Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,4,7-9,13-14,16,17,12,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0132084 A1 to Zhang et al.
As to claim 1, Zhang discloses A node for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the node to (Figs. 1, 3,4,6,7, “base station”) :
transmit a first random access configuration comprising code domain information (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-157, step 303, paragraphs 169-170, 103,107, step S401, disclosing the base station sending to “to all UEs”, information on a current/initial user sequence space, which according to paragraphs 92-93 discloses “code domain information”);
receive a first set of random access transmissions from a set of internet-of-things (IoT) devices, wherein each random access transmission of the first set of random access transmissions is multiplexed according to the code domain information (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-168, step 304, paragraphs 169-171, 103-107, 92-93, step 402,disclosing the UE “selects a user sequence in the user sequence space to perform random access”, where the UEs are a set of IoT devices [paragraphs 181,3,4], teaching this limitation);
transmit a second random access configuration to a subset of IoT devices of the set of IoT devices based at least in part on a collision between a subset of random access transmissions of the first set of random access transmissions, wherein the subset of random access transmissions is associated with the subset of IoT devices (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-168, step 309 “send second signaling”, paragraphs 169-179, 103-107, 92-93, steps S404-S408, in particular, S406,408,disclosing the “base station sends C=C+/-delta.sub.(1/2) [i.e., “second RA configuration”]”, where the “statistics” and system performance evaluated by the base station in determining whether to send new user sequence space information depends on “collision probability tolerance value p.sub.max.sup.col” and/or “collision probability parameter p.sup.col”, wherein these collision events involve certain UEs in the set of all UEs, such UEs teaching “subset of IoT devices”, where the new “second RA configuration” sent in S406/408 are set to all UEs, i.e., including the collision UEs, teaching “transmit a second random access configuration to a subset of IoT devices”, and this limitation to a phosita ); and
receive a second set of random access transmissions based on the second random access configuration (Fig. 4, steps 406/408 back to S402, where the UE selects a user sequence to perform RA, from the new user sequence space) .
As to claim 2, Zhang discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Zhang discloses wherein the code domain information comprises a base sequence for the first set of random access transmissions. (paragraphs 41, 98: ZC sequences generated by “performing cyclic shifting on one base sequence”)
As to claim 4, Zhang discloses the subject matter of claim 2.
Zhang discloses wherein the code domain information indicates a gap value for sequence spacing between different circular shifts of the base sequence and a threshold circular shift for the base sequence. (paragraphs 98, 262: ZC sequences and a maximum number of cyclic shifts, wherein each cyclic shift is an embodiment of the spacing between different circular shifts)
As to claim 7, Zhang discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the node to: determine the collision between the subset of random access transmissions associated with the subset of IoT devices. (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-168, step 309 “send second signaling”, paragraphs 169-179, 103-107, 92-93, steps S404-S408, in particular, S406,408,disclosing the “base station sends C=C+/-delta.sub.(1/2) [i.e., “second RA configuration”]”, where the “statistics” and system performance evaluated by the base station in determining whether to send new user sequence space information depends on “collision probability tolerance value p.sub.max.sup.col” and/or “collision probability parameter p.sup.col”, wherein these collision events involve certain UEs in the set of all UEs, such UEs teaching “subset of IoT devices”, where the new “second RA configuration” sent in S406/408 are set to all UEs, i.e., including the collision UEs, teaching “transmit a second random access configuration to a subset of IoT devices”, and this limitation to a phosita; see paragraphs 92-93, in particular, for “collision” between two users using the same sequence )
As to claim 8, Zhang discloses the subject matter of claim 1.
Zhang discloses wherein, to determine the collision, the at least one processor is configured to cause the node to: identify, from the first set of random access transmissions, a set of one or more shifted sequences; transmit, for each shifted sequence, a downlink (DL) message comprising an indication of the shifted sequence (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-157, step 303, paragraphs 169-170, 103,107, step S401, disclosing the base station sending to “to all UEs”, information on a current/initial user sequence space, which according to paragraphs 92-93 discloses “code domain information”; see, e.g., paragraphs 41, 98: ZC sequences generated by “performing cyclic shifting on one base sequence” ); and
receive an undecodable uplink (UL) transmission corresponding to a same shifted sequence. (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-168, step 309 “send second signaling”, paragraphs 169-179, 103-107, 92-93, steps S404-S408, in particular, S406,408,disclosing the “base station sends C=C+/-delta.sub.(1/2) [i.e., “second RA configuration”]”, where the “statistics” and system performance evaluated by the base station in determining whether to send new user sequence space information depends on “collision probability tolerance value p.sub.max.sup.col” and/or “collision probability parameter p.sup.col”; see paragraphs 92-93, in particular, for “collision” between two users using the same sequence, wherein “collision” teaches this limitation to a phosita )
As to claim 9, Zhang discloses the subject matter of claim 8.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the node to receive an UL transmission comprising UL data and a device identifier. (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-157, step 303, paragraphs 169-170, 103,107, step S401, disclosing the base station sending to “to all UEs”, information on a current/initial user sequence space, which according to paragraphs 92-93 discloses “code domain information”; see, e.g., paragraphs 92-93f: “The user sequence mainly plays a role in identifying the user”).
As to claim 13, Zhang discloses An internet-of-things (IoT) device comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the IoT device to: (Figs. 1, 3,4,6,7, “UE”; see, paragraphs 3: IoT) :
receive a random access configuration comprising code domain information; (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-157, step 303, paragraphs 169-170, 103,107, step S401, disclosing the base station sending to “to all UEs”, information on a current/initial user sequence space, which according to paragraphs 92-93 discloses “code domain information”);
select a slot for random access based on the random access configuration; select a sequence for random access based on the code domain information; and transmit a random access transmission during the selected slot and according to the selected sequence, wherein the random access transmission is multiplexed based on the selected sequence. (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-168, step 304/305 “send the user sequence”, paragraphs 169-171, 103-107, 92-93, step 402,disclosing the UE “selects a user sequence in the user sequence space to perform random access”, where the UEs are a set of IoT devices [paragraphs 181,3,4], teaching this limitation)
As to claim 14, please see rejection for claim 4.
As to claim 16, Zhang discloses the subject matter of claim 14.
Zhang discloses wherein to select the sequence, the at least one processor is configured to cause the IoT device to apply a circular shift to the base sequence to create a shifted sequence, and wherein the random access transmission comprises the shifted sequence. (paragraphs 92-93,98, 262: ZC sequences and a maximum number of cyclic shifts, wherein each cyclic shift is an embodiment of the spacing between different circular shifts, and where the user sequences used for the RA transmission in Figs. 1-4,are generated based on these shifted ZC sequences)
As to claim 17, Zhang discloses the subject matter of claim 16.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the IoT device to: receive a downlink (DL) response message comprising an indication of the shifted sequence (Fig. 11, step 1105/1107, paragraphs 284-296, in particular, paragraph 290); and transmit an uplink (UL) transmission corresponding to the shifted sequence, wherein the UL transmission comprises UL data and a device identifier. (Fig. 11, e.g., steps 1103/1106, paragraphs 284-296; Figs. 3,4, S402/S305/S307; paragraphs 92,93,98: shifted user sequences)
As to claims 12, 20, see rejections for claims 1 and 13, in the same order.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3,5,15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0132084 A1 to Zhang et al., in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0206089 A1 to Cho et al.
As to claim 3, Zhang discloses the subject matter of the parent claim 2.
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the base sequence comprises a Golay sequence composed of 1s and -1s or a binary sequence composed of 1s and 0s.
Cho discloses wherein the base sequence comprises a Golay sequence composed of 1s and -1s (paragraph 20) or a binary sequence composed of 1s and 0s. (paragraph 10)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate or combine Cho’s teachings, in Zhang’s sequence related teachings, to reject this claim, by recognizing that the base sequence disclosed in Zhang may be embodied by or imbued with the characteristics of the sequences disclosed in Cho, at least because Zhang and Cho are in the same field of endeavor with regard to the configuration and management of control/reference signals in wireless infrastructures. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and management for control and reference signaling (Cho, paragraphs 1-29; Zhang, paragraphs 1-22). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
As to claim 5, Zhang discloses the subject matter of the parent claim 4.
Zhang discloses IoT devices (paragraphs 3, 181)
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first random access configuration comprises information for one or more types of devices, the information comprising a first gap value and a first threshold shift for a first type of device and a second gap value and a second threshold shift for a second type of device.
Cho discloses wherein the first random access configuration comprises information for one or more types of devices, the information comprising a first gap value and a first threshold shift for a first type of device and a second gap value and a second threshold shift for a second type of device. (paragraph 27: CS configurations for two types of UEs; see Tables 2 and 3 and paragraphs 43-59)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate or combine Cho’s teachings, in Zhang’s sequence related teachings, to reject this claim, by recognizing that Cho’s teachings may obviously be applied to IoT devices such as those disclosed in Zhang, at least because Zhang and Cho are in the same field of endeavor with regard to the configuration and management of control/reference signals in wireless infrastructures. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and management for control and reference signaling (Cho, paragraphs 1-29; Zhang, paragraphs 1-22). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
As to claim 15, Zhang discloses the subject matter of the parent claim 14.
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the base sequence comprises a Golay sequence composed of 1s and -1s or a binary sequence composed of 1s and 0s.
Cho discloses wherein the base sequence comprises a Golay sequence composed of 1s and -1s (paragraph 20) or a binary sequence composed of 1s and 0s. (paragraph 10)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate or combine Cho’s teachings, in Zhang’s sequence related teachings, to reject this claim, by recognizing that the base sequence disclosed in Zhang may be embodied by or imbued with the characteristics of the sequences disclosed in Cho, at least because Zhang and Cho are in the same field of endeavor with regard to the configuration and management of control/reference signals in wireless infrastructures. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and management for control and reference signaling (Cho, paragraphs 1-29; Zhang, paragraphs 1-22). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
Claim(s)11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0132084 A1 to Zhang et al., in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2025/0260606 A1 to Sun et al.
As to claim 11, Zhang discloses the subject matter of the parent claim 1.
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the set of IoT devices comprises a set of ambient power-enabled internet-of-things (AIoT) devices.
Sun discloses wherein the set of IoT devices comprises a set of ambient power-enabled internet-of-things (AIoT) devices. (paragraph 111)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate or combine Sun’s teachings, in Zhang’s sequence related teachings, to reject this claim, at least because Zhang and Sun are in the same field of endeavor with regard to the configuration and management of control/reference signals in wireless infrastructures. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and management for control and reference signaling (Sun, paragraphs 1-27; Zhang, paragraphs 1-22). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 10,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0132084 A1 to Zhang et al., in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0249632 A1 to Eriksson et al.
As to claim 10, Zhang discloses the subject matter of the parent claim 1.
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the second random access configuration comprises an indication to reselect a circular shift for a corresponding random access transmission.
Eriksson discloses wherein the second random access configuration comprises an indication to reselect a circular shift for a corresponding random access transmission. (Figs. 2, 3, paragraphs 41,33)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate or combine Eriksson’s teachings, in Zhang’s sequence related teachings, to reject this claim, at least because Zhang and Eriksson are in the same field of endeavor with regard to the configuration and management of control/reference signals in wireless infrastructures and since both references feature circular/cyclic shifts as an integral aspect of their invention, and thus it would have been obvious to a phosita to “reselect”, as taught in Eriksson, the circular shift disclose din Zhang. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and management for control and reference signaling (Eriksson, paragraphs 1-15; Zhang, paragraphs 1-22). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
As to claim 18, Zhang discloses the subject matter of the parent claim 13.
Zhang discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the IoT device to: receive a second random access configuration comprising an indication for a corresponding random access transmission (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-168, step 309 “send second signaling”, paragraphs 169-179, 103-107, 92-93, steps S404-S408, in particular, S406,408,disclosing the “base station sends C=C+/-delta.sub.(1/2) [i.e., “second RA configuration”]”, where the “statistics” and system performance evaluated by the base station in determining whether to send new user sequence space information depends on “collision probability tolerance value p.sub.max.sup.col” and/or “collision probability parameter p.sup.col”, wherein these collision events involve certain UEs in the set of all UEs, such UEs teaching “subset of IoT devices”, where the new “second RA configuration” sent in S406/408 are set to all UEs, i.e., including the collision UEs, teaching “transmit a second random access configuration to a subset of IoT devices”, and this limitation to a phosita ); and
apply a circular shift to a base sequence to create a shifted sequence; and transmit a second random access transmission comprising the shifted sequence, wherein the second random access transmission is multiplexed based on the shifted sequence. (Fig. 4, steps 406/408 back to S402, where the UE selects a user sequence to perform RA, from the new user sequence space; further see paragraph 98: cyclic shifts on sequence) .
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose “to reselect a circular shift”; apply a reselected circular shift
Eriksson discloses “to reselect a circular shift”; apply a reselected circular shift (Figs. 2, 3, paragraphs 41,33)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate or combine Eriksson’s teachings, in Zhang’s sequence related teachings, to reject this claim, at least because Zhang and Eriksson are in the same field of endeavor with regard to the configuration and management of control/reference signals in wireless infrastructures and since both references feature circular/cyclic shifts as an integral aspect of their invention, and thus it would have been obvious to a phosita to “reselect”, as taught in Eriksson, the circular shift disclose din Zhang. Thus, it would have been obvious to a phosita to combine Zhang’s teaching of “receive a second random access configuration comprising an indication for a corresponding random access transmission” and Eriksson’s teaching of “to reselect a circular shift”, to reject “receive a second random access configuration comprising an indication to reselect a circular shift for a corresponding random access transmission”. Similarly, it would have been obvious to a phosita to combine Zhang’s teaching of “apply a circular shift to a base sequence to create a shifted sequence” and Eriksson’s teaching of “apply a reselected circular shift” to reject “apply a reselected circular shift to a base sequence to create a shifted sequence”. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and management for control and reference signaling (Eriksson, paragraphs 1-15; Zhang, paragraphs 1-22). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2019/0132084 A1 to Zhang et al., in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0109346 A1 to Sivanesan et al.
As to claim 19, Zhang discloses the subject matter of the parent claim 13.
Zhang discloses wherein the code domain information comprises indication (Figs. 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, paragraphs 154-157, step 303, paragraphs 169-170, 103,107, step S401, disclosing the base station sending to “to all UEs”, information on a current/initial user sequence space, which according to paragraphs 92-93 discloses “code domain information”)
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose randomly selecting a row of a Hadamard matrix stored in the at least one memory, wherein the Hadamard matrix comprises a square matrix with mutually orthogonal rows, and wherein to the selected sequence corresponds to a randomly selected row of the Hadamard matrix.
Sivanesan discloses randomly selecting a row of a Hadamard matrix stored in the at least one memory, wherein the Hadamard matrix comprises a square matrix with mutually orthogonal rows, and wherein to the selected sequence corresponds to a randomly selected row of the Hadamard matrix. (paragraph 20: rows of Hadamard matrices being mutually orthogonal)
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate or combine Sivanesan’s teachings regarding Hadamard matrices, in Zhang’s indication, to reject “wherein the code domain information comprises an indication for randomly selecting a row of a Hadamard matrix stored in the at least one memory, wherein the Hadamard matrix comprises a square matrix with mutually orthogonal rows, and wherein to the selected sequence corresponds to a randomly selected row of the Hadamard matrix”, at least because Zhang and Sivanesan are in the same field of endeavor with regard to the configuration and management of control/reference signals in wireless infrastructures. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve resource allocation and management for control and reference signaling (Sivanesan, paragraphs 1-2; Eriksson, paragraphs 1-15; Zhang, paragraphs 1-22). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art as of and before the effective filing date.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463