DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 11, 16 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 17 recite the limitation "the second heat-treating step". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Nickel-promoted Electrocatalytic Graphitization of Biochars for Energy Storage: Mechanistic Understanding using Multi-scale Approaches” to Li et al. in view of US 2022/0169577 A1 to Malyala et al. (Malyala).
As to claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 18 and 19, Li teaches a method for producing crystalline graphitic particles from biochar via immersing the biochar particles into anhydrous molten calcium chloride maintained at an electrochemical treatment temperature of 800 to 950°C while the biochar particles are cathodically polarized at a voltage of -2.8V for a sufficient period of electrochemical treatment time, for example, 1 to 8 hours, to transform the biochar particles to the crystalline graphite particles (Pages 1, 2 and 3).
However, Li fails to teach a specific source of the biochar. However, Malyala teaches that biochar can be formed from biomass such as woods, coconut shell and food waste that undergo heat treatment at a temperature of 300 to 900°C for a first time period to carbonize the biochar particles which are then mechanically reduced (ground or crushed) to, for example, 0.25 mm (60 mesh) (Paragraphs 0085-0091). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the biochar of Li from a biomass production process as in Malyala in order to effectively provide the biochar from an existing waste source as taught by Malyala.
As to claim 12, the combination of Li and Malyala teaches the method of claim 1. Malyala teaches that the biochar particles produced have a density of 0.1 to 0.6 g/cm3 (Paragraph 0134). Li further teaches that the product is graphite, graphite has a density of from around 1.55 g/cm3 for synthetic graphite to 2.26 g/cm3 for theoretical density.
Claims 6, 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Li and Malyala as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2026/0274676 A1 to Roue et al. (Roue).
As to claims 6 and 7, the combination of Li and Malyala teaches the method of claim 1. Li further teaches that the crystalline graphite particles are utilized for an anode in a battery (Page 2, Column 1); however, Li fails to further teach that the crystalline graphite particles are mixed with a carbon precursor material.
However, Roue also discusses graphite utilized for battery anodes and teaches that by coating the graphite with coal tar pitch at a weight ratio of 5:95 pitch to graphite to form a coated secondary particle which is then heat treated at, for example, 1000°C in order to form an improved anode material (Paragraphs 0085, 0283 and 0300). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to coat the graphite of Li with coal tar pitch at a weight ratio of 5:95 pitch to graphite to form a coated secondary particle which is then heat treated at, for example, 1000°C in order to form an improved anode material as taught by Roue.
As to claims 8 and 9, the combination of Li, Malyala and Roue teaches the method of claim 7. The limitations of claims 8 and 9 are narrowing optional limitations, Roue teaches an alternative limitation of coal tar pitch, and thus meets the limitations of claims 8 and 9.
Claims 10, 11, 13, 14, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Li and Malyala as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of “Catalytic Hydrothermal Carbonization Treatment of Biomass for Enhanced Activated Carbon: A Review” to Watts et al. (Watts).
As to claims 10, 11 and 16, the combination of Li and Malyala teaches the method of claim 2. Malyala teaches that the heat treating of the biomass is, for example, pyrolysis or carbonization (Paragraph 0089). However, Malyala is silent as to the specific carbonization process utilized. However, Watts also discusses the carbonization of biomass and teaches that an effective form of carbonization is hydrothermal carbonization (Introduction to Catalytic Hydrothermal Treatment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize hydrothermal carbonation for the carbonization of Malyala with the reasonable expectation of effectively performing the carbonization as taught by Watts.
Watts further teaches that the hydrothermal carbonation is performed in the presence of additives or catalysts such as KOH or FeCl3 in order to increase carbonization (Catalyst or Increased Carbonization and Porosity).
As to claim 13, the combination of Li and Malyala teaches the method of claim 2. Malyala teaches that the heat treating of the biomass is, for example, pyrolysis or carbonization (Paragraph 0089). Malyala fails to specifically teach that both of these methods are utilized together; however, the combination of known equivalents would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.06 I).
However, Malyala is further silent as to the specific carbonization process utilized. However, Watts also discusses the carbonization of biomass and teaches that an effective form of carbonization is hydrothermal carbonization (Introduction to Catalytic Hydrothermal Treatment). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize hydrothermal carbonation for the carbonization of Malyala with the reasonable expectation of effectively performing the carbonization as taught by Watts.
The combination fails to specifically teach that the first temperature is from 100 to 600°C and that the second temperature is higher than the first temperature; however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the temperature ranges of each of the pyrolysis and carbonization steps through routine optimization (MPEP 2144.05).
As to claim 14, the combination of Li, Malyala and Watts teaches the method of claim 13. As discussed above, the biomass of Malyala undergoes hydrothermal carbonization, heat treatment, to indue decomposition of biomass molecules.
As to claim 15, the combination of Li, Malyala and Watts teaches the method of claim 13. Watts further teaches that the hydrothermal carbonation is performed in the presence of additives or catalysts such as KOH or FeCl3 in order to increase carbonization (Catalyst or Increased Carbonization and Porosity).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Li and Malyala as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 2025/0059089 A1 to Shi et al. (Shi).
As to claim 17, the combination of Li and Malyala teaches the method of claim 1. However, Malyala fails to further teach that the biomass comprises particles of recycled plastic. However, Shi also discusses biomass for formation into biochar and teaches that in addition to wood, the biomass can be formed of recycled plastic (Paragraph 0055). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the biochar from recycled plastic as a known waste source as taught by Shi.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Li and Malyala as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “Prospective Life Cycle Assessment of Synthetic Graphite Manufactured via Electrochemical Graphitization” to Kulkarni et al. (Kulkarni).
As to claims 20 and 21, the combination of Li and Malyala teaches the method of claim 1. However, Li fails to further teach that the biochar particles are wrapped within and in contact with a metal mesh serving as cathodic working electrode. However, Kulkarni also discusses electrochemical graphitization of carbon and teaches that the provision of the carbon wrapped within and in contact with a nickel mesh ensure that the carbon Is held together during the process (S1: Lab Scale). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the cathode of Li as a nickel mesh in which the biochar particles are wrapped within and in contact with in order to ensure that the carbon is held together during the process as taught by Kulkarni.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794