DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 22-25 are pending as amended 6/24/25 and are considered herein.
Formalities
The drawings of 5/9/24 are accepted.
The specification of 5/9/24 is accepted.
The IDS filings of 5/9/24 and 11/27/24 and references therein have been considered. Attached is a copy of the signed IDS filings.
Applicant’s claimed priority is:
Priority
Applicant’s priority is as a DIV of 17/052,830. The claims herein are drawn to the two non-elected inventions of such Application: I. The method of preparing the fibroblasts; and II. The method of using the fibroblasts to treat cancer. Thus, the restriction between I and II is broken with this claim set of 6/24/25.
Double Patenting
Claims 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 27-29 and 31-32 of copending Application No. 18/659,876 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Claims 18-19: reference claim 1 teaches treating an individual for cancer, comprising the administration of fibroblasts, such fibroblasts comprising an oncolytic virus, or vector encoding a tumor-inhibitory agent(s). Such is the result of the method of Claim 1, and the subject of the reference claim has cancer, thus meeting Claim 19.
With regard to the other claims of the reference, they do not change the basic structure of the claims, and they only claim embodiments also claimed as being made under Claim 1’s other dependent claims.
Thus, in light of the reference, the invention is obvious. The Artisan would make it and expect success, as it is claimed subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As seen by Claim 18, the claims are generic for delivery of the composition made by Claim 1, to any subject, particularly those at risk of having cancer, and even those with no risk of cancer, as the depending claim, Claim 19 contains the group consisting of those having cancer, and those at risk of cancer.
The specification only teaches the treatment of cancer, in that the fibroblasts deliver something to the cancer and cause treatment (e.g., Examples). Albeit, it does state that the subject may be at risk of having cancer.
However, there is no reasoning provided for such delivery to subjects without cancer, nor does it state which individuals are at risk. Presumably all individuals are at risk of cancer though, as mutations occur to develop a cancerous tissue over time. However, that time frame for any specific cancer, and who will get it is not taught. This, combined with the fact that eventually the vectors will be lost and/or the fibroblasts will senesce or differentiate, leads to absolutely no reason to believe the cancer would be treated if it did even actually develop.
Moroever, the Art provides no information as to who is at risk for a cancer, and why one would administer an anticancer treatment to an individual who is not at risk and does not have cancer.
Thus, the Artisan would not have understood Applicant to have been in possession of the invention as it is claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims, as seen by depending Claim 12 are generic for the “tumor trophic virus”.
The specification provides no definition for what a tumor trophic virus is. However, it provides repeated recitations of the claim terminology “oncolytic or tumor-trophic virus”, e.g., paragraphs 39, 41, and 48 (the sole recitations for “tumor trophic”). Examples are given, listing adenovirus, vaccinia, herpes, reovirus, measles and Newcastle Disease Virus (e.g., paragraph 48). The same paragraph cites the bibliography citations 9-26, however, in reviewing these, these are all oncoviruses. Thus, the recitation of “tumor trophic virus” being an alternative listing to that of oncovirus, due to the conjunction “or”, must necessarily rely on the art for the elucidation of this genera of virus.
However, the Art fails to provide any description whatsoever of “tumor trophic virus”. However, if one were to look at the words themselves, it would be tumor-eating-virus, i.e., a virus that works on tumors with preference. Such is exactly the same as an oncolytic virus.
Thus, due to the lack of description in the art, as well as in the specification, the Artisan would not have understood Applicant to have been in possession of a generic “tumor trophic virus” as a class distinct from that of “oncovirus”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are generic for a fibroblast (e.g., Claim 1) infected with a virus (e.g., Claim 11) an oncolytic/tumor-trophic virus (e.g., Claim 12), an oncolytic vaccinia virus (e.g., Calim 13) and an oncolytic adenovirus (e.g., Claim 15).
The specification makes clear the purpose for the oncovirus in the fibroblast so-made is to deliver the oncovirus to the cancer cells (e.g., paragraph 48). The specification also discloses in Example 2 that fibroblasts infected with Newcastle disease virus were very effective in inhibiting tumor growth of B16-BL6 tumor cells in C57/B6 mice (paragraphs 110-113), where the virus itself did not affect tumor growth at all, even at concentrations as high as 2x10⁵ PFU per mouse (Id.).
This is perplexing, as the NDV itself is known to cause oncolysis in these cancer cells, by lysing them, while not growing in non-cancer cells. Still further, it is known in the art that fibroblasts like cancer-associated fibroblasts may be infected by oncolytic viruses but are non-permissive to viral replication (e.g., Kaufman, et al. (2016) "Oncolytic viruses: a new class of immunotherapy drugs", Cancer Immunotherapy, 14: 642-62, p. 647, col. 1). Thus, it is apparent that something else is going on here. It would appear the fibroblasts are not delivering the oncovirus to the cancer cells. Such is bolstered by Applicant's finding that the oncovirus itself is ineffective at treating the cancer, as seen in the same Example. What exactly is happening is not known, however.
Moreover, distinct oncoviruses contain distinct mechanisms in their functioning. Fountzilas, et al. (2017) "Review: Oncolytic virotherapy, updates and future directions" Oncotarget, 8(60): 102617-39 provides an overview of oncolytic virotherapy for cancers, which includes oncolytic adenoviruses and vaccinia (e.g., Table 1A). The review provides for distinct cancer types for any particular oncovirus (whole article). Each one has distinct mechanisms of action and different proteins interacting. These oncolytic viruses have a plethora of different mechanisms (e.g., p. 102618, col. 1). Moreover, they are effective in distinct cancer types (e.g., Tables 1A-2B, whole article). Thus, distinct chemistries exist and one would not know that one oncovirus would interact properly in the non-permissive fibroblast to cause a delivery (i.e., it would need to form a new virus) or to otherwise cause a therapy.
Thus, outside the treatment of the melanoma in mice, with the fibroblasts infected with NDV, as in the examples, the Artisan would not know, given the breadth of cancers and oncoviruses and distinct chemistries of these oncoviruses, that Applicant possessed the generic fibroblast infected with a generic oncovirus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for NDV, hypoxia and the fibroblast type utilized in the examples, does not reasonably provide enablement for any virus, any oncovirus, any fibroblast, or the absence of hypoxia. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make/use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
The claims are broad for the species of oncolytic viruses encompassed in the species of fibroblasts, as well as the absence of hypoxia on cancer associated fibroblasts.
The specification makes clear the purpose of the oncovirus in the fibroblast is to deliver the oncovirus to the cancer cells (e.g., paragraph 48). The specification also discloses in Example 2 that fibroblasts infected with Newcastle disease virus were very effective in inhibiting tumor growth of B16-BL6 tumor cells in C57/B6 mice (paragraphs 110-113), where the virus itself did not affect tumor growth at all, even at concentrations as high as 2x 10⁵ PFU per mouse (Id.).
This is perplexing, as the virus itself causes oncolysis in the cancer cells, by lysing them, while not existing in non-cancer cells. Still further, it is known in the art that fibroblasts that are cancer-associated fibroblasts may be infected by oncolytic viruses but are non-permissive to viral replication (e.g., Kaufman, et al. (2016) "Oncolytic viruses: a new class of immunotherapy drugs", Cancer Immunotherapy, 14: 642-62, p. 647, col. 1). Thus, it is apparent that something else is going on here. It would appear that the fibroblasts are not delivering the oncovirus. Such is bolstered by Applicant's finding that the oncovirus itself is ineffective at treating the cancer. What exactly is happening is not known, however. Still further, Applicant’s examples utilize hypoxia only, in the growth of the fibroblasts. The Art recognizes that hypoxia inactivates CAFs to work against cancer (e.g., Madsen, et al. (2015) “Hypoxia and loss of PHD2 inactivate stromal fibroblasts to decrease tumor stiffness and metastasis”, EMBO reports, 16(10): 1394-408). Thus, it would appear that hypoxia is required for at least these fibroblast types, prior to delivery, or the only thing it would do is enhance tumor metastasis.
Moreover, distinct oncoviruses contain distinct mechanisms in their functioning. Fountzilas, et al. (2017) "Review: Oncolytic virotherapy, updates and future directions", Oncotarget, 8(60): 102617-39 provides an overview of oncolytic virotherapy for cancers. The review provides for many distinct cancer types for any particular oncovirus (whole article). Each one has distinct mechanisms of action and different proteins interacting. These oncolytic viruses have a plethora of different mechanisms (e.g., p. 102618, col. 1). Moreover, they are effective in distinct cancer types (e.g., Tables 1A-2B, whole article). Thus, distinct chemistries exist and one would not know that one oncovirus would interact properly in the non-permissive fibroblast to cause a delivery (i.e., it would need to form a new virus) or to otherwise cause a therapy. As can be seen, the mechanisms being distinct would mean that the effect of one may not translate to another virus.
From this, we see that the Artisan would not reasonably predict that any oncovirus would work with any form of cancer, when delivered by fibroblasts. Further, the Artisan would not reasonably predict that any particular cancer-associated fibroblast would be effective when infected with any particular oncolytic virus.
Further, there exist many known oncolytic viruses (e.g., Lundstrom (2018) "New Frontiers in oncolytic viruses: optimizing and selecting for virus strains with improved efficacy", Biologics: Targets and Therapy, 12: 43-60, Tables 1-2, teaching a portion of the known oncolytic viruses in the art). However, Applicant's amended claims are to herpes, reovirus, measles or Newcastle Disease Virus. But even within these, the mechanisms of action of any particular oncovirus is distinct. For example, Measles virus appears to be involved in autophagy and/or apoptosis, but the mechanisms are still under debate, even after the filing of Applicant (Pidelaserra-Marti, et al. (2020) "Mechanisms of measles virus oncolytic immunotherapy", Cytokine and Growth Factor Reviews, 56: 28-38, e.g., p. 29, col. 2, paragraph 2), while reovirus also has a limited understanding of the factors that determine oncolysis, with gene segments L2 L3 and M1 appear to be involved with enhance cell killing of carcinoma cells, while S4 may be involved with Ras-transformed cells (Phillips, et al. (2018) "Current understanding of reovirus oncolysis mechanisms", Oncolytic Virotherapy, 7: 53-63, e.g., pp. 57, col. 2 to 58, paragraph 1).
Because the Artisan would have to experiment with the full scope of oncolytic viruses
beyond that of NDV for melanoma, to determine if they would treat a cancer when delivered by a Fibroblast, and determine if they would be effective in a cancer-associated fibroblast, and hypoxia is required or not in each case, such is considered undue as it is required for the vast majority of the viruses in the scope of the claims.
Thus, outside the treatment of the melanoma in mice, with the fibroblasts infected with NDV of the examples, and performed with hypoxia, the claims are only considered enabling for NDV in non-cancer-associated fibroblasts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7, 11-19, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are generic for modifying fibroblasts to enhance the activity of homing of the fibroblasts to cancer cells or cancer tissue comprising the cancer cells (e.g., Claim 1). Specific modification claimed includes expressing a chemokine receptor (e.g., Claim 5), CXCR4, CXCL16, and/or CCL9 (e.g., Claim 6).
The specification provides antecedent basis for a generic modification of fibroblasts to home to cancer cells/tissue (e.g., paragraph 6) and specifically lists chemokine receptors and the claimed specific receptors (e.g., Id.). No other form of modification to home to cancer is taught.
The Art at the time of invention had already established that certain cells, when transfected a chemokine receptor for a chemokine secreted by tumor tissue, would so-migrate to the tumor in vivo. For example, Muller, et al. (2015) “Engineering NK Cells Modified With EGFRvIII-specific Chimeric Antigen Receptor to Overexpress CXCR4 Improves Immunotherapy of CXCL12/SDF-1-[alpha]-secreting Glioblastoma”, Journal of Immunotherapy, 38: 197-210, ABSTRACT, teaches the transfection of NK cells to express CXCR4 conferred specific chemotaxis to CXCL12/SDF-1[alpha] expressing glioblastoma cells. Moreover, there is art discussing the ability to use chemokine receptors to stimulate migration of cells (e.g., Hughes, et al. (2018) “A guide to chemokines and their receptors”, The FEBS Journal, 285: 2944-71, ABSTRACT). Thus, the Artisan would be aware that fibroblasts could be so-targeted to the cancer by way of proper cytokine/receptor selection.
On the other hand, the Art is silent with regard to other ways to modify such cells to target cancer cells/tissue.
The Artisan would not have found applicant to have been in possession of other forms of modification to target cancer cell types, beyond that of recombinant expression of chemokine receptors, given that the only know way to do so is by way of chemokine receptors that respond to the chemokines secreted by the cancer/tissue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-12, 14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jing, et al, Abstract 3745, “Tumor fibroblast targeting via uPAR retargeted measles virus: In vitro and in vivo effects”, Cancer Research, 15 July 2016, 76(14 Supplement): 3745, 3 pages as printed.
Claim 1, 11-12, 14: Jing teaches retargeted oncolytic measles viruses directed to human and marine uPAR. In the disclosure, these oncolytic measles viruses were infected into human and marine fibroblasts (human CAF 19 and CAF 23 cells) (ABSTRACT).
Claims 18-19: the modified fibroblasts are injected into mice with a human breast cancer xenograft and it reduced tumor progression, demonstrating an effective amount was utilized (ABSTRACT).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McCart, et al. (2001) “Systemic Cancer Therapy with a Tumor-selective Vaccina Virus Mutant Lacking Thymidine Kinase and Vaccinia Growth Factor Genes”, Cancer Research, 61(24): 8751-57.
Claims 1 and 11-14: McCart teaches transfection of NIH3T3 cells with a vaccina virus (e.g., ABSTRACT). NIH3T3 cells are fibroblasts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rettenmier, et al. (1988) “Differential Processing of Colony-Stimulating Factor 1 Precursors Encoded by Two Human cDNAs”, Molecular and Cellular Biology, 8(11): 5026-34.
Claims 1 and 16-17: NIH-3T3 cells were transfected with a retroviral vector to express CSF-1 (e.g., ABSTRACT).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li, et al. (2005) “Differential Effect of BMP4 on NIH/3T3 and C2C12 Cells: Implications for endochondral bone formation”, Journal of Bone and Mineral Research, 20: 1611-23.
Claim 1: Li teaches transfection of several fibroblast cell types with vectors to recombinantly express BMP4 (e.g., ABSTRACT).
Claims 11-12: MLV vectors were utilized (e.g., p. 1613, paragraph bridging columns).
Claims 14-15: The vector expresses BMP4, as discussed above.
Claims 16-17: BMP-4 is classified as a cytokine in the TNF family.
Claims 18-19: the cells are implanted into the muscle (p. 1614, col. 1, paragraph 3), and it presumed all animals are at risk for cancer.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ROBERT M. KELLY
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/ROBERT M KELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638