr 0.1-0.8% and Co 0.1-0.5%, which suggests the rest (B, Mo, Zr and Co) as secondary magnetic impurity phase dispersed in the main Ce2Fe14 phase. Hence, the upper limit of secondary magnetic impurity phase is expected to be (100-32.3-60.5-0.8-0.1-0.1-0.1)=5.2% which overlaps claimed 5-8%.
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US20060005898A1).
As for claim 3, the at least one magnetically soft phase is 0.5-80% vol. (Claim 9)
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Conclusion
/JENNY R WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733