DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
The claim recites a method of organizing and dynamically displaying map/navigation information across multiple display generation components in response to display activation/deactivation, route characteristics and user inputs.
The additional elements an electronic device in communication with a first display generation component, a second display generation component, and one or more input devices; while displaying, via the first display generation component, a first area from a first viewpoint, detecting activation of the second display generation component; in response to detecting activation of the second display generation component changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the first viewpoint to be from a second viewpoint, different from the first viewpoint and. displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, is an action of certain methods of organizing human activity, then it falls within the “certain methods of organizing human activity and/or mental processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claimed elements recite an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional elements an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vulcano et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0365126) in view of Apple CarPlay will Intergrate with a Car’s Hardware WWDC 2022 www.youtube.com.
Regarding claim 1, Vulcano discloses a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with a first display generation component, a second display generation component, and one or more input devices [see para. 0067 and figures 1-2; a mapping and navigation application that generates multiple user interfaces simultaneously. The mapping and navigation application operates on a mobile device such as a smart phone or tablet device, the mapping and navigation application outputs a first user interface to a local display module of the mobile device and a second user interface to a communication interface with a vehicle; which corresponds to electronic device in communication with one or more input devices]:
while displaying, via the first display generation component, a first area from a first viewpoint, detecting activation of the second display generation component [see para. 0078-0080; The 3D control is a control for viewing the map or inspecting a route in three dimensions. The mapping application provides the 3D control as a quick mechanism for entering or exiting a 3D mode. This control also serves as (1) an indicator that the current map view is a 3D view and (2) an indicator that a 3D perspective is available for a given map view (e.g., a map view that is zoomed out might not have a 3D view available) and the UI output by the mapping application for display on the mobile device. In addition, the mapping application outputs (i.e., generates for display) a UI for display on the vehicle dashboard screen. This second UI provides a subset of the functionalities of the first mobile device UI, and is designed to focus the user towards identifying a navigation destination with minimal touch interaction, as the user will often be the driver of the vehicle; which corresponds to select to view point of vehicle display connection];
and in response to detecting activation of the second display generation component [see para 0107-0109; the mapping application only generates one vehicle user interface, in addition to the local device user interface for display on the mobile device on which the mapping application operates and the process begins by detecting a connection to a vehicle interface. The process is started by the mapping application when the mobile device on which the application operates connects to the vehicle interface (e.g., by a user connecting the device with a USB connector) and the mapping application is running on the device (e.g., running in the background or foreground of the device); which corresponds to interact communication system and display]: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the first viewpoint to be from a second viewpoint, different from the first viewpoint [see para. 0108, 0112, 0125; a home page user interface output by the mobile device operating system when the mobile device is connected to a vehicle system with a high-quality touchscreen interface. The home page includes a clock and a menu bar that includes several controls. The menu bar includes a phone control, a music control, a map control, a messaging control, a car control, and a now playing control, this user interface includes controls for accessing various applications or functions that operate on the mobile device that a user is most likely to access while driving. These additional buttons enable the user to access various functions of the vehicle system (e.g., music, phone calls with a connected phone), as well as navigate a set of menus provided by the vehicle system (e.g., to access an in-car navigation system provided with the vehicle); which corresponds to reconfigure and distribute map navigation content of the same geographic route across two displays]; however, Vulcano fails to explicitly teach displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint.
Apple Carplay discloses displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint [see timelines 0052-3:07; content for all drivers screens both car and iphone; it goes beyond with carplay integration with car’s hardware; which corresponds to distribute of multiple video streams of navigation map content for the same geographic area/route enabling different viewpoints].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Volcano and Apple CarPlay before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, mapping application with navigation mode of Vulcano to include multi-stream rendering on secondary displays, as taught by Apple CarPlay. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve multi-display map usability screen viewpoint on an electronic device and supports independent map exploration and different perspectives on multiple display generation components.
Regarding claim 2, Vulcano discloses wherein the first viewpoint includes a simulated overhead view of the first area [see para. 0147; a navigation information bar, a navigation map, a 3D control, and a direction list control 897. The navigation information bar 888 displays instructions for a next maneuver to perform along the navigated route, as well as estimated arrival time information (i.e., travel time, travel distance, and arrival time). The 3D control 895 enables a user to toggle the navigation map 890 between 3D and 2D animation. The 3D control 895 is shown as currently selected at stage 825, and the application displays the navigation map 890 in three dimensions. Some embodiments automatically select the 3D option upon entering the turn-by-turn navigation mode].
Regarding claim 3, Apple CarPlay discloses wherein the second viewpoint includes a simulated aerial view of the first area [see timelines 0052-3:07; content for all drivers screens both car and iphone; it goes beyond with carplay integration with car’s hardware; which corresponds to distribute of multiple video streams of navigation map content for the same geographic area/route enabling different viewpoints].
Regarding claim 4, Vulcano discloses wherein displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint includes displaying the first area from the first viewpoint in a user interface of a map application, the method further comprising: displaying, in the user interface of the map application, a user interface element selectable to change the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the first viewpoint to be from the second viewpoint [see para. 0080-0081 and figure 2; the UI output by the mapping application for display on the mobile device. In addition, the mapping application outputs (i.e., generates for display) a UI for display on the vehicle dashboard screen, this second UI provides a subset of the functionalities of the first mobile device UI, and is designed to focus the user towards identifying a navigation destination with minimal touch interaction, as the user will often be the driver of the vehicle. The vehicle user interface includes, in addition to the map, several UI controls arranged in a top bar, and a home button located within a lower information bar, the vehicle user interface is dependent, in some embodiments, on the type of user interface provided by the vehicle. On the other hand, some embodiments generate different user interfaces for categories of vehicle screens, such as high-quality touchscreens, low-quality touchscreens, and non-touch screens (with which a user interacts via separate controls built into the vehicle). The mapping application of some embodiments, when connected to a vehicle, identifies the type of display screen built into the vehicle, and automatically outputs the correct user interface for the vehicle; which corresponds to control function across the multi-display environment].
Regarding claim 5; Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input that corresponds to a request to change a zoom level of the first area; and in response to detecting the second input: in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level corresponds to changing the zoom level by a first amount, displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area at a first zoom level including changing the display of the first area from the first viewpoint to be from a third viewpoint [see para. 0092 and figures 8-9; The zoom controls enable the user to zoom in and out of the map view. In addition to zooming to explore the map view, users may also scroll through the map region of the mapping application, the scrolling and zooming features differ for different types of vehicle interfaces because of the different capabilities of the different types of display screens. For instance, UI is a high-quality touchscreen interface, and the user scrolls the map view via swipe, or drag, gestures. Rather than zoom controls a different control that the user selects to activate the selectable arrows as well as zoom controls similar to those for the high-quality touch interface. The non-touchscreen vehicle user interface, of course, requires input through other controls in order to zoom and scroll. These other controls may include a joystick, trackball, various buttons, etc. that are built into the vehicle]; and in accordance with a determination that the request to change the zoom level corresponds to changing the zoom level by a second amount, different from the first amount, displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area at a second zoom level including changing the display of the first area from the first viewpoint to be from a fourth viewpoint, different from the third viewpoint [see para. 0124, 0166; an interface output to a third vehicle by the mapping application. This third two stages of the non-touchscreen vehicle display. The first stage a home menu user interface displayed on the vehicle screen, as well as vehicle hardware controls. While the vehicle hardware controls located directly below the display screen, different vehicles may have their controls located in different places and the fourth stage the user selecting the position control, selection of the position control of some embodiments causes the mapping application to center the map region about the current location of the device, irrespective of the map region previously displayed on the map].
Regarding claim 6, Vulcano discloses wherein displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint includes displaying navigation directions along a first route, the method further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the navigation directions along the first route, in accordance with a determination that an upcoming route characteristic satisfies one or more first criteria [see para. 0408; Map service configured to return results related to a variety of parameters including but not limited to a location entered into an address bar or other text entry field (including abbreviations and/or other shorthand notation), a current map view (e.g., user may be viewing one location on the multifunction device while residing in another location), current location of the user (e.g., in cases where the current map view did not include search results), and the current route, these parameters may affect the composition of the search results (and/or the ordering of the search results) based on different priority weightings. The search results that are returned may be a subset of results selected based on specific criteria include but not limited to a quantity of times the search result (e.g., a particular point of interest) has been requested, a measure of quality associated with the search result (e.g., highest user or editorial review rating), and/or the volume of reviews for the search results].
Apple CarPlay discloses displaying, via the first display generation component, a second area from the second viewpoint that is associated with the upcoming route characteristic; and maintaining display, via the second display generation component, of the first area from the first viewpoint [see timelines 0052-3:07; content for all drivers screens both car and iphone; it goes beyond with carplay integration with car’s hardware; which corresponds to distribute of multiple video streams of navigation map content for the same geographic area/route enabling different viewpoints].
One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve multi-display map usability screen viewpoint on an electronic device and supports independent map exploration and different perspectives on multiple display generation components.
Regarding claim 7. Vulcano discloses wherein displaying, via the first display generation component, the second area from the second viewpoint that is associated with the upcoming route characteristic includes displaying a user interface element, the method further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the user interface element selectable to initiate an operation associated with the upcoming route characteristic, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input that corresponds to selection of the user interface element; and in response to detecting the second input [see para. 0074, 0075; Once a route has been identified that starts at the current location of the device enable the user to enter a turn-by-turn navigation mode of the mapping application by selecting a UI control. In the turn-by-turn navigation mode of some embodiments, the mapping application presents a view along the selected route, while also providing instructions for upcoming maneuvers to perform (e.g., as road signs with both text and graphical instructions), the mapping application generates this view from a perspective rendering position within a three dimensional navigation scene that the device renders]: changing the display, via the first display generation component, from the second area from the second viewpoint to be from the first area from the second viewpoint including navigation directions along a second route, different from the first route; and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including an indication of the second route [see para. 0089; The predictive routing control enables access to a predictive routing display of the mapping application, in which the mapping application presents various likely routes to the user for navigation. The mapping application may generate the likely routes based on a variety of factors, including upcoming appointments or events on a calendar or other scheduling application that runs on the mobile device, or analysis of routes taken in the past by the mobile device (e.g., a route from a user's home to work). The predictive routing feature may additionally factor in traffic to identify potential difficulties in a usual route or in reaching a location on time, the application presents the likely routes with a navigation view on one portion of the display and information about the route (including estimated arrival time, metadata about the source of the route, etc.) on a second portion of the display, with the ability to scroll through the routes].
Regarding claim 8, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint, detecting deactivation of a respective display generation component; and in response to detecting the deactivation of the respective display generation component [see para. 0365 and figure 43; the application sends the navigation mode map view that follows the vehicle location to the vehicle display, and outputs the maneuver instructions to the mobile device display. When the user disconnects the device from the vehicle system while in navigation mode, the application does the reverse. The mobile device display transitions from the maneuver instructions to the standard turn-by-turn navigation mode when not connected. In addition, in some embodiments the device recognizes when the user has left her vehicle (e.g., based on the type of movement of the device consistent with walking) and transitions automatically from a driving navigation mode to a walking navigation mode]; in accordance with a determination that deactivation corresponds to deactivating the first display generation component: maintaining display, via the second display generation component, of the first area from the first viewpoint; and ceasing to display, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint; and in accordance with a determination that deactivation corresponds to deactivating the second display generation component: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the second viewpoint to be from the first viewpoint; and ceasing to display, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint [see para. 0344, 0348; the mobile device in the second stage displays a route display interface showing possible routes between the selected start and end locations. In addition to various map controls (e.g., a position control, 3D control, and a direction list control), the route display interface includes three selectable routes between the two locations. The information bar also includes an end route display control for returning to the standard map view interface and a start navigation control for entering navigation along the selected route. Meanwhile, the vehicle display has not changed from the first stage to the second stage while the user views the route display interface on the mobile device and the user taps the display screen of the mobile device, at the second stage the application displays a set of controls at the bottom of the display. The set of controls includes an end navigation control for ending the turn-by-turn navigation mode and returning to the standard map exploration mode of the mapping application, as well as an overview control for displaying an overview of the route being navigated].
Regarding claim 9, Apple CarPlay discloses wherein: displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint includes displaying first content; and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint includes displaying second content [see timelines 0052-3:07; content for all drivers screens both car and iphone; it goes beyond with carplay integration with car’s hardware; which corresponds to distribute of multiple video streams of navigation map content for the same geographic area/route enabling different viewpoints].
Regarding claim 10, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first content and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second content, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to cease display of the first area via the first display generation component [see para. 0074; The direction control opens a page through which a user can request the mapping application to identify a route between a starting location and an ending location. Upon receiving a selection (e.g., through a tap gesture) of a the direction control, the mapping application presents a page allowing the user to select a starting location (e.g., the user's current location or a different location) and an ending location for a route. Once a route has been identified that starts at the current location of the device enable the user to enter a turn-by-turn navigation mode of the mapping application by selecting a UI control. In the turn-by-turn navigation mode of some embodiments, the mapping application presents a view along the selected route, while also providing instructions for upcoming maneuvers to perform (e.g., as road signs with both text and graphical instructions). The mapping application generates this view from a perspective rendering position within a three dimensional navigation scene that the device renders]; and in response to detecting the second input: changing the display of the first area, via the second display generation component, from the first viewpoint including the second content to include third content; and ceasing to display, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first content [see para. 0092; The user can interact with the vehicle user interface to, e.g., view a list of maneuvers to make for the route (e.g., a right turn onto a particular street), change between two and three dimensions, and other interactions, when the vehicle reaches a location within a particular threshold of the next maneuver, a portion of the vehicle screen displays a representation for the maneuver (e.g., an intersection with an arrow that represents the vehicle's path through the intersection, as well as text directions for the maneuver). Once the vehicle has passed through the intersection, the representation of the maneuver disappears from the display screen of the vehicle. While the vehicle display shows the upcoming route on a map, the mobile device display of some embodiments subsequently shows a representation for the upcoming maneuver, irrespective of the distance for the vehicle to travel before making the maneuver].
Regarding claim 11, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the third content, detecting, via the one or input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display the first area via the first display generation component; and in response to detecting the third input: changing the display of the first area, via the second display generation component, from the first viewpoint including the third content to include fourth content; and displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including fifth content different from the fourth content [see para, 0134, 0135; Also at the third stage, the user selects the bookmarks control. The fourth stage illustrates a resulting bookmarked destinations page. These destinations, unlike those on the recents page, do not change based on recent user activity within the mapping application (unless that activity specifically adds a destination as a bookmark or removes a destination from the bookmarks). The bookmarks, appear as names chosen by the user (e.g., "Home"), rather than addresses or proper business names, unless those are the names chosen. As with the recent destinations page, the bookmarked destinations page includes a cancel button, which the user is shown selecting (with a tap selection) in stage. The user selects the cancel button in order to exit the bookmarked destinations page and return to the map view UI, as shown at the fifth stage. Also at the fifth stage, the user selects the predictive routing control].
Regarding claim 12, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first content and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second content, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to cease display of the first area via the second display generation component [see para. 0365 and figure 43; the application sends the navigation mode map view that follows the vehicle location to the vehicle display, and outputs the maneuver instructions to the mobile device display. When the user disconnects the device from the vehicle system while in navigation mode, the application does the reverse. The mobile device display transitions from the maneuver instructions to the standard turn-by-turn navigation mode when not connected. In addition, in some embodiments the device recognizes when the user has left her vehicle (e.g., based on the type of movement of the device consistent with walking) and transitions automatically from a driving navigation mode to a walking navigation mode]; and in response to detecting the second input: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the second viewpoint including the first content to the first viewpoint including third content; and ceasing to display, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second content [see para. 0344, 0348; the mobile device 4600 in the second stage displays a route display interface showing possible routes between the selected start and end locations. In addition to various map controls (e.g., a position control, 3D control, and a direction list control), the route display interface includes three selectable routes between the two locations. The information bar also includes an end route display control for returning to the standard map view interface and a start navigation control for entering navigation along the selected route. Meanwhile, the vehicle display has not changed from the first stage to the second stage while the user views the route display interface on the mobile device and the user taps the display screen of the mobile device, at the second stage the application displays a set of controls at the bottom of the display. The set of controls includes an end navigation control for ending the turn-by-turn navigation mode and returning to the standard map exploration mode of the mapping application, as well as an overview control for displaying an overview of the route being navigated].
Regarding claim 13, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the third content, detecting, via the one or input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display the first area via the second display generation component; and in response to detecting the third input: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the first viewpoint including the third content to the second viewpoint including fourth content; and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including fifth content different from the fourth content [see para, 0134, 0135; The fourth stage illustrates a resulting bookmarked destinations page. These destinations, unlike those on the recents page, do not change based on recent user activity within the mapping application (unless that activity specifically adds a destination as a bookmark or removes a destination from the bookmarks). The bookmarks, appear as names chosen by the user (e.g., "Home"), rather than addresses or proper business names, unless those are the names chosen. As with the recent destinations page, the bookmarked destinations page includes a cancel button, which the user is shown selecting (with a tap selection) in stage. The user selects the cancel button in order to exit the bookmarked destinations page and return to the map view UI, as shown at the fifth stage. Also at the fifth stage, the user selects the predictive routing control].
Regarding claim 14, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first content and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second content, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to display a user interface element; and in response to detecting the second input: displaying, via the first display generation component, the user interface element and third content, different from the first content or displaying, via the second display generation component, fourth content, different from the second content [see para. 0215-0218; the operation of the mapping application search feature for the non-touchscreen vehicle user interface of some embodiments, over six stages. The first stage and second stage are the same as the third and fourth stages In this case, however, at the second stage, the user performs a selection input (e.g., pushing the joystick inwards, pushing a knob inwards, pressing a particular hardware button, performing a specific input on a trackball, etc.) with the search menu option selected. As shown at the third stage, this selection activates the search feature, causing the display of a search function page. The search function page is analogous to the touchscreen search function page, and prompts the user to dictate a destination along with examples. Instead, as shown at the fourth stage, the user dictates the search "coffee", the same search term used].
Regarding claim 15, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first content and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second content, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to display a user interface element; and in response to detecting the second input: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the second viewpoint to be from a third viewpoint different from the second viewpoint or changing the display of the first area [see para. 0273; the third stage the user again performs a leftward swipe gesture. As shown at the fourth stage 3120, this again causes the application to slide the information for the second destination to the left and indicate a third predicted destination. This third destination has a name of Dentist, an ETA of 2:43, and is a rare destination for the user. In addition, the metadata indicates that the user has an appointment at the dentist today. The user might have scheduled a dentist appointment for 4:00, and also added a calendar event to see her uncle at 3:00. In addition, the third of the circles 3135 is now filled in]; via the second display generation component, from the first viewpoint to be from a fourth viewpoint different from the first viewpoint; and displaying, via the first display generation component, the user interface element [see para, 0276; Thus, the second stage a user performing a leftward swipe gesture, and the third stage that the interface now displays the second of the predicted likely destinations. At this stage, rather than swiping, the user selects the right arrow control. As shown at the fourth stage, the selection of the right arrow causes the same action in the interface as a leftward swipe gesture, as the mapping application now displays the third predicted destination in the interface].
Regarding claim 16, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while navigating along a first route and while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint, in accordance with a determination that an upcoming maneuver of the first route satisfies one or more first criteria: displaying, using the first display generation component, a first indication of the upcoming maneuver; and displaying, via the second display generation component, a second indication of the upcoming maneuver, different from the first indication of the upcoming maneuver [see para. 0308-0309; The summary of the next maneuver along the route includes a graphical representation of the maneuver and intersection, a distance to the next maneuver that counts down, and text instructions describing the maneuver. This maneuver summary information will be described additionally below by reference to the navigation instruction panel. As the vehicle to which the mobile device running the mapping application is connected approaches a maneuver, the application of some embodiments slides a navigation instruction panel into the navigation user interface in order to alert the driver of the upcoming maneuver to perform. The third stage illustrates that as the vehicle approaches the intersection where the route turns right, a navigation instruction panel begins to slide onto the display, as represented by the right-facing arrows. The mapping application of some embodiments animates the introduction of this panel once the vehicle approaches within a threshold distance (e.g., 250 ft., 200 ft., 100 m, etc.) of the intersection at which the maneuver will be performed].
Regarding claim 17, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first indication of the upcoming maneuver and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second indication of the upcoming maneuver, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to cease display of the first area via the first display generation component; and in response to detecting the second input: [see para. 0074, 0075; Once a route has been identified that starts at the current location of the device enable the user to enter a turn-by-turn navigation mode of the mapping application by selecting a UI control. In the turn-by-turn navigation mode of some embodiments, the mapping application presents a view along the selected route, while also providing instructions for upcoming maneuvers to perform (e.g., as road signs with both text and graphical instructions), the mapping application generates this view from a perspective rendering position within a three dimensional navigation scene that the device renders]; changing the display of the first area, via the second display generation component, from the first viewpoint including the second indication of the upcoming maneuver to include a third indication of the upcoming maneuver; and ceasing to display, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first indication of the upcoming maneuver [see para. 0313-0314; the navigation instruction panel is designed to have the appearance of a road sign, such as one might see along the side of a freeway. Some embodiments use different colors, textures, or other aspects of the appearance of the navigation instruction panel to match the appearance of road signs in the location (e.g., country, state, etc.) of the vehicle. Within the panel, the application displays (1) a graphical instruction of the upcoming maneuver to perform and (2) a text instruction describing the maneuver, the mapping application generates, for each maneuver along a route, at least two different stylized graphical indicators. These include a complex graphical indicator that shows all roads entering and leaving the intersection as well as an arrow indicating the maneuver through the intersection, and a simpler graphical indicator that shows only an arrow indicating the maneuver (e.g., a right turn)].
Regarding claim 18, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the third indication of the upcoming maneuver, detecting, via the one or input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display the first area via the first display generation component; and in response to detecting the third input: changing the display of the first area, via the second display generation component, from the first viewpoint including the third indication of the upcoming maneuver to include a fourth indication of the upcoming maneuver; and displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including a fifth indication of the upcoming maneuver [see para. 0362-0363; the vehicle has not yet approached the upcoming intersection. Thus, no directions are yet given for this maneuver. However, within the music application on the vehicle screen, the lower information bar that includes the simulated home button includes text stating "Return to Navigation" and has changed color. This indicates that the user can select anywhere on this bar to return to the turn-by-turn navigation view. The mobile device to output interfaces for the same application to both the mobile device display and the vehicle display. That is, when the user selects the mapping application in one display, the application opens in both. Similarly, when the user exits the mapping application in one display, the home pages of both are displayed].
Regarding claim 19, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first indication of the upcoming maneuver and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second indication of the upcoming maneuver, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to cease display of the first area via the second display generation component; and in response to detecting the second input see para. 0308-0309; the summary of the next maneuver along the route includes a graphical representation of the maneuver and intersection, a distance to the next maneuver that counts down, and text instructions describing the maneuver. This maneuver summary information will be described additionally below by reference to the navigation instruction panel. As the vehicle to which the mobile device running the mapping application is connected approaches a maneuver, the application of some embodiments slides a navigation instruction panel into the navigation user interface in order to alert the driver of the upcoming maneuver to perform. The third stage illustrates that as the vehicle approaches the intersection where the route turns right, a navigation instruction panel begins to slide onto the display, as represented by the right-facing arrows. The mapping application of some embodiments animates the introduction of this panel once the vehicle approaches within a threshold distance (e.g., 250 ft., 200 ft., 100 m, etc.) of the intersection at which the maneuver will be performed].:
changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the second viewpoint including the first indication of the upcoming maneuver to the first viewpoint including a third indication of the upcoming maneuver; and ceasing to display, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second indication of the upcoming maneuver [see para. 0313-0314; the navigation instruction panel is designed to have the appearance of a road sign, such as one might see along the side of a freeway. Some embodiments use different colors, textures, or other aspects of the appearance of the navigation instruction panel to match the appearance of road signs in the location (e.g., country, state, etc.) of the vehicle. Within the panel, the application displays (1) a graphical instruction of the upcoming maneuver to perform and (2) a text instruction describing the maneuver, the mapping application generates, for each maneuver along a route, at least two different stylized graphical indicators. These include a complex graphical indicator that shows all roads entering and leaving the intersection as well as an arrow indicating the maneuver through the intersection, and a simpler graphical indicator that shows only an arrow indicating the maneuver (e.g., a right turn)].
Regarding claim 20, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the third indication of the upcoming maneuver, detecting, via the one or input devices, a third input corresponding to a request to display the first area via the second display generation component; and in response to detecting the third input: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the first viewpoint including the third indication of the upcoming maneuver to the second viewpoint including a fourth indication of the upcoming maneuver; and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including a fifth indication of the upcoming maneuver [see para. 0316-0318; the fifth stage the navigation UI after the vehicle has proceeded through the intersection along the route, as specified by the navigation instruction panel. At this point, the panel begins sliding back off of the display (as indicated by the leftward facing arrows, which are not displayed in the UI). As the instruction panel slides off of the display, the map view increases in size and the 3D control moves back to the left, with the opposite animation as that used for sliding the instruction panel into the display. The navigation instruction panel counts down the distance to the intersection at which the vehicle will perform the displayed maneuver. In the fourth stage the instruction panel displays feet as the distance to the next intersection. Before removing the sign in the fifth stage, the application changes this displayed number at various threshold distances from the intersection. The navigation information bar has returned, and displays a summary of the new next maneuver].
Regarding claim 21, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first indication of the upcoming maneuver and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second indication of the upcoming maneuver, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to display a user interface element; and in response to detecting the second input: displaying, via the first display generation component, the user interface element; and; displaying, via the first display generation component, a third indication of the upcoming maneuver, different from the first indication of the upcoming maneuver or displaying, via the second display generation component, a fourth indication of the upcoming maneuver, different from the second indication of the upcoming maneuver [see para. 0147, 0155; the fifth stage displays the user selecting the button in order to enter navigation to the selected destination (ABC Delicatessen). The sixth stage a navigation mode user interface. The navigation UI includes the lower information bar from the initial map UI, a navigation information bar, a navigation map, a 3D control, and a direction list control. The navigation information bar displays instructions for a next maneuver to perform along the navigated route, as well as estimated arrival time information (i.e., travel time, travel distance, and arrival time). The 3D control enables a user to toggle the navigation map 890 between 3D and 2D animation. The 3D control currently selected at stage, and the application displays the navigation map in three dimensions. Some embodiments automatically select the 3D option upon entering the turn-by-turn navigation mode. The list control enables the user to access a list of maneuvers for the route].
Regarding claim 22, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint including the first indication of the upcoming maneuver and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint including the second indication of the upcoming maneuver, detecting, via the one or input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to display a user interface element; and in response to detecting the second input: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the second viewpoint to be from a third viewpoint different from the first viewpoint or changing the display of the first area, via the second display generation component, from the first viewpoint to be from a fourth viewpoint different from the first viewpoint; and displaying, via the first display generation component, the user interface element [see para. 0364; a mobile device that displays a mobile device home page, with several selectable items for opening various applications (including the mapping application). At the same time, the vehicle touchscreen displays a turn-by-turn navigation mode UI. In the second stage, the vehicle has approached within a threshold distance of the intersection at which the next maneuver will be performed along the route, and therefore the application displays a navigation instruction panel for the maneuver on the left side of the vehicle display. At the same time, despite having exited out of the mapping application interface on the mobile device, the device displays the maneuver instructions, both of these sets of instructions on the two displays count down the distance to the maneuver as the vehicle approaches the intersection. The third stage illustrates that after the vehicle passes through the intersection, the display on the mobile device returns to the home screen, while the navigation instruction panel is removed from the vehicle display].
Regarding claim 23, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while navigating along the first route, in accordance with a determination of arrival at a destination of the first route: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the second viewpoint to be from a third viewpoint including displaying a representation of the destination at a zoom level zoomed in from a zoom level of the third viewpoint [see para. 0237; The third stage displays four dropped pins in the mobile device interface, corresponding to the search results for a generic search for pizza, the mapping application changes the zoom level of the map view in the mobile device UI in order to display all of the search results. The mapping application also selects the first search result (for a particular pizza location), and displays an expandable banner for the result. At this point, the mapping application also directs the vehicle user interface to display the search results, as if the search had been performed using the vehicle interface].
Regarding claim 24, Vulcano discloses further comprising: while displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the second viewpoint and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first arca from the first viewpoint, in accordance with a determination that an upcoming maneuver of a route satisfies one or more first criteria: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the second viewpoint to be from a first zoom level of the second viewpoint; and changing the display of the first area, via the second display generation component, from the first viewpoint to be from a second zoom level of the first viewpoint [see para. 0329; The user selects the overview control at the second stage (via a tap input). As a result, the mapping application displays a route overview map at the third stage. The overview map of some embodiments displays a map at a zoom level such that the entirety of the remaining route, from the current location to the ending location, fits within the display. In addition, the map shows the route line for the remainder of the route, rather than showing the remaining route, display the entirety of the route from the starting location to the destination. The display also includes a resume navigation control in place of the overview control. Selection of the resume navigation control causes the application to resume the animated map view of navigation shown in the first stage].
Regarding claim 25, Vulcano discloses wherein: displaying, via the first display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint includes displaying the first area at a first zoom level; and displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint includes displaying the first area at a second zoom level, different from the first zoom level [see para. 0349; the user selects the overview control at the second stage. As a result, the mapping application displays a route overview map at the third stage. The overview map of some embodiments displays a map at a zoom level such that the entirety of the remaining route, from the current location to the ending location, fits within the display. In addition, the map shows the route line for the remainder of the route, rather than showing the remaining route, display the entirety of the route from the starting location to the destination. In addition to the overview map, the overview display includes a banner with an end navigation control, similar to the control in the previous stage, as well as a control for returning to the standard navigation view on the mobile device (i.e., the display of graphics and text for the upcoming maneuver)].
Regarding claim 26, Vulcano discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for [see para. 0038; a receiver, a memory, and a processor, the memory is configured to store an instruction, the processor is configured to: execute the instruction stored in the memory, and control the transmitter to send a signal and the receiver to receive a signal, and when the processor executes the instruction stored in the memory]:
while displaying, via the first display generation component, a first area from a first viewpoint, detecting activation of the second display generation component [see para. 0078-0080; The 3D control is a control for viewing the map or inspecting a route in three dimensions. The mapping application provides the 3D control as a quick mechanism for entering or exiting a 3D mode. This control also serves as (1) an indicator that the current map view is a 3D view and (2) an indicator that a 3D perspective is available for a given map view (e.g., a map view that is zoomed out might not have a 3D view available) and the UI output by the mapping application for display on the mobile device. In addition, the mapping application outputs (i.e., generates for display) a UI for display on the vehicle dashboard screen. This second UI provides a subset of the functionalities of the first mobile device UI, and is designed to focus the user towards identifying a navigation destination with minimal touch interaction, as the user will often be the driver of the vehicle; which corresponds to select to view point of vehicle display connection];
and in response to detecting activation of the second display generation component [see para 0107-0109; the mapping application only generates one vehicle user interface, in addition to the local device user interface for display on the mobile device on which the mapping application operates and the process begins by detecting a connection to a vehicle interface. The process is started by the mapping application when the mobile device on which the application operates connects to the vehicle interface (e.g., by a user connecting the device with a USB connector) and the mapping application is running on the device (e.g., running in the background or foreground of the device); which corresponds to interact communication system and display]: changing the display of the first area, via the first display generation component, from the first viewpoint to be from a second viewpoint, different from the first viewpoint [see para. 0108, 0112, 0125; a home page user interface output by the mobile device operating system when the mobile device is connected to a vehicle system with a high-quality touchscreen interface. The home page includes a clock and a menu bar that includes several controls. The menu bar includes a phone control, a music control, a map control, a messaging control, a car control, and a now playing control, this user interface includes controls for accessing various applications or functions that operate on the mobile device that a user is most likely to access while driving. These additional buttons enable the user to access various functions of the vehicle system (e.g., music, phone calls with a connected phone), as well as navigate a set of menus provided by the vehicle system (e.g., to access an in-car navigation system provided with the vehicle); which corresponds to reconfigure and distribute map navigation content of the same geographic route across two displays]; however, Vulcano fails to explicitly teach displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint.
Apple Carplay discloses displaying, via the second display generation component, the first area from the first viewpoint [see timelines 0052-3:07; content for all drivers screens both car and iphone; it goes beyond with carplay integration with car’s hardware; which corresponds to distribute of multiple video streams of navigation map content for the same geographic area/route enabling different viewpoints].
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Volcano and Apple CarPlay before the affective filing date of the claimed invention to modify, mapping application with navigation mode of Vulcano to include multi-stream rendering on secondary displays, as taught by Apple CarPlay. One would have been motivated to make such a combination in order to improve multi-display map usability screen viewpoint on an electronic device and supports independent map exploration and different perspectives on multiple display generation components.
Regarding claim 27 is an independent claim and relates to a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising. Since the features of claim 27 are substantially the same as those of claim 26 except for the category of invention, the same reasoning as in claim 26 applies to claim 27.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure (See PTO-892).
Shen (US 2018/0213358) discloses a scene sharing-based navigation assistance method and terminal is disclosed. A first terminal shares a scene image screen of a current scene of the first terminal with a second terminal, the first terminal receives prompt information sent by the second terminal, and the first terminal displays, on the scene image screen, the prompt information used to indicate a position of a target point. In this way, a user of the first terminal can more accurately describe, by using the scene image screen, a scene in which the user is located, so that the second terminal can more accurately determine the prompt information.
A reference to specific paragraphs, columns, pages, or figures in a cited prior art reference is not limited to preferred embodiments or any specific examples. It is well settled that a prior art reference, in its entirety, must be considered for all that it expressly teaches and fairly suggests to one having ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, a prior art disclosure reading on a limitation of Applicant's claim cannot be ignored on the ground that other embodiments disclosed were instead cited. Therefore, the Examiner's citation to a specific portion of a single prior art reference is not intended to exclusively dictate, but rather, to demonstrate an exemplary disclosure commensurate with the specific limitations being addressed. In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33,216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006,1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). In re: Upsher-Smith Labs. v. Pamlab, LLC, 412 F.3d 1319, 1323, 75 USPQ2d 1213, 1215 (Fed. Cir. 2005); In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264, 23 USPQ2d 1780, 1782 (Fed. Cir. 1992); Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 807, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1846 (Fed. Cir. 1989); In re Fracalossi, 681 F.2d 792,794 n.1,215 USPQ 569, 570 n.1 (CCPA 1982); In re Lamberti, 545 F.2d 747, 750, 192 USPQ 278, 280 (CCPA 1976); In re Bozek, 416 F.2d 1385, 1390, 163 USPQ 545, 549 (CCPA 1969).
/CAO H NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171