DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the parameter indicating one or more features”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0032107; note also 63/456,313 (“313”) [ generally pages 18-19 correspond paragraphs 0080-0084, pages 23-24 are paragraphs 0099-0104]) in view of Park, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0085104 A1)
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Cozzo discloses a method by a terminal, the method comprising and A terminal in a wireless communication system, the terminal comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit and receive a signal, and a controller configured to control the transceiver to (note that the terms “transceiver” and “controller” were determined to have art-recognized structural connotations and therefore did not invoke 35 USC 112(f)) :
Receiving/receive by the terminal a set of parameters related to uplink configuration, wherein the set of parameters related to uplink configuration comprises one or more sets of parameters related to Random Access Channel (RACH), a set of parameters related to Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH), a parameter indicating a threshold for PUSCH repetition and one or more parameters indicating one or more thresholds for Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) repetition (Cozzo discloses that the UE is configured via system information with a RSRP threshold for PRACH repetition and a P value indicating the number of PRACH repetitions [paragraphs 0082-0083]. The UE is further configured with as a threshold for PUSCH repetition [paragraph 0083 - rsrp-ThresholdMsg3 is PUSCH msg 3 repetition threshold].)
Performing/perform by the terminal a first random access procedure or a second random access procedure, wherein PRACH repetition is performed in the first random access procedure and PUSCH repetition is performed in the second random access procedure. (The UE can be configured to perform a first random access procedure/PRACH repetition in the case it is supported by the UE and configured for use [paragraphs 0082-0084] and the UE does not support MSG3 repetition [paragraph 0100 – disclosing UEs that use PRACH repetition and not MSG3 repetition are contemplated]. Likewise, the UE can be configured to perform a second random access procedure in the case it supports or is configured to use MSG3/PUSCH repetition but not PRACH repetition [paragraph 0104 – capability of UE to support MSG3 repetition considered; paragraph 0100 – UEs supporting MSG 3 repetition but not PRACH repetition considered].
Wherein the first random access procedure is performed in case that random access resource for PRACH repetition is configured and Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) of downlink pathloss reference is less than at least one of the one or more thresholds for PRACH repetition (The system of Cozzo discloses that a the PRACH resources may be partitioned into three partitions, A, B and C with partition B exclusive to PRACH repetition and partition C exclusive to MSB3 repetition [paragraph 0102]. In this case the UEs that support PRACH repetition but not PUSCH repetition [i.e. the first random access procedure] will be configured to use random access resource B for PRACH repetition but not random access resource C, which is only for UEs that support PUSCH MSG3 repetition. Furthermore, PRACH repetition will occur based on the RSRP threshold and number of repetitions [paragraphs 0081-0084].
wherein the second random access procedure is performed in case that random access resource for PRACH repetition is not configured; random access resource for PUSCH repetition is configured and RSRP of downlink pathloss reference is less than the threshold for PUSCH repetition (The system of Cozzo discloses that a the PRACH resources may be partitioned into three partitions, A, B and C with partition B exclusive to PRACH repetition and partition C exclusive to MSB3 repetition [paragraph 0102]. In this case the UEs that support PUSCH MSG3 repetition but not PRACH repetition [i.e. the second random access procedure] will be configured to use random access resource C for PUSCH/MSG3 repetition but not random access resource B, which is only for UEs that support PRACH repetition. Furthermore, PUSCH/MSG3 repetition will occur based on the RSRP threshold for PUSCH/MSG3 repetition [paragraph 0083, 0102].)
wherein number of PRACH repetitions of the first random access procedure is determined based on RSRP of downlink pathloss reference and the one or more thresholds for PRACH repetition. (Paragraphs 0081-0083, 0102 – RSRP path loss threshold as measured by SS/PBCH on downlink used for PRACH repetition)
wherein number of PUSCH repetitions of the second random access procedure is determined based on: a specific part of a specific field of uplink grant of a random access response and a parameter related to number of repetitions (The number of MSG3/PUSCH repetitions in the second ransom access procedure is signaled by the UL grant/DCI and also the RSRP threshold [paragraph 0099, 0102].)
Cozzo fails to disclose the parameters are in a System Information Block1 (SIB1). In the same field of endeavor, Park discloses the parameters in in a SIB1. (Park discloses that the PRACH and PUSCH repetition related parameters and thresholds are included in SIB1 [paragraph 0222].)
Therefore, since Park discloses the use of SIB1 to configure repetition related parameters, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the SIB1 of Park with the system of Cozzo by including the set or parameters related to repetitions a part of the SIB1. The motive to combine is to allow system-wide configuration of the parameters efficiently using SIB.
Regarding claim 5, Cozzo discloses the parameter related to number of repetitions is comprised in the set of parameters related to uplink configuration. (Number of repetitions is included in serving cell config common which include uplink configuration information for example, SSB-positionsInBurst of SIB1 which includes uplink configuration such as the locations of the SSB bursts that are related to/configured for specific PRACH uplink transmissions [paragraphs 0081, 0086, 0092].)
Regarding claim 8, Cozzo discloses the random access response is received in response to PRACH transmission in the second random access procedure. (Four step RACH includes random access response [paragraph 0069].)
Claim(s) 2-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0032107; note also 63/456,313 (“313”) [ generally pages 18-19 correspond paragraphs 0080-0084, pages 23-24 are paragraphs 0099-0104]) and Park, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0085104 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ohm, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0414769) and Kim, et al (KIPO Publication KR 102423068 B1)
Regarding claim 2, Cozzo as modified by Park fails to disclose each set of the one or more sets of parameters related to RACH comprises a first subset of parameters related to random access channel. In the same field of endeavor Ohm discloses each set of the one or more sets of parameters related to RACH comprises a first subset of parameters related to random access channel. (Ohm discloses SIB1 includes PRACH power and configuration, such as power ramp procedures [paragraph 0066].)
Therefore, since Ohm discloses a first subset of parameters, including power and PRACH power ramping configuration, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the parameters of Ohm with the system of Cozzo as modified by Park by including power ramping PRACH configuration and preamble target power. The motive to combine is to allow configuration of the PRACH using high efficiency SIB signaling.
Cozzo as modified by Park and Ohm fails to disclose one or more second subsets of parameters related to random access channel. In the same field of endeavor, Kim discloses each set of the one or more sets of parameters related to RACH comprises one or more second subsets of parameters related to random access channel. (Ohm discloses SIB1/PUCCH-ConfigCommon may contain preamble format [i.e. features, namely format feature] preamble start [page 21, claim ] and power offset [page 11, second to fifth full paragraphs].)
Threefore, since Kim discloses a second subset of parameters including preamble feature/format, power offset and preamble start, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the second set of parameters in the SIB1. The motive to combine is to use efficient SIB transmission for the common parameters.
Regarding claim 3, Cozzo as modified by Park and Kim disclose the first subset of parameters related to random access channel comprises: a parameter indicating PRACH configuration; and a parameter indicating preamble target power (see combination with Park in claim 2, supra)
Regarding claim 4, Cozzo as modified by Park and Kim disclose t ach set of the one or more second subsets of parameters related to random access channel comprises: a parameter indicating one or more features; a parameter indicating start preamble; and a parameter indicating power offset (see combination with Kim in claim 3, supra)
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0032107; note also 63/456,313 (“313”) [ generally pages 18-19 correspond paragraphs 0080-0084, pages 23-24 are paragraphs 0099-0104]) and Park, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0085104 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Ohm, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0414769).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Cozzo as modified by Park fails to disclose transmission power of PRACH is determined based on sum of a preamble target power and a delta preamble wherein the preamble target power is determined based on a parameter indicating preamble target power comprised in a first subset of parameters related to random access channel; and the delta preamble is determined based on a parameter indicating PRACH configuration comprised in the first subset of parameters related to random access channel. In the same field of endeavor, Ohm discloses transmission power of PRACH is determined based on sum of a preamble target power and a delta preamble wherein the preamble target power is determined based on a parameter indicating preamble target power comprised in a first subset of parameters related to random access channel; and the delta preamble is determined based on a parameter indicating PRACH configuration comprised in the first subset of parameters related to random access channel (Ohm discloses SIB1 includes PRACH power and configuration, such as power ramp procedures [paragraph 0066]. The ramp amount is determined based on random access parameters, such as a step/delta for the power of the preamble added to the and the calibrated base/target power [paragraph 0066-0068, 0110-0112].)
Therefore, since Ohm discloses a first subset of parameters, PRACH base power and a second subset or parameters including a step/ramp, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the parameters of Ohm with the system of Cozzo as modified by Park by including a first set of parameters for PRACH power/configuration including a target power and a second set of parameters including a step/delta to be applied to the adjusted target power. The motive to combine is to allow configuration of the PRACH using high efficiency SIB signaling.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0032107; note also 63/456,313 (“313”) [ generally pages 18-19 correspond paragraphs 0080-0084, pages 23-24 are paragraphs 0099-0104]) in view of He, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0313882; note also PCT/CN2022/071119, with identical disclosure)
Regarding claim 9, Cozzo as modified by Park fails to disclose the specific part of the specific field is 2 Most Significant Bits of Modulation and Coding Scheme field. In the same field of endeavor, He discloses the specific part of the specific field is 2 Most Significant Bits of Modulation and Coding Scheme field. (He discloses that two MSB of the MCS field may be used to signal repetitions [paragraph 0072].)
Therefore, since He discloses using the MSB of MCS information for signaling repetition of PUSCH, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the MCS signaling of He with the system of Cozzo as modified by Park by signaling the specific part of the specific field signaling the PUSCH repetition using the MSB of the MCS. The motive to combine is to improve efficiency by re-using an existing identifier instead of forming a new one.
Claim(s) 10-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cozzo, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0032107; note also 63/456,313 (“313”) [ generally pages 18-19 correspond paragraphs 0080-0084, pages 23-24 are paragraphs 0099-0104]) and Park, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0085104 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Taherzadeh, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0232644).
Regarding claim 10, Cozzo as modified by Park fails to disclose transmission power of PUSCH scheduled by uplink grant in the second random access procedure is determined based on sum of a first offset and a second offset. In the same field of endeavor, Taherzadeh discloses transmission power of PUSCH scheduled by uplink grant in the second random access procedure is determined based on sum of a first offset and a second offset. (Taherzadeh discloses a first offset is based on a preamble target power for a first subset of parameters related to the PRACH uplink transmission [paragraph 0084 – first offset is a part of the subset of parameters for PRACH transmission]. Taherzadeh further discloses that based on selecting the second random access procedure [i.e. PUSCH/MSG3 repetition] the system additionally looks at a second subset of parameters related to the PUSCH/MSG3 random access procedure to determine the second offset that is summed with the first offset/PRACH uplink transmission power [paragaprh 0084 – second offset for PUSCH uplink MSG3 repetition is a part of second subset of paremeters for second procedure].)
Therefore, since Taherzadeh the first and second offset, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the first and second offset of Taherzadeh with the system of Cozzo as modified by Park by calculating the PUSCH/MSG3 trasmission power from the sum of the first offset of the first subset of parameters for the PRACH preamble transmission and the second offset from selected second subset or parameters selected based on choosing the second random access procedure/MSG3/PUSCH repetition based random access procedure. The motive to combine is to reduce overhead by allowing the power of the second random access procedure/MSG3/PUSCH repetition based random access procedure to be specified based on an offset to the first.
Regarding claim 11, Cozzo as modified by Park and Taherzadeh disclose the first offset is determined based on a parameter indicating preamble target power the parameter indicating preamble target power is comprised in a first subset of parameters related to random access channel; the first subset of parameters related to random access channel is associated with a second subset of parameters related to random access channel and the second subset of parameters related to random access channel is second subset that is selected for the second random access procedure. (See discussion in claim 10, supra)
Regarding claim 12, Cozzo as modified by Park and Taherzadeh disclose in case that a parameter indicating power offset is comprised in a specific second subset of parameters related to random access channel, wherein: the second offset is determined based on the parameter indicating power offset in the specific second subset of parameters related to random access channel; and the specific second subset of parameters related to random access channel is second subset that is selected for the second random access procedure. (See discussion in claim 10, supra – the second subset of parameters is chosen for use when the the PUSCH/MSG3 based repetition is selected.)
Regarding claim 13, Taherzadeh further discloses that instead of including the second power offset in the second subset of parameters, it may be included in general parameters for the uplink transmission such as the PUSCH-CommonConfig Field (paragraph 0084). In this case the combination made in claim 10 would instead be shifted to include the second power offset in the PUSCH-CommonConfig Field instead of the second subset of parameters with the motivation and remainder of the combination remaining the same.
Regarding claim 14, Cozzo as modified by Park and Taherzadeh disclose the specific second subset of parameters related to random access channel is selected for the second random access procedure in case that PUSCH repetition is indicated in the parameter indicating one or more features. (It is noted that the claimed “parameter indicating one or more features” lacks antecedent basis, however, it has been mapped to the parameter that indicates the that the UE is to perform the second random access procedure which will cause the selection of the second subset of parameters related to the PUSCH/MSG3 based repetition in accordance with the discussion in claim 10.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lei, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0104109) – disclosing on demand SI
Wang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0232639) – disclosing MSG3 repetition
Yi, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0112445) – disclosing threshold for 2 or 4 step RACH
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466