DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-15, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mook et al. (US 20230055872 A1, hereinafter Mook).
Regarding claim 1, Mook discloses a print head for an additive manufacturing apparatus comprising (Para. 0052, “The energy beam system 134 may include one or more irradiation devices 142 configured to generate a plurality of energy beams 144 and to direct the energy beams 144 upon the build plane 130.”, and Para. 0047, “additive manufacturing system 100.”):
a housing (Para. 0060, “a housing assembly 160 that contains one or more components of the energy beam system 134”);
a projection element disposed within the housing, the projection element configured to receive one or more laser beams generated by a beam emitter and project a plurality of projected laser beams in a pattern (Para. 0069, “The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310. The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312 and/or towards a beam stop 314 respectively disposed downstream from the optical modulator 302”, where the optical modulator 302 is construed as the projection element, where the beam generation device 300 is construed as the beam emitter); and
a consolidating optic disposed within the housing and located below the projection element, the consolidating optic configured to consolidate the pattern of the plurality of projected laser beams into a consolidated pattern of projected laser beams (Para. 0069, “micromirror element 308 to direct a corresponding beam segment along an irradiation beam path 316 leading to the focusing lens assembly 312. Beam segments that propagate through the focusing lens assembly 312 may be utilized to irradiate powder material 120 at the build plane 130. The focusing lens assembly 312 may include one or more lenses or other optical elements configured to direct the respective beam segments onto the build plane 130.”, where the focusing lens assembly 312 is construed as the consolidating optic, where Fig. 3B shows that the focusing lens assembly is located below the projection element).
Regarding claim 2, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses further comprising a collimator disposed at a distal end of the beam emitter and within the housing (Para. 0070, “beam conditioning assembly 320 may include a beam collimator 322.”, and Fig. 3B, where the collimator 322 is shown to be located on the distal end of the beam generator or emitter, where all these structures are within the housing 160), a beam homogenizer disposed below the collimator and within the housing (Para. 0070, “The beam homogenizer 324 may be configured to provide a uniform power distribution across a cross-sectional profile of the energy beam 144.”, where Fig. 3A shows that the beam homogenizer can be below the collimator), and a turning optic disposed below the beam homogenizer and within the housing (Para. 0070, “Another exemplary beam homogenizer 324 may include a rod lens or light pipe. Additionally, or in the alternative, the beam homogenizer 324 may include a lens element aperture configured to conform the energy beam 144 to a cross-sectional profile that that corresponds to a surface area of the optical modulator 302.”, where Fig. 3A shows that the beam homogenizer can be positioned horizontally, where the rod lens or lens aperture construed as the turning optic would be located below the homogenizer; where the projection element could also be construed as the dichroic mirror for the embodiment of Fig. 3A, Para. 0071, “the irradiation device may include one or more dichroic elements 326”, where the consolidating optic would then be below the projection element).
Regarding claim 3, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses further comprising one or more imaging optics disposed below the projection element (Para. 0059, “The imaging system 154 may be configured to project an assessment beam and to detect a portion of the assessment beam reflected from the build plane 130.”, and Para. 0058, “An imaging system 154 may include one or more imaging optical elements (not shown), such as mirrors, beam splitters, lenses, and the like, configured to direct an assessment beam to a corresponding detection device.”).
Regarding the positioning of the imaging system with the imaging optics, it is not specifically stated where the imaging system is located in relation to the projection element. However, it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts is an obvious modification to make. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). It is the Examiner’s position that having the imaging system be below or above the projection element would still achieve the same end result of allowing the imaging system to capture images of the build plane. As a result, the specific positioning of the imaging system to be below the projection element would be a mere matter of user design choice.
Regarding claim 5, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses further comprising a plurality of beam emitters configured to generate the one or more laser beams (Para. 0052, “The energy beam system 134 may include one or more irradiation devices 142 configured to generate a plurality of energy beams 144 and to direct the energy beams 144 upon the build plane 130.”, where the multiple irradiation devices can include a beam generation device each, Para. 0068, “an exemplary irradiation device 142 may include a beam generation device 300 and an optical modulator 302 disposed downstream from the beam generation device 300.”).
Regarding claim 7, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses further comprising two or more projection elements disposed within the housing (Para. 0069, “The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310.”, where there are multiple micromirror elements within the array that are construed as projection elements).
Regarding claim 8, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the consolidating optic is integrated into projection element (Para. 0069, “The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312”, where laser beams are sent from the optical modulator that includes the micromirror array towards the focusing lens assembly, where it has been held that mere integration of parts is an obvious modification to make. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). It is the Examiner’s position that the laser beam passes through the micromirror array towards the focusing lens assembly and that this end result would continue to function even if these two systems were integrated into one system. As a result, the integration of the projection element/micromirror with the consolidating optic/focusing lens would be a mere matter of user design choice).
Regarding claim 9, Mook discloses an additive manufacturing apparatus (Para. 0066, “an additive manufacturing machine 102”) comprising:
a build platform supporting a powdered build material (Para. 0049, “A build platform 132 supports the sequential layers of powder material 120 distributed across the build plane 130.”), the powdered build material defining a build plane on the build platform (Para. 0050, “the build plane 130 to selectively solidify respective portions of the powder bed 138 defining the build plane 130.”); and
a print head (Para. 0052, “The energy beam system 134 may include one or more irradiation devices 142 configured to generate a plurality of energy beams 144 and to direct the energy beams 144 upon the build plane 130.”) including:
a housing (Para. 0060, “a housing assembly 160 that contains one or more components of the energy beam system 134”);
a beam emitter configured to generate one or more laser beams (Para. 0052, “The energy beam system 134 may include one or more irradiation devices 142 configured to generate a plurality of energy beams 144 and to direct the energy beams 144 upon the build plane 130.”, where the multiple irradiation devices can include a beam generation device each, Para. 0068, “an exemplary irradiation device 142 may include a beam generation device 300 and an optical modulator 302 disposed downstream from the beam generation device 300.”);
a projection element disposed within the housing, the projection element configured to receive the one or more laser beams and project a plurality of projected laser beams in a pattern (Para. 0069, “The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310. The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312 and/or towards a beam stop 314 respectively disposed downstream from the optical modulator 302”, where the optical modulator 302 is construed as the projection element); and
a consolidating optic disposed within the housing and located below the projection element, the consolidating optic configured to consolidate the pattern of the plurality of projected laser beams into a consolidated pattern of projected laser beams (Para. 0069, “micromirror element 308 to direct a corresponding beam segment along an irradiation beam path 316 leading to the focusing lens assembly 312. Beam segments that propagate through the focusing lens assembly 312 may be utilized to irradiate powder material 120 at the build plane 130. The focusing lens assembly 312 may include one or more lenses or other optical elements configured to direct the respective beam segments onto the build plane 130.”, where the focusing lens assembly 312 is construed as the consolidating optic, where Fig. 3B shows that the focusing lens assembly is located below the projection element);
wherein the print head is configured to direct the consolidated pattern of projected laser beams over the build plane and melt a portion of the powdered build material at the build plane with the consolidated pattern of projected laser beams (Para. 0050, “additive manufacturing machine 102 may include an energy beam system 134 configured to generate one or more of energy beams and to direct the respective energy beams onto the build plane 130 to selectively solidify respective portions of the powder bed 138 defining the build plane 130…As the respective energy beams selectively melt or fuse the sequential layers of powder material 120 that define the powder bed 138, the object 114 begins to take shape.”).
Regarding claim 10, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the print head further includes a collimator disposed within the housing, wherein the collimator is optically coupled to the beam emitter (Para. 0070, “beam conditioning assembly 320 may include a beam collimator 322.”, and Fig. 3B, where the collimator 322 is shown to be located on the distal end of the beam generator or emitter and is optically coupled to the beam emitter, where all these structures are within the housing 160).
Regarding claim 11, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 10, as set forth above, discloses wherein the print head further includes a beam homogenizer disposed within the housing, wherein the beam homogenizer is optically coupled to the collimator (Para. 0070, “The beam homogenizer 324 may be configured to provide a uniform power distribution across a cross-sectional profile of the energy beam 144.”, where Fig. 3A shows that the beam homogenizer can be below the collimator, where the beam homogenizer is optically coupled to the collimator).
Regarding claim 12, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, as set forth above, discloses wherein the print head further includes a turning optic disposed within the housing, wherein the turning optic is optically coupled to the beam homogenizer and is configured to direct the one or more laser beams to the projection element (Para. 0070, “Another exemplary beam homogenizer 324 may include a rod lens or light pipe. Additionally, or in the alternative, the beam homogenizer 324 may include a lens element aperture configured to conform the energy beam 144 to a cross-sectional profile that that corresponds to a surface area of the optical modulator 302.”, where Fig. 3A shows that the beam homogenizer can be positioned horizontally, where the rod lens or lens aperture construed as the turning optic would be located below the homogenizer; where the projection element could also be construed as the dichroic mirror for the embodiment of Fig. 3A, Para. 0071, “the irradiation device may include one or more dichroic elements 326”, where the consolidating optic would then be below the projection element).
Regarding claim 13, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the print head further includes one or more imaging optics disposed within the housing, wherein the one or more imaging optics is optically coupled to the projection element (Para. 0059, “The imaging system 154 may be configured to project an assessment beam and to detect a portion of the assessment beam reflected from the build plane 130.”, and Para. 0058, “An imaging system 154 may include one or more imaging optical elements (not shown), such as mirrors, beam splitters, lenses, and the like, configured to direct an assessment beam to a corresponding detection device.”, and Para. 0059, “The assessment beam may be projected by an irradiation device 142 and/or a separate beam source associated with the imaging system 154.”, where the imaging system that detects the assessment beam can use the irradiation device’s beam, where then the imaging system would be optically downstream and coupled to the projection element).
Regarding claim 14, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the projection element is a digital micromirror device (Para. 0032, “The optical modulator may include a micromirror device, such as a digital micromirror device, or the like.”).
Regarding claim 15, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses further comprising a computing device configured to control the pattern of the plurality of projected laser beams projected by the projection element (Para. 0201, “controller 1500. The controller may include one or more control modules 1502 configured to cause the controller 1500 to perform one or more control operations… a control module 1502 may be configured to provide one or more control commands executable to control operation of one or more components of an irradiation device 142, such as operation of a beam generation device 300, an optical modulator 302, and/or a modulation sensor 330, and/or any one or more other components thereof.”, and Para. 0203, “The controller 1500 may include one or more
computing devices 1504”, where the patterns can be controlled through the controller in operating the print head with the multiple laser beams).
Regarding claim 17, Mook discloses a method of delivering a plurality of laser beams onto a build plane of an additive manufacturing apparatus (Para. 0210, “exemplary methods 1600 of additively manufacturing a three-dimensional object will be described.”, and Para. 0052, “The energy beam system 134 may include one or more irradiation devices 142 configured to generate a plurality of energy beams 144 and to direct the energy beams 144 upon the build plane 130.”, and Para. 0047, “additive manufacturing system 100.”), comprising:
generating one or more laser beams with a beam emitter (Para. 0052, “The energy beam system 134 may include one or more irradiation devices 142 configured to generate a plurality of energy beams 144 and to direct the energy beams 144 upon the build plane 130.”, where the multiple irradiation devices can include a beam generation device each, Para. 0068, “an exemplary irradiation device 142 may include a beam generation device 300 and an optical modulator 302 disposed downstream from the beam generation device 300.”);
receiving the one or more laser beams at a projection element disposed within a housing of a print head (Para. 0069, “The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310. The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312 and/or towards a beam stop 314 respectively disposed downstream from the optical modulator 302”, where the optical modulator 302 is construed as the projection element, where the beam generation device 300 is construed as the beam emitter, where the optical modulator receives laser beams from the beam emitter);
projecting, by the projection element, a plurality of projected laser beams in a pattern (Para. 0069, “The optical modulator 302 may include a micromirror array 306 that includes a plurality of micromirror elements 308 respectively coupled to an addressable element 310. The optical modulator 302 may be configured to direct cross-sectional portions of the energy beam 144 incident upon the micromirror array 306 towards a focusing lens assembly 312 and/or towards a beam stop 314 respectively disposed downstream from the optical modulator 302”, where the optical modulator 302 is construed as the projection element, where the beam generation device 300 is construed as the beam emitter, where the optical modulator sends laser beams towards a focusing lens, where the modulator creates a pattern, Para. 0213, “subset of micromirror elements 308 from among the plurality of micromirror elements 308, a corresponding plurality of subset of beam segments 400 become incident upon a corresponding subset of build points 1002 from among the plurality of build points 1002.”);
consolidating the pattern of the plurality of projected laser beams into a consolidated pattern of projected laser beams using a consolidating optic disposed within the housing (Para. 0069, “micromirror element 308 to direct a corresponding beam segment along an irradiation beam path 316 leading to the focusing lens assembly 312. Beam segments that propagate through the focusing lens assembly 312 may be utilized to irradiate powder material 120 at the build plane 130. The focusing lens assembly 312 may include one or more lenses or other optical elements configured to direct the respective beam segments onto the build plane 130.”, where the focusing lens assembly 312 is construed as the consolidating optic, where Fig. 3B shows that the focusing lens assembly is located below the projection element); and
directing the consolidated pattern of projected laser beams onto the build plane (Para. 0069, “The focusing lens assembly 312 may include one or more lenses or other optical elements configured to direct the respective beam segments onto the build plane 130.”).
Regarding claim 18, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, as set forth above, discloses further comprising collimating the one or more laser beams to have a round Gaussian energy distribution (Para. 0070, “For example, an energy beam 144 may have a Gaussian power distribution as emitted by an irradiation device 142 and/or after having ben collimated by the beam collimator 322.”), homogenizing the one or more laser beams to have a uniform energy distribution (Para. 0070, “The beam homogenizer 324 may be configured to provide a uniform power distribution across a cross-sectional profile of the energy beam 144.”), and redirecting the one or more laser beams having the uniform energy distribution to the projection element (Para. 0070, “Another exemplary beam homogenizer 324 may include a rod lens or light pipe. Additionally, or in the alternative, the beam homogenizer 324 may include a lens element aperture configured to conform the energy beam 144 to a cross-sectional profile that that corresponds to a surface area of the optical modulator 302.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook et al. (US 20230055872 A1, hereinafter Mook) in view of Banerjee et al. (WO 2019173513 A1, hereinafter Banerjee).
Regarding claim 4, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Mook does not disclose:
further comprising a heat sink disposed within the housing of the print head, wherein the projection element is further configured to direct a portion of the one or more laser beams to the heat sink disposed within the housing of the print head.
However, Banerjee discloses, in the similar field of print heads with lasers (Para. 0005, “a laser source configured to produce an infrared laser beam to modify a surface of a material to be marked; a digital mirror device including an array of mirrors”), where a heat sink is disposed within a housing of the print head (Para. 0030, “The optical absorber 260 is a black body absorber, which can be designed for the specific wavelength being used in a given application, e.g., by application of one or more black coating layers of appropriate materials.”, where Fig. 2A shows that the optical absorber is located within the housing 280), where the projection element directs a portion of the laser beams to the heat sink (Para. 0030, “Based on the tilt angle settings of the mirrors 230, selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 ( e.g., to form a 2D bar/matrix code, one or more authentication codes, manufacturer information/logo, expiration date, etc.) are redirected to a target object 270 (e.g., a product or packaging/labelling for a product) and additional selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 are redirected to an optical absorber 260.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the projection element in Mook to direct a portion of laser beams to a heat sink as taught by Banerjee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to remove specific pixels of infrared laser light so that only a selected portion of pixels can reach a target object, as stated by Banerjee, Para. 0030, “selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 ( e.g., to form a 2D bar/matrix code, one or more authentication codes, manufacturer information/logo, expiration date, etc.) are redirected to a target object 270 (e.g., a product or packaging/labelling for a product) and additional selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 are redirected to an optical absorber 260.”.
Regarding claim 19, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Mook does not disclose:
further comprising magnifying the pattern of the plurality of projected laser beams projected by the projection element and directing the magnified pattern to the consolidating optic.
However, Banerjee discloses where a focusing lens can magnify the laser beams projected by a projection element or micromirror and where the magnified laser beams are directed to a consolidating optic (Para. 0032, “In addition, in some implementations, focusing optics 275 are positioned between the DMD 220 and the target object 270 to provide appropriate magnification of the infrared laser light.”, where the focusing optics 275 provide magnification, where the laser can be directed to more optical structures within the focusing optics that would be construed as the consolidating optic, Para. 0032, “The focusing optics 275 can include suitable optical components (e.g., one or more lenses) to facilitate the immediate transfer (marking) of an entire code ( or two or more codes when different portions of the DMD mirrors 230 are used for different respective codes) in one shot”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the focusing optics in Mook to include a lens that provides magnification as taught by Banerjee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the focusing system to provide the proper positioning for the laser beam, where magnification allows for the entirety of the laser beam to be delivered in one shot, as stated by Banerjee, Para. 0032, “focusing optics 275 are positioned between the DMD 220 and the target object 270 to provide appropriate magnification of the infrared laser light. The focusing optics 275 can include suitable optical components (e.g., one or more lenses) to facilitate the immediate transfer (marking) of an entire code”.
Regarding claim 20, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 17, as set forth above.
Mook does not disclose:
further comprising directing a portion of the one or more laser beams to a heat sink using the projection element, wherein the heat sink is disposed within the housing of the print head.
However, Banerjee discloses where a heat sink is disposed within a housing of the print head (Para. 0030, “The optical absorber 260 is a black body absorber, which can be designed for the specific wavelength being used in a given application, e.g., by application of one or more black coating layers of appropriate materials.”, where Fig. 2A shows that the optical absorber is located within the housing 280), where the projection element directs a portion of the laser beams to the heat sink (Para. 0030, “Based on the tilt angle settings of the mirrors 230, selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 ( e.g., to form a 2D bar/matrix code, one or more authentication codes, manufacturer information/logo, expiration date, etc.) are redirected to a target object 270 (e.g., a product or packaging/labelling for a product) and additional selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 are redirected to an optical absorber 260.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the projection element in Mook to direct a portion of laser beams to a heat sink as taught by Banerjee.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to remove specific pixels of infrared laser light so that only a selected portion of pixels can reach a target object, as stated by Banerjee, Para. 0030, “selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 ( e.g., to form a 2D bar/matrix code, one or more authentication codes, manufacturer information/logo, expiration date, etc.) are redirected to a target object 270 (e.g., a product or packaging/labelling for a product) and additional selected portions (pixels) of the infrared laser light 245 are redirected to an optical absorber 260.”.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook et al. (US 20230055872 A1, hereinafter Mook) in view of Church et al. (US 20170368750 A1, hereinafter Church).
Regarding claim 6, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Mook does not disclose:
wherein the one or more laser beams generated by the beam emitter is a free space laser beam.
However, Church discloses, in the similar field of lasers used in additive manufacturing (Abstract, “additive manufacturing of an object includes directing laser energy from a laser to a region for material deposition”), where the laser beam is a free space laser beam (Claim 11, “The method of claim 1 wherein the laser is a free space laser.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser beams in Mook to be free space laser beams as taught by Church.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use a type of laser beam that is capable of also performing additive manufacturing, where the specific type of laser would be a mere matter of user design choice, as stated by Church, Claim 11, “The method of claim 1 wherein the laser is a free space laser.”, and Claim 1, “additive manufacturing… laser energy using the temperature so as to sufficiently heat the region for material deposition prior to extruding the material to increase strength of the object.”.
Claims 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mook et al. (US 20230055872 A1, hereinafter Mook) in view of Lu (CN 210306277 U).
Regarding claim 16, Mook teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above.
Mook does not disclose:
further comprising a soot collection system mounted on an exterior of the housing of the print head.
However, Lu discloses, in the similar field of laser systems (Abstract, “a laser ink jet numbering machine”), where a soot collection system is mounted on an exterior of the housing of a print head (Page 4, Para. 1, “a laser main body 9. the smoke collecting cover 10 and conduit 11 cooperate with each other to achieve with advantages of smoke dust removing function”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the laser print head of Mook to include the soot collection device as taught by Lu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to remove soot so that when people use the laser system, no smoke dust flies around and causes harm to people, as stated by Lu, Page 4, Para. 1, “conduit 11 cooperate with each other to achieve with advantages of smoke dust removing function, which solves the problem that the existing laser printer does not have the function of removing soot, when people when using the laser printer, there is no smoke dust from flying around, it will not cause harm to the health of people. convenient for people to use, and improves the practicability of the laser printer.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Karp et al. (US 20190061333 A1, hereinafter Karp) discloses a similar print head apparatus for additive manufacturing.
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/27/2026