DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group (I) claims 1-8 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 08/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/27/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of the continuation of PCT/US2023/011720 filed 01/27/2023 which claims priority to U.S. Provisional Application 63303656 filed 01/27/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024 and 08/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Macnair (US2020/0281890 published 09/10/2020).
Macnair (US2020/0281890 published 09/10/2020) teaches treating the sleep disorder of chronic insomnia in a subject in need comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a cannabidiol composition further comprising the terpenes alpha terpinene, limonene and trans caryophyllene ([0144]-[0155]; oil #4). As evidenced by [0048] of the specification, cannabidiol comprises “D2-cannabidiol”. As evidenced by CAS Registry database, the terpene trans caryophyllene in the oils of Macnair is also art-recognized as the claimed beta-caryophyllene.
Regarding the scope of claims 3-7 and 17, oral administration of the cannabidiol composition in the form of an oral liquid, one hour before bedtime for a duration of 6 weeks is taught ([0146]-[0147]). Macnair teaches that the cannabidiol composition comprising beta-caryophyllene, alpha terpinene and limonene increase total time asleep compared to control patients ([0153]). Macnair also teaches that oils comprising cannabidiol with terpenes beta-caryophyllene, myrcene, limonene, linalool, alpha-terpineol and alpha-pinene (oil #6) improved the reduction in latency to sleep and quality of life measured by an EQ-5D questionnaire compared to control (Table 5, [0141]-[0155]).
While Macnair is silent on the capacity of cannabidiol composition comprising alpha terpinene and limonene to increase restorative/REM sleep by at least 20% in the administered chronic insomnia patient (claims 4-8), or increases slow wave sleep and rapid eye movement sleep by an average of 50 minutes per night (claim 19), the composition (cannabidiol composition comprising beta-caryophyllene, alpha terpinene and limonene), the active step of administration, the route of administration (oral administration) and the same patient population (chronic insomnia patient) are identical to that of instantly claimed. Therefore, the property of the composition to increase restorative/REM sleep by at least 20% in the treated patient must necessarily be present in the prior art cannabidiol, beta-caryophyllene, alpha terpinene and limonene composition of Macnair because products of identical chemical composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when prepared or used in the same manner under the same circumstances. In other words, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical or physical structure of the composition, (i.e., the same active agents, cannabidiol, beta-caryophyllene, alpha terpinene and limonene), and the composition is used in the same manner (i.e., administered in the same manner to the same subject, via oral administration, the properties that Applicant discloses and/or claims must necessarily be present. Furthermore, as stated in MPEP 2112.02, “[u]nder the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered anticipated by the prior art device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 16-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Macnair (US2020/0281890 published 09/10/2020), Henson (Inflammopharmacology Vol. 30 pages 1167-1178 published 07/07/2022) and Linares (Frontiers in Pharmacology Vol. 9 pages 1-8, published 2018).
Macnair (US2020/0281890 published 09/10/2020) teaches treating the sleep disorder of chronic insomnia in a subject in need comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a cannabidiol composition further comprising the terpenes alpha terpinene and limonene ([0144]-[0155]; oil #4). As evidenced by [0048] of the specification, cannabidiol comprises “D2-cannabidiol”. Regarding the scope of claims 3-7 and 17, oral administration of the cannabidiol composition in the form of an oral liquid , one hour before bedtime for a duration of 6 weeks is taught ([0146]-[0147]). Macnair teaches that the cannabidiol composition comprising beta-caryophyllene, alpha terpinene and limonene increase total time asleep compared to control patients ([0153]). Macnair also teaches that oils comprising CBD with terpenes beta-caryophyllene, myrcene, limonene, linalool, alpha-terpineol and alpha-pinene (oil #6) improved the reduction in latency to sleep and quality of life measured by an EQ-5D questionnaire compared to control (Table 5, [0141]-[0155]).
The difference between the presently claimed methodology and that which is taught in the prior art of Macnair is that Macnair does not specifically teach wherein the insomnia patient is administered about 150 mg cannabidiol and about 0.5 mg of each terpene.
Henson (Inflammopharmacology Vol. 30 pages 1167-1178 published 07/07/2022) teaches the method of treating chronic insomnia comprising administering a dose of 160 mg CBD in a randomized controlled trial, wherein said CBD therapy resulted in an improved duration of sleep and less frequent awakenings compared to placebo patients (page 1170 right col.). Henson further teaches that orally administered CBD in doses up to 1500 mg per day were shown to be well tolerated with a good safety profile (page 1172 right col.). Regarding claim 20, wherein the formulation does not comprise D9-THC, Henson teaches that THC is not appropriate for chronic insomnia due to habituation of any short-term benefit it provides and that THC worsens sleep onset latency and daytime sleepiness (page 1171).
Linares (Frontiers in Pharmacology Vol. 9 pages 1-8, published 2018) teaches oral administration of an anti-anxiolytic dose of 300 mg CBD to patients in a sleep study. Linares teaches that said 300 mg dose of CBD had no residual effects on cognitive functioning, drowsiness nor does said 300 mg interfere with the sleep cycle of the administered subject (pages 5-6).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of the invention would have found it prima facie obvious to adjust the amount of CBD in the insomnia treating regimen of Macnair to about 150 mg or about 300 mg in view of Henson and Linares, arriving at the presently claimed methodology.
MPEP 2143 provides rationale for a conclusion of obviousness including (A):
Combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results;
In the present case, Henson teaches that oral administration of 160 mg CBD in a randomized controlled trial to insomnia patients resulted in an improved duration of sleep compared to placebo patients and that doses of 300 mg CBD do not interfere with the sleep cycle of the administered subject. Accordingly, said artisan would have readily predicted that administration of the CBD, terpinene, beta caryophyllene and limonene insomnia treating regimen of Macnair, wherein CBD is present in 160 mg or alternatively, about 300 mg, said regimen would improve the duration of sleep without interfering with the sleep cycle of the administered patient.
Secondly, said skilled artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to exclude delta-9 THC from the insomnia treating regimen of CDB and terpenes alpha terpinene, beta caryophyllene and limonene of Macnair in view of Henson as Henson teaches that THC is not appropriate for chronic insomnia patients as it worsens sleep onset latency and daytime sleepiness.
It is noted that the combination of Macnair, Henson and Linares does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of terpenes are each in an amount of 0.5 mg or 1.0 mg in the CBD insomnia treating regimen. However, it is considered well within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the amount of terpenes in the CBD regimen to provide optimal dosing to the insomnia patient. The amount of terpenes administered in the CBD regimen to the insomnia patient is a result effective parameter that will affect the physical properties of the administered CBD composition and is clearly a results effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill would routinely optimize. Optimization of parameters is a routine practice that would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to employ and reasonably would expect success. Moreover, the amounts of terpenes in the CBD regimen taught by Macnair, Henson and Linares provide a range of workable conditions and it would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal amount of terpenes in the CBD regimen to best achieve the desired result. Furthermore, absent any evidence demonstrating a patentable difference between the composition and the criticality of the claimed amounts, the determination of the optimum workable range(s) given the guidance of the prior art would have been generally prima facie obvious to the skilled artisan. Please see MPEP 2144.05 [R-2](II) (A) and In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) “[W]here the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.").
Lastly, regarding the limitations wherein the CBD regimen of Macnair, Henson and Linares increases restorative/REM sleep by at least 20% in the administered chronic insomnia patient (claims 4-8, 17), or increases slow wave sleep and rapid eye movement sleep by an average of 50 minutes per night (claim 19), Applicant is reminded that properties that accrue from a process step of administering a therapeutically effective amount of CBD and terpenes beta caryophyllene, alpha terpinene and limonene to a chronic insomnia patient are considered characteristic features of the claimed therapeutic regimen.
It is noted that MPEP 2112 discusses the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on"
In the present case the burden is shifted to Applicant to prove that the therapeutic regimen comprising CBD, limonene and alpha terpinene administered to the chronic insomnia patient does not result in an increase in restorative/REM sleep by at least 20% in the administered chronic insomnia patient nor increases the slow wave sleep and rapid eye movement sleep by an average of 50 minutes per night in the administered chronic insomnia patient.
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Macnair (US2020/0281890 published 09/10/2020) and Vu (US2018/0344684 published 12/06/2018).
Macnair (US2020/0281890 published 09/10/2020) teaches treating the sleep disorder of chronic insomnia in a subject in need comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of a cannabidiol composition further comprising the terpenes alpha terpinene and limonene ([0144]-[0155]; oil #4). As evidenced by [0048] of the specification, cannabidiol comprises “D2-cannabidiol”. Regarding the scope of claims 3-7 and 17, oral administration of the cannabidiol composition in the form of an oral liquid , one hour before bedtime for a duration of 6 weeks is taught ([0146]-[0147]). Macnair teaches that the cannabidiol composition comprising beta-caryophyllene, alpha terpinene and limonene increase total time asleep compared to control patients ([0153]). Macnair also teaches that oils comprising CBD with terpenes beta-caryophyllene, myrcene, limonene, linalool, alpha-terpineol and alpha-pinene (oil #6) improved the reduction in latency to sleep and quality of life measured by an EQ-5D questionnaire compared to control (Table 5, [0141]-[0155]). Macnair further teaches insomnia treating compositions comprising CBD, myrcene, phytol, beta-caryophyllene, linalool, alpha-pinene, limonene ([0138]).
The difference between the presently claimed methodology and that of Macnair is Macnair does not specifically teach administering an cannabidiol oil composition to the chronic insomnia patient, wherein the cannabinoid oil composition comprises the terpenes linalool, myrcene, phytol, limonene, alpha terpinene, alpha terpineol, alpha pinene and beta caryophyllene.
Vu (US2018/0344684 published 12/06/2018) teaches cannabidiol compositions to treat insomnia. Vu teaches phytol is a desirable terpene for the cannabinoid formulation for treating insomnia as it yields a relaxing effect ([0116], claims 1, 7). Vu teaches that myrcene is an advantageous terpene for cannabidiol compositions to treat insomnia due to its sedative and relaxing properties ([0063], claims 1, 7). Vu teaches that alpha terpineol, terpinene, beta-caryophyllene and alpha-pinene are each efficacious at reducing anxiety and providing calming, relaxing effects and that linalool and limonene also comprise calming, relaxing effect ([0066], [0072], [0075], [0079]-[0083], [0103]-[0105] and claims 1, 7).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of the invention would have found it prima facie obvious to incorporate the terpenes linalool, myrcene, phytol, limonene, alpha terpinene, alpha terpineol, alpha pinene and beta caryophyllene into a cannabidiol formulation to treat insomnia in a subject in need in view of the combined teaching of Macnair and Vu.
Applicant is reminded that “[I]t is well settled that it is a matter of obviousness for one of ordinary skill in the art to select a particular component from among many disclosed by the prior art as long as it is taught that the selection will result in the disclosed effect, even when the possible selections number 1200 or in the thousands. Merck & Co., Inc. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Corkill, 771 F.2d 1496, 1500 (Fed. Cir. 1985).” Applicant is also reminded of MPEP 2144.07 wherein the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). In the present case, Vu teaches phytol is a desirable terpene for the cannabinoid formulation as it yields a relaxing effect, while myrcene, alpha terpineol, terpinene, beta-caryophyllene, alpha-pinene, linalool and limonene are each efficacious at yielding a calming, relaxing effect (([0066], [0072], [0075], [0079]-[0083], [0103]-[0105], claims 1 and 7). Accordingly, said skilled artisan would have readily predicted that administration of the cannabidiol formulation of Macnair further containing the terpenes phytol, myrcene, alpha terpineol, terpinene, beta-caryophyllene, alpha-pinene, linalool and limonene would have treated insomnia in the afflicted subject and provided a calming and relaxing effect.
Conclusion
In view of the rejections set forth above, no claim is allowed.
/GEORGE W KOSTURKO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621