DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11, 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEDGE et al (US 20250063429) in view of SEIDEL et al (US 2024/0236847).
Regarding claim 1, 18, method for managing communication in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
monitoring, by a processor associated with a radio unit, a downlink traffic at the radio unit in the wireless communication network at a first time instance (HEDGE: Fig. 4, ¶59, ¶17, ¶12, ¶27-28, ¶37, monitoring downlink user traffic data and the time period for that traffic data);
determining, by the processor, a low traffic state of the radio unit based on a pre-defined threshold for the monitored downlink traffic for a pre-configured time period (HEDGE: ¶30, ¶40, ¶47, ¶61, determining an adjustment of RU to be implemented at the RU based on the monitored traffic being above or below a level);
identifying, by the processor, a power consumption policy for the radio unit to enter a low power state based on the determined low traffic state (HEDGE: ¶30, ¶40, ¶47, ¶61, identifying the frequencies and parts of the RU for an adjustment of RU which is to be implemented at the RU based on the monitored traffic being above or below a level)
applying, by the processor, the power consumption policy at the radio unit (HEDGE: ¶61-62, applying power consumption policy (adjustment of operation) at the radio unit).
HEDGE remains silent regarding identifying, by the processor, a power consumption policy from a plurality of power consumption policies;
communicating, by the processor, the identified power consumption policy and a set of parameters associated with the identified power consumption policy to a distributed unit in the wireless communication network;
receiving, by the processor, from the distributed unit, an offset time for the radio unit to enter the low power state, the offset time being based on the set of parameters associated with the identified power consumption policy; and
applying is based on completion of the offset time received from the distributed unit.
However, SEIDEL (US 2024/0236847) discloses identifying, by the processor, a power consumption policy from a plurality of power consumption policies (SEIDEL: ¶84, ¶92, identifying at least one or more energy saving modes (equivalent to the power consumption policies));
communicating, by the processor, the identified power consumption policy and a set of parameters associated with the identified power consumption policy to a distributed unit in the wireless communication network (SEIDEL: ¶92, ¶134-135, at least the RU determines the mode and indicates the mode to the DU (during negotiation with the DU) to use the identified/preferred energy saving mode; ¶238, ¶250, relevant parameters);
receiving, by the processor, from the distributed unit, an offset time for the radio unit to enter the low power state, the offset time being based on the set of parameters associated with the identified power consumption policy (SEIDEL: ¶92, ¶96, ¶140-141, ¶220, RU determines the mode and a corresponding transition time based on sleep mode (power consumption policy) parameters associated with the sleep mode identifier and stored information); and
applying is based on completion of the offset time received from the distributed unit (SEIDEL: ¶150, ¶205,¶95-96, ¶125, applying the energy saving mode according to the transition time).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEIDEL as it provides a way to reduce a consumption of electric energy of at least some components of a communication system by using a higher granularity of energy consumption modes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE with teachings of SEIDEL in order to optimize energy saving and performance of the radio units.
Regarding claim 2, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, comprising:
determining, by the processor, another power consumption policy from the plurality of power consumption policies for the radio unit based on the monitored downlink traffic at a second time instance, the first time instance being prior to the second time instance (HEDGE: ¶47, ¶17, ¶28, periodically determine the next power consumption policy; each period after another);
sending, by the processor, a message to the distributed unit to update the set of parameters based on the determined another power consumption policy (HEDGE: Fig. 4, ¶58-59, ¶17, ¶22, ¶27-29, ¶37, ¶48, receiving user traffic data (including the downlink data) and the time period for that traffic data; ¶28, traffic data periodically determined; SEIDEL: ¶92, ¶134-135, at least the RU determines the mode and indicates the mode to the DU (during negotiation with the DU) to use the identified/preferred energy saving mode);
receiving, by the processor, from the distributed unit, an updated offset time for the radio unit to switch from the power consumption policy to the another power consumption policy, the updated offset time being based on the updated set of parameters associated with the determined another power consumption policy (SEIDEL: ¶92, ¶134-135, at least the RU determines the mode and indicates the mode to the DU (during negotiation with the DU) to use the identified/preferred energy saving mode); and
applying, by the processor, the another power consumption policy at the radio unit on completion of the updated offset time received from the distributed unit (SEIDEL: ¶150, ¶205,¶95, applying the energy saving mode according to the transition time of the respective mode (equivalent to the updated offset)).
Regarding claim 3. HEDGE modified by SEIDEL discloses method as claimed in claim 1, comprising:
receiving, by the processor, from the distributed unit, a second offset time for the radio unit to switch from the low power state to a normal state based on a predicted downlink traffic at the radio unit (SEIDEL: ¶92, ¶134-135, at least the RU determines the mode and indicates the mode to the DU (during negotiation with the DU) to use the identified/preferred energy saving mode); and
configuring, by the processor, the radio unit to enter a state on completion of the second offset time received from the distributed unit (HEDGE: ¶47, ¶17, ¶28, periodically determine the next power consumption policy; each period after another; SEIDEL: ¶140, ¶220, RU determines the mode and a corresponding transition time based on sleep mode (power consumption policy) parameters associated with the sleep mode identifier and stored information)
HEDGE modified by SEIDEL remains silent regarding, however, SEIDEL discloses configuring, by the processor, the radio unit to enter the normal state on completion of the second offset time received from the distributed unit (SEIDEL: ¶140, ¶212, from sleep to active (normal) mode after an associated transition time).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEIDEL as it provides flexibility to revert to higher power mode when demand of the communication is higher, thereby improving user experience. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE with teachings of SEIDEL in order to optimize throughput and user experience.
Regarding claim 11, method for managing communication in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor associated with a distributed unit, from a radio unit in the wireless communication network, a set of parameters associated with a power consumption policy of a plurality of power consumption policies (HEDGE: Fig. 4, ¶58-59, ¶17, ¶22, ¶27-29, ¶37, ¶48, receiving user traffic data (including the downlink data) and the time period for that traffic data);
determining, by the processor, to change a configuration from a normal scheduling scheme to a new scheduling scheme corresponding to the power consumption policy (HEDGE: ¶30-32, ¶61-62 the scheduling of an RU is changed to a new scheduling mode where it is not scheduled for a particular time i.e. the RU is turned off for a particular operation); and 30,
the radio unit to enter a low power state based on applying the power consumption policy (HEDGE: ¶17, ¶48, DU controls the served RU for implementing the adjusted operation including the one where the RU is turned off for an operation)
HEDGE remains silent regarding determining an offset time for a scheduler to change the configuration, and sending the offset time to the radio unit to enter the lower power state based on applying the power policy on completion of the offset time.
However, SEIDEL (US 2024/0236847) discloses receiving, by the processor, from the distributed unit, an offset time for a scheduler to change the configuration. (SEIDEL: ¶140, ¶220, RU determines the mode and a corresponding transition time based on sleep mode (power consumption policy) parameters associated with the sleep mode identifier and stored information); and
sending the offset time to the radio unit to enter the lower power state based on applying the power policy on completion of the offset time (SEIDEL: ¶150, ¶205, ¶95, ¶136, applying the energy saving mode according to the transition time at the RU)
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEIDEL as it provides a way to reduce a consumption of electric energy of at least some components of a communication system by using a higher granularity of energy consumption modes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE with teachings of SEIDEL in order to optimize energy saving and performance of the radio units.
Regarding claim 15, HEDGE discloses a method for managing communication in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
monitoring, by a processor associated with a management unit, a downlink traffic at a radio unit in the wireless communication network; determining, by the processor, a low traffic state of the radio state based on a pre-defined threshold for the monitored downlink traffic (HEDGE: Fig. 4, ¶59, ¶17, ¶12, ¶27-28, ¶37, monitoring downlink user traffic data and the time period for that traffic data ); determining, by the processor, a power consumption policy and a set of parameters for the radio unit to enter a low power state based on the determined low traffic state (HEDGE: ¶30, ¶40, ¶47, ¶61, identifying the frequencies and parts of the RU for an adjustment of RU which is to be implemented at the RU based on the monitored traffic being above or below a level; ¶238, ¶250, parameters associated with the power policy); and communicating, by the processor, the determined power consumption policy and a set of parameters to the radio unit (HEDGE: ¶61-62, applying power consumption policy (adjustment of operation) at the radio unit by sending the configuration/adjustments to the RU).
HEDGE remains silent regarding, however, SEIDEL (US 2024/0236847) discloses determining a power consumption policy from a plurality of power consumption policies (SEIDEL: ¶84, ¶92, identifying at least one or more energy saving modes (equivalent to the power consumption policies));
communicating, by the processor, a set of parameters associated with the determined power consumption policy to a distributed unit in the wireless communication network (SEIDEL: ¶92, ¶134-135, at least the RU determines the mode and indicates the mode to the DU (during negotiation with the DU) to use the identified/preferred energy saving mode; ¶238, ¶250, relevant parameters);
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEIDEL as it provides a way to reduce a consumption of electric energy of at least some components of a communication system by using a higher granularity of energy consumption modes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE with teachings of SEIDEL in order to optimize energy saving and performance of the radio units.
Regarding claim 16, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL discloses the method as claimed in claim 15. HEDGE modified by SEIDEL remains silent regarding, however, SEIDEL discloses receiving, by the processor, an acknowledgement for the power consumption policy from the radio unit (SEIDEL: ¶92, RU sends an indication whether or not a given energy mode should be utilized, equivalent to an acknowledgement).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEIDEL as it provides a way to reduce a consumption of electric energy of at least some components of a communication system by using a higher granularity of energy consumption modes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE with teachings of SEIDEL in order to optimize energy saving and performance of the radio units.
Regarding claim 17, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL discloses method as claimed in claim 15. HEDGE remains silent regarding, however, SEIDEL discloses receiving, by the processor, from the radio unit, a message indicating another power consumption policy from the plurality of power consumption policies based on a power saving potential associated with the another power consumption policy; and sending, by the processor, an acknowledgement for the another power consumption policy to the radio unit, wherein the acknowledgment comprises one of: a positive acknowledgement or a negative acknowledgement (SEIDEL: ¶92, ¶134, a negotiation of energy mode occurs between the RU and the management via DU, where at least one indication is sent by the radio unit and received by the management unit/CU/SMM, and one indicating acknowledging an energy mode is sent by the CU/SMM and received by RU per mode configuration).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE would have been motivated to use the teachings of SEIDEL as it provides a way to reduce a consumption of electric energy of at least some components of a communication system by using a higher granularity of energy consumption modes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE with teachings of SEIDEL in order to optimize energy saving and performance of the radio units.
Claim(s) 4-5, 8-10, 13-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEDGE modified by SEIDEL as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of VELUCHAMY et al (US 2025/0048254)
Regarding claims 4, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL discloses the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein identifying, by the processor, the power consumption policy comprises:
receiving, by the processor, from a management unit in the wireless communication network, a message indicating the power consumption policy for the radio unit based on the low traffic state of the radio unit (HEDGE: ¶30, ¶40, ¶47, ¶61, identifying the frequencies and parts of the RU for an adjustment of RU which is to be implemented at the RU based on the monitored traffic being above or below a level).
HEDGE modified by SEIDEL remains silent regarding, however VELUCHAMY discloses analyzing, by the processor, a power saving potential associated with the power consumption policy (VELUCHAMY: ¶165, ¶169, ¶176, ¶210, achievable energy savings corresponding to the sleeping mode is determined (equivalent to analysis) by the RU).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL would have been motivated to use the teachings of VELUCHAMY as it addresses a lack of communication between the O-DU and O-RU, network energy-saving methods cannot be dynamically implemented (¶12) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL with teachings of VELUCHAMY in order to enhance communication and synchronization of information between the DUs and RUs.
Regarding claim 5, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL modified by VELUCHAMY discloses the method as claimed in claim 4, comprising: sending, by the processor, an acknowledgement for the power consumption policy to the management unit based on the power saving potential associated with the power consumption policy (VELUCHAMY: ¶190, acknowledgement/confirmation message sent to a management unit).
Regarding claims 8, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL discloses, the method as claimed in claim 1.
HEDGE modified by SEIDEL remains silent regarding, however VELUCHAMY discloses wherein the communication between the radio unit and the distributed unit is via one of:
a management-plane (M-plane) based communication, and a control-plane (C-plane) based communication, based on a symbol level power control mechanism (VALUCHAMY: ¶236,¶140, ¶200, C-plane or M-plane communication is employed where in C-plan, a symbol level (short duration) sleep modes are used i.e. symbol level power control mechanism), wherein the communication between the radio unit and the distributed unit is via the M-plane based communication based on the symbol level power control mechanism being disabled (VALUCHAMY: ¶253, ¶180, symbol level power control employed when using C-plane communication; longer duration control is via M-plane which is not symbol level), and wherein the communication between the radio unit and the distributed unit is via the C-plane based communication based on the symbol level power control mechanism being enabled (VALUCHAMY: ¶253, symbol level power control employed when using C-plane communication).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL would have been motivated to use the teachings of VELUCHAMY as it addresses a lack of communication between the O-DU and O-RU, network energy-saving methods cannot be dynamically implemented (¶12) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL with teachings of VELUCHAMY in order to enhance communication and synchronization of information between the DUs and RUs.
Regarding claims 9, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL modified by VALUCHAMY discloses method as claimed in claim 8, wherein the set of parameters for the M-plane based communication comprises at least one of: an identifier of the radio unit, a bit corresponding to the low power state of the radio unit, a type of the power consumption policy, a predicted traffic rate, a number of transmit/receive chains to be disabled, a number of downlink slots to be disabled, a start slot number, and a maximum number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) per each symbol (VALUCHAMY: ¶140, ¶200, Fig. 7, the M-plane control communication includes at least a bit corresponding to different sleep modes).
Regarding claims 10, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL modified by VALUCHAMY discloses method as claimed in claim 8.
HEDGE modified by SEIDEL modified by VALUCHAMY remains silent regarding, however, VALUCHAMY in another embodiment discloses extension wherein the C-plane based communication comprises an exchange of C-plane packets between the radio unit and the distributed unit, wherein each C-plane packet comprises at least an extension flag, wherein each C-plane packet comprises extension fields based on the extension flag being enabled, wherein the extension fields comprise at least one of: extension type, extension length, energy saving type, and the set of parameters, and wherein the set of parameters comprise at least one of: number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) per symbol, start slot, and number of slots ((VALUCHAMY: ¶242, ¶247, ¶331, Fig. 9, the C-plane control communication includes at least a bit corresponding to different sleep mode; and the parameters include at least the number of slots parameter ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL would have been motivated to use the teachings of VELUCHAMY as it addresses a lack of communication between the O-DU and O-RU, network energy-saving methods cannot be dynamically implemented (¶12) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL with teachings of VELUCHAMY in order to enhance communication and synchronization of information between the DUs and RUs.
Regarding claims 13, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL discloses, the method as claimed in claim 11.
HEDGE modified by SEIDEL remains silent regarding, however VELUCHAMY discloses wherein the communication between the distributed unit and the radio unit is via a management-plane (M-plane) based communication based on a symbol level power control mechanism being disabled (VALUCHAMY: ¶236,¶140, ¶200, C-plane or M-plane communication is employed where in C-plan, a symbol level (short duration) sleep modes are used i.e. symbol level power control mechanism; ¶253, ¶180, symbol level power control employed when using C-plane communication; longer duration control is via M-plane which is not symbol level), and via a control-plane (C-plane) based communication based on the symbol level power control mechanism being enabled. (VALUCHAMY: ¶253, symbol level power control employed when using C-plane communication),
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL would have been motivated to use the teachings of VELUCHAMY as it addresses a lack of communication between the O-DU and O-RU, network energy-saving methods cannot be dynamically implemented (¶12) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL with teachings of VELUCHAMY in order to enhance communication and synchronization of information between the DUs and RUs.
Regarding claim 14, HEDGE modified by SEIDEL modified by VALUCHAMY discloses method as claimed in claim 13.
HEDGE modified by SEIDEL modified by VALUCHAMY remains silent regarding, however, VALUCHAMY in another embodiment discloses extension wherein the C-plane based communication comprises an exchange of C-plane packets between the radio unit and the distributed unit, wherein each C-plane packet comprises at least an extension flag, wherein each C-plane packet comprises extension fields based on the extension flag being enabled, wherein the extension fields comprise at least one of: extension type, extension length, energy saving type, and the set of parameters, and wherein the set of parameters comprise at least one of: number of physical resource blocks (PRBs) per symbol, start slot, and number of slots ((VALUCHAMY: ¶242, ¶247, ¶331, Fig. 9, the C-plane control communication includes at least a bit corresponding to different sleep mode; and the parameters include at least the number of slots parameter ).
A person of ordinary skill in the art working with the invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL would have been motivated to use the teachings of VELUCHAMY as it addresses a lack of communication between the O-DU and O-RU, network energy-saving methods cannot be dynamically implemented (¶12) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify invention of HEDGE modified by SEIDEL with teachings of VELUCHAMY in order to enhance communication and synchronization of information between the DUs and RUs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 7, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. Applicants take a position that SEIDEL’s “transition time” cannot be interpreted as the claimed “offset time” because the “transition time” of SEIDEL is not a time which is “dynamically determined based on the set of parameters communicated by the radio unit to the distributed unit…” and that the offset time is transmitted in an opposite direction of the claimed flow.
Firstly, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “dynamically determined based on the set of parameters communicated by the radio unit to the distributed unit”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Secondly, “Transition Time” of SEIDEL is a time information for a time duration which is between one energy state to another energy state. SEIDEL’s RIC unit receives information related to different modes. This information is described in at least ¶138, ¶140-141:
[0138] In some exemplary embodiments, data may be collected, e.g. by the RIC E3, e.g. by the application SMM-APP, from one or more, e.g. all, DUs (e.g., respective first information), and the training of the ML model MLM may e.g. be performed jointly, e.g. for all DUs. In some exemplary embodiments, the sets of identifiers, e.g. SMIDs, may be separate, e.g. for each DU. In some exemplary embodiments, e.g. in the operating stage, the sleep mode configuration/guidance (e.g., using the control information CTRL-INF) may be performed jointly, e.g. for all DUs, or for a subset of the DUs, which e.g. enables to achieve a global optimization, e.g. regarding energy consumption.
[0140] In some exemplary embodiments, the SMM application SMM-APP may receive, e.g. take, at least one of the following inputs:
[0141] 1. In the configuration phase, the SMM application SMM-APP may e.g. receive and store (at least temporarily) sleep mode/energy saving feature related data, such as SMIDs, minimum sleep durations of at least one, e.g. each, sleep mode, transition times between sleep modes (e.g., pairwise) or the active mode and the sleep modes, and, for example, whether a sleep mode is applicable to uplink and/or downlink.
RUs and DUs negotiate which modes to utilize:
[0134] In some exemplary embodiments, at least one of the following aspects is provided, e.g. performed, during the configuration stage. The RU E2 and the DU E1, and the DU E1 and the RIC E3 exchange capability information, such as e.g. supported sleep modes/energy saving features, see for example the double arrows a1, a2 of FIG. 16 (e.g., using the first information I-1). In some exemplary embodiments, the RU E2 and the DU E1, and/or the DU E1 and the RIC E3 negotiate on which sleep modes to utilize (and/or not to utilize), e.g. in the future, and assign identifiers, e.g. SMIDs, to those sleep modes which will be utilized, e.g. used. In some exemplary embodiments, details about the to-be-utilized sleep modes may be exchanged, see the double arrows a1, a2, and may e.g. stored by at least one of the components E1, E2, E3. In some exemplary embodiments, for example two or more, e.g. separate, sets of identifiers, e.g. SMIDs, can be used: i) a first set of identifiers, e.g. SMIDs, for an exchange and a negotiation between the RU E2 and the DU E1, and ii) a second set of identifiers, e.g. SMIDs, for an exchange and a guidance/control between the DU E1 and the RIC 16.
The above two functions occur during a training and configuration stages which include the exchange a1 and a2, see Fig. 16 below:
The training and configuration stage is not when the interpreted offset time (transition time) is determined by the RU to be implemented. It is the operation stage which includes a8 of Fig. 16 when the transition time/offset time is implemented by the E2 (RUs) and is sent in the direction of E3/RIC -> E1 (DU) -> E2 (RU).
[0136] In some exemplary embodiments, at least one of the following aspects is provided, e.g. performed, during the operating stage: The SMM application SMM-APP collects data, e.g. the same set of data as in the training stage, see arrows a3, a4, and feeds it as input data into the ML model MLM, and infers, by means of the ML model MLM, see arrow a6, a recommended set of identifiers, e.g. SMIDs, to configure in the DU E1, see arrow a7, e.g. based on the current network conditions and, if available, predictions (collected according to arrows a3, a4). Information characterizing the recommended set of identifiers, e.g. SMIDs, is then communicated towards the DU E1, e.g. in form of a guidance or configuration, see arrow 7 (also cf. the control information CTRL-INF explained above). Further, the DU E1 may configure its associated RU E2, see arrow a8, e.g. according to the configured/selected sleep mode/energy saving feature, e.g. based on the information obtained according to arrow a7.
Each of the energy mode/sleep mode has a corresponding transition time associated with it which is received by the RU, at least in terms of the mode information.
[0049] Further exemplary embodiments relate to a use of at least one of a) the apparatus according to the embodiments, b) the method according to the embodiments, c) the distributed unit according to the embodiments, d) the radio unit according to the embodiments, e) the RAN controller, for example RIC, according to the embodiments, f) the communication system, e.g. communication network, according to the embodiments, g) the computer program product according to the embodiments, h) the data carrier signal according to the embodiments, for at least one of the following elements: A) enabling a common control of energy saving modes of several components of a communication system, B) providing an efficient guidance or configuration of energy saving modes of several components of a communication system, C) reducing an overall electrical energy consumption of a communication system, D) unifying a control associated with energy saving modes of different components of a communication system, E) enabling a capability exchange of supported energy saving modes and/or sleep modes and/or energy saving functions of different components of a communication system, F) allocating identifiers for energy saving modes, e.g. sleep modes, G) dynamically, e.g. during an operation, optimizing an overall energy consumption of a communication network.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret the above transition time as the claimed “offset time” which is received by the RU from the DU and is also updated dynamically.
Applicants argue,
“
”
Examiner respectfully disagreed with the above arguments. Applicants take a position that VELUCHAMY does not teach dynamically calculating a power saving potential. Examiner submits that:
[0165] FIG. 4 illustrates a method of M-Plane messaging comprising at least one Yang model for capability reporting of sleep modes (e.g., advanced sleep modes) and associated parameters according to an embodiment. Referring to FIG. 4, the O-RU reports its capability information to implement sleep modes based on the Yang model for capability reporting of sleep modes to O-DU. Based on the sleep mode the parameters and requirements to be met by the O-RU differ. The O-DU uses the capability information to apply a supported antenna array configuration (i.e., applying a supported antenna array configuration for the respective sleep mode).
[0168] Regarding the sleep modes (e.g., the advanced sleep modes), advanced sleep modes with minimum sleep duration may be activated and deactivated and minimum duration of against each sleep mode may be exchanged between the O-RU and the O-DU.
[0169] Regarding sleep modes, the achievable energy savings is either reported by O-RU or monitored by O-DU.
A person ordinary skill in the art would reasonably interpret the achievable energy savings determination as potential power saving analysis.
Furthermore, regarding claims 10, 13, and claims other than independent claims, no arguments other than mere allegations of patentability.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
All remaining arguments are based on the arguments addressed as above and are fully responded to as above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
OMER S. MIAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2461
/OMER S MIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461