DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The claim set submitted on 09 MAY 2024 is acknowledged and considered. In the claim set, Claims 1-20 are presented and are considered on the merits below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The nine (9) information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 15 JULY 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11 FEBRUARY 2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “306” has been used to designate both pipette controller and reader controller, in [0069] and [0070], respectively. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10-12 and 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 18, 19 and 21 of U.S. Patent No. 12,007,403 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant invention further defines “a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel”.
The ‘403 patent and the instant invention are basically the same as the instant invention simply claims a “a first side; a second side opposite the first side; a loading bay along the first side; a pipetting mechanism adjacent the second side; a rotatable carousel; and a carrier shuttle to transport a carrier between a first position adjacent the first side and a second position adjacent the pipetting mechanism”, while the ‘403 patent teaches the same invention, but with more specificity and limitations. The ‘403 patent does not teach or suggest any specific location or orientation of the carrier shuttle .
Therefore, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ‘403 to have “a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel” create a smaller footprint of the overall device, save space and to have the carrier shuttle access to the carousel with as little movement of the pipetting mechanism, cutting down time for dispensing/aspirating liquid and increase throughput.
The dependent claims in the instant invention, Claims 2-4, 7, 8, 10-12 and 14-20 and the dependent claims in the ‘403 patent , Claims 2-9, 18, 19 and 21, are basically identical in context and verbiage and are indistinguishable from each other.
Claims 1, 6, 9-14 and 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,125,766, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 15 JULY 2025. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant invention and the ‘766 patent are directed towards a diagnostic analyzer with a loading bay, a carrier shuttle and a pipetting mechanism. The instant invention further defines “a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel”.
The ‘766 patent and the instant invention are basically the same as the instant invention simply claims a “a first side; a second side opposite the first side; a loading bay along the first side; a pipetting mechanism adjacent the second side; a rotatable carousel; and a carrier shuttle to transport a carrier between a first position adjacent the first side and a second position adjacent the pipetting mechanism”, while the ‘766 patent further defines a controller; however, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘766 to have “a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel” create a smaller footprint of the overall device, save space and to have the carrier shuttle access to the carousel with as little movement of the pipetting mechanism, cutting down time for dispensing/aspirating liquid and increase throughput.
Claims 2-6, 11, 2 and 26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-15 and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,267,818, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 15 JULY 2025. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant invention and the ‘818 patent are directed towards a diagnostic analyzer with a loading bay, first and second carriers, and a pipetting mechanism. While the ‘818 patent is more generically claimed and claims a means for transporting the carriers, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ‘means for transporting’ to be carrier shuttles as recited in the instant invention to efficiently and effective more than one sample at a time. In addition it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘818 to have “a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel” create a smaller footprint of the overall device, save space and to have the carrier shuttle access to the carousel with as little movement of the pipetting mechanism, cutting down time for dispensing/aspirating liquid and increase throughput.
Claims 1-14 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 9,335,338, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 15 JULY 2025. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant invention and the ‘338 patent are directed towards an analyzer with a loading bay, first carrier, and a pipetting mechanism. The ‘338 patent more specifically claims a track, while the instant invention discloses a carrier shuttle. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the ‘338 to have a carrier shuttle so it can be more specific to the carrier and move it in an efficiently and effective way. In addition, it would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify ‘338 to have “a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel” create a smaller footprint of the overall device, save space and to have the carrier shuttle access to the carousel with as little movement of the pipetting mechanism, cutting down time for dispensing/aspirating liquid and increase throughput.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUOMA, US Publication No. 2008/0190735 A1, submitted on the Information Disclosure Statement on 15 JULY 2025.
Regarding Claim 1, the LUOMA reference discloses a diagnostic analyzer , abstract, diagnostic system, Figure 7, comprising: a first side, Figure 7; a second side opposite the first side, Figure 7; a loading bay along the first side, Figure 7, [0069], loading bay 120; a pipetting mechanism adjacent the second side, Figure 7, [0070], pipette 134; a rotatable carousel, Figure 7, carousel 168, or tray 132, [0079]; and a carrier shuttle to transport a carrier between a first position adjacent the first side and a second position adjacent the pipetting mechanism, Figure 7, [0069], robotic transporter 130 with carrier 126 or 128.
The LUOMA reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel.
The LUOMA discloses wherein the carrier shuttle overlaps a portion of the carousel. However, LUOMA discloses that the carrier shuttle overlaps underneath the carousel, Figure 7, not wherein the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel.
It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference to have “a portion of the carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel” create a smaller footprint of the overall device, save space and to have the carrier shuttle access to the carousel with as little movement of the pipetting mechanism, cutting down time for dispensing/aspirating liquid and increase throughput.
Additional Disclosures Included are: Claim 2: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, wherein the carousel is a reagent carousel to support a plurality of containers with reagent liquids for use in the diagnostic analyzer, [0013]. ; Claim 3: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 2, further including a processing carousel to support a plurality of reaction vessels, the pipetting mechanism to aspirate a sample from the carrier and dispense the sample into one of the reaction vessels on the processing carousel, Figure 7, carrier 128 in carousel 168, accessed by pipette 134, [0079].; Claim 4: wherein the LUOMA reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein the reaction vessels are reusable cuvettes. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have the reaction vessels which are reusable cuvettes so that the overall system is ecofriendly cutting down on waste and economically friendly cutting down on costs of parts of the device. ; Claim 5: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 3, wherein the pipetting mechanism is movable along an arcuate path over the reagent carousel and the processing carousel, Figure 7, see arc. ; Claim 6: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, wherein the pipetting mechanism is rotatable about an axis outside of a circumference of the carousel, Figure 7. ; Claim 7: wherein the LUOMA reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein further including a second carrier shuttle disposed adjacent the first carrier shuttle. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the number of carrier shuttles to increase the throughput of the analyzer and to increase the number of samples to be processed. ; Claim 8: wherein the LUOMA reference discloses the claimed invention, but is silent in regards to wherein a portion of the second carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel. The LUOMA discloses wherein the carrier shuttle overlaps a portion of the carousel. However, LUOMA discloses that the carrier shuttle overlaps underneath the carousel, Figure 7, not carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel. It would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the reference to have “a portion of the second carrier shuttle is disposed vertically above a portion of the carousel” create a smaller footprint of the overall device, save space and to have the carrier shuttle access to the carousel with as little movement of the pipetting mechanism, cutting down time for dispensing/aspirating liquid and increase throughput. ; Claim 9: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 7, wherein the second carrier shuttle is independently movable relative to the first carrier shuttle, Figure 7, carousel 168, or tray 132, [0079]. ; Claim 10: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 7, wherein the first and second carrier shuttles are parallel to each other, Figure 7 and 8, transporter 130 and positioning shelf 132.; Claim 11: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, further including a positioner to transport the carrier between the loading bay and the carrier shuttle, the positioner moveable along a track, the track disposed along the first side, [0038]. ; Claim 12: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 11, wherein the carrier shuttle is movable in a direction that is perpendicular to the track of the positioner, [0038, 0069]. ; Claim 13: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 11, wherein the positioner includes a reader to detect a label on the carrier, [0077, 0078].; Claim 14: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, wherein the carrier shuttle includes a carriage and a lead screw to move the carriage, Figure 5 and 6, screws 82/90, [0050, 0051].; Claim 15: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, wherein the carrier shuttle includes a conveyor belt, [0035, 0051]. ; Claim 16: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 15, wherein the carrier shuttle includes a motor to move the conveyor belt and a sensor to detect movement of the conveyor belt, [0035, 0051].; Claim 17: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 16, wherein the motor and the sensor are disposed near opposite ends of the carrier shuttle, Figure 1, motor 58, Figure 6, sensor 102, [0035, 0048, 0049]. ; Claim 18: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, wherein the pipetting mechanism includes an arm that is rotatable about an axis of rotation and a pipette at a distal end of the arm, Figure 7, [0070]. ; Claim 19: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, wherein the loading bay includes a plurality of slots arranged in a horizontal array along the first side, Figure 4 and 7. ; and Claim 20: wherein the diagnostic analyzer of claim 1, wherein the diagnostic analyzer is to perform an immunoassay or a clinical chemistry assay, [0039, 0056, 0064].
Conclusion
CTM
/CHRISTINE T MUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797