DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I(A) and Species II(A) in the reply filed on 25 February 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “no serious burden is present in examining the remaining claims”. This is not found persuasive because the Species in each group contains subject matter that is not shared by the others, requiring a separate search. Also, the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species. For example, in Group I, among other differences, the determination threshold in one species is corrected by changing the determination threshold based on the result of the collation a plurality of times, while in other species it’s corrected by collating the determination results using a plurality of different types of determination thresholds a plurality of times. In Group II, among other differences, the ink ejection result of each of the nozzles in one species corresponds to information obtained by reading an image formed by ink ejection from each of the nozzles with an image reading device, while in other species it corresponds to information indicating ejection of ink from each of the nozzles and obtained by detection of interruption of light by a laser optical sensor.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Please note that, even though Applicant indicated that Claims 1-10 and 13-20 correspond to the elected Species, Claims 4 and 14-15 correspond to non-elected species in Group I and are therefore withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09 May 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the image formed by ink ejection that is a chart image (as recited in claim 10) and an ink ejection device comprising the ink ejection inspection device (as recited in claim 18 – please note that the drawings show the ink ejection device 20 and the ink ejection inspection device 40 being two separate components (i.e. the ink ejection device does not include the ink ejection inspection device among its components)] must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 16-17 recite the limitation "a determination threshold set for each of the nozzles" in line 5-6, making the claims indefinite since it is unclear if the threshold is the same for each nozzle (i.e. the same reference value for all the nozzles), or if it’s different for each nozzle. Claims 2, 3, 5-10, 13, and 18-20 depend on claim 1 and are therefore rejected the same way.
Additionally, Claim 5 recites the limitation "the determination thresholds" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites “a determination threshold set for each of the nozzle” but if the determination threshold is the same for all of the nozzles, then there would be no “thresholds”. Claims 6-10 depend on claim 5 and are therefore rejected the same way.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (JP 2012-213966 – hereinafter Tanaka.)
Regarding claim 1,
Tanaka discloses an ink ejection inspection device for inspecting a state of ejection of ink from a plurality of nozzles [23 in figs. 2-4] provided in an ink ejection device [24 in figs. 2-4 / discharge means U1 in fig. 4; paragraph 0027],
the ink ejection inspection device comprising a hardware processor [70 in fig. 2] that determines the state of ejection of ink from each of the nozzles by comparing a feature value indicated by a waveform of residual vibration obtained by applying a voltage to each of the nozzles [paragraphs 0007-0008; after the voltage is applied, the driving actuator continues to vibrate (residual vibration), producing a voltage waveform (a change in electrical potential)] with a determination threshold set for each of the nozzles [paragraphs 0009-0010, 0020-0023, 0083.]
Regarding claim 2,
Tanaka further discloses wherein the hardware processor holds the determination threshold set for each of the nozzles [paragraph 0043, the controller 70 performs the nozzle unit determination process (…) and stores the corresponding information in a memory such as a RAM74.”]
Regarding claim 3,
Tanaka further discloses wherein each of the nozzles is provided with a piezoelectric element [48 in fig. 3] that deforms in accordance with the applied voltage [paragraph 0027.]
Regarding claim 5,
Tanaka further discloses wherein the hardware processor sets the determination thresholds based on an ink ejection result of each of the nozzles [paragraphs 0009-0010 and 0019-0021.]
Regarding claim 6,
Tanaka further discloses wherein the hardware processor corrects the determination threshold set for each of the nozzles based on the ink ejection result of each of the nozzles [paragraphs 0010-0011 and 0033-0034.]
Regarding claim 7,
Tanaka further discloses wherein the hardware processor determines the state of ejection of ink from each of the nozzles based on the ink ejection result of each of the nozzles, collates, for each of the nozzles, a determination result obtained by comparison between the feature value and the determination threshold with a determination result based on the ink ejection result, and corrects the determination threshold for each of the nozzles based on a result of the collation [paragraphs 0010-0015 and 0033-0034.]
Regarding claim 8,
Tanaka further discloses wherein the hardware processor corrects a determination threshold for a non-matching nozzle for which a determination result obtained by comparison between the feature value and the determination threshold does not match a determination result based on the ink ejection result, among the determination thresholds [paragraphs 0010-0015, 0033-0034, and 0058.]
Regarding claims 16 and 17,
The steps of method claim 16 – and corresponding non-transitory recording medium storing a computer-readable ink ejection inspection program for causing a computer to perform method steps, as recited in claim 17 – are deemed to be inherent in view of the functions of the apparatus disclosed above, since it would be necessary to perform the claimed method steps in order for the apparatus to perform its intended functions.
Regarding claim 18,
Tanaka further discloses an ink ejection device [U1 in fig. 4] comprising the ink ejection inspection device according to claim 1 [see Rejection above; also note that paragraph 0035 recites “The controller 70 constitutes a part of the discharge means U1 and the determination means U3.”]
Regarding claim 19,
Tanaka further discloses an image forming apparatus [20 in fig. 2] comprising: the ink ejection device according to claim 18 [see Rejection above]; and
a medium conveyance device [31 in fig. 2] that conveys a recording medium M1 in fig. 2], on which an image is formed by ink ejection by the ink ejection device, in a predetermined conveyance direction with respect to the ink ejection device [paragraph 0025.]
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 10, 13, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arazaki (US 2023/0278330.)
Regarding claim 1,
Arazaki discloses an ink ejection inspection device for inspecting a state of ejection of ink from a plurality of nozzles [21 in fig. 2] provided in an ink ejection device [19 in figs. 1-2; paragraph 0030],
the ink ejection inspection device comprising a hardware processor [11a in fig. 1] that determines the state of ejection of ink from each of the nozzles by comparing a feature value indicated by a waveform of residual vibration obtained by applying a voltage to each of the nozzles with a determination threshold set for each of the nozzles [paragraphs 0031-0032; as written, the threshold may be the same for each nozzle.]
Regarding claim 2,
Arazaki further discloses wherein the hardware processor holds the determination threshold set for each of the nozzles [last sentence of paragraph 0032.]
Regarding claim 3,
Arazaki further discloses wherein each of the nozzles is provided with a piezoelectric element [not shown but mentioned in paragraph 0032] that deforms in accordance with the applied voltage [paragraph 0032.]
Regarding claim 5,
Arazaki further discloses wherein the hardware processor sets the determination thresholds based on an ink ejection result of each of the nozzles [paragraphs 0031-0032; “each nozzle 21 is caused to perform an ink ejection operation, and whether a dot is actually ejected from each nozzle 21 is detected by an optical sensor that is the defective nozzle detector 20” (paragraph 0031); also, see 112 Rejection above.]
Regarding claim 9,
Arazaki further discloses wherein the ink ejection result of each of the nozzles corresponds to information obtained by reading an image formed by ink ejection from each of the nozzles with an image reading device [20 in fig. 1; paragraph 0031.]
Regarding claim 10,
Arazaki further discloses wherein the image is a chart image [paragraph 0031; if all the nozzles perform ink ejection, it is implicit and well-known that the resulting image may be a block/grid/chart.]
Regarding claim 13,
Arazaki further discloses wherein each of the determination thresholds is a value set for at least one of an amplitude [paragraph 0032], a period, a bias level, an attenuation rate, and a phase of the waveform [please note that only one option is needed for the limitation to be met as written.]
Regarding claims 16 and 17,
The steps of method claim 16 – and corresponding non-transitory recording medium storing a computer-readable ink ejection inspection program for causing a computer to perform method steps, as recited in claim 17 – are deemed to be inherent in view of the functions of the apparatus disclosed above, since it would be necessary to perform the claimed method steps in order for the apparatus to perform its intended functions.
Regarding claim 18,
Arazaki further discloses an ink ejection device [as seen in fig. 1] comprising the ink ejection inspection device according to claim 1 [see Rejection above.]
Regarding claim 19,
Arazaki further discloses an image forming apparatus [10 in fig. 1] comprising: the ink ejection device according to claim 18 [see Rejection above]; and
a medium conveyance device [17 in fig. 1] that conveys a recording medium [30 in fig. 2], on which an image is formed by ink ejection by the ink ejection device [19 in figs. 1-2], in a predetermined conveyance direction with respect to the ink ejection device [paragraph 0024.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arazaki in view of Tanaka.
Regarding claim 20,
Arazaki discloses the claimed limitations as set forth above and further teaches the image forming apparatus further comprising an image reader [20 in fig. 1; paragraph 0031] that is arranged on a downstream side in the conveyance direction with respect to the ink ejection device and reads the image formed on the recording medium [paragraph 0082], wherein
the hardware processor of the ink ejection inspection device included in the ink ejection device determines the state of ejection of ink from each of the nozzles of the ink ejection device based on the image read by the image reader [paragraphs 0030-0032], but fails to expressly disclose wherein the hardware processor of the ink ejection inspection device corrects, for each of the nozzles, the determination threshold for determining the state of ejection of ink from each of the nozzles based on a determination result obtained by comparison between the feature value and the determination threshold and a determination result based on the ink ejection result.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tanaka discloses a liquid ejection apparatus [20 in fig. 2] that includes an ejection unit inspection device for inspecting a state of ejection of ink from a plurality of nozzles [23 in figs. 2-4] provided in an ink ejection device [24 in figs. 2-4], the ink ejection inspection device comprising a hardware processor [70 in fig. 2] that determines the state of ejection of ink from each of the nozzles by comparing a feature value obtained by applying a voltage to each of the nozzles with a determination threshold set for each of the nozzles [paragraphs 0009-0010, 0020-0023, 0083],
wherein the hardware processor of the ink ejection inspection device corrects, for each of the nozzles, the determination threshold for determining the state of ejection of ink from each of the nozzles based on a determination result obtained by comparison between the feature value and the determination threshold and a determination result based on the ink ejection result [paragraphs 0010-0015, 0033-0034, and 0058.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Arazaki invention to include means for correcting, for each of the nozzles, the determination threshold based on a determination result obtained by comparison between the feature value and the determination threshold and a determination result based on the ink ejection result as taught by Tanaka for the purpose of improving the determination accuracy of a nozzle state [paragraph 0006.]
Communication with the USPTO
/JANNELLE M LEBRON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853