DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The amendment of 08/04/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 7-8, 19, 30-35, 37, and 42-47 are pending in this US patent application. Claims 42-45 and 47 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/15/2026.
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 19, 30-35, 37, and 46 are currently under examination and were examined on their merits.
Claim Interpretation
Several ingredients in the instantly claimed composition are listed as “extracts” of various plants. The type of extract or the contents of said extract are not limited in any way in the claims, and no definition of the “extract” is provided in the instant specification. As such, any prior art substance that could possibly be extracted from the recited plants will be interpreted as an “extract” of said plant, regardless of whether the prior art teaches the extraction of the substance from the specific plant. See MPEP § 2113.
Several of the instant claims (33-34, 37, and 46) recite the claimed composition “for use” in particular ways. A composition is not limited by its intended use (see MPEP § 2111). Additionally, the elected claims are drawn to a composition, not to a method of administration. As such, any claims that recite the composition’s “use” or desired steps of administering the compound will be interpreted as being drawn to the claimed composition alone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 19, 30-35, 37, and 46 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more.
The statutory categories of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 are processes, machines, manufactures, and compositions of matter. However, certain members of these categories constitute judicial exceptions, i.e., the courts have determined that these entities are not patentable subject matter. These judicial exceptions include abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena. The Office released guidance on January 7, 2019 for the examination of claims reciting natural products under 35 U.S.C. 101 in light of the recent Supreme Court decisions in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc. (569 U.S. ___, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (2013)) and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories (566 U.S. ___, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)). This guidance indicates that claims must pass an eligibility test to avoid rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. Under this test, the product must (a) not be directed to a judicial exception or must (b) contain additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
‘Directed to a judicial exception’ analysis:
Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties. Non-limiting examples of characteristics that can determine the presence of a marked difference include biological or pharmacological functions or activities; chemical and physical properties; phenotype, including functional and structural characteristics; and structure and form, whether chemical, genetic, or physical.
All of the ingredients of the claimed composition are naturally-occurring compounds. Recitations of differences in concentration or intended use do not constitute marked differences, nor does a recitation that the composition is present within a “capsule,” as this recitation is sufficiently broad to read on simply placing the judicial exception composition within a container.
Prong Two: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
The claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because the claims do not recite any additional elements other than the judicial exception.
‘Significantly more’ analysis:
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims do not recite any additional elements other than the judicial exception.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 7-8, 19, 30-35, 37, and 46 are directed to subject matter that is not patent-eligible and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 7, 19, 30-35, 37, and 46 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gaul et al., The Journal of Headache and Pain 16: 32 (2015).
Gaul teaches a composition comprising magnesium, coenzyme Q10, thiamin, zinc, 0.5 mg copper, and chromium, along with vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin E, riboflavin, folic acid, biotin, vitamin B12, niacin, vitamin B6, vitamin D, pantothenic acid, iron, manganese, molybdenum, selenium, and bioflavonoids incorporated into a capsule form (see entire document, including page 2, right column, paragraph 3; reads on claims 1-2, 7, 19, 30-35, and 46; see above under Claim Interpretation for the Examiner’s interpretation of the “uses” recited in instant claims 33-34, 37, and 46; the Examiner further notes that each of bitter melon, fenugreek, cinnamon, ginger, and ginseng contains at least one of vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin E, riboflavin, folic acid, biotin, vitamin B12, niacin, vitamin B6, vitamin D, pantothenic acid, iron, manganese, molybdenum, and selenium, and so Gaul’s composition contains “extracts” of these plants [see above under Claim Interpretation]).
Therefore, claims 1-2, 7, 19, 30-35, and 46 are anticipated by Gaul and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-2, 7-8, 19, 30-35, and 46 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Gaul et al., The Journal of Headache and Pain 16: 32 (2015).
As discussed above, claims 1-2, 7, 19, 30-35, and 46 are anticipated by Gaul. However, Gaul does not teach the weight percents of the ingredients in the composition as recited in instant claim 8.
Gaul does not teach the total weight of the composition, and so it cannot be determined whether the amounts of the ingredients in Gaul’s composition fall within the weight percent ranges recited in instant claim 8. “As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). The Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicants’ composition differs and, if so, to what extent, from that of discussed references. Therefore, with the showing of the references, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the Applicants.
Even if, arguendo, the amounts of the ingredients in Gaul’s composition do not fall within the instantly recited weight percent ranges, the instantly recited ranges would be within the realm of routine experimentation. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP § 2144.05 part II A. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time Applicants' invention was made to determine all operable and optimal concentrations of each of the ingredients in Gaul’s composition because the amount of an ingredient in a nutritional supplement is an art-recognized, result-effective variable known to affect the therapeutic effect of the supplement on the recipient, which would have been optimized in the art to provide the desired therapeutic effect.
Therefore, claims 1-2, 7-8, 19, 30-35, and 46 are anticipated by or, in the alternative, rendered obvious by Gaul and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or, in the alternative, 35 U.S.C. 103.
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation…103 likely bars its patentability…if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions……the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has traversed the above rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101. Applicant states that the claimed composition exhibits synergistic integration of the plant extracts with the other ingredients that results in unexpected therapeutic effects that are not inherent to any of the individual ingredients or any naturally occurring mixture thereof. Applicant states that the Examiner should apply the markedly different characteristics analysis to the nature-based combination, not to the separate ingredients, and that the Examiner has not identified the selected natural counterpart to which the claimed combination is compared. Applicant states that the excipients and intended uses integrate the composition into a practical application (remarks, pages 6-7). This argument has been fully considered but has not been found persuasive.
The Examiner notes that the allegedly unexpected results were obtained with a specific composition comprising highly specific plant extracts and the other recited ingredients at specific concentrations. The instant claims, in contrast, do not limit the plant extracts in any way, and so they are broad enough to encompass any substance that may be extracted from the recited plants. As such, the allegedly unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims and cannot be viewed as a marked difference from any naturally occurring substances. Applicant has provided no evidence that the claimed composition exhibits any markedly different characteristics when compared to the individual ingredients over the full scope of the claimed composition. As described in MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II)(A), when examining a combination of natural products, the relevant natural counterpart is defined in the MPEP as the individual components of the mixture.
The Examiner further notes that the instant claims are drawn to a composition, which is not limited by any intended use, whether recited in the claims or not. A composition cannot be integrated into an application, which is a method. Additionally, Applicant’s claims do not provide any limitation of the excipients in claim 30, and so this incredibly broad term easily encompasses a large number of naturally occurring products, such as water. As such, the Examiner reiterates what was stated above and in the previous Office action: all of the ingredients of Applicant’s claimed composition occur in nature, and there is no evidence of a markedly different characteristic that is present in every embodiment of the claimed composition.
Applicant has traversed the above rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(1) and 103 over Gaul. Applicant states that the Examiner’s interpretation that the generic vitamins and minerals in Gaul somehow constitute “extracts” of the recited plants is legally incorrect. Applicant states that, as used throughout the specification and claims, “extract” refers to a substance obtained by extraction from the named plant material itself, whereas Gaul only teaches isolated or synthetic nutrients. Applicant states that Gaul teaches different amounts than recited in claims 8 and 19 and a different use than the recited use of normalizing glucose levels or improving glycemic control in subjects with metabolic disease (remarks, pages 8-11). This argument has been fully considered but has not been found persuasive.
As discussed above and in the previous Office action, the type of extract or the contents of said extract are not limited in any way in the claims, and no definition of the “extract” is provided in the instant specification. As discussed in MPEP § 2113, cited above and in the previous Office action, a substance is limited only by its structure, not by the method used to obtain it. If a substance would have the same chemical structure when isolated from a plant as it would if made synthetically, then any prior art reference that contains the substance regardless of its source will qualify as a “plant extract,” in light of the complete lack of any structural limitation whatsoever on the claimed extracts. If Applicant would like the claims to reflect specific plant extracts, Applicant is invited to amend the claims to include the relevant structural limitations. The Examiner further notes that compositions are not limited by their intended uses, as discussed above and in the previous Office action. Claim 8 is not included in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (only in the 102/103 rejection resulting from the lack of Gaul’s discussion of the weight of the entire composition), and claim 19 does recite that the composition contains 0.5 mg of copper, which is within the range of amounts of copper recited in instant claim 19, contrary to Applicant’s assertion. See citation above and in the previous Office action.
Applicant states that Gaul does not teach the amounts recited in the instant claims, which Applicant alleges provide unexpected synergistic results, or the intended use of the composition (remarks, page 10-11). This argument has been fully considered but has not been found persuasive because, as discussed above, the alleged unexpected results are not commensurate in scope with the instant claims, which are significantly broader than the composition used to demonstrate the allegedly unexpected synergy.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning (remarks, page 10), it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971). All of the statements made above and in the previous Office action regarding the composition of Gaul rely solely upon the Gaul reference, not on Applicant’s disclosure. As such, the Examiner’s reconstruction is proper.
Therefore, the Examiner has maintained the rejections presented above and in the previous Office action.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Erin M. Bowers/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653 10/06/2026