DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8, 11 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 3 should read “30 mmHg”
Claims 11 and 12 (two instances total) should be amended to read “the gaseous drug containing NO” for clarity
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of claim 6 appear to conflict with those of claim 4, from which it depends. Claim 4 recites “a final mixture containing oxygen, nitrogen and less than 40 ppmv of NO…administered to the patient,” and claim 6 recites “the gaseous drug mixed with the oxygen-containing gas” (emphasis added) but then says the mixture “contains from 200 to 2000 ppmv of NO and N2 for the rest.” How can a mixture that has oxygen and less than 40 ppmv NO have 200-2000 ppmv NO and only NO and N2, i.e. no oxygen? As best understood from pages 7-8 of the instant specification, for purposes of examination, claim 6 will be considered to read “the gaseous drug, prior to being mixed with the oxygen-containing gas
Regarding claims 6 and 14, a broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 6 recites the broad recitation 200-2000 ppmv, and the claim also recites 200-1000 ppmv, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation, and claim 14 recites the broad recitation less than 40 ppmv, and the claim also recites 5-30 ppmv, which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the narrower ranges are not considered to be required features of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthay et al. (Treatment for severe acute respiratory distress syndrome from COVID-19. The Lancet, 2020 (8), 433-434; hereinafter “Matthay”) in view of Landmesser et al. (WO 2023/280828 A1; hereinafter “Landmesser”) and Forrest (US 2023/0142073 A1; hereinafter “Forrest”).
Regarding claims 1, 7-9 and 13, Matthay discloses a method for treating a patient suffering from acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) (Figure; treatment options…provided for patients with severe ARDS, col. 1, second para), comprising:
a) providing or selecting a patient suffering from severe ARDS (treatment [of] patients with severe ARDS, col. 1, second para), and presenting with refractory hypoxaemia prior to treatment with NO ([f]or [those patients who also have] persistent refractory hypoxaemia…additional options…[i]nhaled 5-20 ppm NO, col. 3, lines 3-7), characterized by:
(i) a severity index such that: PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 100-150 mmHg (hypoxaemia progresses to a PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 100-150 mmHg, bottom of col. 1).
b) administrating by inhalation a gaseous drug containing nitric oxide (NO) to said patient (Inhaled NO, Figure; col. 3, lines 3-7),
wherein PaO2 is measured in the patient prior to administration of the gaseous drug and FiO2 is an amount of oxygen supplied to the patient (progression monitoring of hypoxaemia via PaO2/FiO2 at the bottom of col. 1 and implementation NO based thereon in col. 3, lines 3-7 infers that PaO2 is measured prior the NO administration, and FiO2 is standard notation in the art for an oxygen supplied to a patient).
Matthay does not explicitly state that the NO-treated patients include an adult of at least 40 years old, and Matthay does not stipulate a PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, specifically 30 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, or 40 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg for initiating the NO treatment. However, optimization of ranges of parameters within prior art ranges or through routine experimentation is not sufficient to patentably distinguish the invention over the prior art, MPEP § 2144.05, Landmesser teaches that it was known in the art of treating severe ARDS before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that severe ARDS with persistent refractory hypoxaemia as disclosed by Matthay is characterized by a PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, specifically 30 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, or 40 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg ([i]n patients with severe ARDS and refractory hypoxemia (PaO2/FiO2 quotient < 80 or 60 mmHg), page 35, lines 27-28, where at least the end point of 60 is within the claimed ranges), and Forrest teaches that it was known in the art of treating severe ARDS before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to treat an adult of at least 40 years old with severe ARDS having a PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, specifically 30 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, or 40 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg with NO (57-year-old woman…presented with Severe Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome…[treated with] inhaled nitric oxide at 10 ppm, her PaO.sub.2/FiO.sub.2 was 70 mmHg, para [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the patients with ARDS and persistent refractory hypoxaemia treated with NO of Matthay to include an adult of at least 40 years old, with a PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, specifically 30 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg, or 40 mmHg ≤ PaO2/FiO2 ≤ 80 mmHg as taught by Landmesser and Forrest, in order to provide the predictable result of treating a patient within the expected population (i.e. adults over 40) determined to have ARDS and persistent refractory hypoxaemia (based on known criteria therefor) with NO to improve oxygenation (Matthay col. 3, lines 3-7).
Regarding claim 12, Matthay in view of Landmesser and Forrest teaches the method according to Claim 1, wherein Matthay further discloses/teaches characterized in that [the gaseous drug containing NO] is administered by inhalation through a tracheal intubation tube (bottom of Mattay col. 1; see also Landmesser page 35, lines 13-21), in order to predictably deliver the NO while ensuring adequate oxygenation (Landmesser page 35, line 14) in a patient needing tracheal intubation.
Claim(s) 2-6 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthay in view of Landmesser and Forrest as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Boulanger (US 2021/0308411 A1; hereinafter “Boulanger”).
Regarding claims 2-6 and 14, Matthay in view of Landmesser and Forrest teaches the method according to Claim 1, but modified Matthay is silent regarding wherein the gaseous drug comprises NO and nitrogen, which contains from 200 to 2000 ppmv of NO and N2 for the rest, which is mixed with an oxygen-containing gas that is oxygen or an oxygen-nitrogen mixture/is diluted with an oxygen-containing gas containing at least 20 vol.% oxygen, prior to administration to the patient, thereby obtaining a final mixture containing (at least 20%vol. of) oxygen, nitrogen and less than 40 ppmv of NO as a dose of NO that is subsequently administered to the patient (in step b). However, Boulanger teaches that it was known in the inhaled NO treatment art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein a gaseous drug for treating ARDS (para [0003]) comprises NO and nitrogen (NO…used for treating…Acute Respiratory Distress Syndrome (ARDS)…[u]sually, a low amount of gaseous NO…diluted in nitrogen, paras [0003-4]), which contains from 200 to 2000 ppmv of NO and N2 for the rest (a N2/NO mixture containing between 200 and 800 ppmv of NO [is diluted], paras [0003-4]), which is mixed with an oxygen-containing gas that is oxygen or an oxygen-nitrogen mixture (NO…diluted in nitrogen is mixed in an oxygen-containing gas, paras [0003-4])/is diluted with an oxygen-containing gas containing at least 20 vol.% oxygen (injecting a NO/N2 mixture into a flow of a respiratory gas of air of a O2/N2 mixture containing at least 21 vol. % of O2, para [0075]), prior to administration to the patient, thereby obtaining a final mixture containing (at least 20%vol. of) oxygen, nitrogen and less than 40 ppmv of NO as a dose of NO that is subsequently administered to the patient (paras [0053], [0072-73], [0101-103], where the amount of NO mixture added is not enough to lower the oxygen level below 20%vol, and where maintaining at least 20%vol of oxygen in the final mixture would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because this is the amount that is needed and/or comfortable and/or optimal for typical human ventilation). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Matthay to include wherein the gaseous drug comprises NO and nitrogen, which contains from 200 to 2000 ppmv of NO and N2 for the rest, which is mixed with an oxygen-containing gas that is oxygen or an oxygen-nitrogen mixture/is diluted with an oxygen-containing gas containing at least 20 vol.% oxygen, prior to administration to the patient, thereby obtaining a final mixture containing (at least 20%vol. of) oxygen, nitrogen and less than 40 ppmv of NO as a dose of NO that is subsequently administered to the patient as taught by Boulanger, in order to utilize a well-known method using known/easily sourced materials to predictably generate a known gaseous drug comprising NO that is suitable for treating adults with ARDS (Boulanger paras [0003-4] and [0071-72]).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthay in view of Landmesser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Potenziano et al. (US 9,381,212 B2; hereinafter “Potenziano”).
Regarding claim 10, Matthay in view of Landmesser and Forrest teaches the method according to Claim 1, but modified Matthay is silent regarding wherein the patient has one or more comorbidities selected from hypertension, diabetes, immunodeficiency and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). However, Potenziano teaches that it was known in the inhaled NO treatment art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that hypertension is common comorbidity of ARDS (ARDS often has a perfusion-related component such as pulmonary hypertension (PH), col. 4, lines 36-37). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Matthay to include wherein the patient has hypertension as taught by Potenziano, in order to provide the predictable result of treating a patient within the expected population (i.e. a patient with ARDS and perfusion-related component such as pulmonary hypertension) with ARDS-indicated NO therapy (Potenziano col. 4, lines 36-37 in view of col. 1, lines 22-28).
Regarding claim 11, Matthay in view of Landmesser and Forrest teaches the method according to Claim 1, but modified Matthay is silent regarding wherein [the gaseous drug containing NO] is administered by inhalation for 24 hours to 96 hours. However, optimization of ranges of parameters within prior art ranges or through routine experimentation is not sufficient to patentably distinguish the invention over the prior art, see MPEP § 2144.05, and Potenziano teaches that it was known in the inhaled NO treatment art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for [the gaseous drug containing NO] to be administered by inhalation for 24 hours to 96 hours (NO is administered for a treatment period…2 days, col. 1, lines 47-48; treatment periods up to about…2, 3, 4…days…[m]inimum treatment periods may include about…24 hours or about 1, 2, 3…days…[m]aximum treatment periods may include…about 2, 3, 4…days, col. 2, lines 43-51). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Matthay to include wherein [the gaseous drug containing NO] is administered by inhalation for 24 hours to 96 hours through routine optimization/within the ranges taught by Potenziano, in order to provide the predictable result of a sufficient length of therapy to achieve a desired level of oxygenation (Matthay col. 3, lines 3-7; Potenziano col. 1, lines 27-28).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matthay in view of Landmesser as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Enika et al. (WO 2022/040696 A1; hereinafter “Enika”).
Regarding claim 10, Matthay in view of Landmesser and Forrest teaches the method according to Claim 1, but modified Matthay is silent regarding wherein the patient has one or more comorbidities selected from hypertension, diabetes, immunodeficiency and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). However, Enika teaches that it was known in the inhaled NO treatment art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that hypertension and COPD are known comorbidities of ARDS (patient can have at least one of a pulmonary arterial disease…ARDS…COPD, para [0088]; [p]ulmonary hypertension (PH) is caused by pulmonary arterial diseases…chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, para [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Matthay to include wherein the patient has hypertension and/or COPD as taught by Enika, in order to provide the predictable result of treating a patient within the expected population (i.e. a patient with ARDS and hypertension and/or COPD) with ARDS-indicated NO therapy (Enika paras [0002] and [0088]).
Regarding claim 11, Matthay in view of Landmesser and Forrest teaches the method according to Claim 1, but modified Matthay is silent regarding wherein [the gaseous drug containing NO] is administered by inhalation for 24 hours to 96 hours. However, optimization of ranges of parameters within prior art ranges or through routine experimentation is not sufficient to patentably distinguish the invention over the prior art, see MPEP § 2144.05, and Enika teaches that it was known in the inhaled NO treatment art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for [the gaseous drug containing NO] to be administered by inhalation for 24 hours to 96 hours (dose…over a period from about 1 hour to 72 hours, para [0066]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for modified Matthay to include wherein [the gaseous drug containing NO] is administered by inhalation for 24 hours to 96 hours through routine optimization/within the range taught by Enika, in order to provide the predictable result of a sufficient length of therapy to achieve a desired level of oxygenation (Matthay col. 3, lines 3-7; Enika paras [0046], [0066], [0166], [0170]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Additional references regarding the treatment of ARDS with NO, including severe ARDS and with comorbidities: Acker et al. (US 2014/0283828 A1); Av-Gay et al. (US 2016/0022731 A1); Avniel et al. (US 2020/0281965 A1); Baz Morelli et al. (US 2023/0272087 A1); Boulanger (US 2019/0083724 A1); Boulanger et al. (US 2023/0211113 A1); Dekker (WO 2021/243227 A1); Giladi (US 2024/0001117 A1; para [0023]); Goldstein (US 2012/0107423 A1); Jafri (US 2017/0304580 A1); Jones et al. (US 2023/0380414 A1; para [0117]); Krebs (US 5,531,218); Marchal et al. (US 2024/0366907 A1); Shah (US 2023/0158064 A1); Zapol (US 5,570,683); Zapol et al. (US 2023/0201514 A1). Low blood pH and PaO2/FiO2 ratio below 80 classified as severe ARDS: Kaczmarek (US 2024/0050676 A1; para [0057]). ARDS and blood pH below 7.25 as indicators for respiratory intervention: Mattrey et al. (US 2025/0041332 A1; para [0085]).
/KATHRYN E DITMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785