DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3,13-14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,830,681 (Fowler et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed elements and limitations in the Instant application are claimed in the ‘681 Fowler et al. patent. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the claims in the ‘681 Fowler et al. patent.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2,13,15-17,19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,025,483 (Fowler et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed elements and limitations in the Instant application are claimed in the ‘483 Fowler et al. patent. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the claims in the ‘483 Fowler et al. patent.
Claims 1-2, 6, 9-10 and 16-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3,9 of copending U.S. Patent Application No. 17/932,006 (Fowler et al.). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the claimed elements and limitations in the Instant application are claimed in the ‘006 Fowler et al. copending application. Hence, the claims in the Instant application are not patentably distinct from the claims in the ‘006 Fowler et al. copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-10 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0060626 (Zhu et al.).
With regards to claim 1, Zhu et al. discloses a Coriolis measuring device comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-4, a method for inspecting a lumen A,B (e.g. measuring tubes whether plugged – paragraph [0059] or free/unplugged – paragraph [0056]) comprising obtaining a flow measurement (e.g. the mass flow through tube A; paragraph [0059]) in the lumen; comparing the flow measurement (e.g. the mass flow through tube A; paragraph [0059]) to an upper test limit (e.g. predetermined limit value; paragraph [0059]) which is determined based on a representative device 2 (e.g. Coriolis flow measuring device; paragraph [0052]); determining the lumen is acceptable when the flow measurement is higher than the upper test limit (e.g. lumen is not occluded – free/unplugged; paragraph [0056],[0059]). (See, paragraphs [0052] to [0065]).
With regards to claim 2, Zhu et al. further discloses the representative device includes an occluded representative device (e.g. lumen is occluded - plugged: [0059])
With regards to claim 6, Zhu et al. further discloses rejecting the lumen (e.g. lumen is occluded – plugged; paragraph [0059]) as unsafe for patient use if the flow measurement is equal to or lower than the upper test limit (e.g. paragraph [0059] indicates "deviates significantly from the reference value to be expected, especially by more than a predetermined limit value").
With regards to claim 8, Zhu et al. further discloses the flow measurement includes a mass flow measurement (e.g. mass flow measurement; paragraph [0059]).
With regards to claim 9, the claim is directed to a method claim and is commensurate in scope with the above method claims 1,6 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claims 10 and 15, the method claims are commensurate in scope with the above method claims 2,8 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claim 16, the claim is directed to an apparatus claim and is commensurate in scope with the above method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above. Furthermore, Zhu et al. further discloses flow measurement instrument 14,16 (e.g. oscillator sensors; paragraph [0054]) operable to obtain a flow measurement of the lumen; at least one processor (e.g. control unit performing a process control; paragraph [0025]) in communication with the flow measurement instrument.
With regards to claims 17, 18 and 19, the apparatus claims are commensurate in scope with the above method claims 8,2,6 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7, 11-12, 14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0060626 (Zhu et al.) in view of U.S. Patent 6,691,047 (Fredericks).
With regards to claims 3 and 4, Zhu et al. does not disclose the lumen is in a medical device such that the medical device includes a clinically used and reprocessed medical device.
Fredericks discloses a system for calibrating blood pumps of dialysis machine comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-4, the lumen is in a medical device such that the medical device includes a clinically used and reprocessed medical device (e.g. blood pump; column 1, lines 25-43). (See, column 3, line 55 to column 7, line 65).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the lumen is in a medical device such that the medical device includes a clinically used and reprocessed medical device as suggested by Fredericks to the system of Zhu et al. to have the ability to provide calibrate the pump prior to the next operation of the pump where such a modification would be a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results without departing from the scope of the invention - see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
With regards to claim 7, Zhu et al. does not specify such parameter, the upper test limit includes an upper boundary of a probability plot at a 95/85 confidence interval or higher, as in the claim. However, to have set such test characteristics as in the claim is considered to have been a matter of optimization and choice possibilities that would have been obvious to a skilled artisan in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention without departing from the scope of the invention.
With regards to claims 11, 12 and 14, the method claims are commensurate in scope with the above method claims 3,4,7 and are rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
With regards to claim 20, the apparatus claim is commensurate in scope with the above method claims 3,4 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0060626 (Zhu et al.) in view of U.S. Patent 6,691,047 (Fredericks), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application 2015/0057538 (Cragg et al.).
With regards to claim 5, Zhu et al., modified by Fredericks, does not disclose the medical device includes an electrophysiology medical device.
Cragg et al. discloses a system for monitoring delivered dose comprising, as illustrated in Figures 1-13, the medical device includes an electrophysiology medical device (e.g. electrophysiology procedure; paragraph [0016]). (See, paragraphs [0033] to [0129]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have readily recognize the advantages and desirability of employing the medical device includes an electrophysiology medical device as suggested by Cragg et al. to the system of Zhu et al., as modified by Fredericks, to have the ability to provide monitor total delivered dose of an analyte of interest during an intravascular procedure, like an electrophysiology procedure, where such a modification would be a use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way without departing from the scope of the invention - see MPEP 2143(I)(C).
With regards to claim 13, the method claim is commensurate in scope with the above method claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons as set forth above.
Conclusion
866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HELEN C KWOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855