Response to filed Amendments
Applicant’s Amendments/Remarks filed on 07/30/2026 have been received and made of record.
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 12-13, and 15 have been amended.
New claims 16-19 have been added.
Claims 1-19 are currently pending.
Please refer to the action below.
Examiner Notes
Response to Remarks/Arguments
Applicants’ arguments of 07/23/2026, corresponding to pages 7-11 and the newly cited claims amendments pertaining to the prior arts of record of Takenaka and Reese, have been considered, however, they are moot in light of the new ground of rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 12, and 16-17 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Waki et al. (JP 20123627, A1) in view of Yamashita et al. (US 2015/0186758, A1).
Regarding claim 1, Waki teaches a printer 2 of Figs. 1-3 comprising:
a memory 23 of Fig. 3;
a print engine 26 of Fig. 3; and
a controller of Fig. 5 configured to perform:
an acquisition process including acquiring print data (at least Figs. 1-3 further illustrates the printer 2 configured for acquiring print data from at least the external device 1);
when the print data is of a second type different from a first type, a generation process including generating a new set of font data a first format stored in the memory, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, using the Japanese device font instead of the download format type indicative of the first type, an executed generation process including generating a new set of font data based on the set of font data in a first format stored in the memory, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format);
and when the generation process is performed, a drawing process including drawing an image of a character designated in the print data using the new set of font data generated in the generation process (a case exists further in at least the disclosure S404-406 where when the generation process is performed, a drawing process including drawing an image of a character designated in the print data using the new set of font data generated in the generation process).
However, Waki is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as when the print data is of a second type different from a first type, a generation process including generating a new set of font data in a second format based on the set of font data in a first format stored in the memory, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, the second type of print data supporting the new set of font data in the second format different from the first format.
Yamashita teaches at least in para. 0015-0022 the receiving of print job data including at least designated font data from device 102 to printout the document (ED), the printer at least in para. 0018-0022 employs a mapping font table 126 to map the print job data to supported and previously downloaded fonts formats stored in font table 126, and further configured at least in para. 0018-0022 when the received print data is of a second font type not previously included in the font table 126 inherently different from a first supported type, a generation process of para. 0018-0022 including generating a new set of font data where specifically in para. 0018 and 0022 may execute other that a replacement/substitute font but a downloaded font generation process when the received print data is of a second font type in which necessary glyphs are obviously embedded in print data among the downloaded font data including corresponding font ID in association with the downloaded font file, where the generated new font are obtained based on the mapping of the font data in a first format stored in the memory correlated to said first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, the generated and downloaded second type of print data of para 0018 and 0022 supports the new set of font data which may obviously be in a second format different from the first format; Yamashita cites in para. 0018 and 0022 the performing of the requested print job subsequent to the acquired new set of downloaded fonts which implies inherently a drawing of process of drawing font characters and the like. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Waki in view of Yamashita to include wherein when the print data is of a second type different from a first type, a generation process including generating a new set of font data in a second format based on the set of font data in a first format stored in the memory, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, the second type of print data supporting the new set of font data in the second format different from the first format, as discussed above, as Waki in view of Yamashita are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for to match pre-stored printer fonts to user designated fonts identified in a received print job by at least performing font compatibility check process, where in a case the user specified fonts in the print job are not available or not supported in the printer to in a case generate new fonts corresponding to pre-stored first type format further substantially equivalent to the user specified fonts to output said print job, Yamashita’s combination of generated fonts from at least downloading designated fonts in addition to generating new replacement fonts further complements the methods and systems of mapping and matching pre-stored printer fonts to user designated fonts identified in a received print job of Waki, in the sense that said combination of generated fonts from at least downloading designated fonts in addition to generating new replacement fonts of Yamashita when combined with the methods and systems of Waki enables the print system to realize successful print data completion correlated the user specified fonts data, where users subsequently can use the downloaded font files for printing, irrespective of the type of print data where users according to one skill in the art do not need to prepare font files in a plurality of formats for the same font (the same typeface), nor do users need to concern themselves with the type of print data, thereby increase a convenience to the users knowing the requested print job will be perform accordingly irrespective of the printers pre-stored font files according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Regarding claim 2 (according to claim 1), Waki further teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform: when the print data is of the second type, a font specification process including specifying, as a specified font, a font designated in the print data (a case exists further in at least Figs. 9 where the received print data may include font data information such as usage of : “download font”, “use printer font”, a “font replacement table” of TrueType font and “printer font to be used”, as such when the print data is of the second type identifying “use printer font”, a “font replacement table” of TrueType font and “printer font to be used”, a font specification process includes then said specifying, as a specified font, a font designated in the print data);
wherein when a set of font data of the specified font is stored as the set of font data in the first format in the memory, the controller performs the generation process to generate the new set of font data in the second format based on the set of font data in the first format stored in the memory (a further case exists further in at least the disclosure S404-406 where when a set of font data of the specified font is stored as the set of font data in the first format in the memory 23, the controller performs the generation process to generate the new set of font data in the second format based on the set of font data in the first format stored in the memory).
Regarding claim 3 (according to claim 2), Waki further teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform:
when a set of font data of the specified font in the second format is stored in the memory, a second drawing process including drawing the image of the character designated in the print data using the set of font data of the specified font in the second format stored in the memory ( Takenaka further teaches a case of Figs. 12 and 15 of receiving a page description language print data in PDF to be output in at least PDF print, or Direct-PDF print or PDF-PS, a case exists where when a set of font data of the specified font in the second PDF format is stored in the memory);
wherein when the set of font data of the specified font in the first format and the set of font data of the specified font in the second format are both stored in the memory, the controller performs the second drawing process without performing the generation process or the drawing process (at least Figs 17 further teaches a drawing process to draw the image of the character designated in the pint data using the set of font data of the specified font in the second format stored in the memory).
Regarding claim 5 (according to claim 1), Waki further teaches wherein the controller performs the generation process including generating the new set of font data based on the set of font data in the first format stored in the memory according to a set of generation program instructions stored in the memory (at least Figs. 6 and the disclosure further teaches the generating new substituted set of font data based on the set of font data in the first format stored in the memory according to a set of generation program instructions stored in the memory).
Regarding claim 6 (according to claim 1), Tabushi further teaches wherein the generation process generates, for the character designated in the print data, the new set of font data based on the set of font data in the first format stored in the memory (Figs. 6-7).
Regarding claim 12 (according to claim 1), Waki further teaches wherein the controller is configured to further perform:
storing, in the memory, a first font file downloaded from an external device, the first font file including a plurality of sets of font data in the first format (the disclosure further cites a case of the download print format data from the external device including said first font file downloaded, said first font file according to one skill in the art including a plurality of sets of font data in a predetermined first format); and
when the print data is of the first type, a second drawing process including drawing an image of each character designated in the print data using a corresponding one of the plurality of sets of font data included in the first font file stored in the memory (the system of the disclosure and at least Fig. 6 illustrates when the print data is of the first download format type, a second drawing process including drawing an image of each character designated in the print data using a corresponding one of the plurality of sets of font data included in the first font file stored in the memory);
wherein when the print data is of the second type, the controller performs both the generation process and the drawing process but does not perform the second drawing process (the system of the disclosure and at least Fig. 6 further illustrates when the print data is of the replacement second type, the controller performs obviously both the generation process and the drawing process but does not obviously perform the second drawing process).
Regarding claim 16 (according to claim 1), Waki further teaches wherein the second type of print data does not support the set of font data in the first format ( the second type of print data of at least the replacement font and/or used the printer font of the disclosure as implied does not support the set of font data in the first format).
Regarding claim 17 (according to claim 16), Waki further implies wherein the first type of print data does not support the new set of font data in the second format (Figs. 6-8 further illustrates a case where first download format type of print data as understood in the art in a case does not support the new set of font data in the second format).
Claim 1 is/are further rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tabushi et al. (US 2021/0303945, A1) in view of Yamashita.
Regarding claim 1, Tabushi teaches a printer 1 of Figs. 1 and 5-6 comprising:
a memory of Para. 0010;
a print engine 16 of Fig. 1; and
a controller 11 of Fig. 1 configured to perform:
an acquisition process including acquiring print data (at least Figs. 5-6, and para. 0032-0043, further supported by para. 0068-0075 further illustrates the printer 1 configured for acquiring print data from the external device 2, and to perform a RIP process shown in Figs. 5-6 for detecting and identifying selected font information from the acquired print data);
when the print data is of a second type different from a first type, a generation process including generating a new set of font data a first format stored in the memory, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, Fig. 5, a generation process of Fig. 7 including generating a new set of font data based on the set of font data in a first format stored in the memory 14 of at least para. 0041-0043 storing supported font information with associated glyph data, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first PDF format);
and when the generation process is performed, a drawing process including drawing an image of a character designated in the print data using the new set of font data generated in the generation process (a case exists further in at least Figs. 7, the printer adapted to perform a drawing process to draw an image of a character designated in the print data using the new set of font data generated in the generation process).
However, Tabushi is silent regarding the above lined-out items such as when the print data is of a second type different from a first type, a generation process including generating a new set of font data in a second format based on the set of font data in a first format stored in the memory, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, the second type of print data supporting the new set of font data in the second format different from the first format.
Yamashita teaches at least in para. 0015-0022 the receiving of print job data including at least designated font data from device 102 to printout the document (ED), the printer at least in para. 0018-0022 employs a mapping font table 126 to map the print job data to supported and previously downloaded fonts formats stored in font table 126, and further configured at least in para. 0018-0022 when the received print data is of a second font type not previously included in the font table 126 inherently different from a first supported type, a generation process of para. 0018-0022 including generating a new set of font data where specifically in para. 0018 and 0022 may execute other that a replacement/substitute font but a downloaded font generation process when the received print data is of a second font type in which necessary glyphs are obviously embedded in print data among the downloaded font data including corresponding font ID in association with the downloaded font file, where the generated new font are obtained based on the mapping of the font data in a first format stored in the memory correlated to said first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, the generated and downloaded second type of print data of para 0018 and 0022 supports the new set of font data which may obviously be in a second format different from the first format; Yamashita cites in para. 0018 and 0022 the performing of the requested print job subsequent to the acquired new set of downloaded fonts which implies inherently a drawing of process of drawing font characters and the like. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the teachings of Tabushi in view of Yamashita to include wherein when the print data is of a second type different from a first type, a generation process including generating a new set of font data in a second format based on the set of font data in a first format stored in the memory, the first type of print data supporting the set of font data in the first format, the second type of print data supporting the new set of font data in the second format different from the first format, as discussed above, as Tabushi in view of Yamashita are in the same field of endeavor of employing methods and systems for to match pre-stored printer fonts to user designated fonts identified in a received print job by at least performing font compatibility check process, where in a case the user specified fonts in the print job are not available or not supported in the printer to in a case generate new fonts corresponding to pre-stored first type format further substantially equivalent to the user specified fonts to output said print job, Yamashita’s combination of generated fonts from at least downloading designated fonts in addition to generating new replacement fonts further complements the methods and systems of mapping and matching pre-stored printer fonts to user designated fonts identified in a received print job of Tabushi, in the sense that said combination of generated fonts from at least downloading designated fonts in addition to generating new replacement fonts of Yamashita when combined with the methods and systems of Tabushi enables the print system to realize successful print data completion correlated the user specified fonts data, where users subsequently can use the downloaded font files for printing, irrespective of the type of print data where users according to one skill in the art do not need to prepare font files in a plurality of formats for the same font (the same typeface), nor do users need to concern themselves with the type of print data, thereby increase a convenience to the users knowing the requested print job will be perform accordingly irrespective of the printers pre-stored font files according to further known methods to yield predictable results since known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as said combination is thus the adaptation of an old idea or invention using newer technology that is either commonly available and understood in the art thereby a variation on already known art (See MPEP 2143, KSR Exemplary Rationale F).
Claims Standings
Claims 4, 7-11, 13-15, and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior arts do not appear to teach wherein: 4. (Currently Amended) The printer according to claim 2, wherein the controller is configured to further perform: acquiring first identification information from a first font file stored in the memory, the first font file including a plurality of sets of font data in the first format, wherein when the first identification information matches second identification information included in a command in the print data, the controller performs the generation process including generating to generate the new set of font data in the second format based on one of the plurality of sets of font data in the first format included in the first font file stored in the memory.
7. (Currently Amended) The printer according to claim 6, wherein the generation process includes: specifying each character designated in the print data; when no set of font data in the second format for the each character is stored in the memory, generating, for the each character, a set of font data in the second format based on a corresponding set of font data in the first format stored in the memory; and storing the set of font data in the second format for the each character in the memory, wherein when a set of font data in the second format for the each character is stored in the memory, the controller performs neither the generating for the each character nor the storing for the each character.
8. (Original) The printer according to claim 6, wherein the controller is configured to further perform: controlling the print engine to perform printing based on the print data, wherein after the printing based on the print data is completed, the controller stores no set of font data in the second format generated in the generation process in a nonvolatile area of the memory.
9. (Original) The printer according to claim 1, wherein when a first font file including a plurality of sets of font data in the first format is stored in the memory, the generation process generates a plurality of sets of font data in the second format each based on a corresponding one of the plurality of sets of font data included in the first font file.
10. (Currently Amended) The printer according to claim 9, wherein the controller is configured to further perform: controlling the print engine to perform printing based on the print data; and after the printing based on the print data is complete, a saving process to save the plurality of sets of font data in the second format generated in the generation process in a nonvolatile area of the memory.
11. (Original) The printer according to claim 10, wherein when a set of font data in the second format, which satisfies a requirement for a set of font data for the print data to be printed, is stored in the memory, the controller does not perform the generation process but reads the set of font data in the second format, which satisfies the requirement, from the memory to print the print data.
13. (Currently Amended) The printer according to claim 12, wherein the controller is configured to further perform: when the print data is of the second type, a specifying process including specifying a requirement for a font file for the print data to be printed, wherein when the first font file satisfying the requirement is stored in the memory, the controller performs: the generation process using corresponding one of the plurality of sets of font data in the first font file satisfying the requirement; and the drawing process using the new set of font data generated in the generation process, wherein the controller is configured to further perform: when a second font file including a plurality of sets of font data in the second format is stored in the memory and the second font file satisfies the requirement, the second drawing process including drawing the image of the character designated in the print data using a corresponding one of the plurality of sets of font data in the second format satisfying the requirement.
14. (Original) The printer according to claim 13, wherein the specifying process specifies the requirement on the basis of the character designated in the print data.
15. (Currently Amended) The printer according to claim 13, wherein when no second font file satisfying the requirement is stored in the memory but the first font file satisfying the requirement is stored in the memory, the controller performs: the generation process using corresponding one of the plurality of sets of font data in the first font file satisfying the requirement; and the drawing process using the new set of font data generated in the generation process.
18. (New) The printer according to claim 16, The printer according to wherein the new set of font data in the second format generated in the generation process is a set of glyph data including: a glyph header including format a glyph identification information identifying a character.
19. (New) The printer according to claim 16, The printer according to wherein the generation process further includes: acquiring a set of glyph data corresponding to a character from the set of font data in the first format, wherein the new set of font data in the second format generated in the generation process is a set of glyph data including: a glyph header including format a glyph identification information identifying the character; and a glyph data body corresponding to the set of glyph data acquired from the set of font data in the first format.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARCELLUS J AUGUSTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682 08/28/2026