DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority to 10-2023-0061134, filed 05/11/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 05/09/2024 and 11/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending
in the application. Claims 1-16 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and
exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which
it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best
mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to
enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly
connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated
by the inventor of carrying out his invention.
Claim 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first
paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) 1, 5, 9 and 13 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1, 5, 9, and 13 lacks in the applicant presented written description specification of table- 10. All claims are subject to the written description requirement, includes the applicant presented in amended claims MPEP 2163(II)(A)(3)(a)-(b).
Claim 1 presented previously,
“A method performed by a terminal in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: receiving, from a base station, a message including first information on a resource to perform sidelink communication;
identifying whether the message further includes second information on a resource pool to perform an aircraft to everything (A2X) communication;
and in case that the message further includes the second information, performing the A2X communication with another terminal using at least one resource indicated by the second information, wherein the terminal is configured to perform the A2X communication for an A2X service’.
Presented Claim 1 in this amendments, ‘A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: based on a primary cell (PCell) change from a first PCell to a second PCell,
identifying whether system information for sidelink communication is provided by the second PCell, the system information including and [[and]] in case that the system information including the information is provided by the second PCell, transmitting, to a base station associated with the second PCell, sidelink UE information for requesting a dedicated configuration to perform the A2X communication, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state,
Applicant presented specification lacks the claim limitations as evaluated in the claim limitation in summarized here. previously presented claim limitation, between the UE-BS
a resource to perform SL-communication
[Wingdings font/0xE0] identify a resource pool to perform A2X
[Wingdings font/0xE0] perform A2X another UE
[Wingdings font/0xE0] UE configured to perform A2X-service
Amended Claim 1 presented,
based on PCell change from a first PCell to a second PCell
[Wingdings font/0xE0] identify the system information for SL provided by the second PCell
[Wingdings font/0xE0] system information on a resource pool to perform A2X
[Wingdings font/0xE0] if provided by the second PCell
Transmit to BS associated PCell, SL-requesting dedicated-configuration
To perform A2X-RRC-connected
Previously presented main subject matter to identify the resource pool to perform A2X that was amended to PCell change specific to change from first-PCell to second-Pcell
And applicant presented specification table-10 includes,
“A UE is capable of A2X communication in RRC-connected, successful establish communication upon change QoS/PCell change providing SIB_A2X…”. There is no further specification presented regarding the claim limitation presented above.
And regarding the PCell to dependent claims,
claim 2 and 10 presents claim limitations, ‘wherein the first PCell doesn’t provide the system information’,
And Claim 6 and 14, “and wherein the PCell change has occurred from a first PCell not providing the system information to a second PCell of the base station”
The dependent claim requires the determination/identification-SIB/ system-information regarding the PCell change from the first-PCell to the second-PCell.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jing et al. (US-20250142602-A1) hereinafter “Jing” in view of. Zhang et al. (US-20250063592-A1) hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Jing discloses, ‘A method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, the method comprising: based on a primary cell (PCell) change from a first PCell to a second PCell,
identifying whether system information for sidelink communication is provided by the second PCell, the system information
to perform an UAV communication’ (The SL-resource pool configuration to UE for SL communication and, performed by the UE SL communications and plurality of Cells [0058-0061], disclosure claim 1. In Fig. 1 illustrates wireless communication includes BS/Cell includes UAV served by the BS/Cell and configures the resource pool [0020]. And, UAV covered by a region in Fig. 1. Cell-changes during travel time [0021]. Cell selection/re-selection for the UAV includes resource pool [0022]. The SIB used for plurality of cells and transmits/ broadcast-identifier/UAV SL-Tx to detect more cells [0023-0024]. The UAV transmits the identifier associated to the resource pool determined. Receives the SIB includes the identifier associated to a resource pool from a second cell/BS [0090]. Performed by the UAV [0058]. In Fig. 3 illustrates wireless communication includes BS/Cell, UAVs and a UE [0037].)
And didn’t disclose, to perform an aircraft to everything (A2X) communication’
Zhang in the relevant art discloses, The UE perform U2X service and U2X communication over PC5 [0134] and in Fig. 3.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jing and to include with that of Zhang to come up with the claim invention,
Jing motive to use SL-communication in a LTE and/or NR NW includes the UAV within the coverage of LTE/NR NW to configure resource pool for cell-changes in plurality of cells avoid frequent changes of resource pool [0031-0032]. In Fig. 1 to 4 includes the wireless communication between the UAV and the UEs. The UAV is configured to transmit the BRID-resource pool and the UE receives [0040]. Zhang complements, the first UE receive control signaling a set of radio parameters usable by the first UE to perform the SL-communication to support U2X services (e.g., U2X communication), Zhang, [0123]. That would enhance the performance of U2X-communication, Zhang [0126].
And discloses, ‘and in case that system information including the information is provided by the second PCell, transmitting, to a base station associated with the second PCell, sidelink UE information for requesting a dedicated configuration
to perform the UAV communication, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, Receives the SIB from the second cell [0090]. The UAV broadcast-identifier in a RRC-connected and the BS configure dedicated resource pool. A dedicated resource is reused in the target-cell during HO [0045]. In Fig. 3 and Fig. 4 illustrates the wireless communication between the UAV-to-UE )
And didn’t disclose, to perform ‘the A2X communication’, for an A2X service,’ (Zhang discloses to perform U2X-service [0134]. Motive would be identical disclosed above.)
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Jing discloses, ‘resource pool UE is allowed to receive UAV communication (In Fig. 1 illustrates UAV uses resource for cell [0021-0022]. The resource pool provided by the BS/Cell. The UAV transmits BRID with the resource pool [0040, 0044] and the UE 301 receives the BRID of the UAV with the resource pool [0040] and in Fig. 3.)
And discloses, ‘and wherein the first PCell does not provide the system information.’ (BRID resource pool is configured associated area in a SIB during the serving BS/Cell changes due to mobility, when the UAV reselect another cell, the UAV acquires the BRID resource pool configuration from system information. And, determines whether the BRID resource pool changed in the received SIB [0033]. The UAV is configured to transmit BRID to acquire new SIB [0034]. Enable validity area of SL-resource pool configured in the system information. And, UAV-BRID-communication is valid in an area instead of only in specific cell [0031-0032].)
And didn’t disclose,
‘the A2X communication for the A2X service and a resource by which the UE is allowed to transmit the A2X communication for the A2X service, wherein the A2X service includes at least one broadcast remote identification (BRID) or detect and avoid (DAA), (U2X parameters include resource/channel [0189-0190]. The BS/NW configure U2X parameters at UEs for SL-U2X services [0264]. The U2X-service include BRID/DAA [0115]. )
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Jing and to include with that of Zhang to come up with the claim invention,
Jing motive to transmit the BRID-resource pool of the UAV and the UE receives [0040] and perform UAV-to-UE communication in LTE/NR NW [0037, 0041], in Fig. 1 to 4. Enable validity area of SL-resource pool [0031-0032] to optimize the resource selection. Zhang complements the U2X-service (e.g., U2X-communication) includes BRID/DAA [0115]. Uses radio parameters (e.g., ranges) to improve performance of U2X-communicaiton [0126].
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
And Jing discloses, ‘further comprising: receiving, from the base station, an RRC message including resource pool information’,
(Receives from the BS RRC configuration for the resource pool [0045].);
And didn’t disclose, ‘for the A2X communication’(Zhang [0134] and motive would be identical disclosed above in Claim 1.)
Zhang discloses ‘and performing A2X communication with another UE
And didn’t disclose, ‘based on the resource pool information’ (Jing discloses the resource pool in claim 1 and disclosed above in Claim 1. Motive would be identical disclosed above in Claim 1.)
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The method of claim 1’ (disclosed above),
didn’t disclose, ‘further comprising: transmitting, to the base station, capability information including information indicating that the A2X service is supported by the
Zhang in the relevant art discloses, the UE 115-b to indicate the capability to perform U2X services [0110] for the UAV-to-everything [0005] and Fig. 3.
Jing motive to perform SL-communication in LTE/NR NW and the UAV configured to transmit-BRID [0031] and capable of using the LTE/NR for sl-communication [0031]. Zhang complements the UAV capability to perform U2X-communication [0110] and radio parameters associated to the performance of U2X communication [0126] for efficient and U2X-service [0157].
Regarding Claim 5,
‘A method performed by a base station in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘generating communication, the system
Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘[[and]] broadcasting system
Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘and based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection being established with a user equipment (UE), receiving, from the UE, sidelink UE information for requesting a dedicated configuration to perform the A2X communication wherein the UE is configured to perform the A2X communication for an A2X service, and wherein the RRC connection is established with the UE based on a primary cell (PCell) change of the UE mode, the NW configures dedicated resource pool for the UAV [0045]. And remaining claim element similar to Claim 1 disclosed above. )
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The method of claim 5’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘resource pool at least one resource includes a resource by which the UE is allowed to receive the A2X communication for the A2X service and a resource by which the UE is allowed to transmit the A2X communication for the A2X service, wherein the A2X service includes at least one broadcast remote identification (BRID) or detect and avoid (DAA)’,
Similar to Claim 2, ‘and wherein the PCell change has occurred from a first PCell not providing the system information to a second PCell of the base station.’ (Jing discloses, BRID resource pool is configured associated area in a SIB during the serving BS/Cell changes due to mobility, when the UAV reselect another cell, the UAV acquires the BRID resource pool configuration from system information. And, determines whether the BRID resource pool changed in the received SIB [0033]. The UAV is configured to transmit BRID to acquire new SIB [0034]. Enable validity area of SL-resource pool configured in the system information. And, UAV-BRID-communication is valid in an area instead of only in specific cell [0031-0032].)
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The method of claim 5’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, an RRC message including resource pool information for the A2X communication, the resource pool information is used for performing the A2X communication between the UE and another UE
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The method of claim 5’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 4 disclosed above, ‘further comprising: receiving, from the
Regarding Claim 9,
Similar to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A user equipment (UE comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: based on a primary cell (PCell) change from a first PCell to a second PCell system information for sidelink communication is provided by the second PCell, the system information including resource pool to perform an aircraft to everything (A2X) communication, and in case that the system information including the information is provided by the second PCell, control the transceiver to transmit, to a base station associated with the second PCell, sidelink UE information for requesting a dedicated configuration to perform the A2X communication, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state UE is configured to perform the A2X communication for an A2X service.’
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The UE of claim 9’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 2 disclosed above, ‘resource pool UE is allowed to receive the A2X communication for the A2X service and a resource by which the UE is allowed to transmit the A2X communication for the A2X service, wherein the A2X service includes at least one broadcast remote identification (BRID) or detect and avoid (DAA), and wherein the first PCell does not provide the system information.’
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The UE
Similar to Claim 3 disclosed above, ‘wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to receive, from the base station, an RRC message including resource pool information for the A2X communication and perform communication with another UE based on the resource pool information
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The UE
Similar to Claim 4 disclosed above, ‘wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the base station, capability information including information indicating that the A2X service is supported by the
Regarding Claim 13,
Similar to Claim 5 disclosed above, ‘A base station in a wireless communication system, the base station comprising: a transceiver; and a controller configured to: generate system information for communication, the system information including the system information including the and control the transceiver to receive, from a user equipment (UE), sidelink UE information for requesting a dedicated configuration to perform the A2X communication, based on a radio resource control (RRC) connection being established with the UE, wherein the UE the RRC connection is established with the UE based on a primary cell (PCell) change of the UE
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The base station of claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 6 disclosed above, ‘resource pool UE is allowed to receive the A2X communication for the A2X service and a resource by which the UE is allowed to transmit the A2X communication for the A2X service, wherein the A2X service includes at least one broadcast remote identification (BRID) or detect and avoid (DAA), and wherein the PCell change has occurred from a first PCell not providing the system information to a second PCell of the base station.’
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The base station of claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 7 disclosed above, ‘wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to transmit, to the UE, an RRC message including resource pool information for the A2X communication the resource pool information is used for performing the A2X communication between the UE and another UE
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The base station of claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Similar to Claim 8 disclosed above, ‘wherein the controller is further configured to control the transceiver to receive, from the
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Arguments and Examiners response:
With respect to applicant’s arguments/remarks, examiner responses are:
Regarding the applicant argument, page-10, “REJECTION UNDER 35 U.S.C. § 102 On Claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15…”,
And “Claim 1 recites a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, where the method includes: based on a primary cell (PCell) change from a first PCell to a second PCell, identifying whether system information for sidelink communication is provided by the second PCell, the system information including information on a resource pool to perform an aircraft to everything (A2X) communication;
And in case that the system information including the information is provided by the second PCell, transmitting, to a base station associated with the second PCell, sidelink UE information for requesting a dedicated configuration to perform the A2X communication, in a radio resource control (RRC) connected state, wherein the UE is configured to perform the A2X communication for an A2X service.”
Examiner respectfully request to see this OA page 3 to page 18. The amendments presented by applicant lacks written description requirement explained in page 3 to page 5 summarized claim limitations here,
previously presented claim limitation, between the UE-BS
a resource to perform SL-communication
[Wingdings font/0xE0] identify a resource pool to perform A2X
[Wingdings font/0xE0] perform A2X another UE
[Wingdings font/0xE0] UE configured to perform A2X-service
Amended Claim 1 presented and relevant disclosures from the re-written due to the amendment Claims presented.
based on PCell change from a first PCell to a second PCell
[Wingdings font/0xE0] identify the system information for SL provided by the second PCell
Jing discloses, UAV served by the BS/Cell and configures the resource pool [0020]. And, UAV covered by a region in Fig. 1. Cell-changes [0021], Cell selection/re-selection for the UAV includes resource pool [0022]. The SIB used for plurality of cells and transmits/ broadcast-identifier/UAV SL-Tx to detect more cells [0023-0024]. the identifier associated to the resource pool determined. Receives the SIB includes the identifier associated to a resource pool from a second cell/BS [0090]. Performed by the UAV [0058].
[Wingdings font/0xE0] system information on a resource pool to perform A2X
Jing [0023-0024, 0058-0061, 0090] and though discloses to perform UAV-to-UE in NR/LTE NW in Fig. 1 to 4. And Zhang discloses A2X [0134].
[Wingdings font/0xE0] if provided by the second PCell
[Wingdings font/0xE0] transmit to BS associated PCell, SL-requesting dedicated-configuration in RRC-connected (Jing discloses [0045]. And perform UAV [0058].)
[Wingdings font/0xE0] To perform A2X (Zhang [0134]).
Regarding the applicant argument page-11, 35 USC 103 rejections, the prior arts presented relevant disclosure and provided motivation to attain viable combination of prior arts, Jing and Zhang to this OA page-3 to page-18.
Examiner thanks applicant and attorney for their time and effort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure:
NR; Radio Resource Control (RRC); Protocol specification; (3GPP Tech Spec 38.331 version 17.3.0 Release 17) (Year: 2023). A UE capable of NR sidelink communication; change of PCell provide SIB, page-288. NR SL-communication, section-5.8.5 page-297. SL-communication if the UE is in RRC_CONNECTED and included in sl-Config-Dedicated-NR within RRC-Reconfiguration message, page-305.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in
this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIXMONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466