Claim Objections
Claim 1 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 16-17, “a charging port” should be – the charging port—
Claim 12, line 31-32, “a charging port” should be – the charging port—
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Argument
2. The 112(b) rejection of claim 10 has been withdrawn because applicant amended claim 10.
Regarding to the prior art rejection, Applicant argues that the plug 30 and the charging port 290 are not part of the vehicle, but are instead an external charging pistol and its associated adaptor configured to the charging port 60 of Motor Vehicle.
This is not found persuasive. Plug 30 of Staley is mapped to an electrical connector of the external electrical charging source in claim 1, so plug does not need to be part of vehicle because it is part of external electrical charging source. Although claim 1 recites the motor vehicle comprising .. a charging port. However, the applicant does not give specific definition of the motor vehicle comprising .. a charging port means and Fig. 4, 5 of current application shows that the charging port 6 can be connected and released from the vehicle as a part of vehicle. And Fig. 1, 2, 3 of Staley shows that the charging port 280 or 290, can be connected and released from the vehicle as a part of vehicle.
Applicant further argues that Staley does not teaches further characterized in that, after release, the motor vehicle (1) no longer has a charging port from which to charge the motor vehicle (1) through the base portion (11) via an external source, because the Staley vehicle remains perfectly capable of being externally charged because the Staley vehicle 20 retains the charging access point 60, vehicle connector (or receptacle) 40, and prongs 50. But after release, Applicant's vehicle no longer has a charging port from which to externally charge the vehicle via the base portion (11). And in applicant approach, external charging via another charging pistols would not be possible.
This is not found persuasive. Staley teaches the newly added limitation, “after release, the motor vehicle (20, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, 60 is at rear of the vehicle 20, [[026]) no longer has a charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 3,) from which to charge the motor vehicle (60, Fig. 3, since 60 is at the rear section of vehicle 20 as shown in Fig. 2) through the base portion (body of 60, Fig. 3) via an external source( 10, Charging station, Fig. 2, see Fig. 2, Fig. 3,).( see Fig. 3 shows after the release, the charging port does not connect to the vehicle).” And the argument that” in applicant approach, external charging via another charging pistols would not be possible,” are not recited in the claim.
Since the Applicant’s argument regarding claim 1 and 12 are not persuasive, the rejection of claims 1, and 12 are maintained.
Regarding the new claims, Applicant argues the charging port (6) lies within the charging compartment (12) of Applicant's vehicle even when the charge port door is closed, whereas Staley's plug 30 and "charging port 290" (the nozzle 290) do not lie within the Staley vehicle's charging access point 60 when the door 180 is closed (refer, again, to Staley FIG. 3, reproduced above). The examiner agrees that Staley's plug 30 and "charging port 290" (the nozzle 290) do not lie within the Staley vehicle's charging access point 60 when the door 180 is closed. However, as described in the 112 (a) rejection, the claim 17 needs support in the specification. Since para 8 of current application only describes the portion 15 and the base portion 11 are housed inside the charging compartment 12.
Regarding to Applicant’s argument that Refer to Applicant's FIGS. 1, 3 and 4: Figure 1 shows indeed how the pistol of the external source 8 enters completely within the charging compartment 12. It is unclear which pistol the applicant refers because the term pistol was not mentioned in Applicant’s specification, and Fig. 1 shows that connector 7 is inserted in the charging compartment 12, however, the charging port 6 are not labeled in Fig. 1.
Claim Interpretation
.The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such limitations are releasable coupling means and release means in claim 1, 12 and elastic reaction return means in claim 8.
The releasable coupling means is interpretated under 112(f) as a mechanism comprises a locking element -Hook and release configuration, based on page 8 of specification or a mechanism comprises a as a mechanism comprises a locking element -hook and release configuration and a pair of magnetic elements based on page 8 and page 11 of the specification.
The release means is interpretated under 112(f) as actuator based on the page 14, line 10-15 of specification
The elastic return means is interpretated under 112(f) as a spring based on the page 10, line 15-20 of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4.Claim 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this case, claim 17 recites that “wherein the charging port (6) is entirely housed inside the charging compartment (12) when the door of the charging compartment (12) is closed.” There is no figure or description in the specification disclose this feature. There is no figure or description in specification shows that the door of charging compartment 12 is closed, the charging port is entirely housed insides the charging compartment. Applicant specification page 7 discloses the charging port is arranged in a fixed position of a portion 15 of the charging assembly 5, … page 8 discloses the portion 15 .. are housed insides the charging compartment 12. Fig. 1 shows connector 7 inserted in the charging compartment 12. However, none of those discloses that “wherein the charging port (6) is entirely housed inside the charging compartment (12) when the door of the charging compartment (12) is closed.” As described above, The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed function because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Staley (US20140021915A1).
With regard to claim 1, Staley teaches Motor vehicle (Fig. 1, 20)) electrically connectable to an external electric charging source (10, Fig. 1, Fig. 2)), the motor vehicle comprising
a body (Fig. 1, 2, body of 20)) defining a passenger compartment (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, passenger car 20 has a passage compartment for driver) to accommodate a user ( driver[0038]),
an electrical charging assembly (60, 40, , Fig. 1-3) comprising a base portion (the body of 60 insides the rear portion of vehicle, Fig. 2) permanently installed ( see Fig. 2, the body of 60 are permanently installed) and carried by the body (Fig. 2, body of 20) in a fixed position and a charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 3, 4)) configured to receive in coupling an electrical connector (30, Fig. 2-3) of the external electrical charging source (10, Fig. 2),
releasable coupling means (hook release 250, 240, Fig. 3, and release lever respond to magnetic field, [0029]) configured to attach the charging port (280, Fig. 3) to the base station ( body of 60, Fig. 3) in a releasable manner (250, Fig. 3, The releasable coupling means is interpretated under 112(f) as a hook based on page 8 of specification )
release means (100, Fig. 3) operable to control the releasable coupling means (250,240, Fig. 3,) so as to release the charging port (280, Fig. 2, 3) with respect to the base portion (body of 60, Fig.2, Fig. 3) ([0029]Tab 220 includes a hook 240 onto which an actuable release lever 250 on the plug 30 can attach. Lever 250 is pivotally mounted to the plug housing and connected to the release trigger 100 through a two-bar linkage), and
a release controller (e.g., ECU 660, Fig.9)) operable by the user to operate the releasable coupling means (ECU configured to actuate the release lever on receipt of user command, and vehicle driver can press eject button to actuate release lever [0038])
characterized in that the release controller (ECU 660 Fig. 9)) is usable by the user from inside the passenger compartment (vehicle driver can actuate the release lever, [0038] and vehicle driver are insides the passenger compartment) to operate the release means ([0038]vehicle driver can actuate the release lever, and the release means are actuator).
further characterized in that, after release, the motor vehicle (20, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, 60 is at rear of the vehicle 20, [[026]) no longer has a charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 3,) from which to charge the motor vehicle (Fig. 3, since 60 is at the rear section of vehicle 20 as shown in Fig. 2) through the base portion (body of 60, Fig. 3) via an external source( 10, Charging station, Fig. 2, see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, charging port 280 or 290).( see Fig. 3 shows after the release, the charging port 280 or 290 does not connect to the vehicle) ( Note that in rejection of claim 1, either 280 or 290 are mapped to the charging port)
With regard to claim 2, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and Staley further teaches wherein the release controller (e.g., ECU, Fig.9)) is reachable by the user, at least selectively or directly, from inside the passenger compartment (ECU configured to actuate the release lever on receipt of user command, and vehicle driver can press eject button to actuate release lever [0038])
With regard to claim 3, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Staley also teaches a seat (Fig. 1, see the seat insides the car) coupled to the body (Fig. 1, seat insides the body of the car 20) and arranged within the passenger compartment (see Fig. 1, seat insides the passenger compartment), wherein the release controller (e.g., ECU, Fig. 9) is at least selectively or directly reachable by the user seated on the seat (e.g., ECU 660 is configured to actuate the release lever 610 upon receipt of user command to eject the plug from a connector The vehicle includes an eject button 690 that the vehicle driver can press to actuate the release lever 610 and ejection mechanism. The button 690 can be incorporated into a vehicle instrument panel or steering column accessories panel for example.[0038] this means that vehicle driver can use 690 button on the steering column to control the ECU).
With regard to claim 5, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Staley further teaches the releasable coupling means (250, 240, Fig. 3) comprise a mechanism carried by one between the charging port (280, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3), the mechanism (250,240 Fig. 3) in turn carrying a first locking element (tip of 250, Fig. 3) and being controllable ( 250 controlled by 100, Fig. 3), at least for a given mutual positioning between the charging port (290, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3)), between a first and a second configuration, in which respectively the first locking element (250, Fig. 3) engages and disengages a second locking element (240, Fig. 3) being part of the other between the charging port (280, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3), such that the charging port (280, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3) are mechanically coupled to each other in the first configuration of the mechanism (250 coupled to 240, Fig. 3) and mechanically disengaged from each other in the second configuration of the mechanism (250 disengaged from 240, Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 7, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 5, Staley further teaches the release means comprise an actuator device (690, Fig. 9) controllable via the release controller (ECU 660, Fig. 9) to drive the mechanism in the second configuration. (e.g., ECU 660 is configured to actuate the release lever 610 upon receipt of user command to eject the plug from a connector The vehicle includes an eject button 690 that the vehicle driver can press to actuate the release lever 610 and ejection mechanism. The button 690 can be incorporated into a vehicle instrument panel or steering column accessories panel for example.).
With regard to claim 9, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Staley also an access device or access controller (e.g., 690, Fig. 9) reachable by the user located inside the passenger compartment (The button 690 can be incorporated into a vehicle instrument panel or steering column accessories panel for example.[0038], the steering column accessories panel is insides the passenger compartment) and operable by the user to enable an access to the release controller (e.g., ECU) (e.g., ECU 660 is configured to actuate the release lever 610 upon receipt of user command to eject the plug from a connector The vehicle includes an eject button 690 that the vehicle driver can press to actuate the release lever 610 and ejection mechanism. The button 690 can be incorporated into a vehicle instrument panel or steering column accessories panel for example.[0038] this means that vehicle driver can use 690 button on the steering column to control the ECU 660).
With regard to claim 11, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches the charging port (290, Fig. 3, 4)) is a single device ( see Fig. 3 290 as a single device) which is wholly releasable from the motor vehicle via the release means 100, Fig. 3)
With regard to claim 13, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1, and further teaches a charging compartment (the compartment insides vehicle that contains 40, Fig. 3, see [0028] Connector 40 is embedded in the vehicle behind the outer sheet metal.) is located on the body (see Fig. 3, 40 is in the rear portion of vehicle) and accessible from an outside of the motor vehicle by means of a door ( 180, Fig. 3), the door movable between a closed configuration in which the door is flush with the body (( see Fig. 3 rear portion of the vehicle) and covers the charging compartment (see Fig. 3 and [0028] 180 configured to pivot about the hinge 190 (, 40 is insides the door and embedded behind the outer sheet metal, and door is at the outer sheet metal. Since 40 is embedded behind the outer sheet metal, it is covered by the door when door is closed ), and an open configuration in which the door uncovers the charging compartment (see Fig. 3, door in open configuration to uncover the 40).
With regard to claim 14. Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 13, and further teaches wherein the electrical charging assembly (40 & 60, Fig. 3) is within the charging compartment (the compartment insides vehicle that contains 40, Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 15, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 14 and further teaches wherein the charging port (280, Fig. 3) is fixed to a portion (surface of 290 that 280 attached to, see annotated Fig. 3-portion) of the charging assembly (40 &60, Fig. 3), the portion (portion of charging assembly, Fig. 3) being housed inside the charging compartment (the compartment insides vehicle that contains 40, Fig. 3) when coupled to the base portion (40, Fig. 3) ( see Fig. 3, 280 inserts into 270 and surface that 280 attached to directly lay on the surface of 270 at. Since 270 and surface that 270 lays are insides the charging compartment, therefore, the 280 that inserted on 270 and annotated portion are also insides the charging compartment)
With regard to claim 16, Stanley teaches all the limitations of claim 15, and further teaches the charging port (280, Fig. 3)) is housed inside the charging compartment (charging compartment contains 40, Fig. 3) when the charging port (280, Fig. 3) is coupled to the base portion (the body of 60 insides the rear portion of vehicle, Fig. 2) ( 280 inserts into 270 and is housed insides the charging compartment as shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4,6,8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Staley (US20140021915A1) in view of Wiegman (US11535110B1)
With regard to claim 4, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1,but not the releasable coupling means comprise a pair of magnetic elements respectively carried by the charging port and the base portion, the pair of magnetic elements being as a whole a pair which is power suppliable with electrical power so that the magnetic elements can cooperate magnetically with each other to magnetically secure the charging port and the base portion with each other, in which the release means include a power line configured to electrically supply the pair of magnetic elements), the power line being controllable by means of the release controller to interrupt the supply of the pair of magnetic elements thereby determining a magnetic decoupling between the magnetic elements and consequently between the charging port and the base portion.
However, Wiegman teaches the releasable coupling means comprise a pair of magnetic elements (e.g., 340, 328, Fig. 3) respectively carried by the charging port and the base portion , . the pair of magnetic elements (340, 328, Fig. 3) being as a whole a pair which is power suppliable with electrical power ( power source, col.10, line 1-2, the button may connect 328 to a power source) so that the magnetic elements (340, 328, Fig. 3) can cooperate magnetically with each other to magnetically secure the charging port ( 304, Fig. 3) and the base portion (300, Fig. 3)with each other are coupled through magnets (340, 328, Fig. 3), in which the release means (button, Fig. 3) include a power line ( configured to electrically supply the pair of magnetic elements (e.g., 340, 328, Fig. 3)(col 10, line 1-15 In an embodiment, emergency release mechanism 344 may include a button. In this embodiment, the button may have an engaged state and a disengaged state. It its disengaged state, the button may connect electromagnet 328 to a power source. In its disengaged state, the button may be unpressed. However, in its engaged state, the button may disconnect electromagnet 328 from the power source. The button enters its engaged state by being pressed. Thus, by pressing the button a user may disengage locking mechanism 324.) the power line (see power line connected to 328 through button, Fig. 3) being controllable by means of the release controller (col 9, line 30-45,controller can send locking and unlocking signal to the 328) to interrupt the supply of the pair of magnetic elements (328, 340, Fig. 3)), thereby determining a magnetic decoupling between the magnetic elements (e.g., a controller may send the unlocking signal to a relay. When the relay receives the unlocking signal, relay may electrically disconnect electromagnet 328 from a power source, col 9, line 40-45) and consequently between the charging port ( e.g., 304, Fig. 3) and the base portion (300, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 1, to include the releasable coupling means (13) comprise a pair of magnetic elements respectively carried by the charging port (6) and the base portion , the pair of magnetic elements being as a whole power suppliable with electrical power so that the magnetic elements can cooperate magnetically with each other to magnetically secure the charging port and the base portion with each other, in which the release means include a power line configured to electrically supply the pair of magnetic elements , the power line being controllable by means of the release controller to interrupt the supply of the pair of magnetic elements thereby determining a magnetic decoupling between the magnetic elements and consequently between the charging port and the base portion, as taught by Wiegman, because of the advantage of electromagnetic locking system such as remote control, quick release, durability, low maintenance and cost-effective. And the electromagnetic locking system can also avoid the unwanted detached of charging connector to the charger, see background and summary of disclosure Wiegman.
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Staley and Wiegman teaches all the limitations of claim 5,
Staley does not teach the releasable coupling means comprise a pair of magnetic elements respectively carried by the charging port and the base portion the pair of magnetic elements being as a whole a pair which is power suppliable with electrical power so that the magnetic elements) can cooperate magnetically with each other to magnetically secure the charging port and the base portion with each other, in which the release means include a power line configured to electrically supply the pair of magnetic elements the power line being controllable by means of the release controller to interrupt the supply of the pair of magnetic elements , thereby determining a magnetic decoupling between the magnetic elements and consequently between the charging port (6) and the base portion, and wherein the first and second locking elements comprise the magnetic elements respectively.
However, Wiegman teaches the releasable coupling means comprise a pair of magnetic elements (e.g., 340, 328, Fig. 3) respectively carried by the charging port (304, Fig. 3) and the base portion (300, Fig. 3) . the pair of magnetic elements (340, 328, Fig. 3) being as a whole a pair which is power suppliable with electrical power ( power source, col.10, line 1-2, the button may connect 328 to a power source) so that the magnetic elements (340, 328, Fig. 3) can cooperate magnetically with each other to magnetically secure the charging port (304, Fig. 3)and the base portion( 300, Fig. 3) with each other(see Fig. 3),, in which the release means (button, Fig. 3) include a power line (Fig. 3, see the power line connected to the button and 328)) configured to electrically supply the pair of magnetic elements (e.g., 340, 328, Fig. 3)(col 10, line 1-15 In an embodiment, emergency release mechanism 344 may include a button. In this embodiment, the button may have an engaged state and a disengaged state. It its disengaged state, the button may connect electromagnet 328 to a power source. In its disengaged state, the button may be unpressed. However, in its engaged state, the button may disconnect electromagnet 328 from the power source. The button enters its engaged state by being pressed. Thus, by pressing the button a user may disengage locking mechanism 324.) the power line (see power line connected to 328 through button, Fig. 3) being controllable by means of the release controller (col 9, line 30-45,controller can send locking and unlocking signal to the 328) to interrupt the supply of the pair of magnetic elements (328, 340, Fig. 3)), thereby determining a magnetic decoupling between the magnetic elements (e.g., a controller may send the unlocking signal to a relay. When the relay receives the unlocking signal, relay may electrically disconnect electromagnet 328 from a power source, col 9, line 40-45) and consequently between the charging port (304, Fig. 3) and the base portion(300, Fig. 3.) are coupled/separated through magnets) and wherein the first and second locking elements comprise ( e.g., 300, 304, Fig. 3) the magnetic elements ( e.g., 300 includes the 328, 304 include 340, Fig. 3) includes , respectively
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 5, to include the releasable coupling means (13) comprise a pair of magnetic elements respectively carried by the charging port and the base portion , the pair of magnetic elements being as a whole power suppliable with electrical power so that the magnetic elements can cooperate magnetically with each other to magnetically secure the charging port and the base portion with each other, in which the release means include a power line configured to electrically supply the pair of magnetic elements , the power line being controllable by means of the release controller to interrupt the supply of the pair of magnetic elements thereby determining a magnetic decoupling between the magnetic elements and consequently between the charging port and the base portion, and wherein the first and second locking elements comprise the magnetic elements respectively, as taught by Wiegman, because of the advantage of electromagnetic locking system such as remote control, quick release, durability , low maintenance and cost-effective. And the electromagnetic locking system can also avoid the unwanted detached of charging connector to the charger, see background and summary of disclosure Wiegman.
With regard to claim 8, Staley teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not the elastic return means configured to exert an elastic reaction on the mechanism toward the first configuration when the mechanism is moved away from the first configuration.
However, Wiegman teaches the elastic return means( spring, col 9, 25-40, The elastic return means is interpretated under 112(f) as a spring based on the page 10, line 15-20 of the specification ) configured to exert an elastic reaction ( spring retracts bolts 332, col 9, line 25-40) on the mechanism toward the first configuration when the mechanism is moved away from the first configuration (e.g., col 9, 25-40 bolt may be attached to a spring that automatically retracts bolt 332 when locking mechanism 324 is in its disengaged state .324 in its disengaged state means moving from the first configuration that is coupled states. See page 10 and page 11 of specification: In particular, the elastic return element 19 comprises a torsional spring arranged about the axis K and having two ends respectively attached to the locking element 17 and to the charging port 6 or to the portion 15 to elastically react with an opposite reaction in response to a torque about the axis K to bring the mechanism 16 into the second configuration. Here, Wiegman describe the same condition as a spring retracts bolts and move the system to the second configuration which is disengaged state).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the claim 5, configure the elastic return means to exert an elastic reaction on the mechanism toward the first configuration when the mechanism is moved away from the first configuration, as disclosed by Wiegman, in order to use the spring elastic force automatically retract to the disengagement situation (col 9, line 25-40) and provide an energy efficiency solution
7. Claims 10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Staley (US20140021915A1) in view of Wiegman (US11535110B1) and Zhang (CN210416294U)
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Staley and Wiegman teaches all the limitations of claim 6
Staley does not teach The motor vehicle according to claim 6, wherein the first locking element comprises an end (17a) terminating with one magnetic element of the pair of magnetic elements (20, 21), the end (17a) configured such that, in the first configuration, the end (17a) comes into contact with the second locking element (18).
However, Wiegman teaches the first locking element ( e.g., tip of 300 with 328, Fig. 3) having an end (end of 328, Fig. 3) terminating with one magnetic element (328, Fig. 3) of the pair of magnetic elements (328, 340, Fig. 3), the end (end of 328, Fig. 3) configured such that, in the first configuration, the end (328, Fig. 3) comes into contact with the second locking element contact of 340, Fig. 3).
In addition. Zhang (CN210416294U) teaches a releasable coupling system further include magnet elements ( para[0008] [0010] an electromagnet is connected to the hook through sponge block. The structure of a hook with an electromagnet of the electrical vehicle charging pile can be attached to the car) to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Staley, to configure the first locking element having an end (17a) terminating with one magnetic element of the pair of magnetic elements (20, 21), the end (17a) configured such that, in the first configuration, the end (17a) comes into contact with the second locking element 18, as disclosed by Wiegman, in order to form an electromagnetism hook mechanism, so that the hook can be attracted to a set position through the two electromagnet components to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect as taught by Zhang. .(Note: Staley and Fig. 2 of Wiegman teaches a locking mechanism with a hook device , Fig. 3 of Wiegman discloses an electromagnetic lock. Zhang teaches the motivation to combine a hook with electromagnet in order to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form an electromagnetism hook mechanism, so that the hook can be attracted to a set position through the two electromagnet components to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect as taught by Zhang )
With regard to claim 12, Staley teaches Motor vehicle (Fig. 1, 20)) electrically connectable to an external electric charging source (10, Fig. 1, Fig. 2)), the motor vehicle comprising
a body (Fig. 1, 2, body of 20)) defining a passenger compartment (see Fig. 1, Fig. 2, passenger car 20 has a passage compartment for driver) to accommodate a user ( driver[0038]),
an electrical charging assembly (60 & 40 Fig. 1-3) comprising a base portion (the body of 60 insides the rear portion of vehicle, Fig. 2) permanently installed ( see Fig. 2, the body of 60 are permanently installed) and carried by the body (Fig. 2, body of 20) in a fixed position and a charging port (290, Fig. 3, 4)) configured to receive in coupling an electrical connector (30, Fig. 2-3) of the external electrical charging source (10, Fig. 2),
releasable coupling means (240,250, Fig. 3, and release lever respond to magnetic field, [0029]) configured to attach the charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 3) to the base station ( body of 60, Fig. 3) in a releasable manner (240,250, Fig. 3, The releasable coupling means is interpretated under 112(f) as a hook based on page 8 of specification )
release means (100, Fig. 3) operable to control the releasable coupling means (240,250, Fig. 4, release lever that is configured to respond to the magnetic field) so as to release the charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 2, 3) with respect to the base portion (body of 60, Fig.2, Fig. 3), and
a release controller (e.g., ECU 660, Fig.9)) operable by the user to operate the releasable coupling means (ECU configured to actuate the release lever on receipt of user command, and vehicle driver can press eject button to actuate release lever [0038])
characterized in that the release controller (ECU 660 Fig. 9)) is usable by the user from inside the passenger compartment (vehicle driver can actuate the release lever, [0038] and vehicle driver are insides the passenger compartment) to operate the release means ([0038]vehicle driver can actuate the release lever, and the release means are actuator).
the releasable coupling means (250, 240, Fig. 3) comprise a mechanism (16) carried by one between the charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3), the mechanism (250, 240, Fig. 3) in turn carrying a first locking element (tip of 250, Fig. 3) and being controllable ( 250 controlled by 100, Fig. 3), at least for a given mutual positioning between the charging port (30, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3)), between a first and a second configuration, in which respectively the first locking element (250, Fig. 3) engages and disengages a second locking element (240, Fig. 3) being part of the other between the charging port (280, or 290, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3), such that the charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 3) and the base portion (60, Fig. 3) are mechanically coupled to each other in the first configuration of the mechanism (250 coupled to 240, Fig. 3) and mechanically disengaged from each other in the second configuration of the mechanism (250 disengaged from 240, Fig. 3),
further characterized in that, after release, the motor vehicle (20, Fig. 1, Fig. 3, 60 is at rear of the vehicle 20, [[026]) no longer has a charging port (280 or 290, Fig. 3,) from which to charge the motor vehicle (Fig. 3, since 60 is at the rear section of vehicle 20 as shown in Fig. 2) through the base portion (body of 60, Fig. 3) via an external source( 10, Charging station, Fig. 2, see Fig. 2, Fig. 3, charging port 280 or 290).( see Fig. 3 shows after the release, the charging port 280 or 290 does not connect to the vehicle)
Staley does not teach the releasable coupling means further comprise a pair of magnetic elements respectively carried by the charging port and the base portion the first locking element having an end terminating with one magnetic element of the pair of magnetic elements (20, 21), the end configured such that, in the first configuration, the end comes into contact with the second locking element 18.
However, Wiegman teaches the releasable coupling means further comprise a pair of magnetic elements (328, 340, Fig. 3) respectively carried by the charging port (304, Fig. 3) and the base portion (300, Fig.3), the first locking element ( e.g., tip of 300 with 328, Fig. 3) having an end (end of 328, Fig. 3) terminating with one magnetic element (328, Fig. 3) of the pair of magnetic elements (328, 340, Fig. 3), the end (end of 328, Fig. 3) configured such that, in the first configuration, the end (328, Fig. 3) comes into contact with the second locking element contact of 340, Fig. 3).
In addition. Zhang (CN210416294U) teaches a releasable coupling system further include magnet elements ( para[0008] [0010] an electromagnet is connected to the hook through sponge block. The structure of a hook with an electromagnet of the electrical vehicle charging pile can be attached to the car) to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Staley, to configure the releasable coupling means to comprise a pair of magnetic elements respectively carried by the charging port (6) and the base portion the first locking element having an end terminating with one magnetic element of the pair of magnetic elements, the end configured such that, in the first configuration, the end (17a) comes into contact with the second locking element, as disclosed by Wiegman, in order to form an electromagnetism hook mechanism, so that the hook can be attracted to a set position through the two electromagnet components to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect as taught by Zhang.(Note: Staley and Fig. 2 of Wiegman teaches a locking mechanism with a hook device , Fig. 3 of Wiegman discloses an electromagnetic lock. Zhang teaches the motivation to combine a hook with electromagnet in order to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form an electromagnetism hook mechanism, so that the hook can be attracted to a set position through the two electromagnet components to improve the stability of the device during the charging and has a good anti-slip effect as taught by Zhang )
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 17 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and overcome 112(a) rejection. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regard to claim 17, Staley ( Fig. 3) and other prior art of record does not show wherein the charging port (6) is entirely housed inside the charging compartment (12) when the door of the charging compartment (12) is closed in combination with other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YU(US20220324341A1) teaches a charging adapter for electric vehicle includes a connecting mechanism, a control board, a charging plug, a charging socket, a locking pressure plate and an electromagnet iron
Georgi (US 20150048644 A1) teaches An access system for a vehicle energy storage device
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872