Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation “a sun gear that includes a sun gear shaft and meshes with the ring gear” in lines 5-6. It is unclear to the Examiner how the sun gear is able to mesh with the ring gear. Examiner believes the applicant is describing the sun gear meshing with the planetary gears. Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE JONG et al. (US 8,839,854) in view of KLEIN-HITPASS (US 10,648,542).
Regarding claim 16, DE JONG discloses a drilling machine system (Figs. 3-4E), comprising: a gearbox (100) including: a planetary reduction (110) and a motor (60) directly rotationally coupled to an input coupling (via 56).
DE JONG does not show a simple planetary reduction solely including a grounded ring gear, a carrier directly coupled to an output coupling, a plurality of planet gears that are rotationally coupled to the carrier and mesh with the ring gear, and a sun gear that includes a sun gear shaft and meshes with the planetary gears; and a floating input coupling directly coupled to or formed in the sun gear shaft that is included in the simple planetary reduction; wherein the floating input coupling is unsupported by a bearing.
KLEIN teaches a planetary simple reduction (30) including a grounded ring gear (33), a carrier (32) directly coupled to an output coupling (19), a plurality of planet gears (34) that are rotationally coupled to the carrier (32) and mesh with the ring gear (33), and a sun gear (19) that includes a sun gear shaft (47); and a floating input coupling directly coupled to or formed in the sun gear shaft (47) that is included in the simple planetary reduction; wherein the floating input coupling (47) is unsupported by a bearing.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to have the details of the planetary reduction taught by KLEIN be used in the drilling machine system of DE JONG, since both utilize a planetary gearing system to transfer rotational torque from an input to an output. The substitution of one planetary gear system for another would have led to the predicable result of a gearing reduction system. KLEIN is used to teach the details of a planetary gearing system, as the base reference does not provide the details of the planetary structure.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of DE JONG-KLEIN discloses a gap is formed between an outer surface of the floating input coupling and a section of the carrier in the simple planetary reduction.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of DE JONG-KLEIN discloses a rotary drive drilling tool rotationally coupled to the carrier.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE JONG et al. (US 8,839,854) in view of KLEIN-HITPASS (US 10,648,542) as applied to claims 1-3, 5-16, and 18-20 above, and further in view of RAYNER (US 10,295,020).
Regarding claims 4 and 17, the combination of DE JONG-KLEIN discloses the drilling system having a motor and the floating input coupling is configured to directly rotationally couple to the motor.
The combination of DE JONG-KLEIN does not disclose the motor being a hydraulic motor.
RAYNER teaches a machine for earth drilling (col. 3-20), wherein a motor can be hydraulic, electric, or pneumatic (col. 4, lines 62-64).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the electric motor disclosed by combination of DE JONG-KLEIN with a hydraulic motor, as RAYNER teaches the type of motor is a matter of design choice.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-12, and 15 are allowed.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 16-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection necessitated by the amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEREK D KNIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655