DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, amendments submitted in response on November 21, 2025 render the claim unclear. The newly added limitations of the “first clamping surface is in an inclined plane” and “the second clamping surface is in a horizontal plane” are unclear as it is not claimed what these elements are in an inclined plane or a horizontal plane relative to, i.e. what axis is being used for the orientation of the newly added limitations. For the purpose of examination, these planes will be interpreted broadly.
All other claims not specifically addressed above are rejected based on their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianke et al. (CN209629877, hereinafter “Jianke”) in view of Fairley et al. (US 2014/0308625 A1, hereinafter “Fairley”).
Regarding Claim 1, Jianke discloses a nozzle structure (Figure 1, 100) comprising a base (10) and a nozzle connected to the base (20), where the base is provided with a receiving groove (see annotated Figure 2 below). Jianke further discloses that the base is provided with a water inlet channel (see annotated Figure 2 below) communicated with the receiving groove, and the nozzle is provided with a water outlet channel (21) configured to facilitate outflow of whitening liquid (water outlet channel 21 is capable of allowing outflow of a whitening liquid), and a filter screen (40) that could be used for filtering the whitening liquid is installed at one side of the water outlet channel.
Jianke further discloses that the base comprises a first installation portion (see annotated Figure 2 below) and a second installation portion (see annotated Figure 1 below), and the first installation portion is detachably connected to the nozzle (via threads as seen in Figure 2). Jianke further discloses that the second installation portion is provided with a clamping slot (see annotated Figure 1 below) for clamping the base, and the clamping slot is in an annular shape (as seen in Figure 1) with a first clamping surface (top of clamping slot) and a second clamping surface (bottom of clamping slot) are provided inside the clamping slot (as seen in Figure 1), with the first clamping surface is in an inclined plane (relative to the center of the installation portion the first clamping slot inclines radially), and the second clamping surface is in a horizontal plane (relative to the bottom of the installation portion, the second clamping surface would be horizontal).
Jianke discloses the invention substantially as claimed, but does not disclose that a whitening agent is provided inside the receiving groove. In the similar art of dental delivery devices, Fairley teaches the use of a whitening agent (Figure 2, particles 28, described in [0020] as a tooth whitening agent and housed in capsules 34) with a base and a nozzle that is configured to allow outflow of a whitening liquid (as seen in Figure 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Jianke with a whitening capsule as taught by Fairley in the receiving groove in order to whiten the teeth.
Regarding Claim 2, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above and Jianke further discloses that the nozzle is threadedly connected to the base (via threads 11).
Regarding Claim 6, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above and Jianke further discloses that the nozzle is provided with an installation groove communicated with the water outlet channel, the filter screen is embedded in the installation groove (as seen in Figure 2), and the installation groove is provided with a fastening block (50) for abutting against the filter screen.
Regarding Claim 7, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 6 as described above and Jianke further discloses that the fastening block is provided with a through hole communicated with the installation groove (fastening block 50 has a through hole as seen in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above and Jianke further discloses that a sealing ring is provided between the base and the nozzle (70).
Regarding Claim 10, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses an oral irrigator (Figure 1), comprising an oral irrigator body (10) and the nozzle structure according to claim 1 as described above, where the nozzle structure is detachably installed (as seen in Figure 1, the nozzle structure can be detached via threads 11) at the oral irrigator body, and the nozzle structure is configured to spray the whitening liquid (as seen in Figure 1 of Jianke, the tip of nozzle 20 is configured to spray a liquid, which as modified by Fairley as described above would be a whitening liquid).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianke et al. in view of Fairley in further view of LIU et al. (US 2022/0110731 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding Claim 3, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above, but does not disclose that the base and the nozzle are connected through screws. In the similar art of oral irrigators, Liu teaches the use of screws to securely fasten parts of the device (Figure 3, b, a described in [0045]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to secure the base to the nozzle of the device of Jianke in view of Fairley with screws as taught by Liu in order to provide a secure attachment.
Regarding Claims 4 and 5, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above, but does not disclose that the nozzle is snapped on and fastened to the base and provided with a positioning post, and the nozzle is provided with a positioning hole configured to be snapped on and match with the positioning post. Liu teaches the use of a positioning element and a buckle system that snaps into place ([0046-0047]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to utilize the positioning post and buckle of Liu as the fastening mechanism of the device of Jianke in view of Fairley in order to connect and lock the base and nozzle elements together and provide angular positioning correction.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jianke in view of Fairley in further view of Mueller (US 2012/00282570).
Regarding Claim 9, Jianke in view of Fairley discloses the invention of Claim 1 as described above, but does not teach that the whitening agent is a solid tablet or a paste. In the similar art of tooth cleaning devices, Mueller teaches the use of a tablet containing mildly abrasive cleaning ingredients ([0010]) that are mixed with water and dispersed in a water jet (nozzle). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the whitening agent of Jianke in view of Fairley with a tablet structure as taught by Mueller as the delivery method in order to provide a more compact delivery system for particles without the need for a capsule.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 21, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments presented that the prior art of Jianke fails to disclose the limitations of claim 1 as it does not teach the base comprises a first installation portion and a second installation portion, and the first installation portion is detachably connected to the nozzle; the second installation portion is provided with a clamping slot for clamping the base, and the clamping slot is in an annular shape; and a first clamping surface and a second clamping surface are provided inside the clamping slot; the first clamping surface is in an inclined plane, and the second clamping surface is in a horizontal plane, the examiner respectfully disagrees. As described above, the examiner finds that the prior art of Jianke does teach the first and second installation portions with the clamping slot and clamping surfaces as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINE L NELSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/EDWARD MORAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3772