CTNF 18/659,618 CTNF 78881 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-19 in the reply filed on 5/9/2024 is acknowledged. 08-06 AIA Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected specie , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/9/2024 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Huang et al. U.S. Patent 9,801,302 . Regarding claim 1 , Huang et al. teaches an outdoor unit (1; figures 3 and 6-8) of an air conditioner (intended use) comprising: a case (2; figures 3 and 6-8); a board frame (31; figures 3 and 6-8) configured to move (see figures 3 and 6-8) relative to the case and on which a printed circuit board (implicitly taught in unit 4; figure 6) is mounted; and a frame guide (32; figure 8) disposed inside (see figures 3 and 6-8) the case and configured to support (see figures 3 and 6-8) the board frame, wherein the board frame (31) is configured to slide between a first frame position (shown in figure 6) with respect to the frame guide and a second frame position (shown in figure 7) with respect to the frame guide, and configured to allow a sliding (see figures 6-7) movement of the board frame to be guided by the frame guide, wherein in response to the board frame being at the second frame position (see figure 7) with respect to the frame guide, the board frame is configured to rotate (see figure 8) about a rotation axis (implicitly taught in figure 8) passing through the frame guide . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 2, 7-10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. U.S. Patent 9,518,758 in view of Kim U.S. Patent 6,351,372 . PNG media_image1.png 505 530 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1 , Lee et al. teaches an outdoor unit (1; figure 3) of an air conditioner comprising: a case (10; figure 3); a board frame (22; figure 3) configured to move (see figures 2-3) relative to the case (10) and on which a printed circuit board (2; figure 3) is mounted; and a frame guide (see above annotated figure 3) disposed inside the case and configured to support the board frame (22), wherein the board frame is configured to slide between a first frame position (see figure 2) with respect to the frame guide and a second frame position (see figure 3) with respect to the frame guide, and configured to allow a sliding movement (see figures 2-3) of the board frame to be guided by the frame guide. However, Lee et al. does not teach wherein in response to the board frame being at the second frame position with respect to the frame guide, the board frame is configured to rotate about a rotation axis passing through the frame guide . Kim teaches a sliding structure (10; figure 1), wherein in response to a board frame (12; figure 1) being at a second frame position (at position where 56 is shown in figure 1) with respect to a frame guide (28; figure 1), the board frame (12) is configured to rotate (see figure 1) about a rotation axis (see figure 1) passing through the frame guide. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the outdoor unit of Lee et al., such that in response to the board frame being at the second frame position with respect to the frame guide, the board frame would be configured to rotate about a rotation axis passing through the frame guide, as suggested by Kim, in order to facilitate in part servicing and replacement. PNG media_image2.png 397 402 media_image2.png Greyscale Regarding claim 2 , Lee et al. in view of Kim teaches the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 1; wherein the case comprises a first inner wall (see above annotated figure 1 of Lee et al.) and a second inner wall (see above annotated figure 1 of Lee et al.) disposed to face the first inner wall, wherein the board frame is configured to slide in a direction (see above figure 1 and figure 3 of Lee et al.) from the first inner wall to the second inner wall from the first frame position to the second frame position. Regarding claim 7, the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim would result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the frame guide comprises a guide shaft (see figure 1 of Lee et al.; guide shaft implicitly taught on the frame guide to guide board frame 22 and column 5, lines 56-58) extending in a direction parallel (see figure 3) to the rotation axis, wherein the guide shaft is configured to guide a sliding movement (see figures 2-3) of the board frame in response to the board frame moving between the first frame position (see figure 2 of Lee et al.) with respect to the frame guide and the second frame position (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) with respect to the frame guide, wherein the board frame is configured to rotate (as modified by Kim) about the guide shaft in response to the board frame rotating at the second frame position with respect to the frame guide. Regarding claim 8, the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim also result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 7, wherein the board frame comprises a guide hole (implicitly taught in figure 3 of Lee et al.; and column 5, lines 56-58) through which the guide shaft passes, wherein the guide hole extends along a direction (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) in which the board frame is configured to slide with respect to the guide shaft. Regarding claim 9 , the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim also result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 8, wherein one end of both ends of the guide hole (implicitly taught in column 5, lines 56-58; “guide rail” => guide hole) in a direction (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) in which the board frame is configured to slide (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) with respect to the guide shaft, is in contact with the guide shaft in response to the board frame being at the first frame position (see figure 3 of Lee et al.), wherein another end (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) of the guide hole is in contact (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) with the guide shaft in response to the board frame being at the second frame position. Regarding claim 10 , the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim would result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the frame guide comprises an end guide (implicitly taught in column 5, lines 56-58; “guide rail” => end guide) configured to guide (implicitly taught in column 5, lines 56-58) a movement of one end of the board frame inside (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) the case, wherein the one end of the board frame is configured to move along the end guide (implicitly taught in column 5, lines 56-58) in response to the board frame rotating about the rotation axis. Regarding claim 15 , Lee et al. in view of Kim also teaches the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the frame guide comprises a first frame guide (see column 6, lines 3-11) and a second frame guide (see column 6, lines 3-11) disposed to be spaced apart from the first frame guide, wherein the first frame guide and the second frame guide face (see column 6, lines 3-11 and figure 6 of Lee et al.) each other along a direction parallel to the rotation axis of the board frame . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3-6 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. U.S. Patent 9,518,758 in view of Kim U.S. Patent 6,351,372 and in further view of Bonaric et al. U.S. Pub. 2024/0038378 . Regarding claim 3 , as mentioned above, Lee et al. in view of Kim teaches the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 1. However, Lee et al. in view of Kim does not specifically teach a locker disposed inside the case, wherein in response to the board frame being at the first frame position with respect to the frame guide, the locker is configured to be locked and coupled to the board frame to restrict the board frame from rotating about the rotation axis, wherein in response to the board frame moving from the first frame position to the second frame position with respect to the frame guide, the locker is configured to release the locking connection between the board frame. Bonaric et al., teaches a similar structure, which suggests a locker (see par[0028]; component corresponds to unit 120) disposed inside the case, wherein in response to a board frame (124; figure 1B) being at the first frame position (see par[0028]) with respect to the frame guide, the locker is configured to be locked (see par[0028]) and coupled to the board frame to restrict the movement of the board frame. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to equip unit of Lee et al. in view of Kim with a locker disposed inside the case, wherein in response to the board frame being at the first frame position with respect to the frame guide, the locker is configured to be locked and coupled to the board frame, as suggested by Bonaric et al., such that it would restrict the board frame from rotating about the rotation axis, wherein in response to the board frame moving from the first frame position to the second frame position with respect to the frame guide, the locker is configured to release the locking connection between the board frame. Regarding claim 4 , the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim and Bonaric et al. would result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 3, wherein in response to the board frame being at the first frame position (see above rejection of claim 3) with respect to the frame guide, the locker is configured to restrict the board frame from moving in a direction (the modification would restrict any movement in any direction) perpendicular to a sliding direction between the first frame position with respect to the frame guide and the second frame position with respect to the frame guide and a direction in which the rotation axis extends. Regarding claim 5, the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim and Bonaric et al. would result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 4, wherein the locker protrudes from an inner wall (implicitly taught from par[0028]) of the case toward the board frame, wherein the board frame further comprises a locking hole (implicitly taught in figure 1B and par[0028]) configured to receive the locker and to lock and couple the locker in response to the board frame being at the first frame position with respect to the frame guide. Regarding claim 6 , the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim and Bonaric et al. would result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 5, wherein the board frame comprises a mounting surface (rear surface of unit 22 shown in figure 3 of Lee et al.) on which the printed circuit board is mounted, and a support surface (equivalent of surface of 124 and 120 shown in figure 1B of Bonaric et al.) connected to the mounting surface and facing a direction different from a (see figure 3 of Lee et al.) direction in which the mounting surface faces, wherein the locking hole has a shape penetrating (see figure 1B of Bonaric et al.; shape of 120) the support surface. Regarding claim 16 , Lee et al. in view of Kim and Bonaric et al. teaches an outdoor unit of an air conditioner of claim 16 for the same reasons stated in the above rejection of claims 1 and 3. Regarding claim 17 , Lee et al. in view of Kim and Bonaric et al. teaches the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 17 for the same reason stated in the above rejection of claim 5. Regarding claim 18 , the modification of Lee et al. in view of Kim and Bonaric et al. would result in the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 18, wherein further comprising: a guide shaft (resulted from above modification; left 58 and right 58; figure 7 of Kim) extending in the direction parallel to the rotation axis of the board frame, and configured to guide the sliding movement of the board frame between the first frame position and the second frame position, and wherein the board frame is configured to rotate relative to the case about the guide shaft in response to the board frame rotating at the second frame position. Regarding claim 19, Lee et al. in view of Kim and Bonaric teaches the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 18, wherein the board frame comprises a guide hole (space inside 28; figure 7 of Kim, as resulted from above medication) through which the guide shaft passes, and the guide hole extends along the direction in which the board frame slides with respect to the guide shaft . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggests the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the board frame is configured to rotate in a first rotation direction from the second frame position with respect to the frame guide toward a third frame position, wherein the frame guide further comprises: a block portion in contact with the board frame and configured to restrict the board frame from rotating from the third frame position to the first rotation direction in response to the board frame being at the third frame position. Regarding claim 12 , the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the outdoor unit of the air conditioner of claim 1, wherein the board frame is configured to rotate in a first rotation direction from the second frame position with respect to the frame guide toward a third frame position, wherein the frame guide comprises: a frame support portion configured to support one surface of the board frame; and an interference protrusion protruding from the frame support portion, wherein the interference protrusion is configured to interfere with the board frame to restrict the board frame from rotating in a second rotation direction opposite to the first rotation direction from the third frame position in response to the board frame being at the third frame position. Claims 13-14 are dependent from claim 12, and therefore, are objected-but-allowable for at least the same reason. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUNG Q DANG whose telephone number is (571)272-3069. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6PM.. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Imani N Hayman can be reached at 571-270-5528. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 2 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 3 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 4 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 5 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 6 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 7 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 8 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 9 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 10 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 11 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 12 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 13 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 14 Art Unit: 2841 Application/Control Number: 18/659,618 Page 15 Art Unit: 2841