Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-14 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Stucki (WO-2008148530-A1).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, Stucki discloses a method (method according to the invention and the device, page 5) and survey pole assembly (Fig. 1-2, 8) comprising:
a pole adapter configured to attach to a top end of a survey pole (see Fig. 8, mount of surveying measuring unit); and
an antenna integrated in the survey pole (Alternatively, integration of the radio antenna into the pole is also known, page 3);
wherein the pole adapter (the mobile geodetic GNSS measuring station 1, Abstract) comprises:
a top male mount configured to mechanically couple to a survey instrument (GNSS measuring station 1, see Fig. 8);
and an antenna link comprising an upper Radio Frequency (RF) connector electrically coupled to a lower RF connector (GNSS antenna 20 and GNSS satellite receiver 29, Fig. 8) wherein the upper RF connector is configured to electrically connect to a corresponding RF connector of the survey instrument, and the lower RF connector is configured to electrically connect to the antenna integrated in the survey pole (a plug-in radio module 50 with interfaces to the first and the second radio antenna 30, 40 and the GNSS antenna, page 7, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Stucki discloses wherein the pole adapter further comprises:
a bottom antenna mount configured to hold the antenna within a hollow portion (an integrated antenna in the pole implies it is hollow in pole) of the survey pole.
Regarding claims 3, 6, Stucki discloses the bottom antenna mount comprises a threaded end of the lower RF connector that projects axially from a bottom end of the pole adapter (see pole holder 15 in Fig. 8).
Regarding claims 4, 14, Stucki discloses the top male mount and the upper RF connector comprise a combined RF and mechanical coupling (an inserted radio module 50 for sending or receiving GNSS correction data, which via the interfaces with the GNSS satellite receiver 29 and with one of the two radio antennas 30,40 is connected, page 7).
Regarding claim 5, Stucki discloses the upper RF connector is disposed within the top male mount (see Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 8, Stucki discloses wherein the antenna link further comprises:
an antenna tuning circuit disposed between the upper RF connector and the lower RF connector (mix of low and high frequency antenna implies use of tuning circuit).
Regarding claims 9, 17, Stucki discloses a breakout adapter (see Fig. 2, 8) comprising:
a main body having a top male mount and a bottom female mount; and an antenna link extension (antenna link between GNSS receiver 29, RF module 50 and all the antennas 20, 30, 40;
wherein the bottom female mount is configured to mechanically couple to the top male mount of the pole adapter;
wherein the top male mount of the breakout adapter is configured to mechanically couple to the survey instrument (radio module 50 is mechanically coupled to antenna, radio);
wherein the antenna link extension is configured to electrically couple the survey instrument and the pole adapter.
Regarding claims 10, 18, Stucki discloses wherein the antenna link extension comprises:
a side RF connector (see Fig. 2 radio module plug in side way) disposed through a side wall of the main body of the breakout adapter; and
a bottom RF connector (see antenna 40 in Fig. 2), configured to electrically connect to the upper RF connector of the pole adapter.
Regarding claims 11, 19, Stucki discloses wherein:
the bottom female mount and the bottom RF connector of the breakout adapter comprise a combined RF and mechanical coupling (see Fig. 2, antenna 40 is mechanically and electrically connected to radio module 50).
Regarding claim 12, Stucki discloses wherein:
a main body of the survey pole is formed from a non-conductive material, and a conductive material is embedded in the main body of the survey pole to form the antenna (the first radio antenna 30 now has a planar antenna geometry made of copper strips which are applied to a non-conductive carrier material, page 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 10-11, 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HARRY K LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 Tel: (571) 270-1338
Fax: (571) 270-2338
Email: harry.liu@uspto.gov