DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kihara et al. (US PGPub 2017/0176268) in view of Yamada et al. (US PGPub 2018/0129314).
Regarding claim 1, Kihara discloses a stylus (figs. 1-22, a holding state detecting device 10 and [0003], “various electronic writing tools (digital pens)”), comprising:
a housing (figs 1 and 12, housing 101) defining a curved interior surface ([0050], “the housing 101 of the object has a cylindrical shape and has a hollow space”) and at least one input surface (fig 1, piezoelectric sensor 20);
a flexible circuit (fig. 11, detection conductor 202) coupled to the curved interior surface (figs. 11 and 12);
a touch ([0092], “A holding state detecting device 10D according to the present embodiment includes a piezoelectric sensor 20D and a detecting unit 30D”) at least partially disposed within the flexible circuit facing the curved interior surface ([0096], “The first ground conductor 204 is disposed a top surface side of the base film 201. Thus, the piezoelectric sheet 203 is sandwiched between the detection conductor 202 and the first ground conductor 204 in an area at one end side of the first ground conductor 204 in the longitudinal direction. An area at the other end side of the first ground conductor 204 in the longitudinal direction is in contact with the ground conductor 209. In this regard, an insulation film is disposed at a portion at which the first ground conductor 204 and the wiring conductor 2101 overlap. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the first ground conductor 204 is composed of a conductor film 2041, and conductive adhesive members 2042 disposed on both surfaces of the conductor film 2041”); and
a force ([0140], “a pressing force is applied when a user grips the piezoelectric sensor 20”) at least partially disposed within the flexible circuit facing an interior of the housing in a direction opposite the curved interior surface ([0098], “The second ground conductor 205 is disposed on a top surface of the base film 202. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the second ground conductor 205 is composed of a conductor film 2051, and conductive adhesive members 2052 disposed on both surfaces of the conductor film 2051. The second ground conductor 205 conducts with the first ground conductor 204 via the areas of the cutouts 211” and [0102], “In this regard, as illustrated in FIGS. 10 and 11, part of the second ground conductor 205 is exposed without being covered by the protection film 207, and therefore the conductive adhesive member 2052 at this exposed portion adheres the piezoelectric sensor 20D to the inner wall surface of the housing 101. Thus, the piezoelectric sensor 20D is fixed to the housing 101”) that detects a force exerted on the housing that deforms the flexible circuit ([0140], “the piezoelectric sensor 20 is disposed in an area which is not used for normal click processing, and is disposed at a position to which a pressing force is applied when a user grips the piezoelectric sensor 20”).
While Kihara discloses using conductors to detect a touch and a force, it has been known to detect touch and force using sensors. In a similar field of endeavor of stylus devices, Yamada discloses a touch sensor and a force sensor ([0091], “various types of sensors such as a capacitive sensor, a strain gage, and the like can be used as the pressure sensor 21”).
In view of the teachings of Kihara and Yamada, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the sensors of Yamada within the stylus of Kihara, for the purpose of providing a stylus which can isolate the configuration of a pen pressure detecting portion from a value output from the stylus ([0022]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses further comprising an integrated circuit coupled to the flexible circuit (Kihara: [0100], “the electronic parts 302 can include a computer processing unit (“CPU”), such as a microprocessor, and memory with software code (i.e., processor executable instructions) stored thereon, such that the CPU is configured to execute the algorithms described herein. Moreover, a circuit pattern is formed on the base substrate 301”).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein:
a first portion of the flexible circuit is coupled to a first portion of the curved interior surface; and a second portion of the flexible circuit is coupled to a second portion of an interior surface of the housing (Kihrara: fig. 12, vertical line shows one section of 20D on one side and another section of 20D on the other side).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the at least one input surface comprises a first input surface and a second input surface opposite the first input surface (Kihara: fig. 12, vertical line separating each side of element 10D).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein:
the force sensor is operable to detect the force applied to the first input surface (Kihara: [0102], “a pressing force is applied when a user grips the piezoelectric sensor 20”); and
the touch sensor is operable to detect a touch applied to the second input surface (Kihara: [0024], “it is possible to detect the holding state, and receive an input of an operation different from detection of the holding state performed by the holding state detecting device”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein:
the touch sensor includes a touch sensor electrode ([0096], “first ground conductor 204”); and
the force sensor includes a force sensor electrode ([0098], “second ground conductor 205”).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses further comprising a shield disposed between the touch sensor electrode and the force sensor electrode (Kihara: [0094], “The base film 201 has an insulation property”).
Regarding claim 8, Kihara discloses a stylus ([0003], “various electronic writing tools (digital pens)”), comprising:
a housing (figs 1 and 12, housing 101) defining an interior surface ([0050], “the housing 101 of the object has a cylindrical shape and has a hollow space”) and at least one input surface (fig 1, piezoelectric sensor 20);
a flexible circuit (fig. 11, detection conductor 202) coupled to the interior surface (figs. 11 and 12);
a touch ([0092], “A holding state detecting device 10D according to the present embodiment includes a piezoelectric sensor 20D and a detecting unit 30D”) coupled to the flexible circuit facing the interior surface ([0096], “The first ground conductor 204 is disposed a top surface side of the base film 201. Thus, the piezoelectric sheet 203 is sandwiched between the detection conductor 202 and the first ground conductor 204 in an area at one end side of the first ground conductor 204 in the longitudinal direction. An area at the other end side of the first ground conductor 204 in the longitudinal direction is in contact with the ground conductor 209. In this regard, an insulation film is disposed at a portion at which the first ground conductor 204 and the wiring conductor 2101 overlap. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the first ground conductor 204 is composed of a conductor film 2041, and conductive adhesive members 2042 disposed on both surfaces of the conductor film 2041”); and
a force ([0140], “a pressing force is applied when a user grips the piezoelectric sensor 20”) coupled to the flexible circuit facing an interior of the housing in a direction opposite the interior surface ([0098], “The second ground conductor 205 is disposed on a top surface of the base film 202. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the second ground conductor 205 is composed of a conductor film 2051, and conductive adhesive members 2052 disposed on both surfaces of the conductor film 2051. The second ground conductor 205 conducts with the first ground conductor 204 via the areas of the cutouts 211” and [0102], “In this regard, as illustrated in FIGS. 10 and 11, part of the second ground conductor 205 is exposed without being covered by the protection film 207, and therefore the conductive adhesive member 2052 at this exposed portion adheres the piezoelectric sensor 20D to the inner wall surface of the housing 101. Thus, the piezoelectric sensor 20D is fixed to the housing 101”) that detects a force exerted on the housing that deforms the flexible circuit ([0140], “the piezoelectric sensor 20 is disposed in an area which is not used for normal click processing, and is disposed at a position to which a pressing force is applied when a user grips the piezoelectric sensor 20”).
While Kihara discloses using conductors to detect a touch and a force, it has been known to detect touch and force using sensors. In a similar field of endeavor of stylus devices, Yamada discloses a touch sensor and a force sensor ([0091], “various types of sensors such as a capacitive sensor, a strain gage, and the like can be used as the pressure sensor 21”).
In view of the teachings of Kihara and Yamada, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the sensors of Yamada within the stylus of Kihara, for the purpose of providing a stylus which can isolate the configuration of a pen pressure detecting portion from a value output from the stylus ([0022]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the flexible circuit is laminated to the interior surface (Kihara: [0102], “the conductive adhesive member 2052 at this exposed portion adheres the piezoelectric sensor 20D to the inner wall surface of the housing 101. Thus, the piezoelectric sensor 20D is fixed to the housing 101”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein:
a first portion of the flexible circuit is coupled to a first portion of the interior surface; and a second portion of the flexible circuit is coupled to a second portion of the interior surface (Kihara: shows element 20D on both sides of the vertical line).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the first portion of the interior surface and the second portion of the interior surface are curved (Kihara: fig. 12, 101 on both sides of the vertical line is curved).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses further comprising a shield disposed between the touch sensor and the force sensor (Kihara: [0094], “The base film 201 has an insulation property”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the interior surface is flat (Kihara: [0144], “A holding state detecting device 10J is a tablet terminal. The holding state detecting device 10J includes a housing 141J. The housing 141J has a flat plate shape”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the interior surface is curved (Kihara: fig. 12).
Regarding claim 15, Kihara discloses a stylus ([0003], “various electronic writing tools (digital pens)”), comprising:
a housing (figs 1 and 12, housing 101) defining an interior surface ([0050], “the housing 101 of the object has a cylindrical shape and has a hollow space”), an interior ([0050], hollow space), and at least one input surface (fig 1, piezoelectric sensor 20);
a flexible circuit (fig. 11, detection conductor 202) coupled to the interior surface (figs. 11 and 12);
a touch ([0092], “A holding state detecting device 10D according to the present embodiment includes a piezoelectric sensor 20D and a detecting unit 30D”) coupled to the flexible circuit facing the interior surface ([0096], “The first ground conductor 204 is disposed a top surface side of the base film 201. Thus, the piezoelectric sheet 203 is sandwiched between the detection conductor 202 and the first ground conductor 204 in an area at one end side of the first ground conductor 204 in the longitudinal direction. An area at the other end side of the first ground conductor 204 in the longitudinal direction is in contact with the ground conductor 209. In this regard, an insulation film is disposed at a portion at which the first ground conductor 204 and the wiring conductor 2101 overlap. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the first ground conductor 204 is composed of a conductor film 2041, and conductive adhesive members 2042 disposed on both surfaces of the conductor film 2041”); and
a force ([0140], “a pressing force is applied when a user grips the piezoelectric sensor 20”) coupled to the flexible circuit facing the interior of the housing in a direction opposite the interior surface ([0098], “The second ground conductor 205 is disposed on a top surface of the base film 202. As illustrated in FIG. 11, the second ground conductor 205 is composed of a conductor film 2051, and conductive adhesive members 2052 disposed on both surfaces of the conductor film 2051. The second ground conductor 205 conducts with the first ground conductor 204 via the areas of the cutouts 211” and [0102], “In this regard, as illustrated in FIGS. 10 and 11, part of the second ground conductor 205 is exposed without being covered by the protection film 207, and therefore the conductive adhesive member 2052 at this exposed portion adheres the piezoelectric sensor 20D to the inner wall surface of the housing 101. Thus, the piezoelectric sensor 20D is fixed to the housing 101”) that detects a force exerted on the housing that deforms the flexible circuit ([0140], “the piezoelectric sensor 20 is disposed in an area which is not used for normal click processing, and is disposed at a position to which a pressing force is applied when a user grips the piezoelectric sensor 20”).
While Kihara discloses using conductors to detect a touch and a force, it has been known to detect touch and force using sensors. In a similar field of endeavor of stylus devices, Yamada discloses a touch sensor and a force sensor ([0091], “various types of sensors such as a capacitive sensor, a strain gage, and the like can be used as the pressure sensor 21”).
In view of the teachings of Kihara and Yamada, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the sensors of Yamada within the stylus of Kihara, for the purpose of providing a stylus which can isolate the configuration of a pen pressure detecting portion from a value output from the stylus ([0022]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the force sensor comprises a strain gauge (Yamada: [0091], “various types of sensors such as a capacitive sensor, a strain gage, and the like can be used as the pressure sensor 21”).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the touch sensor is a capacitive touch sensor (Yamada: [0091], “various types of sensors such as a capacitive sensor, a strain gage, and the like can be used as the pressure sensor 21”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the interior surface is curved (Kihara: fig. 12 the surface is curved).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses wherein the flexible circuit is coupled to the interior surface using adhesive (Kihara: [0102], “the conductive adhesive member 2052 at this exposed portion adheres the piezoelectric sensor 20D to the inner wall surface of the housing 101. Thus, the piezoelectric sensor 20D is fixed to the housing 101”).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Kihara and Yamada further discloses further comprising a shield coupled to the flexible circuit (Kihara: [0094], “The base film 201 has an insulation property”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 8 and 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629