CTFR 18/659,588 CTFR 99503 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Drawings 06-37 AIA The drawings were received on February 17, 2026 . These drawings are acceptable . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3, 6-8, 10, 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ohhashi (US 20110234663 A1) . Regarding claim 1, Ohhashi teaches a printing apparatus (fig. 1; ink-jet printer 101; ¶[0030]) comprising: a plurality of printhead portions for different ink colors, respectively, the printhead portions being configured to form an image with ink (fig. 1; ink-jet heads 1A-1B; ¶[0030]); and a control unit configured to: identify, prior to printing, one or more ink colors to be used and one or more ink colors not to be used based on the print job information (fig. 7; controller 100, steps S1, S6-S11; ¶[0054]-[0064]), control a printhead portion for an ink color to be used during printing among the plurality of printhead portions to be located at a first position as a print position (fig. 8A; position of head 1A; ¶[0044], [0062]), and control a printhead portion for an ink color not to be used during printing among the plurality of printhead portions to be located at a second position different from the first position (fig. 8A; position of heads 1B; ¶[0044], [0062]). Regarding claim 3, Ohhashi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a distance between the printhead portion located at the second position and a conveyance belt configured to convey a printing medium is greater than a distance between the printhead portion located at the first position and the conveyance belt (fig. 8A; conveyer belt 8, position of head 1A, positions of heads 1B; ¶[0044], [0062]). Regarding claim 6, Ohhashi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to identify a color not to be used during printing based on a print job analysis result, and control a printhead portion for an ink color to be used during printing of the identified color to be located at the second position (figs. 6-7; printing-mode judge portion 133, steps S1, S6-S11; ¶[0048], [0054]-[0064]). Regarding claim 7, Ohhashi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit is configured to identify a color not to be used during printing based on information about a color mode, and control a printhead portion for an ink color to be used during printing of the identified color to be located at the second position (figs. 6-7; printing-mode judge portion 133, steps S1, S6-S11; ¶[0048], [0054]-[0064]). Regarding claim 8, Ohhashi teaches a method for a printing apparatus suitable for forming an image with ink, the printing apparatus including a plurality of printhead portions for different ink colors, respectively (fig. 1; ink-jet heads 1A-1B; ¶[0030]), the method comprising: identifying, prior to printing, one or more ink colors to be used and one or more ink colors not to be used based on the print job information (fig. 7; controller 100, steps S1, S6-S11; ¶[0054]-[0064]); controlling a printhead portion for an ink color to be used during printing among the plurality of printhead portions to be located at a first position as a print position (fig. 8A; position of head 1A; ¶[0044], [0062]); and controlling a printhead portion for an ink color not to be used during printing among the plurality of printhead portions to be located at a second position different from the first position (fig. 8A; position of heads 1B; ¶[0044], [0062]). Regarding claim 10, Ohhashi teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein a distance between the printhead portion located at the second position and a conveyance belt configured to convey a printing medium is greater than a distance between the printhead portion located at the first position and the conveyance belt (fig. 8A; conveyer belt 8, position of head 1A, positions of heads 1B; ¶[0044], [0062]). Regarding claim 13, Ohhashi teaches the method according to claim 8, the method comprising identifying a color not to be used during printing based on a print job analysis result and controlling a printhead portion for an ink color to be used during printing of the identified color to be located at the second position (figs. 6-7; printing-mode judge portion 133, steps S1, S6-S11; ¶[0048], [0054]-[0064]). Regarding claim 14, Ohhashi teaches the method according to claim 8, the method comprising identifying a color not to be used during printing based on information about a color mode, and controlling a printhead portion for an ink color to be used during printing of the identified color to be located at the second position (figs. 6-7; printing-mode judge portion 133, steps S1, S6-S11; ¶[0048], [0054]-[0064]). Regarding claim 15, Ohhashi teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores one or more programs including instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a printing apparatus configured to form an image with ink and including a plurality of printhead portions for different ink colors, respectively, cause an information processing apparatus to perform a control method (fig. 6; controller 100 comprising unmarked CPU, EEPROM, and RAM; ¶[0046]), the control method comprising: identifying, prior to printing, one or more ink colors to be used and one or more ink colors not to be used based on the print job information (fig. 7; controller 100, steps S1, S6-S11; ¶[0054]-[0064]); controlling a printhead portion for an ink color to be used during printing among the plurality of printhead portions to be located at a first position as a print position (fig. 8A; position of head 1A; ¶[0044], [0062]); and controlling a printhead portion for an ink color not to be used during printing among the plurality of printhead portions to be located at a second position different from the first position (fig. 8A; position of heads 1B; ¶[0044], [0062]) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi (US 20110234663 A1) in view of Gunnell et al. (US 20120120134 A1), hereinafter Gunnell . Regarding claim 2, Ohhashi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1. However, Ohhashi fails to teach or fairly suggest wherein the control unit is further configured to control the printhead portion located at the first position to be heated, and control the printhead portion located at the second position not to be heated. Gunnell teaches an inkjet printer comprising a plurality of printheads, each printhead comprising a heater, the inkjet printer further comprising a control unit configured to activate the heater in a printhead corresponding to detected colors in image data and deactivate the heater in a printhead not corresponding to detected colors (figs. 1, 2; process 100, blocks 104, 112, 116, 120, 124 printhead assembly 232, printhead heaters 238, controller 80; ¶[0013]-[0016], [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the controllers of Ohhashi and Gunnell in order reduce the electrical power consumption of the printing apparatus. Regarding claim 9, Ohhashi teaches the method according to claim 8. However, Ohhashi fails to teach or fairly suggest the method comprising controlling the printhead portion located at the first position to be heated and controlling the printhead portion located at the second position not to be heated. Gunnell teaches a control method for operating an inkjet printer comprising a plurality of printheads, each printhead comprising a heater, the inkjet printer further comprising a control unit configured to activate the heater in a printhead corresponding to detected colors in image data and deactivate the heater in a printhead not corresponding to detected colors (figs. 1, 2; process 100, blocks 104, 112, 116, 120, 124 printhead assembly 232, printhead heaters 238, controller 80; ¶[0013]-[0016], [0022]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of Ohhashi and Gunnell in order reduce the electrical power consumption of the printing apparatus operating according to the method . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 4, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohhashi (US 20110234663 A1) in view of Ju (US 5801724 A) . Regarding claim 4, Ohhashi teaches the printing apparatus according to claim 1 wherein the control unit is further configured to control the plurality of printhead portions to be located at a third position different from the first position and the second position (figs. 7, 8C; step S10; ¶[0063]). Ohhashi fails to teach or fairly suggest that the control unit controls the printhead portions to be located at the third position during power-off of the printing apparatus. However, Ju teaches a controller for an inkjet printer configured to move a printhead to a capping position when a power-off signal is detected (figs. 1, 3; steps 320, 322, 324, 326; col. 6, lines 11-53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the controller Ohhashi to include the circuitry of the controller of Ju in order to prevent ink drying in the nozzles of the printheads during the time when the power is not supplied. Regarding claim 11, Ohhashi teaches the method according to claim 8 wherein the plurality of printhead portions are controlled to be located at a third position different from the first position and the second position (figs. 7, 8C; step S10; ¶[0063]). Ohhashi fails to teach or fairly suggest that the printhead portions are controlled to be located at the third position during power-off of the printing apparatus. However, Ju teaches a controller and method for an inkjet printer configured to move a printhead to a capping position when a power-off signal is detected (fig. 3; steps 320, 322, 324, 326; col. 6, lines 11-53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method Ohhashi to include the method of Ju in order to prevent ink drying in the nozzles of the printheads during the time when the power is not supplied . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 5, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the printing apparatus of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein a distance between the printhead portion located at the second position and a conveyance belt configured to convey a printing medium is less than a distance between the printhead portions located at the third position and the conveyance belt. Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the method of the claim, particularly including and in combination with, wherein a distance between the printhead portion located at the second position and a conveyance belt configured to convey a printing medium is less than a distance between the printhead portions located at the third position and the conveyance belt . Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments, see page 8 of Remarks , filed February 17, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 6-7, and 13-14 under 35 U.S.C. §112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 6-7 and 13-14 on these grounds have been withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments, see page 9 of Remarks , filed February 17, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 3, 8, and 10 under 35 U.S.C. §102 as anticipated by Achatz have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ohhashi (US 20110234663 A1). Applicant’s arguments, see page 11 or Remarks , filed February 17, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 2, 4-5, 6-7, 9, 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection for claims 6-7, 13-14 in view of Ohhashi (US 20110234663 A1), for claims 4, 11 is made in view of Ohhashi and Ju (US 5801724 A), and for claims 2, 9 is made in view of Ohhashi and Gunnell et al. (US 20120120134 A1). Claims 5 and 12 have been objected to as containing allowable subject matter but being dependent upon a rejected base claim. Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS RAY KNIEF whose telephone number is (703)756-5733. The examiner can normally be reached M-F, 8AM - 5 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Stephen Meier can be reached at 5712722149. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /TRK/Examiner, Art Unit 2853 /STEPHEN D MEIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 2 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 3 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 4 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 5 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 6 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 7 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 8 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 9 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 10 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 11 Art Unit: 2853 Application/Control Number: 18/659,588 Page 12 Art Unit: 2853