Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by PIERRE ROUSSEAU et al. (Hereinafter, “Pierre”) in the Patent Publication Number FR2673727A1 (Publication Date 1992-09-11).
Regarding claim 1, Pierre teaches a clamp meter (Figure 1) (The invention relates to an ammeter clamp comprising a housing, two arms; Paragraph [0007] Line 1; Figures 1 to 3 represent an ammeter clamp 1 known in itself and comprising a housing 2; Paragraph [0007] Line 29), comprising:
a meter body [31] (parallelepiped housing 31 as the meter body) (Figure 1 shows an ammeter clamp support 30 comprising an elongated parallelepiped housing 31; Paragraph [0008] Line 26-27); and
a measuring section [30] (Clamp support 30 as the measuring section as it because clamp support 30 functions to measure signal using signal processing unit situated on it) (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-40) that includes:
a fixed jaw [5] (a fixed arm 5 as the fixed jaw) (A fixed arm 5 of the clamp 1 is generally U-shaped having a base 6, an inner wing 7 and an outer wing 8; Paragraph [0007] Line 30-31),
wherein the fixed jaw [5] includes a first leg [7] (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre below shows the first leg and the second leg; an inner wing 7 is the first leg) and a second leg [8] (outer wing 8 as the second leg) extending from the meter body [31] (A fixed arm 5 of the clamp 1 is generally U-shaped having a base 6, an inner wing 7 and an outer wing 8, the base and the inner wing 7 being housed respectively in the base portion 3 and the head portion 4 of the housing 2 while the outer wing 8 protrudes, from the edge position 4; Paragraph [0007] Line 30-33; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre below shows the fixed jaw [5] includes a first leg [7] extending from the meter body [31]); and
a movable jaw [10] (movable arm 10 as the movable jaw) that is rotationally coupled to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0007] Line 34-35; two arms of which at least one arm, called movable, is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop and an open position in which they form an open loop; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-4),
wherein the fixed jaw [5] in cooperation with the movable jaw [10] forms an electrical measuring loop (two arms (5, 10) of which at least one so-called movable arm (10) is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm (5) mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4) for measuring an electrical characteristic of an electrical conductor [41] in Figure 3 without galvanically contacting the electrical conductor [41] (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42).
Regarding claim 2, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the movable jaw [10] is configured to rotate about a rotation axis between a closed position (Figure 2) and an open position (Figure 3) (Figures 2 and 3 are enlarged views of the clamp of Figure 1, one showing the clamp closed, and the other the clamp open; Paragraph [0007] Line 26-27; two arms of which at least one arm, called movable, is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop and an open position in which they form an open loop; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-4), and
when the movable jaw [10] is in the open position (Figure 3), the measuring section [30] is able to receive the electrical conductor [41] between the first leg [7] and the second leg [8] of the fixed jaw [5] (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42), and
when the movable jaw [10] is in the closed position (figure 2), the movable
jaw [10] extends from the first leg [8] to the second leg [7] (The arms 5, 10 of the clamp, which are circular in section, have flat surfaces at their ends 11 to 14, intended to be applied to one another. The axis 15 is located on a line 16 5 perpendicular to the flat surfaces of the ends 12, 14 of the branches and passing through a point 17 of contact between these flat surfaces, furthest from the opposite ends 11, 13 of the branches. Thus, the ends 12, 14 can bear properly on each other; Paragraph [0008] Line 1-6; when the movable jaw 10 is in closed position flat surface 11 of the movable jaw extends to the flat surface 13 of the fixed jaw 5 in one side and in another side the flat surface 12 of the movable jaw 10 extends to the flat surface 14 of the fixed jaw 5).
Regarding claim 3, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the measuring section has an overall width when the movable jaw [10] is in the closed position, and the overall width of the measuring section is maintained when the movable jaw is rotated to the open position (claim requires one limitation and is not required by the claim); or
wherein the rotation axis [Line 16] is defined at a first end [12] of the movable jaw [10], and a second end [11] of the movable jaw [10] abuts the second leg [8] of the fixed jaw [5] when the movable jaw [10] is in the closed position (Figures 2 and 3 are enlarged views of the clamp of Figure 1, one showing the clamp closed, and the other the clamp open; Paragraph [0007] Line 26-27; two arms of which at least one arm, called movable, is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop and an open position in which they form an open loop; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-4; Figure 2 shows that the rotation axis is defined at a first end [12] of the movable jaw [10], and a second end [11] of the movable jaw [10] abuts the second leg [8] of the fixed jaw [5] when the movable jaw [10] is in the closed position).
Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre
Regarding claim 4, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the movable jaw [10] is biased towards the closed Position (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [00078] Line 34-35; Advantageously, said means of operation include a leg extending one end of the movable arm, the movable arm pivoting around an axis located between said end and said leg; Paragraph [0007] Line 17-19; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows the movable jaw is biased towards the closed Position and the movable jaw is closed shown in Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the movable jaw [10] is rotationally coupled to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] at a distal end [14] of the first leg [7] (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0007] Line 35-36; The axis 15 is located on a line 16 5 perpendicular to the flat surfaces of the ends 12, 14 of the branches and passing through a point 17 of contact between these flat surfaces, furthest from the opposite ends 11, 13 of the branches. Thus, the ends 12, 14 can bear properly on each other; Paragraph [0008] Line 3-6; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows the movable jaw [10] is rotationally coupled to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] at a distal end [14] of the first leg [7]).
Regarding claim 6, Pierre teaches a clamp meter, further comprising
an actuator [33] (push button 33 as the actuator as it moves the movable jaw between a closed position and an open position) (Claim 6.- Clamp according to claim 5, which includes 10 a push button (33) mounted in the housing (2) so as to be able to slide and cooperating with said leg (20)) configured to move the movable jaw [10] between a closed position (Figure 2) (In the innermost position of the push button 33 shown in Figure 1, the free end of its finger 35 is very close to the leg 20. 30The rail 22 and the groove 32 have means for mutual electrical contact to ensure an electrical connection between the clamp 1 and the clamp support 30; Paragraph [0008] Line 35-38) and an open position (Figure 3) (To do this, he manually moves the push button 33 so as to push the leg 20 towards the inside 5 of the clamp 1, which has the effect of moving the movable arm 10 away from the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0008] Line 43-45; Once the operator has released the push button 33, the leaf spring 2 6 returns the movable arm 10 to its rest position and pushes the push button back to its innermost position; Paragraph [0008] Line 48-50), wherein:
the movable jaw [10] is rotationally coupled to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] by a rotation pair [15] that defines a rotation axis [line 16] on the movable jaw [10] (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5. According to the invention, it is pivotally mounted, in the vicinity of its end 12, around an axis 15 fixed to one end of the base portion 3 of the housing 2 and extending perpendicularly to a plane defined by the two arms 5, 10; Paragraph [0007] Line 34-38), and
a cam pair [20] (leg 20 as the cam pair) (In the vicinity of the end 12 of the movable arm 10 of the pivoting clamp, the arm carries a leg 20 extending in the plane generally defined by the arms, arranged inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the movable arm 10 and
projecting outwards from the housing, in a direction opposite to the axis 15; Paragraph [0008] Line 9-12) couples the movable jaw [10] to the actuator [ 33] to convert motion of the actuator [33] to rotation of the movable jaw [10] about the rotation axis [16] (To do this, he manually moves the push button 33 so as to push the leg 20 towards the inside 5 of the clamp 1, which has the effect of moving the movable arm 10 away from the fixed arm 5. In this operation, the movement of the leg 20 produces two effects: the short wing 28 of the leaf spring 26 is folded towards its long wing 29, and the two wings are folded together inside the housing 2 of the clamp towards a final position illustrated in figure 3. In this final position, a free end of the leg 20 comes to rest against the stop 19. Once the operator has released the push button 33, the leaf spring 2 6 returns the movable arm 10 to its rest position and pushes the push button back to its innermost position; Paragraph [0008] Line 43-50).
Regarding claim 7, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the rotation pair [15] rotationally couples the movable jaw [10] to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] at a distal end of the first leg [7] (Figure 2 shows the rotation pair [15] rotationally couples the movable jaw [10] to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] at a distal end of the first leg [7]), and in the closed position the movable jaw [10] is positioned transverse to the first [7] and second [8] legs of the fixed jaw [5] (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5. According to the invention, it is pivotally mounted, in the vicinity of its end 12, around an axis 15 fixed to one end of the base portion 3 of the housing 2 and extending perpendicularly to a plane defined by the two arms 5, 10; Paragraph [0007] Line 34-38; Figure 2 shows in the closed position the movable jaw [10] is positioned transverse to the first [7] and second [8] legs of the fixed jaw [5]).
Regarding claim 8, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the cam pair [20] cooperates with the rotation pair to convert linear motion of the actuator [33] to rotation of the movable jaw [10] about the rotation axis [16] (In the vicinity of the end 12 of the movable arm 10 of the pivoting clamp, the arm carries a leg 20 extending in the plane generally defined by the arms, arranged inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the movable arm 10 and projecting outwards from the housing, in a direction opposite to the axis 15; Paragraph [0008] Line 9-12; To do this, he manually moves the push button 33 so as to push the leg 20 towards the inside 5 of the clamp 1, which has the effect of moving the movable arm 10 away from the fixed arm 5. In this operation, the movement of the leg 20 produces two effects: the short wing 28 of the leaf spring 26 is folded towards its long wing 29, and the two wings are folded together inside the housing 2 of the clamp towards a final position illustrated in figure 3. In this final position, a free end of the leg 20 comes to rest against the stop 19. Once the operator has released the push button 33, the leaf spring 2 6 returns the movable arm 10 to its rest position and pushes the push button back to its innermost position; Paragraph [0008] Line 43-50; Figure 1 and 2 shows the cam pair [20] cooperates with the rotation pair to convert linear motion of the actuator [33] to rotation of the movable jaw [10] about the rotation axis [16]).
Regarding claim 9, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the cam pair is comprised of a pin [21] (Leg 20 has a convex surface 21, opposite a flat surface 29; Paragraph [0008] Line 13) that couples the movable jaw [10] to a mechanical linkage of the actuator that urges movement of the pin when the actuator [33] is moved (One free end of the long wing 27 extends inside the slot 25, while its short wing 28 applies, when the claw is at rest (figure 2), against the flat surface 29 of the leg 20 and tends to rotate the movable branch 10 towards the fixed branch 5; Paragraph [0008] Line 18-20; The finger 35 is arranged inside the housing 31 and extends in the sliding direction of the push button 33 so that, when the clamp 1 is mounted on the clamp support 30, it faces the domed surface 21 of the leg 20 of the clamp; Paragraph [0008] Line 31-33).
Regarding claim 10, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the actuator includes a sliding switch [33] (push button 33 as the sliding switch of the actuator) (Claim 6.- Clamp according to claim 5, which includes 10 a push button (33) mounted in the housing (2) so as to be able to slide and cooperating with said leg (20)), and the pin of the cam pair is positioned within a slot in the mechanical linkage such that linear motion of the sliding switch causes the mechanical linkage to exert a force on the pin that urges the pin to move relative to the rotation pair (Leg 20 has a convex surface 21, opposite a flat surface 29. 25The base portion 3 of the housing 2 externally carries a T-shaped rail 22 extending along this portion. A side wall 23 of the base portion 3 of the housing 2 has a recess 24 through which the tab 20 passes, and a slot 25 extending in a plane of this wall and dividing it into a thickness. This slot opens into the recess 24, in a region of it furthest from axis 15. A leaf spring 26, made from a sheet of metal, has a V shape comprising a long wing 27 and a short wing 28. One free end of the long wing 27 extends inside the slot 25, while its short wing 28 applies, when the claw is at rest (figure 2), against the flat surface 29 of the leg 20 and tends to rotate the movable branch 10 towards the fixed branch 5; Paragraph [0008] Line 13-20; The finger 35 is arranged inside the housing 31 and extends in the sliding direction of the push button 33 so that, when the clamp 1 is mounted on the clamp support 30, it faces the domed surface 21 of the leg 20 of the clamp; Paragraph [0008] Line 31-33).
Regarding claim 11, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
further comprising a spring element [26] (leaf spring 26 as the spring element) (A leaf spring 26, made from a sheet of metal, has a V shape comprising a long wing 27 and a short wing 28; Paragraph [0008] Line 17-18) operably connected to the actuator to bias the movable jaw [10] toward the closed position (Figure 2) (A leaf spring 26, made from a sheet of metal, has a V shape comprising a long wing 27 and a short wing 28. One free end of the long wing 27 extends inside the slot 25, while its short wing 28 applies, when the claw is at rest (figure 2), against the flat surface 29 of the leg 20 and tends to rotate the movable branch 10 towards the fixed branch 5; Paragraph [0008] Line 17-21).
Regarding claim 12, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
further comprising a slider pair [27, 28] (short wing and long wing as the slider pair) comprised of a pin [15] and corresponding slot [25] that guides linear motion of the actuator with respect to the fixed jaw [5] (A leaf spring 26, made from a sheet of metal, has a V shape comprising a long wing 27 and a short wing 28. One free end of the long wing 27 extends inside the slot 25, while its short wing 28 applies, when the claw is at rest (figure 2), against the flat surface 29 of the leg 20 and tends to rotate the movable branch 10 towards the fixed branch 5. Optionally, the long wing 27 can be fixed in the slot 25; Paragraph [0008] Line 17-22; Figure 2 shows a slider pair [27, 28] (short wing and long wing as the slider pair) comprised of a pin [15] and corresponding slot [25] that guides linear motion of the actuator with respect to the fixed jaw [5]).
Regarding claim 13, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the first [7] and second legs [8] of the fixed jaw [5] are spaced apart from each other and form a fork that is sized to receive an electrical conductor [41] when the movable jaw [10] is in an open position (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42; Figure 3 (a): Modified Figure 3 of Pierre below shows the first [7] and second legs [8] of the fixed jaw [5] are spaced apart from each other and form a fork that is sized to receive an electrical conductor when the movable jaw is in an open position).
Figure 3 (a): Modified Figure 3 of Pierre
Regarding claim 14, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein the first [7] and second [8] legs of the fixed jaw [5] form a U-shaped fork (Figure 3 (a): Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows the first [7] and second [8] legs of the fixed jaw form a U-shaped fork).
Regarding claim 15, Pierre teaches a clamp meter,
wherein a first end [12] of the movable jaw [10] is rotationally coupled to an end [14] of the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5], and when the movable jaw is in a closed position (Figure 3) (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0007] Line 35-36; The axis 15 is located on a line 16 5 perpendicular to the flat surfaces of the ends 12, 14 of the branches and passing through a point 17 of contact between these flat surfaces, furthest from the opposite ends 11, 13 of the branches. Thus, the ends 12, 14 can bear properly on each other; Paragraph [0008] Line 3-6; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows a first end [12] of the movable jaw [10] is rotationally coupled to an end [14] of the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5], and when the movable jaw is in a closed position),
a second end [11] of the movable jaw [10] is positioned against an end of the second leg [13] of fixed jaw [5] such that (the movable jaw [10] bridges the first [7] and second legs [8] of the fixed jaw [5] (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0007] Line 35-36; The axis 15 is located on a line 16 5 perpendicular to the flat surfaces of the ends 12, 14 of the branches and passing through a point 17 of contact between these flat surfaces, furthest from the opposite ends 11, 13 of the branches. Thus, the ends 12, 14 can bear properly on each other; Paragraph [0008] Line 3-6; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows a second end [11] of the movable jaw [10] is positioned against an end of the second leg [13] of fixed jaw [5] such that (the movable jaw [10] bridges the first [7] and second legs [8] of the fixed jaw [5]).
Regarding claim 16, Pierre teaches a method for electrical measurement using a clamp meter (Figure 1) (The invention relates to an ammeter clamp comprising a housing, two arms; Paragraph [0007] Line 1; Figures 1 to 3 represent an ammeter clamp 1 known in itself and comprising a housing 2; Paragraph [0007] Line 29; In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 40-42), comprising:
actuating a movable jaw [10] (movable arm 10 as the movable jaw) (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0007] Line 34-35) of a clamp meter to open (Figure 3) a measuring section [30] (Clamp support 30 as the measuring section as it because clamp support 30 functions to measure signal using signal processing unit situated on it) (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-40) of the clamp meter [1] (two arms of which at least one arm, called movable, is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop and an open position in which they form an open loop; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-4),
the measuring section [30] (Clamp support 30 as the measuring section as it because clamp support 30 functions to measure signal using signal processing unit situated on it) (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-40) including first [7] and second legs [8] (Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows the first leg and the second leg; an inner wing 7 is the first leg, outer wing 8 as the second leg) of a fixed jaw [5] (a fixed arm 5 as the fixed jaw) (A fixed arm 5 of the clamp 1 is generally U-shaped having a base 6, an inner wing 7 and an outer wing 8; Paragraph [0007] Line 30-31) that extend from a meter body [31] (parallelepiped housing 31 as the meter body) (Figure 1 shows an ammeter clamp support 30 comprising an elongated parallelepiped housing 31; Paragraph [0008] Line 26-27) of the clamp meter(A fixed arm 5 of the clamp 1 is generally U-shaped having a base 6, an inner wing 7 and an outer wing 8, the base and the inner wing 7 being housed respectively in the base portion 3 and the head portion 4 of the housing 2 while the outer wing 8 protrudes, from the edge position 4; Paragraph [0007] Line 30-33; Figure 3: Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows the fixed jaw [5] includes a first leg [7] extending from the meter body [31]);
wherein actuating the movable jaw [10] includes rotating the movable jaw [10] about a rotation axis [16] on the movable jaw [10] between a closed position (Figure 2) and an open position (Figure 3) (Figures 2 and 3 are enlarged views of the clamp of Figure 1, one showing the clamp closed, and the other the clamp open; Paragraph [0007] Line 26-27; two arms of which at least one arm, called movable, is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop and an open position in which they form an open loop; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-4);
receiving an electrical conductor [41] in Figure 3 into the measuring section [30] when the movable jaw [10] is actuated towards or at the open position (Figure 3) (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42; two arms (5, 10) of which at least one so-called movable arm (10) is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm (5) mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop; Paragraph [0006] Line 1-4),
actuating the movable jaw [10] to the closed position (Figure 2) in which the movable jaw [10] bridges the first [7] and second legs [8] of the fixed jaw [5], and together with the fixed jaw [5], forms a measuring loop around the electrical conductor [41] In Figure 3 in the measuring section (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0007] Line 35-36; The axis 15 is located on a line 16 5 perpendicular to the flat surfaces of the ends 12, 14 of the branches and passing through a point 17 of contact between these flat surfaces, furthest from the opposite ends 11, 13 of the branches. Thus, the ends 12, 14 can bear properly on each other; Paragraph [0008] Line 3-6; Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42); and
measuring an electrical characteristic of the electrical conductor [41] without galvanically contacting the electrical conductor [41] (Figure 3 shows without galvanically contacting) (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42).
Regarding claim 17, Pierre teaches a method, further comprising
sliding an actuator [33] (push button 33 as the actuator as it moves the movable jaw between a closed position and an open position) (Claim 6.- Clamp according to claim 5, which includes 10 a push button (33) mounted in the housing (2) so as to be able to slide and cooperating with said leg (20)) along a linear path to actuate the movable jaw [10] (Figure 2) (In the innermost position of the push button 33 shown in Figure 1, the free end of its finger 35 is very close to the leg 20. 30The rail 22 and the groove 32 have means for mutual electrical contact to ensure an electrical connection between the clamp 1 and the clamp support 30; Paragraph [0008] Line 35-38) and an open position (Figure 3) (To do this, he manually moves the push button 33 so as to push the leg 20 towards the inside 5 of the clamp 1, which has the effect of moving the movable arm 10 away from the fixed arm 5; Paragraph [0008] Line 43-45; Once the operator has released the push button 33, the leaf spring 2 6 returns the movable arm 10 to its rest position and pushes the push button back to its innermost position; Paragraph [0008] Line 48-50), wherein:
the movable jaw [10] is rotationally coupled to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] by a rotation pair [15] that defines a rotation axis [line 16] on the movable jaw [10] (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5. According to the invention, it is pivotally mounted, in the vicinity of its end 12, around an axis 15 fixed to one end of the base portion 3 of the housing 2 and extending perpendicularly to a plane defined by the two arms 5, 10; Paragraph [0007] Line 34-38), and
a cam pair [20] (leg 20 as the cam pair) (In the vicinity of the end 12 of the movable arm 10 of the pivoting clamp, the arm carries a leg 20 extending in the plane generally defined by the arms, arranged inclined with respect to a longitudinal axis of the movable arm 10 and
projecting outwards from the housing, in a direction opposite to the axis 15; Paragraph [0008] Line 9-12) is coupled to the movable jaw [10] and the actuator [ 33] to convert linear motion of the actuator [33] to rotation of the movable jaw [10] (To do this, he manually moves the push button 33 so as to push the leg 20 towards the inside 5 of the clamp 1, which has the effect of moving the movable arm 10 away from the fixed arm 5. In this operation, the movement of the leg 20 produces two effects: the short wing 28 of the leaf spring 26 is folded towards its long wing 29, and the two wings are folded together inside the housing 2 of the clamp towards a final position illustrated in figure 3. In this final position, a free end of the leg 20 comes to rest against the stop 19. Once the operator has released the push button 33, the leaf spring 2 6 returns the movable arm 10 to its rest position and pushes the push button back to its innermost position; Paragraph [0008] Line 43-50; Figure 3 shows that the actuator [ 33] convert linear motion of the actuator [33] to rotation of the movable jaw [10] by moving the jaw).
Regarding claim 18, Pierre teaches a method,
wherein sliding the actuator [33] along the linear path causes a mechanical linkage coupled to the cam pair [20] to convert the linear motion of the actuator [33] to rotation of the movable jaw [10] about the rotation axis (One free end of the long wing 27 extends inside the slot 25, while its short wing 28 applies, when the claw is at rest (figure 2), against the flat surface 29 of the leg 20 and tends to rotate the movable branch 10 towards the fixed branch 5; Paragraph [0008] Line 18-20; The finger 35 is arranged inside the housing 31 and extends in the sliding direction of the push button 33 so that, when the clamp 1 is mounted on the clamp support 30, it faces the domed surface 21 of the leg 20 of the clamp; Paragraph [0008] Line 31-33),
the cam pair [20] including a pin that couples the movable jaw [10] to the mechanical linkage that urges movement of the pin [21] relative to the rotation pair when the actuator is slid along the linear path (Leg 20 has a convex surface 21, opposite a flat surface 29. 25The base portion 3 of the housing 2 externally carries a T-shaped rail 22 extending along this portion. A side wall 23 of the base portion 3 of the housing 2 has a recess 24 through which the tab 20 passes, and a slot 25 extending in a plane of this wall and dividing it into a thickness. This slot opens into the recess 24, in a region of it furthest from axis 15. A leaf spring 26, made from a sheet of metal, has a V shape comprising a long wing 27 and a short wing 28. One free end of the long wing 27 extends inside the slot 25, while its short wing 28 applies, when the claw is at rest (figure 2), against the flat surface 29 of the leg 20 and tends to rotate the movable branch 10 towards the fixed branch 5; Paragraph [0008] Line 13-20; The finger 35 is arranged inside the housing 31 and extends in the sliding direction of the push button 33 so that, when the clamp 1 is mounted on the clamp support 30, it faces the domed surface 21 of the leg 20 of the clamp; Paragraph [0008] Line 31-33).
Regarding claim 19, Pierre teaches a method,
wherein the rotation pair [15] rotationally couples the movable jaw [10] to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] at a distal end of the first leg [7] (Figure 2 shows the rotation pair [15] rotationally couples the movable jaw [10] to the first leg [7] of the fixed jaw [5] at a distal end of the first leg [7]), and when the movable jaw [10] is rotated from open position to the closed position, the movable jaw [10] is positioned transverse to the first [7] and second [8] legs of the fixed jaw [5] (A movable arm 10 of the clamp 1 is generally straight in shape and has two ends 11, 12 arranged to bear against two ends 13, 14 of the fixed arm 5. According to the invention, it is pivotally mounted, in the vicinity of its end 12, around an axis 15 fixed to one end of the base portion 3 of the housing 2 and extending perpendicularly to a plane defined by the two arms 5, 10; Paragraph [0007] Line 34-38; Figure 2 shows in the closed position the movable jaw [10] is positioned transverse to the first [7] and second [8] legs of the fixed jaw [5]).
Regarding claim 20, Pierre teaches a method,
further comprising actuating the movable jaw [10] to the closed position to close the measuring section [30] of the clamp meter (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42),
wherein the first [7] and second legs [8] of the fixed jaw [5] are spaced apart from each other and form a fork sized to receive an electrical conductor [41] when the movable jaw [10] is in an open position (Advantageously, the clamp support 30 can constitute an electronic signal processing unit for signals from the clamp 1 and include for this purpose a printed circuit board 3 6, adjustment knobs 37 and power supply means 39. In use, an operator, seeking to measure the intensity of a current passing through a conductor 41 extending linearly, places the clamp 1 around it; Paragraph [0008] Line 38-42; Figure 3 (a): Modified Figure 3 of Pierre above shows the first [7] and second legs [8] of the fixed jaw [5] are spaced apart from each other and form a fork that is sized to receive an electrical conductor when the movable jaw is in an open position); and
when the movable jaw [10] is actuated to close the measuring section [30], the movable jaw[10] rotates about the rotation axis to the closed position in which the movable jaw abuts the second leg [8] of the fixed jaw [5] and closes the measuring loop (Figures 2 and 3 are enlarged views of the clamp of Figure 1, one showing the clamp closed, and the other the clamp open; Paragraph [0007] Line 26-27; two arms of which at least one arm, called movable, is mounted in the housing so as to be able to pivot, relative to the other arm mounted fixed in the housing, between a closed position in which the two arms form a closed loop and an open position in which they form an open loop; Paragraph [0007] Line 1-4; Figure 2 shows that the rotation axis is defined at a first end [12] of the movable jaw [10], and a second end [11] of the movable jaw [10] abuts the second leg [8] of the fixed jaw [5] and closes the measuring loop).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Gregorec (US 20050184722 A1) discloses, “Clamp Meter With Dual Display- [0005] A clamp meter having multiple displays mounted in separate planes. At least one of the displays will be readily visible regardless of the orientation of the meter. 0013] FIGS. 1-4 illustrate a clamp meter 10 according to the present invention. The clamp meter has an elongated housing 12 that mounts a first digital display 14. The display is mounted such that its outer surface is generally contiguous with the front face 16 of the housing. Two input jacks 18, 20 are provided for receiving test leads (not shown). The housing 12 is made from a hard, durable, lightweight plastic material. Also included on the front face 16 is a series of pushbuttons 22A-22D for selecting one or more of the testing functions of the meter. A selector knob or dial 24 is disposed on the front face 16 for choosing an electrical measurement mode. [0014] Extending from the top of the housing is a pair of rigid clamp jaws 26, 28. Typically one of the jaws is pivotally mounted in the housing. In the embodiment shown jaw 26 is movable. Jaw 26 is spring-biased to a closed position against fixed jaw 28. The jaws 26, 28 have an arcuate shape to present outer convex surfaces 30 and inner concave surfaces 32. The ends of the outer surfaces are slightly offset to form a tip 34 at the end of fixed jaw 28. Tip 34 permits manipulation of electrical wires. Inside the jaws are electrical coils (not shown) which are connected to appropriate circuitry in the housing for detecting electrical properties of a conductor placed within the clamp jaws. These coils and circuitry are conventional. The internal circuitry displays the selected parameter on the displays. [0015] A trigger 36 extends from the side of the housing 12 and is attached to the movable jaw. Preferably, as shown in FIG. 2, the trigger 36 is integrally formed with the movable jaw 26. Depressing the trigger 36 toward the housing causes the movable jaw 26 to pivot away from the fixed jaw 28 and move to the open position, as shown in FIG. 2. Once the clamp jaw 26 is in the open position, the multimeter 10 can be positioned to pass the jaws 26, 28 around a conductor. This is illustrated schematically in FIG. 2 where the conductor C is shown in two different positions; one just as it clears the opening between the jaws 26, 28 and one where it is seated against the top of the housing 12. When the trigger 36 is released, movable clamp jaw 26 closes around the conductor C, as shown in FIG. 1, to permit a current measurement to be taken. The clamp jaws 26, 28 can be designed to accommodate a number of different conductor diameters. Although conductor C is shown contacting the inner surfaces 32 of jaws 26, 28 in FIG. 1, it is not necessary that they do so. However, in order to measure the current carried by a conductor, the clamp jaws 26, 28 must surround the conductor as shown in FIG. 1-However Gregorec does not disclose the fixed jaw includes a first leg and a second leg extending from the meter body; and a movable jaw that is rotationally coupled to the first leg of the fixed jaw.”
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858