DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/20/2025 and 05/06/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the polarizing light splitting film" in 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if “the polarizing light splitting film” is intended to refer to the “polarizing beam splitter film,” the “first linear polarizing film,” or some other element or combination of elements. For the purposes of examination, “the polarizing light splitting film” will be interpreted as “the polarizing beam splitter film.”
Claims 2-11 are rejected as being dependent upon claim 1 and failing to cure the deficiencies of the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schuck et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11,480,800; hereinafter – “Schuck”).
Regarding claim 1, Schuck teaches a near-eye display device, comprising an image source (804), a waveguide element (812, 822), a first lens (832), a first quarter-wave plate (830), a polarizing beam splitter film (824), and a first linear polarizing film (826) (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30-52), wherein
the image source (804) is configured to provide an image light beam (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30-63),
the waveguide element comprises a first waveguide part (812) and a second waveguide part (822), wherein the polarizing beam splitter film (824) and the first linear polarizing film (826) are disposed between the first waveguide part (812) and the second waveguide part (822) (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 33),
a transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (824) is parallel to a transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (826), and has an included angle with a slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate (830), the included angle being 45 degrees (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 33),
after being reflected by a surface (814) of the first waveguide part (812), the image light beam travels toward the polarizing light splitting film (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30-63), and
after passing through the first quarter-wave plate (830), at least a portion of the image light beam is reflected by a first surface (834) of the first lens (832), and then passes through the first quarter-wave plate (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 51).
Regarding claim 3, Schuck teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Schuck further teaches that the at least a portion of the image light beam is reflected and converged by the first surface of the first lens (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 51).
Regarding claim 4, Schuck teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Schuck further teaches that the second waveguide part (822) has a light exit surface (836), and the light exit surface (836) is parallel to the surface (814) of the first waveguide part (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 33).
Regarding claim 9, Schuck teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Schuck further teaches that the first lens (832) has a surface with a concave surface (834) facing the first quarter-wave plate (830) (See e.g. Figs. 8C-8G; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 51).
Regarding claim 10, Schuck teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Schuck further teaches a polarization conversion device (802, 810, 841) disposed on a path of the image light beam and located between the image source and the waveguide element, wherein the image light beam passing through the polarization conversion device is reflected by the surface of the first waveguide part, and then is formed into light traveling toward the polarizing beam splitter film and having a polarization direction perpendicular to the transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 51).
Regarding claim 11, Schuck teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 10, as above.
Schuck further teaches that the polarization conversion device comprises a polarizing beam splitter (810) and a second quarter-wave plate (802) (See e.g. Fig. 8C; C. 11, L. 30 – C. 12, L. 51).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,222,677; hereinafter – “Budd”) in view of Qin et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2019/0025602; hereinafter – “Qin”).
Regarding claim 1, Budd teaches a near-eye display device, comprising an image source (100, 200), a waveguide element (300, 600), a first lens (420), a first quarter-wave plate (400), a polarizing beam splitter film (360) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4), wherein
the image source (100, 200) is configured to provide an image light beam (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4),
the waveguide element comprises a first waveguide part (300) and a second waveguide part (600), wherein the polarizing beam splitter film (360) is disposed between the first waveguide part (300) and the second waveguide part (600) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4),
a transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (360) has an included angle with a slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate (400), the included angle being 45 degrees (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4),
after being reflected by a surface (340) of the first waveguide part (300), the image light beam travels toward the polarizing light splitting film (360) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4), and
after passing through the first quarter-wave plate (400), at least a portion of the image light beam is reflected by a first surface (550) of the first lens (420), and then passes through the first quarter-wave plate (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Budd fails to explicitly disclose a first linear polarizing film disposed between the first waveguide part and the second waveguide part and that the transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film is parallel to a transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film.
However, Qin teaches compact near-eye display optics for augmented reality comprising an image source (102, 201, 302, 402, 502), a first lens (127, 224, 322, 424, 524), a first quarter-wave plate (137, 228, 327, 427, 527), a polarizing beam splitter film (138, 232, 329, 429, 529), and a first linear polarizing film (139, 240, 331, 431, 531), wherein the image source (102, 201, 302, 402, 502) is configured to provide an image light beam, wherein the polarizing beam splitter film (138, 232, 329, 429, 529) and the first linear polarizing film (139, 240, 331, 431, 531) are disposed between the image source and the first lens, a transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (138, 232, 329, 429, 529) is parallel to a transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (139, 240, 331, 431, 531), and has an included angle with a slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate (137, 228, 327, 427, 527), the included angle being 45 degrees (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Qin teaches this arrangement of first linear polarizing film and polarizing beam splitter film to provide “an increased field-of-view (e.g., on the order of) 80° for applications such as augmented reality (AR), while encompassing a significantly smaller volume than conventional AR optical systems” (Paragraph 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Budd with the linear polarizing film of Qin to provide “an increased field-of-view (e.g., on the order of) 80° for applications such as augmented reality (AR), while encompassing a significantly smaller volume than conventional AR optical systems,” as taught by Qin (Paragraph 0011). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include this linear polarizing film between the first and second waveguide parts as Qin explicitly teaches the linear polarizing film formed on the polarizing beam splitter film and since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 2, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the first lens (420), the first quarter-wave plate (400), the first waveguide part (300), the polarizing light splitting film (360), and the second waveguide part (600) sequentially (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Additionally, Qin further teaches that when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the first lens (127, 224, 322, 424, 524), the first quarter-wave plate (137, 228, 327, 427, 527), the polarizing light splitting film (138, 232, 329, 429, 529), the first linear polarizing film (139, 240, 331, 431, 531) sequentially (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Regarding claim 3, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that the at least a portion of the image light beam is reflected and converged by the first surface (550) of the first lens (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Additionally, Qin further teaches that the at least a portion of the image light beam is reflected and converged by the first surface of the first lens (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Regarding claim 4, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that the second waveguide part (600) has a light exit surface, and the light exit surface is parallel to the surface (340) of the first waveguide part (300) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd fails to explicitly disclose a second linear polarizing film and a second quarter-wave plate, wherein when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the second linear polarizing film and the second quarter-wave plate sequentially, and then passes through the first quarter-wave plate.
However, Qin further teaches a second linear polarizing film (124, 220, 319, 419, 519) and a second quarter-wave plate (122, 216, 335, 416, 535), wherein when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the second linear polarizing film and the second quarter-wave plate sequentially, and then passes through the first quarter-wave plate (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Qin teaches this second linear polarizing film and second quarter-wave plate to provide “an increased field-of-view (e.g., on the order of) 80° for applications such as augmented reality (AR), while encompassing a significantly smaller volume than conventional AR optical systems” (Paragraph 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Budd with the second linear polarizing film and second quarter-wave plate of Qin to provide “an increased field-of-view (e.g., on the order of) 80° for applications such as augmented reality (AR), while encompassing a significantly smaller volume than conventional AR optical systems,” as taught by Qin (Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 6, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 5, as above.
Qin further teaches that a slow axis of the second quarter-wave plate is parallel to the slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate, and a transmission axis of the second linear polarizing film is perpendicular to the transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Regarding claim 7, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 5, as above.
Qin further teaches that a slow axis of the second quarter-wave plate is perpendicular to the slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate, and a transmission axis of the second linear polarizing film is parallel to the transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Regarding claim 8, Budd in view of Qin teaches near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches a second lens (500), wherein when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the second lens (500) and then passes through the first lens (420), and the second lens has diopter (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Additionally, Qin further teaches a second lens (128, 324, 422, 522), wherein when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the second lens (128, 324, 422, 522) and then passes through the first lens (127, 322, 424, 524), and the second lens has diopter (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Regarding claim 9, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that the first lens (420) has a surface with a concave surface (550) facing the first quarter-wave plate (400) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Additionally, Qin further teaches that the first lens (127, 224, 322, 422, 522) has a surface with a concave surface (132, 224) facing the first quarter-wave plate (137, 228, 327, 427, 527) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Regarding claim 10, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd fails to explicitly disclose a polarization conversion device disposed on a path of the image light beam and located between the image source and the waveguide element, wherein the image light beam passing through the polarization conversion device is reflected by the surface of the first waveguide part, and then is formed into light traveling toward the polarizing beam splitter film and having a polarization direction perpendicular to the transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film.
However, Qin further teaches a polarization conversion device (110+120, 204+214, 310+315, 410+415, 510+515) disposed on a path of the image light beam and located between the image source and the polarizing beam splitter film, wherein the image light beam passing through the polarization conversion device is reflected by the surface of the first waveguide part, and then is formed into light traveling toward the polarizing beam splitter film and having a polarization direction perpendicular to the transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Qin teaches this polarization conversion device to provide “an increased field-of-view (e.g., on the order of) 80° for applications such as augmented reality (AR), while encompassing a significantly smaller volume than conventional AR optical systems” (Paragraph 0011).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Budd with the polarization conversion device of Qin to provide “an increased field-of-view (e.g., on the order of) 80° for applications such as augmented reality (AR), while encompassing a significantly smaller volume than conventional AR optical systems,” as taught by Qin (Paragraph 0011).
Regarding claim 11, Budd in view of Qin teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 10, as above.
Qin further teaches that the polarization conversion device comprises a polarizing beam splitter (123, 220, 317, 417, 517) and a second quarter-wave plate (114, 122, 210, 216, 314, 414, 416, 514, 516) (See e.g. Figs. 1-5; Paragraphs 0013-0027).
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-11 is/are additionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,222,677; hereinafter – “Budd”) in view of Tang (PCT Pub. No. WO 2021/185033 A1). All citations to Tang are directed toward the U.S. Publication of the National Stage Application (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0004006), used as an English translation.
Regarding claim 1, Budd teaches a near-eye display device, comprising an image source (100, 200), a waveguide element (300, 600), a first lens (420), a first quarter-wave plate (400), a polarizing beam splitter film (360) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4), wherein
the image source (100, 200) is configured to provide an image light beam (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4),
the waveguide element comprises a first waveguide part (300) and a second waveguide part (600), wherein the polarizing beam splitter film (360) is disposed between the first waveguide part (300) and the second waveguide part (600) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4),
a transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (360) has an included angle with a slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate (400), the included angle being 45 degrees (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4),
after being reflected by a surface (340) of the first waveguide part (300), the image light beam travels toward the polarizing light splitting film (360) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4), and
after passing through the first quarter-wave plate (400), at least a portion of the image light beam is reflected by a first surface (550) of the first lens (420), and then passes through the first quarter-wave plate (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Budd fails to explicitly disclose a first linear polarizing film disposed between the first waveguide part and the second waveguide part and that the transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film is parallel to a transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film.
However, Tang teaches an optical system and near-eye display device comprising an image source (10), a first lens (40), a first quarter-wave plate (32), a polarizing beam splitter film (31), and a first linear polarizing film (33), wherein the image source (10) is configured to provide an image light beam, wherein the polarizing beam splitter film (31) and the first linear polarizing film (33) are disposed between the image source and the first lens, a transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (31) is parallel to a transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (33), and has an included angle with a slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate (32), the included angle being 45 degrees (See e.g. Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0037-0046).
Tang teaches this arrangement of first linear polarizing film and polarizing beam splitter film “to achieve better imaging quality” (Paragraph 0037) and such that “polarized light that is in the ambient light A and has a vibration direction orthogonal to the vibration direction of the reflective polarizer 31 can be prevented from being reflected by the reflective polarizer 31 to the human eyes to form stray light and cause visual interference, and polarized light transmitted from the reflective polarizer 31 can be directly transmitted from the absorptive polarizer 33 to reach the human eyes, so that imaging is not affected” (Paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Budd with the linear polarizing film of Tang “to achieve better imaging quality” and such that “polarized light that is in the ambient light A and has a vibration direction orthogonal to the vibration direction of the reflective polarizer 31 can be prevented from being reflected by the reflective polarizer 31 to the human eyes to form stray light and cause visual interference, and polarized light transmitted from the reflective polarizer 31 can be directly transmitted from the absorptive polarizer 33 to reach the human eyes, so that imaging is not affected,” as taught by Tang (Paragraphs 0037 and 0040). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include this linear polarizing film between the first and second waveguide parts as Tang explicitly teaches the linear polarizing film formed on the polarizing beam splitter film and since it has been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 2, Budd in view of Tang teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the first lens (420), the first quarter-wave plate (400), the first waveguide part (300), the polarizing light splitting film (360), and the second waveguide part (600) sequentially (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Additionally, Tang further teaches that when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the first lens (40), the first quarter-wave plate (32), the polarizing light splitting film (31), the first linear polarizing film (33) sequentially (See e.g. Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0037-0046).
Regarding claim 3, Budd in view of Tang teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that the at least a portion of the image light beam is reflected and converged by the first surface (550) of the first lens (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Regarding claim 4, Budd in view of Tang teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that the second waveguide part (600) has a light exit surface, and the light exit surface is parallel to the surface (340) of the first waveguide part (300) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Regarding claim 8, Budd in view of Tang teaches near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches a second lens (500), wherein when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the second lens (500) and then passes through the first lens (420), and the second lens has diopter (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Budd in view of Tang teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd further teaches that the first lens (420) has a surface with a concave surface (550) facing the first quarter-wave plate (400) (See e.g. Figs. 4-11; C. 6, L. 24 – C. 7, L. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Budd in view of Tang teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd fails to explicitly disclose a polarization conversion device disposed on a path of the image light beam and located between the image source and the waveguide element, wherein the image light beam passing through the polarization conversion device is reflected by the surface of the first waveguide part, and then is formed into light traveling toward the polarizing beam splitter film and having a polarization direction perpendicular to the transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film.
However, Tang further teaches a polarization conversion device (20) disposed on a path of the image light beam and located between the image source and the polarizing beam splitter film, wherein the image light beam passing through the polarization conversion device is reflected by the surface of the first waveguide part, and then is formed into light traveling toward the polarizing beam splitter film and having a polarization direction perpendicular to the transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (See e.g. Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0037-0046).
Tang teaches this polarization conversion device “to achieve better imaging quality” (Paragraph 0037) and such that “polarized light that is in the ambient light A and has a vibration direction orthogonal to the vibration direction of the reflective polarizer 31 can be prevented from being reflected by the reflective polarizer 31 to the human eyes to form stray light and cause visual interference, and polarized light transmitted from the reflective polarizer 31 can be directly transmitted from the absorptive polarizer 33 to reach the human eyes, so that imaging is not affected” (Paragraph 0040).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Budd with the polarization conversion device of Tang “to achieve better imaging quality” and such that “polarized light that is in the ambient light A and has a vibration direction orthogonal to the vibration direction of the reflective polarizer 31 can be prevented from being reflected by the reflective polarizer 31 to the human eyes to form stray light and cause visual interference, and polarized light transmitted from the reflective polarizer 31 can be directly transmitted from the absorptive polarizer 33 to reach the human eyes, so that imaging is not affected,” as taught by Tang (Paragraphs 0037 and 0040).
Regarding claim 11, Budd in view of Tang teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 10, as above.
Tang further teaches that the polarization conversion device comprises a polarizing beam splitter (21) and a second quarter-wave plate (22) (See e.g. Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0037-0046).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Budd in view of Tang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Inoguchi (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2022/0066228).
Regarding claim 5, Budd in view of Tang teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 1, as above.
Budd and Tang fail to explicitly disclose a second linear polarizing film and a second quarter-wave plate, wherein when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the second linear polarizing film and the second quarter-wave plate sequentially, and then passes through the first quarter-wave plate.
However, Inoguchi teaches an observation apparatus comprising an image source (21), a first lens (141), a first quarter-wave plate (120), a polarizing beam splitter film (110), and a first linear polarizing film (160), wherein the image source (21) is configured to provide an image light beam, wherein the polarizing beam splitter film (110) and the first linear polarizing film (160) are disposed between the image source and the first lens, a transmission axis of the polarizing beam splitter film (110) is parallel to a transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (160), and has an included angle with a slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate (120), the included angle being 45 degrees, and a second linear polarizing film (80) and a second quarter-wave plate (70), wherein when ambient light enters the near-eye display device, the ambient light passes through the second linear polarizing film and the second quarter-wave plate sequentially, and then passes through the first quarter-wave plate (See e.g. Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0016-0018, 0029-0030, 0044, and 0055-0061).
Inoguchi teaches this second linear polarizing film and second quarter-wave plate to “realize a compact optical see-through type observation apparatus” (Paragraph 0066).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Budd with the second linear polarizing film and second quarter-wave plate of Inoguchi to “realize a compact optical see-through type observation apparatus,” as taught by Inoguchi (Paragraph 0066).
Regarding claim 6, Budd in view of Tang and Inoguchi teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 5, as above.
Inoguchi further teaches that a slow axis of the second quarter-wave plate is parallel to the slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate, and a transmission axis of the second linear polarizing film is perpendicular to the transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (See e.g. Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0016-0018, 0029-0030, 0044, and 0055-0061).
Regarding claim 7, Budd in view of Tang and Inoguchi teaches the near-eye display device according to claim 5, as above.
Inoguchi further teaches that a slow axis of the second quarter-wave plate is perpendicular to the slow axis of the first quarter-wave plate, and a transmission axis of the second linear polarizing film is parallel to the transmission axis of the first linear polarizing film (See e.g. Fig. 3; Paragraphs 0016-0018, 0029-0030, 0044, and 0055-0061).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Dong et al. (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2023/0038591) teaches a near-eye display device with similar arrangement of wave plate, linear polarizer, and polarization beam splitter; Border et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,472,120) teaches see-through near-eye display glasses with a small scale image source comprising similar polarization elements and lenses; Roest (U.S. PG-Pub No. 2002/0167733) teaches a compact display device with a similar waveguide and polarization device; Chen et al. (Chinese Pub No. 213069318 U) teaches a catadioptric display optical machine and near-eye display device with a similar configuration of polarization elements; Hao et al. (PCT Pub. No. WO 2020/119320 A1) teaches a display light machine and near-eye display device with similar polarization plates; Wang (Chinese Pub No. 107589546 A) teaches an optical system and augmented reality glasses with similar lenses and polarization elements.
Nicholas R. Pasko
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2896
/Nicholas R. Pasko/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896