DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/3/26 have been fully read and considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding line 24 and lines 28-30 on page 7 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Sung does not disclose "authentication of image data". The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [198], Sung’s figure 5 discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 permits the identification of a user/driver with implementation of various authentication methods that include facial recognition. And in paragraph [209], Sung discloses a camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 is disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle for permitting camera 550 to capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification or authentication. Next, in paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends or permits transmission of the image of the driver, as captured by camera 550, to the processor 570 for processing and verification to authenticate the driver. Thus, Sung discloses an authentication process has taken place by capturing the image of the driver via facial recognition, and sending the captured image of the driver to the processor for verification and authentication since facial recognition of a driver requires a camera to take the visual input (ie. facial image as captured by camera) and send/transmit to a processor for a checking process to see if the captured image matches with the image stored for authentication and verification. Thus, Sung discloses "authentication of image data".
Regarding lines 27-28 on page 7 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Sung fails to disclose authenticating the camera-generated image data. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [198], Sung’s figure 5 discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 permits the identification of a user/driver with implementation of various authentication methods that include facial recognition. And in paragraph [209], Sung discloses a camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 is disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle for permitting camera 550 to capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification or authentication. Next, in paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends or permits transmission of the image of the driver, as captured by camera 550, to the processor 570 for processing and verification to authenticate the driver. Thus, Sung discloses an authentication process has taken place by capturing the image of the driver via facial recognition, and sending the captured image of the driver to the processor for verification and authentication since facial recognition of a driver requires a camera to take the visual input (ie. facial image as captured and generated by camera) and send/transmit to a processor for a checking process to see if the captured image matches with the image stored for authentication and verification. Thus, Sung discloses authenticating the camera-generated image data.
Regarding lines 1-2 on page 8 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Sung does not disclose authentication to be "during a transmission of the image data" from a camera to a control unit. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [198], Sung’s figure 5 discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 permits the identification of a user/driver with implementation of various authentication methods that include facial recognition. And in paragraph [190], Sung discloses that processor 570 evaluates the image data, including the image of the driver as provided in real time, captured by cameras 550 and transmitted from the cameras to the processor 570 for evaluation in real time during transmission for providing the authentication results as fast as possible. And in paragraph [209], Sung discloses a camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 is disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle for permitting camera 550 to capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification or authentication. Next, in paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends or permits transmission of the image of the driver, as captured by camera 550, to the processor 570 for processing and verification to authenticate the driver. Thus, Sung discloses an authentication process has taken place by capturing the image of the driver via facial recognition, and sending the captured image of the driver to the processor for verification and authentication since facial recognition of a driver requires a camera to take the visual input (ie. facial image as captured by camera) and send/transmit to a processor for a checking process to see if the captured image matches with the image stored for authentication and verification. Thus, Sung discloses the authentication is performed during a transmission of the image data since Sung discloses the real-time processing of image data as the image data is being captured by the cameras in real-time and transmitted to the processor for providing quick verification and authentication in real-time. Thus, Sung discloses the authentication to be "during a transmission of the image data" from a camera to a control unit.
Regarding lines 8-9 on page 8 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Sung does not disclose authentication during transmission. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [198], Sung’s figure 5 discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 permits the identification of a user/driver with implementation of various authentication methods that include facial recognition. And in paragraph [190], Sung discloses that processor 570 evaluates the image data, including the image of the driver as provided in real time, captured by cameras 550 and transmitted from the cameras to the processor 570 for evaluation in real time during transmission for providing the authentication results as fast as possible. And in paragraph [209], Sung discloses a camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 is disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle for permitting camera 550 to capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification or authentication. Next, in paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends or permits transmission of the image of the driver, as captured by camera 550, to the processor 570 for processing and verification to authenticate the driver. Thus, Sung discloses an authentication process has taken place by capturing the image of the driver via facial recognition, and sending the captured image of the driver to the processor for verification and authentication since facial recognition of a driver requires a camera to take the visual input (ie. facial image as captured by camera) and send/transmit to a processor for a checking process to see if the captured image matches with the image stored for authentication and verification. Thus, Sung discloses the authentication is performed during a transmission of the image data since Sung discloses the real-time processing of image data as the image data is being captured by the cameras in real-time and transmitted to the processor for providing quick verification and authentication in real-time. Thus, Sung discloses authentication during transmission.
Regarding lines 19-23 on page 8 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that Booth does not disclose "the first embedded secure element is configured jointly with the second embedded secure element to perform an authentication of the image data during a transmission of the image data from the at least camera to the control unit". The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In paragraph [33], Booth’s figure 2 discloses edge device 200 and host server 260 are functioning together as a whole for providing protection for the obtained sensor data with encryption with implementation of private key that is tied to the sensor 240 to enable authentication of the sensor data with interaction of image processing by element 280. Then in paragraph [31], Booth’s figure 2 discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212. Next, in paragraph [33], Booth discloses utilizing an image sensor 240 for capturing images. In paragraph [37], in figure 2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained. Thus, Booth discloses that during transmission of encrypted captured image data by camera, and the inference model and keys are stored for ensuring the image data captured by the camera is authentically sent to the host server in an unaltered, authentic form, thus producing a generated captured image data sent from one source location to a destination location in a secured manner during transmission of image data over a transmission medium. Thus, Booth discloses "the first embedded secure element is configured jointly with the second embedded secure element to perform an authentication of the image data during a transmission of the image data from the at least camera to the control unit".
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Regarding lines 24-25 on page 8 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant asserts that it would not have been obvious to combine Sung and Booth (or other references) together. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Also, as explained in the above paragraphs and in the rejection below, both Sung and Booth pertain to authentication of image data as captured by cameras since Sung’s invention needs a camera to capture image data for performing facial recognition for performing image data matching process (ie. image authentication and verification) stored in memory with processor, and Booth’s invention also requires a camera for capturing image data and performing encryption and decryption of image data, thus, it is reasonable to one of ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the invention was made to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
It has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992).
Thus, independent claim 1 is rejected for the reasons as stated above, and in the rejection below.
Independent claim 11 is rejected for at least similar reasons as independent claim 1 in that claim 11 requires Sung, Booth and Nathan to be combined together as a whole for ascertaining the limitations of claim 11. Peruse the rejection below for elaboration.
Since Sung discloses "a method for transmitting image data from at least one camera to a control unit within a driver assistance system comprising an authentication of the image data during a transmission", Booth discloses "an authentication of the image data during a transmission with a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit", and Nathan discloses "an authentication of the image data during a transmission with one-time use secure data", therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitations of claim 11 in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Dependent claims 2-5, 7-8, 12-15 and 17-18 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 2017/0060234) and Booth (US 2020/0134230) in view of Nathan (US 2021/0203887). Peruse the rejection below.
Dependent claims 6 and 16 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 2017/0060234), Booth (US 2020/0134230) and Nathan (US 2021/0203887) in view of Cutillo (US 2025/0173460). Peruse the rejection below.
Dependent claims 9-10 and 19-20 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 2017/0060234), Booth (US 2020/0134230) and Nathan (US 2021/0203887) in view of Witt (US 2020/0243115). Peruse the rejection below.
Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 2017/0060234) in view of Booth (US 2020/0134230).
Regarding claim 1, Sung discloses a driver assistance system comprising a control unit (paragraph [198], fig.5, Sung discloses Sung discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500, wherein paragraph [210], Sung discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 comprises a control unit or processor 570), at least one camera configured to transmit image data to the control unit (paragraph [209], Sung discloses camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 can be disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle, wherein camera 550 can capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification, and paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends the image of the driver to the processor 570), in that the control unit performs an authentication of the image data during a transmission of the image data from the at least one camera to the control unit (paragraph [198], fig.5, Sung discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 can identify a user/driver with various authentication methods that include facial recognition, in that paragraph [209], Sung discloses camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 can be disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle, wherein camera 550 can capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification, and paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends the image of the driver to the processor 570, and in paragraph [190], Sung discloses that processor 570 evaluates the image data, including the image of the driver as provided in real time, captured by cameras 550 and transmitted from the cameras to the processor 570 for evaluation in real time during transmission for providing the authentication results as fast as possible).
Sung does not disclose a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit, wherein the first embedded secure element is configured jointly with the second embedded secure element to perform an authentication of the image data during a transmission of the image data from the at least one camera to the control unit.
However, Booth teaches a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera (paragraph [31], fig.2, Booth discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images) and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit (paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained), wherein the first embedded secure element is configured jointly with the second embedded secure element to perform an authentication of the image data during a transmission of the image data from the at least one camera to the control unit (paragraph [33], fig.2, Booth discloses that edge device 200 and host server 260 are interacting together as a whole for providing protection for the obtained sensor data with encryption with implementation of private key that is tied to the sensor 240 to enable authentication of the sensor data with interaction of image processing by element 280, wherein paragraph [31], fig.2, Booth discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images, and paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 11-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 2017/0060234) and Booth (US 2020/0134230) in view of Nathan (US 2021/0203887).
Regarding claim 2, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element are configured to authenticate the image data. However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element are configured to authenticate the image data (paragraph [33], fig.2, Booth discloses that edge device 200 and host server 260 are interacting together as a whole for providing protection for the obtained sensor data with encryption with implementation of private key that is tied to the sensor 240 to enable authentication of the sensor data with interaction of image processing by element 280, wherein paragraph [31], fig.2, Booth discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images, and paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element are configured to authenticate the image data with one-time use secure data. However, Nathan teaches implementing authenticate the image data with one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element are configured to authenticate the image data”, and Nathan discloses “authenticate the image data with one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element are configured to authenticate the image data with one-time use secure data” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 3, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element each comprise a secure memory configured to store a seed key. However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element each comprise a secure memory configured to store a seed key (paragraph [31], Booth discloses storage of key 232 in TEE (trusted execution environment), and paragraph [234], Booth discloses storage of key 234, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses storage of keys 290 within secure enclave 280, wherein paragraph [63], fig.7, Booth discloses that the processor-based device (ie. camera) or host server can comprise the configuration fig.7, and paragraph [75], Booth discloses that multiple storage devices 760 can be implemented to write data onto in that one or more (ie. two, three, etc.) and in any combination of number of storage devices needed for the task of storing data, and paragraph [76], Booth discloses one or more (ie. two, three, etc.) storage devices can be utilized, and that any number of communicably coupled to the respective storage device or system’s bus can be implemented, thus, Booth discloses that storage of keys in any number of storage devices for storing keys including separate memory storage devices for storing individual keys); generation means configured to generate secure data from the seed key (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming, and that a second key is generated for decrypting the inference model, and paragraph [37], Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, thus Booth discloses generating secure data from seed key). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose generation means configured to generate the one-time use secure data from the seed key. However, Nathan teaches generation means configured to generate the one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “generation means configured to generate secure data from the seed key”, and Nathan discloses “generation means configured to generate the one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “generation means configured to generate the one-time use secure data from the seed key” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 4, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the secure data.
However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data), and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the secure data (paragraph [37], Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, and wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the one-time use secure data.
However, Nathan discloses implementing one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the secure data, and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the one-time use secure data” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 5, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the secure data.
However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data), and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the secure data (paragraph [37], Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, and wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the one-time use secure data.
However, Nathan discloses implementing one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the secure data, and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to mark the image data with the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to verify the image data marked with the one-time use secure data” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 7, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the one-time use secure data. However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data) and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the secure data (paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and note that data that is encrypted by element 214 interacts with element 218 and element 234 for decryption, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, and paragraph [99], Booth discloses receiving encrypted and integrity protected video data and a second signature data from the edge device (ie. camera) over the communication channel to decrypt video image data by utilizing a key from the TEE (trusted execution environment)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose implementing one-time use with secure data. However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use with secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the one-time use secure data” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 8, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the one-time use secure data. However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data) and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the secure data (paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and note that data that is encrypted by element 214 interacts with element 218 and element 234 for decryption, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, and paragraph [99], Booth discloses receiving encrypted and integrity protected video data and a second signature data from the edge device (ie. camera) over the communication channel to decrypt video image data by utilizing a key from the TEE (trusted execution environment)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose implementing one-time use with secure data. However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use with secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt the image data by using the one-time use secure data and the second embedded secure element is configured to decrypt the image data encrypted by using the one-time use secure data” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 11, Sung discloses a method for transmitting image data from at least one camera to a control unit within a driver assistance system (paragraph [198], fig.5, Sung discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 can identify a user/driver with various authentication methods that include facial recognition, in that paragraph [209], Sung discloses camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 can be disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle, wherein camera 550 can capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification, and paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends the image of the driver to the processor 570) comprising an authentication of the image data during a transmission (paragraph [198], fig.5, Sung discloses the driver assistance apparatus 500 can identify a user/driver with various authentication methods that include facial recognition, in that paragraph [209], Sung discloses camera 550 of the driver assistance apparatus 500 can be disposed on the windshield or anywhere on the interior of vehicle, wherein camera 550 can capture the image of the driver for providing facial recognition information of the driver for verification, and paragraph [210], Sung discloses camera 550 captures the image of the driver and sends the image of the driver to the processor 570, and in paragraph [190], Sung discloses that processor 570 evaluates the image data, including the image of the driver as provided in real time, captured by cameras 550 and transmitted from the cameras to the processor 570 for evaluation in real time during transmission for providing the authentication results as fast as possible).
Sung does not disclose an authentication of the image data during a transmission with a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit.
However, Booth teaches an authentication of the image data during a transmission with a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit (paragraph [33], fig.2, Booth discloses that edge device 200 and host server 260 are interacting together as a whole for providing protection for the obtained sensor data with encryption with implementation of private key that is tied to the sensor 240 to enable authentication of the sensor data with interaction of image processing by element 280, wherein paragraph [31], fig.2, Booth discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images, and paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth does not disclose an authentication of the image data during a transmission with one-time use secure data by a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit.
However, Nathan teaches implementing an authentication of the image data during a transmission with one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “an authentication of the image data during a transmission with a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit”, and Nathan discloses “an authentication of the image data during a transmission with one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “an authentication of the image data during a transmission with one-time use secure data by a first embedded secure element connected to the at least one camera and a second embedded secure element connected to the control unit” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 12, Sung does not disclose wherein the authentication of image data is performed with secure data. However, Booth teaches wherein the authentication of image data is performed with secure data (paragraph [33], fig.2, Booth discloses that edge device 200 and host server 260 are interacting together as a whole for providing protection for the obtained sensor data with encryption with implementation of private key that is tied to the sensor 240 to enable authentication of the sensor data with interaction of image processing by element 280, wherein paragraph [31], fig.2, Booth discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images, and paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose wherein the authentication of image data is performed with one-time use secure data. However, Nathan teaches wherein the authentication of image data is performed with one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ensuring safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 13, Sung does not disclose comprising storing a seed key in a secure memory of the first embedded secure element and of the second embedded secure element (paragraph [31], Booth discloses storage of key 232 in TEE (trusted execution environment), and paragraph [234], Booth discloses storage of key 234, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses storage of keys 290 within secure enclave 280, wherein paragraph [63], fig.7, Booth discloses that the processor-based device (ie. camera) or host server can comprise the configuration fig.7, and paragraph [75], Booth discloses that multiple storage devices 760 can be implemented to write data onto in that one or more (ie. two, three, etc.) and in any combination of number of storage devices needed for the task of storing data, and paragraph [76], Booth discloses one or more (ie. two, three, etc.) storage devices can be utilized, and that any number of communicably coupled to the respective storage device or system’s bus can be implemented, thus, Booth discloses that storage of keys in any number of storage devices for storing keys including separate memory storage devices for storing individual keys) and generating secure data from the seed key. However, Booth teaches comprising storing a seed key in a secure memory of the first embedded secure element and of the second embedded secure element and generating secure data from the seed key (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming, and that a second key is generated for decrypting the inference model, and paragraph [37], Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, thus Booth discloses generating secure data from seed key). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Sung does not disclose wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the secure data and verifying the image data marked with the secure data.
However, Booth teaches wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data) and verifying the image data marked with the secure data (paragraph [37], Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the one-time use secure data and verifying the image data marked with the one-time use secure data.
However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the secure data and verifying the image data marked with the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the one-time use secure data and verifying the image data marked with the one-time use secure data.” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 15, Sung does not disclose wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the secure data and verifying the image data marked with the secure data.
However, Booth teaches wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data) and verifying the image data marked with the secure data (paragraph [37], Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the one-time use secure data and verifying the image data marked with the one-time use secure data.
However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the secure data and verifying the image data marked with the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the authentication of the image data comprises marking the image data with the one-time use secure data and verifying the image data marked with the one-time use secure data.” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 17, Sung does not disclose wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the one-time use secure data and decrypting the image data encrypted with the one-time use secure data.
However, Booth teaches wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data) and decrypting the image data encrypted with the secure data (paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and note that data that is encrypted by element 214 interacts with element 218 and element 234 for decryption, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, and paragraph [99], Booth discloses receiving encrypted and integrity protected video data and a second signature data from the edge device (ie. camera) over the communication channel to decrypt video image data by utilizing a key from the TEE (trusted execution environment)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose implementing one-time use secure data. However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use with secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the secure data and decrypting the image data encrypted with the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the one-time use secure data and decrypting the image data encrypted with the one-time use secure data” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Regarding claim 18, Sung does not disclose wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the one-time use secure data and decrypting the image data encrypted with the one-time use secure data.
However, Booth teaches wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the secure data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, thus marking the image data with secure data) and decrypting the image data encrypted with the secure data (paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses secret key 234 is used for attesting process to establish hardware root of trust, and that key 234 is utilized for further verifying the image data is secured with secure data, and element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, and note that data that is encrypted by element 214 interacts with element 218 and element 234 for decryption, and paragraph [32], Booth discloses securing enclave 280 has a TEE that includes keys 290 to establish confidentiality and integrity of data being produced and archived, and paragraph [99], Booth discloses receiving encrypted and integrity protected video data and a second signature data from the edge device (ie. camera) over the communication channel to decrypt video image data by utilizing a key from the TEE (trusted execution environment)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth do not disclose implementing one-time use secure data. However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use with secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Since Booth discloses “wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the secure data and decrypting the image data encrypted with the secure data”, and Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the authentication comprises encrypting the image data with the one-time use secure data and decrypting the image data encrypted with the one-time use secure data” so as to ensure safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Claims 6 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 2017/0060234), Booth (US 2020/0134230) and Nathan (US 2021/0203887) in view of Cutillo (US 2025/0173460).
Regarding claim 6, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element are configured to authenticate the image data by performing an exclusive OR Boolean operation between the image data and the one-time use secure data.
However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element and the second embedded secure element are configured to authenticate the image data by processing an operation between the image data and the secure data (paragraph [33], fig.2, Booth discloses that edge device 200 and host server 260 are interacting together as a whole for providing protection for the obtained sensor data with encryption with implementation of private key that is tied to the sensor 240 to enable authentication of the sensor data with interaction of image processing by element 280, wherein paragraph [31], fig.2, Booth discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images, and paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth does not disclose implementing one-time use secure data. However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ensuring safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Sung, Booth and Nathan do not disclose implementing exclusive OR Boolean operation. However, Cutillo teaches implementing exclusive OR Boolean operation (paragraph [56], Cutillo discloses implementing Boolean exclusive OR function in cryptographic mixing functions along with the one time key, thus Cutillo discloses exclusive OR Boolean operations). Since Booth discloses “wherein the first embedded secure element and the second secure embedded element are configured to authenticate the image data by processing an operation between the image data and the secure data”, Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, and Cutillo discloses “…exclusive OR Boolean operation”, therefore, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth, Nathan and Cutillo together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the first embedded secure element and the second secure embedded element are configured to authenticate the image data by performing an exclusive OR Boolean operation between the image data and the one-time use secure data” so as to safely encrypting data when transmitted by utilizing different pseudonyms so as to decrease risk of the data being identified by unwanted individuals (Cutillo’s paragraph [9]).
Regarding claim 16, Sung does not disclose herein the authentication comprises an exclusive OR Boolean operation between the image data and the one-time use secure data.
However, Booth teaches the authentication of the image data by processing an operation between the image data and the secure data (paragraph [33], fig.2, Booth discloses that edge device 200 and host server 260 are interacting together as a whole for providing protection for the obtained sensor data with encryption with implementation of private key that is tied to the sensor 240 to enable authentication of the sensor data with interaction of image processing by element 280, wherein paragraph [31], fig.2, Booth discloses element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212, wherein paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images, and paragraph [37], fig.2, Booth discloses element 218 is a model decryptor for performing authentication and decrypting the machine learning model 275 that is derived from a host server 260, wherein paragraph [32], Booth discloses host server 260 comprises host software 270 that comprises inference model 275 and image processing and archival in a secure enclave 280 for storing keys 290 and data within the TEE for establishing confidentiality and integrity of data for ensure authentication and verification of data obtained). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung and Booth does not disclose implementing one-time use secure data. However, Nathan teaches implementing one-time use secure data (paragraph [85], Nathan discloses authenticating video images captured by video cameras with implementation of time expiring key, wherein paragraph [93], Nathan teaches utilizing one-time expiring token for processing images captured by video cameras). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth and Nathan together as a whole for ensuring safe transmission of image data in order to securely verify the identity of drivers accessing vital vehicular functions to ensure safe driving.
Sung, Booth and Nathan do not disclose implementing exclusive OR Boolean operation. However, Cutillo teaches implementing exclusive OR Boolean operation (paragraph [56], Cutillo discloses implementing Boolean exclusive OR function in cryptographic mixing functions along with the one time key, thus Cutillo discloses exclusive OR Boolean operations). Since Booth discloses “the authentication of the image data by processing an operation between the image data and the secure data”, Nathan discloses “…one-time use secure data”, and Cutillo discloses “…exclusive OR Boolean operation”, therefore, therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth, Nathan and Cutillo together as a whole for ascertaining the limitation “wherein the authentication comprises an exclusive OR Boolean operation between the image data and the one-time use secure data” so as to safely encrypting data when transmitted by utilizing different pseudonyms so as to decrease risk of the data being identified by unwanted individuals (Cutillo’s paragraph [9]).
Claims 9-10 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung (US 2017/0060234), Booth (US 2020/0134230) and Nathan (US 2021/0203887) in view of Witt (US 2020/0243115).
Regarding claim 9, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt image data. However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt image data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung, Booth and Nathan do not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream. However, Witt teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream (paragraph [45], fig.5, Witt discloses the encryption of image portion 512 of image frame 54 of video stream 20, thus, Witt discloses the encrypting of one portion of image data of an image selected from the set of video images). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth, Nathan and Witt together as a whole for conserving resources needed for display of video image data (Witt’s paragraph [16]).
Regarding claim 10, Sung does not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt image data. However, Booth teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt image data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung, Booth and Nathan do not disclose wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream. However, Witt teaches wherein the first embedded secure element is configured to encrypt at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream (paragraph [45], fig.5, Witt discloses the encryption of image portion 512 of image frame 54 of video stream 20, thus, Witt discloses the encrypting of one portion of image data of an image selected from the set of video images). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth, Nathan and Witt together as a whole for conserving resources needed for display of video image data (Witt’s paragraph [16]).
Regarding claim 19, Sung does not disclose wherein encryption is performed on the image data. However, Booth teaches wherein encryption is performed on the image data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung, Booth and Nathan do not disclose wherein encryption is performed on at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream. However, Witt teaches wherein encryption is performed on at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream (paragraph [45], fig.5, Witt discloses the encryption of image portion 512 of image frame 54 of video stream 20, thus, Witt discloses the encrypting of one portion of image data of an image selected from the set of video images). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth, Nathan and Witt together as a whole for conserving resources needed for display of video image data (Witt’s paragraph [16]).
Regarding claim 20, Sung does not disclose wherein encryption is performed on the image data. However, Booth teaches wherein encryption is performed on the image data (paragraph [33], Booth discloses implementing an image sensor 240 for capturing images and that private key is generated that is tied to the image sensor 240, and paragraph [31], Booth discloses generating a first key for encrypting data streaming in that element 214 is an encryption engine that functions as a first embedded secure element for encrypting data streams obtained by camera capture mechanism 212). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung and Booth together as a whole for permitting the safe transmission of video data for properly ensuring the validity of the driver’s identity in order to access the vehicle’s driver assistance system to safely drive the vehicle.
Sung, Booth and Nathan do not disclose wherein encryption is performed on at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream. However, Witt teaches wherein encryption is performed on at least one portion of the image data of an image selected from a set of images of a video stream (paragraph [45], fig.5, Witt discloses the encryption of image portion 512 of image frame 54 of video stream 20, thus, Witt discloses the encrypting of one portion of image data of an image selected from the set of video images). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Sung, Booth, Nathan and Witt together as a whole for conserving resources needed for display of video image data (Witt’s paragraph [16]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/ALLEN C WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488