DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 7/28/26.
Claim(s) 1, 11, 18 & 28 was/were amended. Claim(s) 8, 15, 25 & 32 is/are canceled.
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14, 16-24, 26-31 & 33-34 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 18-19, 21-22, 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2005/0063416 A1 in view of Sung, US 2005/0239456 A1.
As to claim 1, Shin teaches a signal conversion method comprising:
transmitting an Ethernet packet from an Ethernet media access controller to a transceiver (Shin, figure 7-8);
processing, by using a protocol stack, the Ethernet packet to generate a wireless communication packet, wherein the wireless communication packet comprises an Ethernet media access control protocol layer corresponding to the Ethernet packet and a wireless communication protocol layer (Shin, figure 10; page 1, paragraph 10; page 2, paragraph 24; i.e., [0010] The 802.11 a/b MAC layer 12 corresponds to the lower layer of two sub layers of the data link layer of the OSI reference model and an Ethernet protocol; [0024] An Ethernet packet is encapsulated in an L2CAP packet the wireless LAN );
generating a wireless communication signal according to the wireless communication packet (Shin, figure 10; page 2, paragraph 24; i.e., [0024] a protocol for transmitting control packets and data packets between Bluetooth terminals).
But Shin failed to teach the claim limitation wherein only one packet relay is introduced for converting the Ethernet packet to the wireless communication packet, and the packet relay is performed during a transition between the Ethernet media access controller and the transceiver.
However, Sung teaches the limitation wherein only one packet relay is introduced for converting the Ethernet packet to the wireless communication packet, and the packet relay is performed during a transition between the Ethernet media access controller and the transceiver (Sung, figure 14; page 6, paragraph 84, 91, 93; page 7, paragraph 101; i.e., [0091] the Ethernet frame is set to an MAC address of a device belonging to a different piconet, the control unit 930 converts a received wireless frame into a wired frame through the convert uniting unit 940. For example, when the wired network 450 is an Ethernet, the wireless frame should be converted into a frame suitable for transmission through the Ethernet. When the wired network 450 is a Token Ring, the wireless frame; [0093] if the control unit 930 is not aware of a relay device to the same piconet as the device indicated as the destination in the destination address field of the Ethernet frame,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Shin to substitute ISO from Sung for infrared data association (IrDA) technology from Shin to restriction on range of radio waves, absence of information on another coordinator-based wireless network, and channel time allocation (Sung, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 2, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting the Ethernet packet from the Ethernet media access controller to the transceiver, is transmitting the Ethernet packet to the transceiver by using the Ethernet media access controller through a physical layer interface (Shin, figure 10; page 6, paragraph 77; i.e., [0077] transmitted by the wireless LAN terminal).
As to claim 4, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising:
acquiring a wireless network connection status by monitoring a wireless network connection (Shin, figure 10; page 5, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] periodically transmits a beacon frame containing connection information such as synchronization information. The wireless LAN terminal waits to receive the beacon frame periodically transmitted by the wireless LAN/Bluetooth mixed terminal); and
synchronizing the Ethernet packet and the wireless communication packet (Shin, figure 10; page 5, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] periodically transmits a beacon frame containing connection information such as synchronization information. The wireless LAN terminal waits to receive the beacon frame periodically transmitted by the wireless LAN/Bluetooth mixed terminal).
As to claim 5, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 4, wherein directing the Ethernet packet to a corresponding time stamp within a transceiving time period of the wireless communication packet for synchronizing the Ethernet packet and the wireless communication packet (Shin, figure 10; page 5, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] periodically transmits a beacon frame containing connection information such as synchronization information. The wireless LAN terminal waits to receive the beacon frame periodically transmitted by the wireless LAN/Bluetooth mixed terminal).
As to claim 7, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting the Ethernet packet in a digital format from the Ethernet media access controller to the transceiver directly through a physical layer interface (Shin, figure 10; page 1, paragraph 8; i.e., [0008] radio frequency (RF) layer 11, a 802.lla/b media access control (MAC) layer 12, a logical link control (LLC) layer 13).
As to claim 9, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the Ethernet media access controller is disposed inside a processor, and the processor performs a packet transmission function by using the Ethernet media access controller (Shin, figure 1).
Claim(s) 18-19, 21-22, 24, 26 is/are directed to system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9. Therefore, claim(s) 18-19, 21-22, 24, 26 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9.
.
Claim(s) 3, 6, 20, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2005/0063416 A1, and Sung, US 2005/0239456 A1, and in view of Krannawitter, US 2022/0394816 A1.
As to claim 3, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Shin-Sung failed to teach the claim limitation wherein performing a digital-to-analog converting process by a digital signal processor for generating the wireless communication signal according to the wireless communication packet.
However, Krannawitter teaches the limitation wherein performing a digital-to-analog converting process by a digital signal processor for generating the wireless communication signal according to the wireless communication packet (Krannawitter, page 4, paragraph 32-33; i.e., [0033] the UL symbols to generate corresponding digital signals for the analog-to-digital interfaces. The analog-to-digital interfaces convert the digital UL signals into analog UL signals for modulation. Modulation up-converts the UL signals to their carrier frequencies).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Shin-Sung to substitute LTE from Krannawitter for CDMA from Shin-Sung to efficiently and effectively use TCP to optimize the use of different radios (Krannawitter, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 6, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Shin-Sung failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the Ethernet packet is carried by a wired signal, and the wireless communication signal is a mobile communication signal.
However, Krannawitter teaches the limitation wherein the Ethernet packet is carried by a wired signal, and the wireless communication signal is a mobile communication signal (Krannawitter, page 1, paragraph 13; i.e., [0013] cable).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Shin-Sung to substitute LTE from Krannawitter for CDMA from Shin-Sung to efficiently and effectively use TCP to optimize the use of different radios (Krannawitter, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 20, 23 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3, 6. Therefore, claim(s) 20, 23 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3, 6.
Claim(s) 10, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2005/0063416 A1, and Sung, US 2005/0239456 A1, and in view of Andersson, US 2011/0167147 A1.
As to claim 10, Shin-Sung teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Shin-Sung failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the Ethernet media access controller directs the Ethernet packet to a data queue address of the transceiver, and the transceiver receives the Ethernet packet by using a first-in-first-out (FIFO) mechanism according to the data queue address.
However, Krannawitter teaches the limitation wherein the Ethernet media access controller directs the Ethernet packet to a data queue address of the transceiver, and the transceiver receives the Ethernet packet by using a first-in-first-out (FIFO) mechanism according to the data queue address (Andersson, page 5, paragraph 46; i.e., [0046] The Ethernet switch receiving the Ethernet frame stores the Ethernet frame in a first-in-first-out (FIFO) queue in the network card).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Shin-Sung to substitute LTE from Andersson for PGPS from Shin-Sung to reduce the delay of the transmission, the users of, e.g., a VoIP application (Andersson, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 27 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 10. Therefore, claim(s) 27 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 10.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15, 17, 28, 30, 32 & 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2005/0063416 A1, Sung, US 2005/0239456 A1, and in view of Kim, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2006/0153232 A1.
As to claim 11, Shin teaches a signal conversion method comprising:
receiving a wireless communication signal (Shin, figure 7-8);
generating a wireless communication packet according to the wireless communication signal (Shin, figure 10; page 5, paragraph 71; i.e., [0071] periodically transmits a beacon frame containing connection information such as synchronization information. The wireless LAN terminal waits to receive the beacon frame periodically transmitted by the wireless LAN/Bluetooth mixed terminal);
transmitting the Ethernet packet from a transceiver to an Ethernet media access controller (Shin, figure 10; page 2, paragraph 24; i.e., [0024] a protocol for transmitting control packets and data packets between Bluetooth terminals).
But Shin failed to teach the claim limitation wherein parsing the wireless communication packet according to a protocol stack to remove a wireless communication protocol layer and recover an Ethernet packet comprising an Ethernet media access control protocol layer; wherein only one packet relay is introduced for converting the wireless communication packet to the Ethernet packet, and the packet relay is performed during a transition between the Ethernet media access controller and the transceiver.
However, Sung teaches the limitation wherein only one packet relay is introduced for converting the wireless communication packet to the Ethernet packet, and the packet relay is performed during a transition between the Ethernet media access controller and the transceiver (Sung, figure 14; page 6, paragraph 84, 91, 93; page 7, paragraph 101; i.e., [0091] the Ethernet frame is set to an MAC address of a device belonging to a different piconet, the control unit 930 converts a received wireless frame into a wired frame through the convert uniting unit 940. For example, when the wired network 450 is an Ethernet, the wireless frame should be converted into a frame suitable for transmission through the Ethernet. When the wired network 450 is a Token Ring, the wireless frame; [0093] if the control unit 930 is not aware of a relay device to the same piconet as the device indicated as the destination in the destination address field of the Ethernet frame,).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Shin to substitute ISO from Sung for infrared data association (IrDA) technology from Shin to restriction on range of radio waves, absence of information on another coordinator-based wireless network, and channel time allocation (Sung, page 1, paragraph 4).
However, Kim teaches the limitation wherein parsing the wireless communication packet according to a protocol stack to remove a wireless communication protocol layer and recover an Ethernet packet comprising an Ethernet media access control protocol layer (Kim, page 1, paragraph 14-15; page 3, paragraph 38; i.e., [0014] for extracting a MAC SDU from the Ethernet MAC frame, from the extracted MAC SDU. MAC header which includes a MAC address of the route discovered at the path searcher, and generating a wireless MAC frame which includes the MAC header and the MAC SDU; and a transmitter for transmitting the wireless MAC frame; [0038] When receiving an Ethernet MAC frame in step 500, the converting apparatus detects error using the CRC of the received Ethernet MAC frame in step 502. After the error detection, the converting apparatus extracts from the Ethernet MAC frame the MAC SDU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Shin to substitute CRC from Kim for FCS from Kim to reconstructs the frame in a size supported by the wireless network, and transmits the reconstructed frame to the wireless network (Kim, page 1, paragraph 8).
As to claim 17, Shin-Sung-Kim teaches the method as recited in claim 11, wherein after the Ethernet packet is received by the Ethernet media access controller, the Ethernet media access control protocol layer can be decoded for acquiring an external data signal (Shin, figure 10; page 6, paragraph 77-78; i.e., [0077] the wireless LAN/Bluetooth mixed protocol stack includes a single layer portion that is obtained by unifying upper layers common to the wireless LAN protocol stack and the Bluetooth protocol stack; converts a wireless LAN packet format into a Bluetooth packet format. The wireless LAN lowest layer data packet reception unit 71 receives a wireless LAN data packet at the lowest layer in the wireless LAN protocol stack side as an input end. That is, it receives the data packet transmitted by the wireless LAN terminal; [0078] The wireless LAN lowest layer-conversion layer transfer unit 72 then transfers the received data packet to the conversion layer. In the conversion layer, it is determined whether the data packet is transferred to the upper layers or whether the packet format is converted and transmitted to an external Bluetooth terminal. That is, a data packet received in the RF layer of the wireless LAN protocol stack side arrives at the conversion layer through the 802.lla/b MAC and LLC layers).
Claim(s) 28 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 11. Therefore, claim(s) 28 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 11.
Claim(s) 13, 15 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 2, 8. Therefore, claim(s) 13, 15 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 13, 15.
Claim(s) 30, 32, 34 is/are directed to a system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 2, 8, 17. Therefore, claim(s) 30, 32, 34 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 2, 8, 17.
Claim(s) 12, 14, 29, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2005/0063416 A1, and Sung, US 2005/0239456 A1, and in view of Kim, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2006/0153232 A1, and further in view of Krannawitter, US 2022/0394816 A1.
Claim(s) 12, 14, 29, 31 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3, 6. Therefore, claim(s) 12, 14, 29, 31 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3, 6.
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2005/0063416 A1 Sung, US 2005/0239456 A1, and in view of Kim, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2006/0153232 A1, and further in view of Andersson, US 2011/0167147 A1.
Claim(s) 33 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 10. Therefore, claim(s) 33 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 10.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-14, 16-24, 26-31 & 33-34 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Zhang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210345212 A1 discloses associating MAC/PHY layers and data packets.
Tan, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20150117386 A1 discloses convert the analog to digital or vice versa.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416