DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Final Rejection on 01/21/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-13 of U.S. Patent No. US12022503B2 in view of Kang et al. US20200344771A1.
Instant application 18/659866
U.S. Patent No. US12022503B2, hereinafter Pat’503
1 . (Currently Amended) A method comprising: receiving, by a first wireless device and from a base station, information indicating one or more channel measurements for selecting between: a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the base station, and a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the first wireless device; performing, by the first wireless device, the one or more channel measurements; selecting, by the first wireless device and based on the performing the one or more channel measurements, a resource allocation mode from among the first resource allocation mode and the second resource allocation mode; andsending, to a second wireless device and via sidelink resources designated according to the selected resource allocation mode, at least one transport block.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a first wireless device from a base station, sidelink configuration parameter comprising:
at least one first resource configuration parameter for a first resource allocation mode;
at least one second resource configuration parameter for a second resource allocation mode; and
at least one parameter for selection of one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode;
selecting at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode, wherein the selecting is based on a comparison of the at least one parameter with a measurement of resources associated with at least one of:
the first resource allocation mode, or
the second resource allocation mode; and
sending, to at least one second wireless device and based on at least one resource configuration parameter for the selected resource allocation mode, at least one transport block.
Pat’503 does not explicitly teaches: a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are designated by a base station, and a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by a wireless device. However, Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are granted by a base station, and a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are selected by a wireless device; and (Kang: para. [0236 & 0081-0091] When both of mode 1 (the mode of scheduling by the base station) and mode 2 (the mode of scheduling by the terminal) are designated for the SL allocation mode). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in Pat’503. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to support unicast communication, groupcast (or multicast) communication, and broadcast communication between terminals. Also, unlike LTE V2X aiming to transmit/receive basic safety information required for road driving of vehicles, NR V2X aims to provide more advanced services such as platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, and remote driving (Kang: para. [0059]).
2. The method of claim 1, wherein the information comprises one or more resource measurement conditions to be met before selecting the second resource allocation mode.
Pat’503 does not explicitly teaches: receiving, by the first wireless from a base station, one or more resource measurement conditions to be met before selecting the second resource allocation mode. However, Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: receiving, by the first wireless from a base station, one or more resource measurement conditions to be met before selecting the second resource allocation mode (Kang: para. [0254] and Fig. 9 operation 904 - terminal may select an SL resource pool satisfying the SL resource pool selection condition by applying the SL resource pool selection condition based on at least one or a combination of the destination index, cast type, allocation mode, priority, and communication range of the packet to be transmitted. Para. [0255-256 & 0267 or 0258-0266] and Table 6 UE measures CBR of pool and decide whether the pool is available for its TX resource based on CBR threshold of SL flow or CBR threshold of SL packet,.. para. [0267] terminal may check the CBR threshold for each SL resource pool. The terminal may select an SL resource pool whose CBR threshold is equal to the CBR of the packet to be transmitted. Or, the terminal may select an SL resource pool whose CBR threshold is greater than or equal to the CBR of the packet to be transmitted. Or, the terminal may select an SL resource pool whose CBR threshold is less than or equal to the CBR of the packet to be transmitted. When one or more SL resource pools satisfying the CBR condition are selected, the terminal may determine and select one SL resource pool for itself). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in Pat’503. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for to support unicast communication, groupcast (or multicast) communication, and broadcast communication between terminals. Also, unlike LTE V2X aiming to transmit/receive basic safety information required for road driving of vehicles, NR V2X aims to provide more advanced services such as platooning, advanced driving, extended sensors, and remote driving (Kang: para. [0059]).
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the information indicates that the selecting should be based on one or more of the following: channel busy ratio (CBR);channel occupancy ratio (CR);quality of service requirement; or received signal strength indication of radio resources.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one parameter indicates at least one of:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) threshold of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR threshold of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) threshold of the first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CR threshold of the second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; or
a quality-of-service (QoS) requirement associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, one or more sidelink configuration parameters indicating at least one of:
a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; or
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters indicate at least one of:
a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; or
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
based on selecting the first resource allocation mode, sending, by the first wireless device to a base station, a request for sidelink radio resources, wherein the request for sidelink radio resources comprises at least one of:
a buffer status report; or
a scheduling request; and
receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, a resource grant indicating granted sidelink radio resources.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
based on selecting the first resource allocation mode, sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a request for sidelink radio resources, wherein the request for sidelink radio resources comprises at least one of:
a buffer status report; or
a scheduling request; and
receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, a resource grant indicating the sidelink radio resources.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, sidelink configuration parameters that indicate:
configured grant resources associated with the first resource allocation mode, wherein the configured grant resources comprise first radio resources; and
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode, wherein the second resource pool comprises second radio resources.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters indicate:
configured grant resources associated with the first resource allocation mode, wherein the configured grant resources comprise first radio resources; and
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode, wherein the second resource pool comprises second radio resources.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the selecting is based on performing measurement of at least one of:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; or
a quality-of-service (QOS) associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one parameter indicates at least one of:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) threshold of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR threshold of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) threshold of the first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CR threshold of the second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; or
a quality-of-service (QoS) requirement associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode.
8. A method comprising:
receiving, by a base station from a wireless device, a request for sidelink configuration parameters;
determining, for the wireless device, sidelink configuration parameters for:
a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the base station; and
a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the wireless device; and
sending, by the base station to the wireless device, the sidelink configuration parameters and one or more channel measurement for the wireless device to perform to select between the first resource allocation mode and the second resource allocation mode.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters are based on capability of the wireless device.
8. A method comprising:
receiving, by a base station from a wireless device, a request for sidelink configuration parameters, wherein the request comprises a capability of the wireless device;
determining, based on the capability of the wireless device, sidelink configuration parameters for at least two modes of operation; and
sending the sidelink configuration parameters, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters comprise:
at least one first resource configuration parameter for a first resource allocation mode of the at least two modes of operation;
at least one second resource configuration parameter for a second resource allocation mode of the at least two modes of operation; and
at least one parameter for a selection of at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode, wherein the selection is based on a comparison of the at least one parameter with a measurement of resources associated with at least one of:
the first resource allocation mode, or
the second resource allocation mode.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters indicate at least one of:
a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; or
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode.
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters indicate at least one of:
a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; or
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode.
11. The method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station from the wireless device, a request for sidelink radio resources, wherein the request for sidelink resources comprises at least one of:
a buffer status report; or
a scheduling request; and
sending, by the base station to the wireless device, a resource grant indicating granted sidelink radio resources.
11. The method of claim 8, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station from the wireless device, a request for sidelink radio resources, wherein the request for sidelink resources comprises at least one of:
a buffer status report; or
a scheduling request; and
sending, by the base station to the wireless device, a resource grant indicating the sidelink radio resources.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters indicate:
configured grant resources associated with the first resource allocation mode, wherein the configured grant resources comprise first radio resources; and
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode, wherein the second resource pool comprises second radio resources.
12. The method of claim 8, wherein the sidelink configuration parameters indicate:
configured grant resources associated with the first resource allocation mode, wherein the configured grant resources comprise first radio resources; and
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode, wherein the second resource pool comprises second radio resources.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the sending comprises sending at least one of:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) threshold of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR threshold of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) threshold of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CR threshold of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; or
a quality-of-service (QOS) requirement associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the at least one parameter indicates at least one of:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) threshold of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR threshold of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) threshold of the first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CR threshold of the second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; or
a quality-of-service (QoS) requirement associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode.
14. The method of claim 8, further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a message to activate or deactivate at least one of:
the first resource allocation mode, or
the second resource allocation mode.
14. The method of claim 8, further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a message to activate or deactivate at least one of:
the first resource allocation mode, or
the second resource allocation mode.
15. The method of claim 8, wherein the one or more channel measurement comprises measurement of at least one of:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; or
a quality-of-service (QOS) associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the at least one parameter indicates at least one of:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) threshold of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR threshold of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) threshold of the first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CR threshold of the second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; or
a quality-of-service (QoS) requirement associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode.
Apparatus Claim 16-22 rejected similarly as method claims 1-7
Apparatus Claim 23-30 rejected similarly as method claims 8-15
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 8, 10 – 23 and 25 – 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. US20200059896A1, hereinafter Xu in view of Kang US20200344771A1, hereinafter Kang.
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method comprising:
(Xu: Summary, Fig. 12 and para. [0236] UE includes: at least one processor 120 and a memory 121 and a communications interface 122 and a bus 123. The processor 120 may call logic instructions in the memory 121 to perform the method executed by the UE)
receiving, by a first wireless device and from a base station, information indicating one or more channel measurements (the preset threshold condition) for
(Xu: Fig. 3 step 301 and para. [0068] obtaining communication resource selection indication information pre-configured by the network side. para. [0057-0071] communication resource selection indication information may include an exceptional resource pool and a selection manner. Para. [0076] selection manner may include one of: a random selection manner, a pre-sensing manner, and a partial sensing manner. [0077-0078] pre-sensing manner is a manner that the UE, when meeting a preset threshold condition (the preset threshold condition is set by the eNB or is pre-configured by the UE), senses resources in the exceptional resource pool and selects the required communication resource(s) according to a sensing result)
a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the base station (the Mode 3), and a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the first wireless device (the Mode 4);
(Xu: para. [0056] V2X has two resource scheduling modes of a Mode 3 and a Mode 4, i.e., a base station scheduling mode (the Mode 3) and an automatous selection mode (the Mode 4). In the automatous selection resource mode (the Mode 4), the UE selects a required PC5 interface in a sensing manner and transmits resources through the selected PC5 interface. Para. [0112-0113] V2X communications in the Mode 4 may uses the exceptional resource pool. UE automatously selects a V2X resource, i.e., the Mode 4)
performing, by the first wireless device, the one or more channel measurements; selecting, by the first wireless device and based on the performing the one or more channel measurements, a resource allocation mode from among the first resource allocation mode and the second resource allocation mode; and
(Xu: para. [0077] pre-sensing manner is a manner that the UE, when meeting a preset threshold condition (the preset threshold condition is set by the eNB), senses resources in the exceptional resource pool and selects the required communication resource(s) according to a sensing result. The preset threshold condition may be a pre-sensing threshold condition met by some parameters of a signal processed by the UE. [0078] The pre-sensing threshold may be a threshold of a strength of a received signal or a threshold of a strength of a reference signal, such as a sidelink reference signal received power (S-RSRP), a PSSCH reference signal received power (PSSCH-RSRP), and a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI))
sending, to a second wireless device and via sidelink resources (V2X) designated according to the selected resource allocation mode (Mode 4),
(Xu: para. [0108-0113] when the indication information (i.e., the communication resource selection indication information) indicates that the UE uses the pre-sensing manner, and when a threshold of a parameter of a signal measured by the UE meets a setting value, the UE uses the pre-sensing manner to select the PC5 communication resource. Para. [0112] UE automatously selects a V2X resource, i.e., the Mode 4. Para. [0056] selects a required PC5 interface in a sensing manner and transmits resources through the selected PC5 interface. Fig. 4 step 402 and para. [0124] communication resource selection indication information carrying the exceptional resource pool and the selection manner is transmitted to a terminal (corresponds to claim limitation “second wireless device”))
at least one transport block.
It is noted that Xu does not explicitly disclose: selecting between: a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the base station, and a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the first wireless device; and
sending, to a second wireless device and via sidelink resources designated according to the selected resource allocation mode, at least one transport block.
However, Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: selecting between: a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the base station, and a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the first wireless device
(Kang: para. [0248] In the case of Allocation Mode 2, based on the configuration information for each SL resource pool, the terminal may select an SL resource pool corresponding to the configuration of the SL flow or the SL packet and allocate an SL grant thereto. In the case of Allocation Mode 1, based on the configuration information for each SL resource pool, the base station may select an SL resource pool corresponding to the configuration of the SL flow or the SL packet and allocate an SL grant to the terminal. Para. [0236] terminal may configure whether to use mode1 and/or mode2 (corresponds to claim limitation “selecting between: first mode or second mode”) for the SL flow or the SL packet, which may be configured through PFI/5QI/QFI/PQI to allocation mode mapping in an SLRB configuration setting procedure (pre-configuration or signaling of the base station));
and sending, to a second wireless device and via sidelink resources designated according to the selected resource allocation mode, at least one transport block. (Kang: para. [0137 & 0075] When the terminal selects a resource via sensing in mode 2 among sidelink resource allocation schemes, the terminal may reserve a resource for transmission of one TB or reserve a resource for transmission of a plurality of TBs. The configuration whether to reserve a resource for transmission of one TB or a plurality of TBs may be determined from a higher level. Para. [0089] Mode 2 may be referred to as UE autonomous resource selection. Para. [0094] transmitting terminal 501 may transmit data to the receiving terminal 502 via the PSSCH in unicast or groupcast. In the case of mode 2, the transmitting terminal 501 can directly perform scheduling for the sidelink by performing sensing and transmission resource selection operations) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing congestion control in a side link of V2X communication, and whether the channel connection of a terminal is determined according to whether or not a corresponding channel of the side link is congested, and congestion control is performed via limitation on a configuration range of transmission parameters. For example, when the channel is congested, the terminal drops transmission or controls channel access via scheduling adjustment, and when the terminal accesses the channel, the terminal selects transmission parameters, based on the congestion status of the channel, so that the probability of successful transmission can be improved (Kang: para. [0117]).
Regarding claim 2, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the information comprises one or more resource measurement conditions to be met before selecting the second resource allocation mode. (Xu: para. [0077] pre-sensing manner is a manner that the UE, when meeting a preset threshold condition (the preset threshold condition is set by the eNB), senses resources in the exceptional resource pool and selects the required communication resource(s) according to a sensing result. The preset threshold condition may be a pre-sensing threshold condition met by some parameters of a signal processed by the UE. [0078] The pre-sensing threshold may be a threshold of a strength of a received signal or a threshold of a strength of a reference signal, such as a sidelink reference signal received power (S-RSRP), a PSSCH reference signal received power (PSSCH-RSRP), and a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI))
Regarding claim 3, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 1, wherein information indicates that the selecting should be based on one or more of the following: channel busy ratio (CBR);channel occupancy ratio (CR);
quality of service requirement; (Xu: para. [0119] indicating, by a base station, the exceptional resource pool and the selection manner according to a current communication resource situation and a quality of service (QoS) demand of first service data)
or
received signal strength (strength of a received signal) indication of radio resources. (Xu: para. [0077] pre-sensing manner is a manner that the UE, when meeting a preset threshold condition (the preset threshold condition is set by the eNB), senses resources in the exceptional resource pool and selects the required communication resource(s) according to a sensing result. The preset threshold condition may be a pre-sensing threshold condition met by some parameters of a signal processed by the UE. [0078] The pre-sensing threshold may be a threshold of a strength of a received signal or a threshold of a strength of a reference signal, such as a sidelink reference signal received power (S-RSRP), a PSSCH reference signal received power (PSSCH-RSRP), and a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI))
Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: information indicates that the selecting should be based on one or more of the following: channel busy ratio (CBR); (Kang: para. [0118-0121] terminal may measure a channel busy ratio (CBR). CBR is an index indicating how much the current channel is occupied by the terminals, and may be used to determine whether the corresponding channel of the sidelink is congested) channel occupancy ratio (CR); (Kang: para. [0135] mode 2, the terminal may perform congestion control by measuring a channel occupancy ratio (CR) together with CBR measurement) or received signal strength indication of radio resources. (Kang: para. [0119] CBR is defined as a ratio of subchannels in which a sidelink received signal strength indicator (RSSI) is measured by a terminal in a resource pool exceeds a (pre-)configured threshold) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing congestion control in a side link of V2X communication, and whether the channel connection of a terminal is determined according to whether or not a corresponding channel of the side link is congested, and congestion control is performed via limitation on a configuration range of transmission parameters. For example, when the channel is congested, the terminal drops transmission or controls channel access via scheduling adjustment, and when the terminal accesses the channel, the terminal selects transmission parameters, based on the congestion status of the channel, so that the probability of successful transmission can be improved (Kang: para. [0117]).
Regarding claim 4, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, one or more sidelink configuration parameters indicating at least one of: a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; (Xu: para. [0156 & 0136 & 0173] a normal resources (a communication resource except for the communication resources in the exceptional resource pool) is obtained through the Mode3)
or
a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode. (Xu: para. [0112] V2X communications in the Mode 4 may uses the exceptional resource pool)
Regarding claim 5, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, a resource grant indicating granted sidelink radio resources. (Xu: para. [0087] communication resource may be an air interface resource between UEs. The exceptional resource pool is a resource pool of communication resources used by the UE to autonomously select the first service data. The exceptional resource pool includes one of: an exceptional resource pool configured by a base station)
Xu does not explicitly teach: based on selecting the first resource allocation mode, sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a request for sidelink radio resources, wherein the request for sidelink radio resources comprises at least one of: a buffer status report; or a scheduling request.
Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising: based on selecting the first resource allocation mode, sending, by the first wireless device to the base station, a request for sidelink radio resources, wherein the request for sidelink radio resources comprises at least one of: a buffer status report; or a scheduling request; (Kang: para. [0081-0082 & 0077] When there is data to be transmitted to other terminal(s), an RRC-connected mode terminal may transmit information notifying the base station that there is data to be transmitted to other terminal(s) by using an RRC message or a MAC control element (CE). For example, the RRC message transmitted by the terminal to the base station may be a sidelink terminal information (SidelinkUEInformation) or terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation) message, and the MAC CE may be a BSR MAC CE, a scheduling request (SR), or the like including at least one of an indicator indicating a buffer status report (BSR) for V2X communication or information about the size of data buffered for sidelink communication)
and receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, a resource grant indicating granted sidelink radio resources. (Kang: para. [0082 & 0078] Scheduled resource allocation may be a method in which a base station allocates RRC-connected terminals resources used for sidelink transmission in a dedicated scheduling manner) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing congestion control in a side link of V2X communication, and whether the channel connection of a terminal is determined according to whether or not a corresponding channel of the side link is congested, and congestion control is performed via limitation on a configuration range of transmission parameters. For example, when the channel is congested, the terminal drops transmission or controls channel access via scheduling adjustment, and when the terminal accesses the channel, the terminal selects transmission parameters, based on the congestion status of the channel, so that the probability of successful transmission can be improved (Kang: para. [0117]).
Regarding claim 6, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, by the first wireless device from the base station, sidelink configuration parameters that indicate: configured grant resources associated with the first resource allocation mode, (Xu: para. [0156 & 0136 & 0173] a normal resources (a communication resource except for the communication resources in the exceptional resource pool) is obtained through the Mode3)
wherein the configured grant resources comprise first radio resources; and a second resource for the second resource allocation mode, wherein the second resource pool comprises second radio resources. (Xu: para. [0112] V2X communications in the Mode 4 may uses the exceptional resource pool)
Regarding claim 7, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 1, wherein the selecting is based on performing measurement of at least one of: a quality-of-service (QoS) associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode. (Xu: para. [0119] indicating, by a base station, the exceptional resource pool and the selection manner according to a current communication resource situation and a quality of service (QoS) demand of first service data)
Xu does not explicitly teaches: a first channel busy ratio (CBR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; a second CBR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; a second CR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode.
Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: a first channel busy ratio (CBR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; (Kang: para. [0134] congestion of the corresponding channel may be determined based on the CBR value measured by the definition of the CBR. The terminal may report the measured CBR to the base station. Specifically, when the base station and the terminal are connected by Uu-RRC, the CBR value measured by the terminal may be reported to the base station via Uu-RRC. In mode 1 of the sidelink resource allocation schemes, when the transmitting terminal requests the base station to transmit resources for performing sidelink communication with the receiving terminal, the base station may allocate the transmission resources using the reported CBR information)
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; a second CR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
(Kang: para. [0135] in mode 2, the terminal may perform congestion control by measuring a channel occupancy ratio (CR) together with CBR measurement. In this case, the priority of the packet may be reflected. When the transmitting terminal transmits the packet, a value for indicating the priority of the corresponding packet may be transmitted to the receiving terminal via SCI. CR is an index indicating how much the terminal has occupied the channel, and a CR limit for the terminal to occupy the channel may be determined according to the CBR value. For example, when the channel is congested (i.e., when the CBR value is measured high), the CR limit is configured low, and the terminal should perform congestion control so that the measured CR does not exceed the CR limit. In order to perform congestion control, the terminal should drop the transmission or make the CR measured via the scheduling implementation satisfy the CR limit. If the channel is not congested (i.e., when the CBR value is measured low), the CR limit is configured high, and the possibility that the measured CR does not exceed the CR limit increases, so that the terminal may occupy and use the channel more) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing congestion control in a side link of V2X communication, and whether the channel connection of a terminal is determined according to whether or not a corresponding channel of the side link is congested, and congestion control is performed via limitation on a configuration range of transmission parameters. For example, when the channel is congested, the terminal drops transmission or controls channel access via scheduling adjustment, and when the terminal accesses the channel, the terminal selects transmission parameters, based on the congestion status of the channel, so that the probability of successful transmission can be improved (Kang: para. [0117]).
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches a method comprising: (Xu: Summary and para. [0240] and FIG. 13 base station includes processor 130, the memory 131 and the communications interface 132 may communicate with each other via the bus 133. The processor 130 may call logic instructions in the memory 131 to execute the method executed by the base station)
determining, for the wireless device, sidelink configuration parameters for:
(Xu: Fig. 3 step 301 and para. [0068] obtaining communication resource selection indication information pre-configured by the network side. para. [0057-0071] communication resource selection indication information may include an exceptional resource pool and a selection manner. Para. [0076] selection manner may include one of: a random selection manner, a pre-sensing manner, and a partial sensing manner. [0077-0078] pre-sensing manner is a manner that the UE, when meeting a preset threshold condition (the preset threshold condition is set by the eNB or is pre-configured by the UE), senses resources in the exceptional resource pool and selects the required communication resource(s) according to a sensing result)
a first resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the base station (the Mode 3); and a second resource allocation mode in which sidelink resources are to be designated by the wireless device (the Mode 4); (Xu: para. [0056] V2X has two resource scheduling modes of a Mode 3 and a Mode 4, i.e., a base station scheduling mode (the Mode 3) and an automatous selection mode (the Mode 4). In the automatous selection resource mode (the Mode 4), the UE selects a required PC5 interface in a sensing manner and transmits resources through the selected PC5 interface. Para. [0112-0113] V2X communications in the Mode 4 may uses the exceptional resource pool. UE automatously selects a V2X resource, i.e., the Mode 4)
and
sending, by the base station to the wireless device, the sidelink configuration parameters (exceptional resource pool) and one or more channel measurements (preset threshold condition) for the wireless device (Xu: Fig. 3 step 301 and para. [0068] obtaining communication resource selection indication information pre-configured by the network side. para. [0057-0071] communication resource selection indication information may include an exceptional resource pool and a selection manner. Para. [0076] selection manner may include one of: a random selection manner, a pre-sensing manner, and a partial sensing manner. [0077-0078] pre-sensing manner is a manner that the UE, when meeting a preset threshold condition (the preset threshold condition is set by the eNB or is pre-configured by the UE), senses resources in the exceptional resource pool and selects the required communication resource(s) according to a sensing result) to perform (Xu: para. [0077] pre-sensing manner is a manner that the UE, when meeting a preset threshold condition (the preset threshold condition is set by the eNB), senses resources in the exceptional resource pool and selects the required communication resource(s) according to a sensing result. The preset threshold condition may be a pre-sensing threshold condition met by some parameters of a signal processed by the UE. [0078] The pre-sensing threshold may be a threshold of a strength of a received signal or a threshold of a strength of a reference signal, such as a sidelink reference signal received power (S-RSRP), a PSSCH reference signal received power (PSSCH-RSRP), and a sidelink received signal strength indicator (S-RSSI)) to use to
the first resource allocation mode and the second resource allocation mode.
(the Mode 4); (Xu: para. [0056] V2X has two resource scheduling modes of a Mode 3 and a Mode 4, i.e., a base station scheduling mode (the Mode 3) and an automatous selection mode (the Mode 4). In the automatous selection resource mode (the Mode 4), the UE selects a required PC5 interface in a sensing manner and transmits resources through the selected PC5 interface. Para. [0112-0113] V2X communications in the Mode 4 may uses the exceptional resource pool. UE automatously selects a V2X resource, i.e., the Mode 4)
Xu does not explicitly teach: receiving, by a base station from a wireless device, a request for sidelink configuration parameters; wireless device to perform to use to select between the first resource allocation mode and the second resource allocation mode.
However, Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of:
receiving, by a base station from a wireless device, a request for sidelink configuration parameters; (Kang: para. [0082] RRC message transmitted by the terminal to the base station may be a sidelink terminal information (SidelinkUEInformation) or terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation) message, and the MAC CE may be a BSR MAC CE, a scheduling request (SR), or the like including at least one of an indicator indicating a buffer status report (BSR) for V2X communication or information about the size of data buffered for sidelink communication)
wireless device to perform to use to select between the first resource allocation mode and the second resource allocation mode (Kang: para. [0248] In the case of Allocation Mode 2, based on the configuration information for each SL resource pool, the terminal may select an SL resource pool corresponding to the configuration of the SL flow or the SL packet and allocate an SL grant thereto. In the case of Allocation Mode 1, based on the configuration information for each SL resource pool, the base station may select an SL resource pool corresponding to the configuration of the SL flow or the SL packet and allocate an SL grant to the terminal. Para. [0236] terminal may configure whether to use mode1 and/or mode2 (corresponds to claim limitation “selecting between: first mode or second mode”) for the SL flow or the SL packet, which may be configured through PFI/5QI/QFI/PQI to allocation mode mapping in an SLRB configuration setting procedure (pre-configuration or signaling of the base station)). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing congestion control in a side link of V2X communication, and whether the channel connection of a terminal is determined according to whether or not a corresponding channel of the side link is congested, and congestion control is performed via limitation on a configuration range of transmission parameters. For example, when the channel is congested, the terminal drops transmission or controls channel access via scheduling adjustment, and when the terminal accesses the channel, the terminal selects transmission parameters, based on the congestion status of the channel, so that the probability of successful transmission can be improved (Kang: para. [0117]).
Regarding claims 10-13, Xu and Kang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 4-7, and therefore method claims 10-13 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 14, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 8, Xu does not explicitly teaches: further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a message to activate or deactivate at least one of: the first resource allocation mode, or the second resource allocation mode.
Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: further comprising sending, to the wireless device, a message to activate or deactivate at least one of: the first resource allocation mode, or the second resource allocation mode. (Kang: para. [0080] In the case of type 2 CG, the base station 403 may activate and/or deactivate the resource configured by the configuration grant via DCI. Therefore, in the case of mode 1, the base station 403 may transmit the DCI via the PDCCH, thereby indicating the transmitting terminal 401 to finally schedule for sidelink communication with the receiving terminal 402) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing congestion control in a side link of V2X communication, and whether the channel connection of a terminal is determined according to whether or not a corresponding channel of the side link is congested, and congestion control is performed via limitation on a configuration range of transmission parameters. For example, when the channel is congested, the terminal drops transmission or controls channel access via scheduling adjustment, and when the terminal accesses the channel, the terminal selects transmission parameters, based on the congestion status of the channel, so that the probability of successful transmission can be improved (Kang: para. [0117]).
Regarding claim 15, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 8, wherein the one or more channel measurement comprises measurement of at least one of: a quality-of-service (QoS) associated with at least one of the first resource allocation mode or the second resource allocation mode. (Xu: para. [0119] indicating, by a base station, the exceptional resource pool and the selection manner according to a current communication resource situation and a quality of service (QoS) demand of first service data)
Xu does not explicitly teaches: a first channel busy ratio (CBR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; a second CBR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; a second CR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode.
Kang from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches:
a first channel busy ratio (CBR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode; (Kang: para. [0134] congestion of the corresponding channel may be determined based on the CBR value measured by the definition of the CBR. The terminal may report the measured CBR to the base station. Specifically, when the base station and the terminal are connected by Uu-RRC, the CBR value measured by the terminal may be reported to the base station via Uu-RRC. In mode 1 of the sidelink resource allocation schemes, when the transmitting terminal requests the base station to transmit resources for performing sidelink communication with the receiving terminal, the base station may allocate the transmission resources using the reported CBR information)
a first channel occupancy ratio (CR) of a first resource pool for the first resource allocation mode;
a second CBR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode; a second CR of a second resource pool for the second resource allocation mode;
(Kang: para. [0135] in mode 2, the terminal may perform congestion control by measuring a channel occupancy ratio (CR) together with CBR measurement. In this case, the priority of the packet may be reflected. When the transmitting terminal transmits the packet, a value for indicating the priority of the corresponding packet may be transmitted to the receiving terminal via SCI. CR is an index indicating how much the terminal has occupied the channel, and a CR limit for the terminal to occupy the channel may be determined according to the CBR value. For example, when the channel is congested (i.e., when the CBR value is measured high), the CR limit is configured low, and the terminal should perform congestion control so that the measured CR does not exceed the CR limit. In order to perform congestion control, the terminal should drop the transmission or make the CR measured via the scheduling implementation satisfy the CR limit. If the channel is not congested (i.e., when the CBR value is measured low), the CR limit is configured high, and the possibility that the measured CR does not exceed the CR limit increases, so that the terminal may occupy and use the channel more) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Kang in the method of Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for performing congestion control in a side link of V2X communication, and whether the channel connection of a terminal is determined according to whether or not a corresponding channel of the side link is congested, and congestion control is performed via limitation on a configuration range of transmission parameters. For example, when the channel is congested, the terminal drops transmission or controls channel access via scheduling adjustment, and when the terminal accesses the channel, the terminal selects transmission parameters, based on the congestion status of the channel, so that the probability of successful transmission can be improved (Kang: para. [0117]).
Regarding claims 16-22, Xu and Kang teach a first wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the first wireless device to: (Xu: Summary, Fig. 12 and para. [0236] UE includes: at least one processor 120 and a memory 121 and a communications interface 122 and a bus 123. The processor 120 may call logic instructions in the memory 121 to perform the method executed by the UE) and Xu and Kang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1-7, and therefore apparatus claims 16-22 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claims 23 and 25-30, Xu and Kang teach base station comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, (Xu: Summary and para. [0240] and FIG. 13 base station includes processor 130, the memory 131 and the communications interface 132 may communicate with each other via the bus 133. The processor 130 may call logic instructions in the memory 131 to execute the method executed by the base station) configure the base station to: and Xu and Kang teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 8 and 10-15, and therefore apparatus claims 23 and 25-30 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 9 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu and Kang as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. US20210250802 A1, hereinafter Zheng with priority to CN201811297562.1A filed on 2018-11-01.
Regarding claim 9, Xu and Kang teach the method of claim 8, Xu and Kang do not explicitly teach: wherein the sidelink configuration parameters are based on capability of the wireless device.
Zheng from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the sidelink configuration parameters are based on capability of the wireless device. (Zheng: para. [0102] reporting, to the network side device, sidelink capability information supported by the first terminal. Para. [0107 & 0102-0106] After the first terminal reports the sidelink capability information supported by the first terminal to the network side device, the network side device configures the access control parameter for the first terminal based on the sidelink capability information supported by the first terminal, and sends, to the first terminal, the access control parameter configured for the first terminal. The first terminal may perform connection management of sidelink unicast or groupcast based on the received access control parameter, to resolve a congestion problem of a network or a terminal) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Zheng in the method of Xu and Kang. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for first terminal may perform connection management of sidelink unicast or groupcast based on the received access control parameter, to resolve a congestion problem of a network or a terminal (Zheng: para. [0102-0107]).
Regarding claim 24, Xu, Kang and Zheng teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 9, and therefore apparatus claim 24 is rejected using the same rationales.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Min et al. US 20230007629 A1 teaches in para. [0081] sidelink radio resources for V2X communication, that is, mode 3 (the mode in which a resource scheduled by a base station is used) and mode 4 (the mode in which a UE-autonomously selected resource is used).
Dong et al. US 20220086807 A1 teaches in para. [0285] terminal device measures the reference signal based on the control information (that is, measures the reference signal based on the resource location that is of the reference signal and that is indicated by the control information), to obtain an RSRP value, and determines the distance between the terminal device and the second terminal device based on the control information. In this case, if the RSRP value obtained through measurement is greater than the second threshold, and the distance between the terminal device and the second terminal device is less than or equal to the first threshold, the terminal device may determine the unavailable time-frequency resource based on the periodicity of the second service data and the first frequency domain resource, that is, the terminal device can determine that the time-frequency resource reserved by the another terminal device is the unavailable time-frequency resource only when both the two conditions are met.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418