Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/13/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, Examiner acknowledges Applicants statement regarding the previous examiner interview, on further consideration, the amended limitation is obvious in light of Bruno (Cited in the rejection below and as further explained below in the response to arguments).
Applicant first argues that the first wall portion (50) of Majer has a clearly smaller exterior diameter than the second wall portion (12) of Majer. To which Examiner agrees. However, Applicants argument continues, arguing that none of the other cited references are able to overcome this deficiency of Majer, to which Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bruno discloses an analogous adapter wherein the wall portion analogous to the second wall portion (65 in Fig. 5) has a smaller exterior diameter than the area analogous to the first wall portion (68 in Fig. 5) and further discloses allowing for an expansion or contraction of the wall portions in order to accommodate different sized hoses, See Para [0030] “The plastic or rubber used to make the elements, such as the female connector 67 of FIG. 6, has enough resilience to expand or contract to accommodate slight differences existing between some vacuum cleaners.”
Applicant further argues that modifying Majer in such a manner would render it unsatisfactory for an intended purpose thereof. While Examiner does agree that it would not be obvious to modify the size of the plug section 50 of Majer, as such a plug is designed for both plugging on and plugging in. However, the same is not true for the second wall portion 12 of Majer, and modifying the size the second wall to be smaller than that of the first wall in order to fit a connection with a smaller hose would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date. As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majer (US 20170347849 A1) in view of Bruno (US 20020092103 A1) and Coltrin (US 10405713 B1) and Christensen (US 20190274504 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Majer teaches:
An adapter for connection with a hose cuff on a vacuum hose, and the adapter comprising:
a first end (See Annotated Figure A);
a second end opposite the first end (See Annotated Figure A);
a central axis (See Annotated Figure A);
a conductive material (32) at least partially surrounding the central axis (See Fig. 1 of Majer), the conductive material comprising an outer surface that faces away from the central axis (See Fig. 1 of Majer);
a wall (11) that extends at least partially from the first end to the second end and comprises a first wall (50) portion that is at least partially surrounded by the conductive material (See 32 appearing radially around 50 in Fig. 1) and a second wall portion (12), wherein the first wall portion is located closer to the first end than the second wall portion (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the conductive material extends outward from the hose cuff (See Figure 5 and 10 and annotated Figure B below showing First wall extending outward of hose cuff and see Figure 1 showing conductive material 32 protruding outside the first wall), wherein the second wall portion (12) is connected to hose cuff the first wall portion (hose cuff 100 is connected to the first wall portion (See Annotated Figure A) via the second wall 12) and wherein the conductive material (32) is configured to contact at least two metal pins on the an inlet valve to electrically connect the adapter to the secondary valve thereby coupling the vacuum hose to the secondary valve (See Para [0174] “For example, an electrical contact arrangement 30 with electrical contact sections 31, 32 is provided which projects radially outwards from the outer component 51. The rib 87 or latch contour 86 and/or at least one of the form-fit projections 26 can be designed as an electrically conductive component. Preferably, further electrical contact surfaces 33 are provided, for example in the region of the ribbed structure 56, so that on the one hand the form-fit projections 26, and on the other hand these further contact surfaces 33 are available in order to create an electrical connection, in any case inside the plugging recess 55.”);
Annotated Figure A (Figure 1 and 2 of Majer)
Annotated Figure B (Figure 5 a of Majer)
but does not explicitly teach the conductive material in a form of one of a conductive metal ring or a conductive metal band, the conductive metal at least partially surrounding the central axis, wherein the conductive material is at least one of slidably received or flush with the first wall portion, wherein the hose cuff connects with a primary valve in a central vacuum system, and when the adapter is connected and extends outward from the hose cuff the adapter connects with a secondary valve in the central vacuum system, wherein the primary valve is different than the secondary valve;
wherein an external diameter of the first wall portion is greater than an external diameter of the second wall portion; and
wherein connection of the adapter to the hose cuff effectuates selective connection with either the primary valve and the secondary valve, and wherein the primary valve is configured to store the vacuum hose behind or within a wall and enable the vacuum hose to be extracted from the primary valve and moved to another location to connect with the secondary valve having a different connection type than the primary valve, and wherein the adapter and the hose cuff connected together effectuates a universality for the vacuum hose by permitting the vacuum hose to connect with at least two different valves.
However, Bruno teaches a similar hose cuff adapter (67) that effectuates selective connection with either the primary valve and the secondary valve wherein the primary valve is different than the secondary valve, (See Bruno Para [0030] “An internal recessed insert 69 can be temporarily or permanently placed within the taper 68 of the connector second end 63 if necessary to fit other vacuum cleaners with smaller connectors.”) and wherein the adapter and the hose cuff connected together effectuates a universality for the vacuum hose by permitting the vacuum hose to connect with at least two different valves (See citation of Para [0030] above).
Additionally, Bruno discloses a similar hose cuff adapter (67, Figs 5 and 6) wherein the portion of the wall allowing for a threaded connection (Analogous to 12 of Majer) has an external diameter smaller than the external diameter of the portion of the wall on the opposite side of the adapter (analogous to 50 of Majer) and in addition discloses that the adapter is made of a resilient material capable of expanding or contracting to accommodate differences between vacuum cleaners (See Para [0030] “The plastic or rubber used to make the elements, such as the female connector 67 of FIG. 6, has enough resilience to expand or contract to accommodate slight differences existing between some vacuum cleaners.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adapter of Majer in view of Bruno to incorporate the ability to interface multiple different valves as doing so would increase the useability and flexibility of the invention and increase its use and value to an operator.
It would be further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the size of the second wall such that it has a smaller external diameter than that of the first wall, which would result in an external diameter of the first wall portion being greater than the second wall, as it would be obvious to adapt the size of the second wall to fit with the intended hose cuff.
And Coltrin teaches a similar hose cuff adapter (43) utilized in a central vacuum system (See Figure 1) to connect to a primary valve (47) configured to store a vacuum hose behind or within a wall and enable the vacuum hose to be extracted from the primary valve and moved to a different location, (See Figure 1 and 2, showing the valve located behind a wall 15).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the adapter to work with central vacuuming systems as doing so would again increase the effectiveness of the invention by allowing it to work with a broader range of cleaner systems.
And Christensen discloses a similar adapter device with conductive material in a form of one of a conductive metal ring or a conductive metal band, the conductive metal (62a 62b 64a 64b, See Fig. 2), wherein the conductive material is at least one of slidably received or flush with the first wall portion (See Figure 2 showing the conductive metal bands/rings flush with the first wall portion 48).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the electrical contact section 32 of Majer with the electrical contact rings or bands of Christensen as they are art recognized equivalents for the same purpose of providing an electrical connection between the hose cuff and the device it is inserted into, See Majer Para [0174]
“For example, an electrical contact arrangement 30 with electrical contact sections 31, 32 is provided which projects radially outwards from the outer component 51. The rib 87 or latch contour 86 and/or at least one of the form-fit projections 26 can be designed as an electrically conductive component. Preferably, further electrical contact surfaces 33 are provided, for example in the region of the ribbed structure 56, so that on the one hand the form-fit projections 26, and on the other hand these further contact surfaces 33 are available in order to create an electrical connection, in any case inside the plugging recess 55.”
and Christensen Para [0064]
“The hose engagement terminal 80 may further include an engagement module 88 which may selectively move some portion thereof into the receiving chamber 82 to engage the proximal end piece 48 of the retractable hose 10. (The engagement module 88 may be formed from a single structure or may include multiple parts). The engagement module 88 may anchor the proximal end piece 48 in place, and/or may engage the contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a, 64b to provide power to the retractable hose 10. Movement of the engagement module may be controlled by an actuation module 90. Disposed along the side of the port 70 is a stud, such as is common in a wood framed house. The port may be attached to the stud by screws, or it may be anchored along wallboard by engagement wings or the like. It will also be appreciated that the port could be mounted in masonry block, or even embedded in concrete.”
And MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 2, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses an Annular curved wall (Annotated Figure A) comprising a first end adjacent to the first end of the adapter and a second end opposite the first end of the annular curved wall (See Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 3, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses a first ledge (See Annotated Figure A) that extends radially inward relative toward the central axis from the second end of the curved wall to the first wall portion (See Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 4, Majer as modified discloses all the limitation of claim 3 and in addition discloses wherein the conductive material (32) is radially exterior the first wall portion (See Figure 1 of Majer) and disposed closer to the second end of the adapter than the curved wall (32 is closer to the second end than the curved wall is as indicated in the Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 5, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 and in addition discloses a second ledge perpendicular to the central axis (See Annotated Figure A), wherein the second ledge extends radially inward relative toward the central axis, wherein the second ledge delineates the first wall portion from the second wall portion (See Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 6, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 5 and in addition discloses further comprising:
a length of the first wall portion measured in a direction parallel to the central axis (See Annotated Figure A);
a length of the second wall portion measured in a direction parallel to the central axis (See Annotated Figure A); and
but does not explicitly disclose wherein the length of the first wall portion and the length of the second wall portion are approximately equal.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the length of either the first wall portion or the second wall portion in such a way that the length of the first and second wall portions are approximately equal as it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claim device was not patentably distinct from the prior art. Examiner also notes that Applicant does not assign any criticality to the lengths of the first and second walls (See Para [0038] of Applicants specification “In this embodiment, the longitudinally aligned length of the second wall 432 is approximately equal to the that of first wall 424, however other dimensional configurations are possible.”) See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding Claim 7, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 3 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the conductive material has a cross-sectional width that is substantially the same length as the first ledge.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the cross sectional width of the conductive material to be the same as the length of the first ledge as it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claim device was not patentably distinct from the prior art. Examiner also notes that Applicant does not assign any criticality to the cross sectional width (See Para [0040] of Applicants specification “In this embodiment, the cross sectional width 462 has substantially the same length as the first ledge 422. However, other cross-sectional widths 462 are envisioned”). See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding Claim 8, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the outer surface of the conductive material and the second end of the curved wall have the same radius from the central axis.
However, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the outer surface of the conductive material and the second end of the curved wall have the same radius from the central axis as it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claim device was not patentably distinct from the prior art. Examiner also notes that Applicant does not assign any criticality to the outer surface of the conductive material and the second end of the curved wall have the same radius from the central axis. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Regarding Claim 9, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 2 and in addition discloses wherein the first end of the annular curved wall is adjacent to the first ledge and the second end of the annular curved wall is opposite the first end (See Annotated Figure A, showing wall first end adjacent to the first ledge and the second end) of the annular curved walls.
Regarding Claim 10, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 10 and in addition discloses wherein the first end of the wall is on the first wall portion and the second end of the annular curved wall is on the second wall portion (See Annotated Figure A).
Regarding Claim 11, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the conductive material is a conductive metal ring that entirely circumscribes the central axis, and wherein the conductive metal ring is configured to contact the at least two pins to complete an electrical circuit to turn on the central vacuum system.
However, Christensen teaches a similar hose adapter utilizing conductive material in a conductive metal ring (62a)that is configured to contact at least two pins to complete an electrical circuit to turn on a central vacuum system (See Para [0058] ‘”Returning to FIG. 2, at the proximal end piece 48, the electrical contacts 42a, 42b, 44a and 44b may be disposed in connection with or attached to include annular electrical contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a and 64b to allow the central vacuum system to maintain electrical communication with the proximal end of the hose while allowing the hose to rotate. The annular electrical contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a and 64b may be simply spaced apart, or they may have non-conductive spacers disposed therebetween to prevent cross-flow of electricity between them.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electrical contacts of Majer to form a full ring, as doing so would allow for the electrical contact of Majer to be more universal in application, not requiring the hose cuff to be oriented in a specific fashion in order to complete the electrical circuit.
Regarding Claim 12, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the hose cuff defines an annular channel (90), the annular channel fully circumscribes the hose cuff, wherein the annular channel is configured to receive a portion of the primary valve to connect the hose cuff to the primary valve thereby coupling the vacuum hose to the primary valve (See Figure 1 and 2 and Para [0172] “In addition to the longitudinal latch contours 61 in the plugging recess 55 described above, longitudinal latch contours are also provided on the outer periphery of the plug section 50, namely longitudinal latch contours 90. The longitudinal latch contours 90 comprise for example a peripheral groove 91 which so to speak intersects with the longitudinal guide contours 80”).
But does not explicitly disclose that the and the annular channel is located closer to a second end of the hose cuff than the conductive material. However it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the location of the annular channel in such a way that it is located closer to a second end of the hose cuff than the conductive material as doing so would be a matter of design choice that would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as modifying the location of a channel would be obvious depending on the valve the adapter is intended to attach to. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding Claim 13, Majer discloses A method for selectively connecting a hose on a hose cuff (10) to a cleaner with a primary (504) and secondary valve (255), the method comprising:
inserting the hose cuff into the primary valve (See Figure 15, and Para [0185] “Alternatively, as illustrated in the FIGS. 15 and 17, a mating connecting piece 550 can be arranged on the end of a dust guidance channel 504 of the hand-held machine tool 500. For example, dust, chips or the like produced during operation of the hand-held machine tool 500 flow through the dust guidance channel 504.” Showing hose cuff (100) attached to valve 550);
connecting the hose cuff to the primary valve (See above citation of Para [0185]);
vacuuming debris while the hose cuff is connected to the primary valve (See above citation of Para [0185]);
disconnecting the hose cuff from the primary valve (See Para [0002] “The longitudinal snap-locking engagement makes it possible for the connecting piece to hold securely to the mating connecting piece relative to the plugging axis. However, if a high load is applied in the pulling direction or in the direction of the plugging axis, the connection may be released.”);
connecting the adapter (10) to the hose cuff (200 see Fig. 5), wherein the adapter comprises a conductive material (32) at least partially surrounds a central axis of the adapter (See Fig. 1 showing 32 partial surrounding the central axis), wherein the conductive material comprises an outer surface that faces away from the central axis (See Fig. 1), wherein the adapter defines a first end (Annotated Figure A) and a second end (Annotated Figure B) opposite the first end thereof, wherein the adapter further comprises a wall with a first wall portion (Annotated Figure A, 50), and a second wall portion (Annotated Figure A, 12), wherein the first wall portion is located closer to the first end than the second end than the second wall portion (See Annotated Figure A above), and wherein connecting the adapter to the hose cuff is accomplished by inserting a portion of the adapter into the hose cuff and causing another portion of the adapter to extend outward from the hose cuff (See Fig. 5-6 and Para [0133] “A connecting piece 10 for a suction hose 100 has for example a tubular body 11. Extending from the tubular body 11 is a plug section 50 designed for the plugging-on of a mating connecting piece 200 as shown in FIG. 6 or for the plugging-in of a mating connecting piece 380 as represented in FIG. 7.”);
connecting the adapter to the secondary valve (See Para [0178] “This is also typically the case with known hand-held machine tools, for example in the variant illustrated in FIG. 16. However, the plug section 50 can also be plugged into the plugging recess 255 of the mating connecting piece 250 and can thereby be compressed, so that it adapts optimally to the inner contour of the plugging recess 255.”);
vacuuming debris while the adapter is connected to the secondary valve (See Para [0179] “This is also typically the case with known hand-held machine tools, for example in the variant illustrated in FIG. 16. However, the plug section 50 can also be plugged into the plugging recess 255 of the mating connecting piece 250 and can thereby be compressed, so that it adapts optimally to the inner contour of the plugging recess 255.” and figure 10 and 11);
disconnecting the adapter from the secondary valve (See above citation of Para [0002]).
But does not explicitly teach
Connecting a hose cuff on a vacuum hose to one of a primary valve in a central vacuum system and a secondary valve in the central vacuum system through the use of an adapter connected to the hose cuff, the conductive material is in the form of one of a conductive metal ring or a conductive metal band, wherein the conductive material, wherein the conductive material is at least one of slidably received or flush with the first wall portion.
wherein an external diameter of the first wall portion is greater than an external diameter of the second wall portion
Coltrin teaches a similar vacuum cuff (48) that connects to a primary valve is a part of a central vacuum system (See Para [0059] “The proximal end piece 48 may also include bearings 68 at either end thereof. The bearings 68 may be rounded and configured to slide within the tubing of the central vacuum system.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further modify the adapter to work with different valves central vacuuming systems as doing so would again increase the effectiveness of the invention by allowing it to work with a broader range of cleaner systems.
And Christensen discloses a similar adapter device with conductive material in a form of one of a conductive metal ring or a conductive metal band, the conductive metal (62a 62b 64a 64b, See Fig. 2), wherein the conductive material is at least one of slidably received or flush with the first wall portion (See Figure 2 showing the conductive metal bands/rings flush with the first wall portion 48).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the electrical contact section 32 of Majer with the electrical contact rings or bands of Christensen as they are art recognized equivalents for the same purpose of providing an electrical connection between the hose cuff and the device it is inserted into, See Majer Para [0174]
“For example, an electrical contact arrangement 30 with electrical contact sections 31, 32 is provided which projects radially outwards from the outer component 51. The rib 87 or latch contour 86 and/or at least one of the form-fit projections 26 can be designed as an electrically conductive component. Preferably, further electrical contact surfaces 33 are provided, for example in the region of the ribbed structure 56, so that on the one hand the form-fit projections 26, and on the other hand these further contact surfaces 33 are available in order to create an electrical connection, in any case inside the plugging recess 55.”
and Christensen Para [0064]
“The hose engagement terminal 80 may further include an engagement module 88 which may selectively move some portion thereof into the receiving chamber 82 to engage the proximal end piece 48 of the retractable hose 10. (The engagement module 88 may be formed from a single structure or may include multiple parts). The engagement module 88 may anchor the proximal end piece 48 in place, and/or may engage the contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a, 64b to provide power to the retractable hose 10. Movement of the engagement module may be controlled by an actuation module 90. Disposed along the side of the port 70 is a stud, such as is common in a wood framed house. The port may be attached to the stud by screws, or it may be anchored along wallboard by engagement wings or the like. It will also be appreciated that the port could be mounted in masonry block, or even embedded in concrete.”
And MPEP 2144.06 II.
Finally, Bruno discloses a similar hose cuff adapter (67, Figs 5 and 6) wherein the portion of the wall allowing for a threaded connection (Analogous to 12 of Majer) has an external diameter smaller than the external diameter of the portion of the wall on the opposite side of the adapter (analogous to 50 of Majer), which would result in an external diameter of the first wall portion being greater than the second wall, and in addition discloses that the adapter is made of a resilient material capable of expanding or contracting to accommodate differences between vacuum cleaners (See Para [0030] “The plastic or rubber used to make the elements, such as the female connector 67 of FIG. 6, has enough resilience to expand or contract to accommodate slight differences existing between some vacuum cleaners.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the adapter of Majer in view of Bruno to incorporate the ability to interface multiple different valves as doing so would increase the useability and flexibility of the invention and increase its use and value to an operator.
It would be further obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the size of the second wall such that it has a smaller external diameter than that of the first wall as it would be obvious to adapt the size of the second wall to fit with the intended hose cuff.
Regarding Claim 14, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 13 and in addition discloses wherein connection of the adapter to the hose cuff effectuates selective connection with either the primary valve and the secondary valve (See Para [0133] “A connecting piece 10 for a suction hose 100 has for example a tubular body 11. Extending from the tubular body 11 is a plug section 50 designed for the plugging-on of a mating connecting piece 200 as shown in FIG. 6 or for the plugging-in of a mating connecting piece 380 as represented in FIG. 7.”).
Regarding Claim 16, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 13 and in addition discloses wherein the adapter and the hose cuff being connected together effectuates a universality for the vacuum hose by permitting the vacuum hose to connect with at least two different valves (See Majer Para [0133] “A connecting piece 10 for a suction hose 100 has for example a tubular body 11. Extending from the tubular body 11 is a plug section 50 designed for the plugging-on of a mating connecting piece 200 as shown in FIG. 6 or for the plugging-in of a mating connecting piece 380 as represented in FIG. 7.”).
Regarding claim 17, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 13 and in addition discloses wherein connecting the adapter to the hose cuff is accomplished by moving the adapter along the central axis and inserting a portion of the adapter into a central bore defined by the hose cuff (See Figure 6 and Majer Para [0162] “A rotational form-fit mating contour 276 can be introduced into the peripheral rotational form-fit contour 71 through a longitudinal guide contour 80. This takes place for example if the mating connecting piece 200 is plugged onto the connecting piece 10, i.e., onto its plug section 50.”).
Regarding Claim 18, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 13 but does not explicitly disclose wherein connecting the adapter to the hose cuff is accomplished by moving the adapter along the central axis and inserting a portion of the adapter into a central bore defined by the hose cuff.
However, Christensen does teach a similar hose cuff with electrical contact points in order to make electrical contact with a central vacuum system. (See Christensen Para [0058] ‘” Returning to FIG. 2, at the proximal end piece 48, the electrical contacts 42a, 42b, 44a and 44b may be disposed in connection with or attached to include annular electrical contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a and 64b to allow the central vacuum system to maintain electrical communication with the proximal end of the hose while allowing the hose to rotate. The annular electrical contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a and 64b may be simply spaced apart, or they may have non-conductive spacers disposed therebetween to prevent cross-flow of electricity between them.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the adapter of Majer as modified to connect the adapter via moving along the central axis and inserting the adapter into the bore of the hose cuff to allow for cuffs hoses and valves to changed, increasing the utility of the tool in a single central vacuuming system
Regarding Claim 19, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 18 and in addition discloses completing an electrical circuit pathway for electricity to flow from the first pin to the second pin through the conductive material (See Christensen Para [0058] “Returning to FIG. 2, at the proximal end piece 48, the electrical contacts 42a, 42b, 44a and 44b may be disposed in connection with or attached to include annular electrical contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a and 64b to allow the central vacuum system to maintain electrical communication with the proximal end of the hose while allowing the hose to rotate.”); and
activating the central vacuum system by way of the electricity flowing through the first and second pins (See Para Christensen [0064] “The hose engagement terminal 80 may further include an engagement module 88 which may selectively move some portion thereof into the receiving chamber 82 to engage the proximal end piece 48 of the retractable hose 10. (The engagement module 88 may be formed from a single structure or may include multiple parts). The engagement module 88 may anchor the proximal end piece 48 in place, and/or may engage the contact rings 62a, 62b, 64a, 64b to provide power to the retractable hose 10.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the electrical contacts of Majer to activate the central vacuuming system as doing so would be convenient to the user, reducing the number of steps to utilize the central cleaning system.
Regarding Claim 20, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 19 and in addition discloses further comprising:
removing the hose cuff from the secondary valve (See Majer Para [0002] “The longitudinal snap-locking engagement makes it possible for the connecting piece to hold securely to the mating connecting piece relative to the plugging axis. However, if a high load is applied in the pulling direction or in the direction of the plugging axis, the connection may be released.”);
breaking the electrical circuity pathway between the first pin and the second pin; and
deactivating the central vacuum system (See Christensen Para [0095] “Disconnecting the engagement module 88 from the first end 18 may disconnect electricity to the central vacuum canister (not shown), thereby terminating vacuum flow.”).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majer (US 20170347849 A1) in view of Coltrin (US 10405713 B1), Christensen (US 20190274504) and Bruno (US 20020092103 A1) as modified in claim 13 and in further view of Niescwitz (US 20180153364 A1). Regarding Claim 15, Majer as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 13 but does not explicitly disclose
storing the vacuum hose behind or within a wall structure in a building;
extracting the vacuum hose from the primary valve; and
moving the vacuum hose to another location within the building to connect with the secondary valve having a different connection type than the primary valve.
However, Niescwitz discloses a similar central vacuuming system comprising
storing the vacuum hose behind or within a wall structure in a building (See Para [0110] “When nozzle handle 288 is in a retracted stored position (FIGS. 19, 22A and 23), ball 249 is biased upwardly by coil springs 243 into sealing engagement with end opening 298 of the nozzle handles. This seals the vacuum created within hose 285 by vacuum source 5 from the surrounding atmosphere. Also, when nozzle handle 288 is in this retracted stored position, upper sealing assembly 310 and in particular inner and outer O-rings 280 and 284 will seal the vacuum created within conduit 9 from the ambient atmosphere and interior of housing 212 (FIG. 6A).”);
extracting the vacuum hose from the primary valve (See Para [0100] “It is readily understood that ring 270 can be a single piece and not a split ring as described above and which provides some resistance to the hose being pulled out of valve box 200 but not prevent it from being removed therefrom. This will enable the hose to be replaced, if necessary, without removing the valve box from the wall.”); and
moving the vacuum hose to another location within the building to connect with the secondary valve (See Para [0061] “Hose stop 61 prevents the distal end of the hose from being pulled out of locking collar 25 if the hose is not needed for use in the other inlet valves throughout the dwelling.” Indicates that as desired the hose can be moved to a different valve) having a different connection type than the primary valve (See Para [0062] “It is also readily understood that conduits 9 could extend into various locations within the structure and attached to other types of inlet valves without affecting the concept of the invention.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Majer to store the hose behind a wall, extract it from a primary valve and move it to a secondary location, utilizing a different type of valve, as doing so would allow a user to utilize the same hose to clean different locations in a home utilizing the same central vacuum cleaner or even in a different central vacuuming system. Increasing the value of the hose cuff and adapter for the user, by increasing the versatility of the device.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723