Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by North et al. (US 4467527) “North”.
Regarding claim 1, North discloses a level system (10), comprising: a level module (16) comprising one or more sensors (114), one or more displays (22), and control elements (126) configured to provide level indications (48) on the one or more displays (22) based on data collected by the one or more sensors (114); and a set of level extrusions (12), each of the level extrusions comprising a structural arrangement configured to independently receive and retain the level module (Column 3; lines 50-65), wherein a first of the level extrusions has a geometry or size different from a second of the level extrusions (Column 2; lines 42-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over North, in view of Leidel et al. (US 20210364286) “Leidel”.
Regarding claim 2, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1, wherein the level module (16), a first front-facing display (22).
North does not disclose a second top-facing display.
Leidel teaches a second top-facing display (40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Leidel’s second top-facing display on North’s level module with first front-facing display, making it easier for a user to view the display from multiple angles.
Regarding claim 3, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1, and the control elements (126) configured to use the data collected (Fig. 9) by the one or more sensors (114) to generate control signals (130, 132, 134) that control the one or more displays (22) to provide the level indications (48).
North does not disclose a microcontroller and program code.
Leidel teaches a microcontroller and program code ([0073]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Leidel’s microcontroller and program code in North’s level system control elements, providing greater functionality through programmable instructions rather than fixed combinational logic.
Regarding claim 4, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1, wherein an additional sensor (18) is associated with the level module (16) to detect an orientation or position (Column 9; lines 12-15) of the level module within a given level extrusion (12) of the set (Column 2; lines 42-45) of level extrusions.
Regarding claim 5, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1, wherein each level extrusion (12) of the set (Column 2; lines 42-45) of level extrusions comprises a mounting feature (94) to facilitate coupling and positioning of the level module (16) within the level extrusion (12).
Regarding claim 6, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1, wherein the mounting feature is one of: a mechanical arrangement (94), magnets, and discrete fittings (94 and Column 6-7; lines 65-68 and 1-4).
Regarding claim 7, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1.
North does not disclose first and second sensors to detect angular rotation along a pair of axes.
Leidel teaches first (62) and second sensors (72) to detect angular rotation along a pair of axes ([0087]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Leidel’s first and second sensors to detect angular rotation in North’s level system, improving orientation reading accuracy.
Regarding claim 8, North discloses the level system as described in claim 7.
North does not disclose indicating an orientation of the level module against three principal rotations with respect to gravity.
Leidel teaches indicating an orientation against three principal rotations ([0087]) with respect to gravity ([0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Leidel’s indication of orientation against three principal rotations with respect to gravity in North’s level system, improving orientation reading accuracy.
Regarding claim 9, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1. North does not disclose electronics and data storage.
Leidel teaches electronics (Fig. 16) and data storage (30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Leidel’s electronics (Fig. 16) and data storage (30) in North’s level extrusion to better ensure accurate readings.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855