DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: “sight” should be “site”.
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: hydrochloric acid appears as either “HC l” or “HC 1”.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "sheet-like" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "sheet-like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). The specification states, “sheet, i.e., a planar shape” (para.[0033]). However the extent of “-like” is not discussed or elaborated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Malaviya (US 20040166169) as evidenced by Freytes (Freytes, D.O., et al., Preparation and rheological characterization of a gel form of the porcine urinary bladder matrix, Biomaterials 29 (2008) 1630-37).
Malaviya teaches “a porous extracellular matrix scaffold for repairing or regenerating body tissue” (para.0002; see title; abstract; paras.0009-16, 0019-78; claims 1-99). The scaffold comprises a “cleaned, processed, sterilized” (para.0006) extracellular matrix material such as the small intestine submucosa (SIS) in the form of a “porous reticulated body” with pores having nominal pore size up to 700 microns, e.g., 100-150 µm and 300 µm (claims 52-58; Examples 2, 3 paras.0047-61). Malaviya does not expressly refer to devitalized or decellularized ECM material. First, however it teaches using “cleaned, processed, sterilized” (para.0006) extracellular matrix material. Second, Malaviya expressly distinguishes “purified” ECM material as having glycoproteins and other native material substantially removed (para.0078; claims 67, 73). Third, Freytes evidences that “biologic scaffolds are typically prepared by decellularization of intact tissues or organs” (p.1630 left col.).
The implantable device further comprises a biocompatible inorganic material (claim 54), which includes the minerals in instant claims 2 and 12 (para.0072).
Regarding claim 3, the “scaffold comprises a porous body of naturally occurring extracellular matrix pieces that are interconnected to define an interior surface of the body” (para.0012 (emphasis added)).
Regarding claim 10, Malaviya teaches scaffolds made from lyophilized suspension of ECM material on a culture plate, which would yield a flat product.
Regarding claims 4-6, 8, and 9, Malaviya does not teach all of the recited process steps for preparing the medical device of claim 1. However it is noted that the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production” and “[i]f the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” MPEP §2113 (citations omitted). Here Malaviya teaches a product as recited in claim 1. Therefore the process steps in claims 4-6, 8, and 9 do not render the claims patentable even though Malaviya’s product was made by a different process.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malaviya (20040166169) as evidenced by and in view of Freytes (Freytes, D.O., et al., Preparation and rheological characterization of a gel form of the porcine urinary bladder matrix, Biomaterials 29 (2008) 1630-37).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Malaviya does not expressly teach a gel product comprising a milled scaffold material and an aqueous solution.
Freytes is drawn to biologic scaffolds and teaches gel form of porcine urinary bladder matrix or UBM (title; abstract; p.1634-36). Specifically UBM is decellularized, lyophilized, comminuted, solubilized with pepsin, and mixed with collagen type I, 0.1 N NaOH, and phosphate buffered saline, resulting in formation of a gel (p.1631 2.1, 2.2, 2.4). The gel supported growth of rat aortic smooth muscle cells when in vitro (p.1633 3.2).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Malaviya and Freytes and form Malaviya’s scaffold into a gel as Freytes teaches and as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to tissue scaffold comprising ECM material, and Freytes teaches that “ECM gels with appropriate viscosities could be delivered via minimally invasive surgical techniques with the ability to conform to three-dimensional spaces after injection” (p.1631 left col.).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 9119831.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets are drawn to a medical device comprising: a devitalized, solidified, porous extracellular matrix foam material derived from a mammal comprising a plurality of pores having a diameter in the range of about 1 micron to 500 microns. The difference is that the ‘831 patent claims recite a bioactive wound healing material which is a medical device, and further requires a basic solution which is narrowing and therefore anticipates the present claims. The ‘831 patent claims recite broader ranges of powdered ECM, however they also recite “a particle size in the range of about 100 microns to about 400 microns” (claim 15) which is narrower than the range in claims 1 and 11 here.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614