Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over North et al. (US 4467527) “North”, in view of Hopkins (US 5689545) “Hopkins”.
Regarding claim 1, North discloses a level system (10), comprising: a level module (16) comprising a sensor (116), a display (22), and control elements (126) configured to provide level indications (48) on the display based on data (132, 130, 134) collected by the sensor; and at least one level extrusion (12), the level extrusion comprising a structural arrangement (94) configured to independently receive and retain (Column 6; lines 65-70, and Column 7; lines 1-5) the level module (16).
North does not disclose a set of one or more illumination elements.
Hopkins teaches one or more illumination elements (30, 32, 34, 36, 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Hopkins’ one or more illumination elements in North’s level system, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Regarding claim 2, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1.
North does not disclose an endcap.
Hopkins teaches an endcap (end portions of 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Hopkins’ one or more illumination elements placed in an endcap in North’s level system, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Regarding claim 3, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1.
North does not disclose the set of one or more illumination elements are selectively controlled to provide one or more visual lighting cues.
Hopkins teaches the set of one or more illumination elements (30, 32, 34, 36, 38) are selectively controlled (18) to provide one or more visual lighting cues (Column 3; lines 1-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have Hopkins’ set of one or more illumination elements selectively controlled to provide one or more visual lighting cues in North’s level system, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Regarding claim 4, North discloses the level system as described in claim 3.
North does not disclose a visual cue provides a movement direction.
Hopkins teaches a visual cue (Illuminated LEDs 30, 32, 34, 36, 38) provides a movement direction (Column 3; lines 18-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Hopkins’ visual cue to provide a movement direction in North’s level system, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Regarding claim 6, North discloses the level system as described in claim 1.
North does not disclose the set of one or more illumination elements comprise one of: an LED, an LED strip, and a discrete illumination bulb or fixture.
Hopkins teaches the set of one or more illumination elements (30, 32, 34, 36, 38) comprise one of: an LED (“LED”), an LED strip, and a discrete illumination bulb or fixture.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Hopkins’ an LED as one or more illumination elements in North’s level system, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Regarding claim 7, North and Hopkins disclose the level system as described in claim 1, wherein the set of one or more illumination elements (Hopkins; 30, 32, 34, 36, 38) is powered by the control elements (North; 126) in the level module (North; 16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use North’s control elements to power Hopkins’ one or more illumination elements, more reliably giving a user direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Regarding claim 8, North and Hopkins disclose the level system as described in claim 1, wherein the level extrusion (North; 12) comprises a pair of endcaps (Hopkins; end portions of 16), and each endcap comprises the set of one or more illumination elements (Hopkins; 30, 32, 34, 36, 38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Hopkins’ endcaps with illumination elements in North’s level system, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in North view of Hopkins.
Regarding claim 9, North discloses a level (10), comprising: an extrusion (12) configured to be positioned on a surface (“planar surface”) and to provide a level indication (48).
North does not disclose at least one cap positioned at an end; thereof at least one lighting element configured in the at least one cap; and a control element responsive to a position or orientation to selectively control the at least one lighting element to output a visual cue, the visual cue providing a visual indication of a direction of movement to facilitate a level determination.
Hopkins teaches at least one cap positioned at an end (end portions of 16); thereof at least one lighting element (30, 32, 34, 36, 38) configured in the at least one cap; and a control element (18) responsive to a position or orientation (Column 3; lines 8-13) to selectively control the at least one lighting element to output a visual cue (Column 3; lines 1-20), the visual cue providing an visual indication (30, 32, 34, 36, 38) of a direction of movement to facilitate a level determination (Column 3; lines 18-22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Hopkins’ lighting element in a cap to provide a visual cue in North’s level, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, North discloses the level as described in claim 9, further including a level module (16) configured to be coupled within an opening (Column 6; lines 65-70, and Column 7; lines 1-5) in the extrusion (12), the level module including at least one display (22) on which the level indication (48) is output.
North does not disclose the at least one lighting element includes a light emitting diode (LED).
Hopkins teaches the at least one lighting element (30, 32, 34, 36, 38) includes a light emitting diode (“LED”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use an LED as Hopkins’ lighting element in North’s level, giving a user a more reliable visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over North and Hopkins, in view of Zhuang (DE 102013108928) “Zhuang”.
Regarding claim 5, North and Hopkins disclose the level system as described in claim 3.
Neither North or Hopkins disclose a color, a color transition, a set of different colors, illumination of a given light frequency, and a light strobe.
Zhuang disclose a color (“ LED color”), a color transition, a set of different colors, illumination of a given light frequency (“blinking”), and a light strobe (“LED flashing”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Zhuang’s a color, color transition, set of different colors, illumination of given light frequency, and a light strobe in North’s level system, giving a user more direct visual indication of leveling status and adjustment direction.
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855