DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The substitute specification filed June 17, 2026 has not been entered because it does not conform to 37 CFR 1.125(b) and (c) because: it appears to introduce new matter to the specification.
The amendment filed June 17, 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: the specification and figures do not disclose a “connection surface.”
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “connection surface” must be shown or the feature canceled from the claim. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, amendments submitted in response on June 17, 2026 render the claim unclear. The newly added limitations of the “along a direction parallel to a connection surface” are unclear what the connection surface is or how the first and second clamping surfaces are interpreted along a direction parallel to the connections surface. For the purpose of examination, the first and second clamping surfaces will be interpreted relative to axis A-A of Figure 2.
All other claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianke et al. (CN209629877, hereinafter “Jianke”) in view of Gang et al. (CN213525594, hereinafter “Gang”) in further view of Fairley et al. (US 2014/0308625 A1, hereinafter “Fairley”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jianke discloses a nozzle structure (Figure 1, 100) comprising a base (10) and a nozzle connected to the base (20), where the base is provided with a receiving groove (see annotated Figure 2 below). Jianke further discloses that the base is provided with a water inlet channel (see annotated Figure 2 below) communicated with the receiving groove, and the nozzle is provided with a water outlet channel (21) configured to facilitate outflow of whitening liquid (water outlet channel 21 is capable of allowing outflow of a whitening liquid), and a filter screen (40) that could be used for filtering the whitening liquid is installed at one side of the water outlet channel.
Jianke further discloses that the base comprises a first installation portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) and a second installation portion (see annotated Figure 1 below), and the first installation portion is detachably connected to the nozzle (via threads as seen in Figure 2). Jianke further discloses that the second installation portion is provided with a clamping slot (see annotated Figure 1 below) for clamping the base, and the clamping slot is in an annular shape (as seen in Figure 1) with a first clamping surface (top of clamping slot) and a second clamping surface (bottom of clamping slot) are provided inside the clamping slot (as seen in Figure 1).
Additionally, Jianke discloses that the nozzle is provided with an installation groove communicated with the water outlet channel, the filter screen is embedded in the installation groove (as seen in Figure 2), and the installation groove is provided with a fastening block (50) for abutting against the filter screen.
Jianke discloses the invention substantially as described above, but does not specifically teach that relative to a direction parallel to a connection surface between the base and the nozzle(i.e. a longitudinal axis of the device), the first clamping surface is in an inclined plane and the second clamping surface is in a horizontal plane.
In the same art of dental nozzles, Gang teaches a clamping slot with two surfaces (annotated below) with the first clamping surface in an inclined plane relative to a longitudinal axis of the device, and the second clamping surface is in a horizontal plane relative to a longitudinal axis of the device. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the clamping surfaces of Jianke with an inclined plane of the first clamping surface and a horizontal plane of the second clamping surface relative to a longitudinal axis of the device in order to provide a more gentle clamping action upon insertion of the nozzle and reduce wear and tear on the clamping structure.
Jianke in view of Gang discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose that a whitening agent is provided inside the receiving groove. In the similar art of dental delivery devices, Fairley teaches the use of a whitening agent (Figure 2, particles 28, described in [0020] as a tooth whitening agent and housed in capsules 34) with a base and a nozzle that is configured to allow outflow of a whitening liquid (as seen in Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Jianke in view of Gang with a whitening capsule as taught by Fairley in the receiving groove in order to whiten the teeth.
Regarding Claim 2, Jianke in view of Gang in further view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above and Jianke further discloses that the nozzle is threadedly connected to the base (via threads 11).
Regarding Claim 7, Jianke in view of Gang in further view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 6 as described above and Jianke further discloses that the fastening block is provided with a through hole communicated with the installation groove (fastening block 50 has a through hole as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above and Jianke further discloses that a sealing ring is provided between the base and the nozzle (70).
Regarding Claim 10, Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley discloses an oral irrigator (Figure 1), comprising an oral irrigator body (10) and the nozzle structure according to claim 1 as described above, where the nozzle structure is detachably installed (as seen in Figure 1, the nozzle structure can be detached via threads 11) at the oral irrigator body, and the nozzle structure is configured to spray the whitening liquid (as seen in Figure 1 of Jianke, the tip of nozzle 20 is configured to spray a liquid, which as modified by Fairley as described above would be a whitening liquid).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley and in further view of LIU et al. (US 2022/0110731 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 3, Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above, but does not disclose that the base and the nozzle are connected through screws. In the similar art of oral irrigators, Liu teaches the use of screws to securely fasten parts of the device (Figure 3, b, a described in [0045]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to secure the base to the nozzle of the device of Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley with screws as taught by Liu in order to provide a secure attachment.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above, but does not disclose that the nozzle is snapped on and fastened to the base and provided with a positioning post, and the nozzle is provided with a positioning hole configured to be snapped on and match with the positioning post. Liu teaches the use of a positioning element and a buckle system that snaps into place ([0046-0047]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the positioning post and buckle of Liu as the fastening mechanism of the device of Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley in order to connect and lock the base and nozzle elements together and provide angular positioning correction.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley in further view of Mueller (US 2012/00282570).
Regarding Claim 9, Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above, but does not teach that the whitening agent is a solid tablet or a paste. In the similar art of tooth cleaning devices, Mueller teaches the use of a tablet containing mildly abrasive cleaning ingredients ([0010]) that are mixed with water and dispersed in a water jet (nozzle). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the whitening agent of Jianke in of Gang in further view of Fairley with a tablet structure as taught by Mueller as the delivery method in order to provide a more compact delivery system for particles without the need for a capsule.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim1-5 and 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on the teaching of Gang to meet the newly added claim limitations.
Conclusion
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772