DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-13, 17-18, 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US# 2026/0025717 hereinafter referred to as Qiu) in view of Bergqvist et al. (US# 2022/0110037 hereinafter referred to as Bergqvist).
RE Claim 1¸ Qiu discloses a RACH (Random Access Channel)-less handover (HO) (See Qiu [0114] – RACH-less HO) method for a user equipment (UE) in a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) system (See Qiu FIG 1; [0003] – NTN system), the method comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a HO command from a source cell of the NTN system (See Qiu [0122] – UE receiving HO command from network),
wherein the HO command comprises a general HO timer (See Qiu [0123], [0162] – timer T304 or validity timer) and at least one HO configuration (See Qiu [0123] – HO configuration), and the HO configuration comprises a RACH-less HO configuration (See Qiu [0124] – configuration comprises RACH-less HO configuration) and a RACH-based HO configuration (See Qiu [0020], [0052]-[0056], [0205] – configuration comprises RACH based HO configuration) associated with one of cells of the NTN system (See Qiu [0123], [0252] – HO associated with cell in NTN system),
wherein the RACH-less HO configuration comprises a RACH-less available time (See Qiu [0192] – fallback timer to RACH HO) and a uplink (UL) transmission resource (See Qiu [0124] – configuring UL resources),
wherein the RACH-less available time is to be applied for the UE to perform a UL transmission to the associated cell by using the UL transmission resource (See Qiu [0192], [0208] - the start point of this timer can be after the UE first selection of the UL grant resource for the PUSCH transmission), wherein the RACH-less available time comprises a starting time configured by the HO command (See Qiu [0192] – i.e. starting time);
determining, by the UE, a target cell according to the at least one cell configured by the HO command (See Qiu [0123] - the UE initiates a (C) HO procedure towards to target cell according to a configuration stored and/or received);
performing, by the UE, a UL resource selection procedure to select a target UL transmission resource associated with the target cell for performing a target UL transmission to the target cell (See Qiu [0065]-[0067], [0074]-[0077], [0130], [0162] – UE performing UL resource selection associated with target cell),
wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises
performing, by the UE, a HO confirmation procedure with the target cell by applying a UL timing adjustment information associated with the target UL transmission resource to perform the target UL transmission to the target cell (See Qiu [0129] - TA (timing advance) information, which is used to indicate the TA to be applied in the target cell. In an embodiment, the TA information may indicate to the UE to maintain the TA associated to a TAG (timing advance group) or indicate to the UE to autonomously pre-compensate the TA based on the assisting information (e.g., satellite ephemeris, common TA parameters, etc.) associated to the target cell); and
determining, by the UE, that the RACH-less HO procedure is successfully completed (See Qiu [0125] - In an embodiment, if the UE determines that the RACH-less HO is successful (e.g., successfully receives a PDCCH transmission addressed to the C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier)), the UE stops the T304 timer and releases the configuration for the RACH-less HO).
Qiu does not specifically disclose
wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises determining whether a time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration.
However, Bergqvist teaches of wherein the RACH-less available time comprises a starting time configured by the HO command (See Bergqvist [0025] - The validity of the RACH-less configuration can then include a starting point in time), wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises determining whether a time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration (See Bergqvist [0025], [0053]-[0054] - the target node configures the UE with a first occasion where the RACH-less configuration is valid, using a target cell SFN value. If the RACH-less configuration includes pre-allocated UL grants in the target cell, the UE considers those pre-allocated UL grants to only be valid starting from the indicated SFN value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH-less HO system, as disclosed in Qiu, wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises determining whether a time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration, as taught in Bergqvist. One is motivated as such in order to improve handover performance and success rate (See Bergqvist Background; Summary).
RE Claim 2, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, the step of determining the target cell according to the at least one cell configured by the HO command comprises:
determining, by the UE, the target cell according to a HO execution condition associated with each of the at least one cell configured by the HO command, wherein when a HO execution condition is fulfilled, the cell associated with the HO execution condition is determined as the target cell (See Qiu [0328] - Mobility management in wireless communication system can be assisted by neighboring cell measurements, based on measurement results received from UE, NW can adjust the criteria for cell (re) selection (e.g., adjust the cell and/or frequency priorities) and/or determine the target cells to be handover to and/or adjust the candidate target cells); or
determining, by the UE, a pre-configured cell configured by the HO command as the target cell (See Qiu [0124] – UL resources can be pre-configured).
RE Claim 5, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the HO confirmation procedure comprising one of the following:
a RACH-less HO procedure (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – RACH-less HO procedure which includes HO confirmation);
a RACH-based HO procedure (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – RACH-based HO procedure (fall back to RACH based HO if applicable) which includes HO confirmation); and
a connection recovery procedure.
RE Claim 6, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein the RACH-based HO procedure comprising:
starting the running of the general HO timer when receiving the HO command (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – Timer T304 can be started when receiving HO command ([0123]));
performing a first UL transmission to the target cell by applying the UL timing adjustment information associated with the target UL transmission resource for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0129] - TA (timing advance) information, which is used to indicate the TA to be applied in the target cell. In an embodiment, the TA information may indicate to the UE to maintain the TA associated to a TAG (timing advance group) or indicate to the UE to autonomously pre-compensate the TA based on the assisting information (e.g., satellite ephemeris, common TA parameters, etc.) associated to the target cell);
receiving a Random Access Response(RAR) corresponding to the first UL transmission from the target cell, wherein the RAR indicates a timing adjustment value (See Qiu [0287] – RAR indicating TA value) and a UL transmission resource for a target UL transmission (See Qiu [0284] – RAR indicates UL transmission resource);
applying the timing adjustment value to the target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0129], [0287] – applying TA value to target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing with target cell).
RE Claim 7, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 6 above, wherein the RACH-based HO procedure further comprising:
when a fourth UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-less HO configuration is applicable prior to a fifth UL transmission resource indicated by the RAR, applying the fourth UL transmission resource for the target UL transmission (See Qiu [0074]-[0076] - selecting a first available UL resource (Nth resource) as a first available configured grant); and
when the fifth UL transmission resource indicated by the RAR is applicable prior to the fourth UL transmission resource, applying the fifth UL transmission resource for the target UL transmission (See Qiu [0074]-[0076] - selecting a first available UL resource (Nth resource) as a first available configured grant).
RE Claim 8, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 5 above, wherein the RACH-less HO procedure further comprising:
transmitting a first UL message to the target cell by applying the UL timing adjustment information associated with the UL transmission resource for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – transmitting first UL message (i.e. PUSCH) to target cell and applying UL TA for UL timing alignment with target cell);
starting a RACH-less HO timer (See Qiu [0192] – fallback timer for RACH-less HO), wherein the timing for starting the RACH-less HO timer comprises one of the following:
a timing when transmitting the first UL message (See Qiu [0192] - In an embodiment, the start point of this timer can be after the UE first selection of the UL grant resource for the PUSCH transmission); and
a timing when receiving the HO command (See Qiu [0192] - In an embodiment, the [timer] start point may be upon the reception of RRCReconfiguration that is not for the CHO, and includes the RACH-less HO configuration (for non-CHO cases). In an embodiment, for the CHO, the starting time can be upon the CHO configuration or upon the first CHO execution or the latest CHO execution); and
stopping the RACH-less HO timer upon receiving a confirmation of a successful transmission of the first UL message (See Qiu [0125] – upon receiving successful confirmation of first UL message, stopping timer).
RE Claim 9, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the RACH-less HO configuration comprising at least one of the following:
at least one UL transmission resource for transmission of a first UL message to the associated cell (See Qiu [0122]-[0124] – RACH-less HO configuration includes UL resources for UL transmission to associated cell);
a validity time corresponding to each of the at least one UL transmission resource (See Qiu [0160]-[0162] – validity time);
a RACH-less HO condition for applying the RACH-less HO configuration, wherein the RACH-less HO condition is at least one of a measurement-based criteria, a time-based criteria or a location-based criteria (See Qiu [0192] – fallback timer for RACH-less HO (i.e. time-based criteria));
a UL timing adjustment information, wherein the UL timing adjustment information comprises information for the UE to adjust transmission timing for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – applying UL TA for UL timing alignment with target cell); and
the RACH-less available time to indicate a time period during which the UE is allowed to change at least one connection from the source cell to the associated cell without performing Random Access (RA) procedure (See Qiu [0192] – RACH-less HO timer),
wherein the RACH-less available time comprises one of the following: a starting time (See Qiu [0192] – i.e. starting time), a starting time and a duration, a starting time and a stopping time.
RE Claim 10, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the RACH-less available time corresponding to each of the at least one UL transmission resource comprising:
a starting time that the corresponding UL transmission resource is allowed for the RACH-less HO procedure to perform transmission of a first UL message to the target cell (See Qiu [0192] – i.e. starting time for RACH-less HO procedure); or
the starting time and a duration, wherein the duration indicates a time period that the UL transmission resource is allowed, from the starting time, for the RACH-less HO procedure to perform the transmission of the first UL message to the target cell.
RE Claim 11, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the RACH-based HO configuration comprising:
the UL timing adjustment information, comprising information for the UE to adjust transmission timing for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0120]-[0130], [0205], [0207] – UL TA information for UE to adjust UL transmission timing for UL timing alignment with target cell); and
a Random Access Resource configuration, comprising information for the UE to perform initial access via Random Access Channel (RACH) to the target cell (See Qiu [0205], [0207], [0273] – RACH configuration to perform access to target cell).
RE Claim 12, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the HO configuration corresponding to each of the at least one cell in the HO command further comprises at least one of the following:
a cell ID (See Qiu [0253]-[0254], [0261]);
a C-RNTI (See Qiu [0056], [0074], [0125], [0176]);
at least one CHO execution condition (See Qiu [0192]);
a RACH-based HO configuration (See Qiu [0205], [0207], [0273] – RACH-based HO configuration);
at least one RACH-less HO configuration (See Qiu [0122]-[0124] – RACH-less HO configuration); and
a RACH-less HO timer (See Qiu [0192] – RACH-less HO timer).
RE Claim 13, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the step of determining, by the UE, that the RACH-less HO procedure is successfully completed comprises:
receiving a positive acknowledgement, by the UE, from the target cell, wherein the positive acknowledgement is transmitted by one of the following:
a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) indication addressed to the C-RNTI for the UE associated with the target cell (See Qiu [0125] - In an embodiment, if the UE determines that the RACH-less HO is successful (e.g., successfully receives a PDCCH transmission addressed to the C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier)), the UE stops the T304 timer and releases the configuration for the RACH-less HO);
a MAC (Medium Access Control) CE (Control Element); and
a HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest) feedback information.
RE Claim 17¸ Qiu discloses a user equipment (UE) (See Qiu FIG 3), comprising:
a transceiver, used for transmitting or receiving signals (See Qiu FIG 3);
a memory, used for storing a program code (See Qiu FIG 3); and
a processor, coupled to the transceiver and the memory (See Qiu FIG 3), and configured for executing the program code to implement a RACH-less HO method (See Qiu [0114] – RACH-less HO), wherein the RACH-less HO method comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a HO command from a source cell of the NTN system (See Qiu [0003], [0122] – UE receiving HO command from NTN network),
wherein the HO command comprises a general HO timer (See Qiu [0123], [0162] – timer T304 or validity timer) and at least one HO configuration (See Qiu [0123] – HO configuration), and the HO configuration comprises a RACH-less HO configuration (See Qiu [0124] – configuration comprises RACH-less HO configuration) and a RACH-based HO configuration (See Qiu [0020], [0052]-[0056], [0205] – configuration comprises RACH based HO configuration) associated with a cell of the NTN system (See Qiu [0123], [0252] – HO associated with cell in NTN system),
wherein the RACH-less HO configuration comprises a RACH-less available time (See Qiu [0192] – fallback timer to RACH HO) and a uplink (UL) transmission resource (See Qiu [0124] – configuring UL resources), wherein the RACH-less available time comprises a starting time configured by the HO command (See Qiu [0192] – i.e. starting time),
wherein the RACH-less available time is to be applied for the UE to perform a UL transmission to the associated cell by using the UL transmission resource (See Qiu [0192], [0208] - the start point of this timer can be after the UE first selection of the UL grant resource for the PUSCH transmission);
determining, by the UE, a target cell according to the at least one cell configured by the HO command (See Qiu [0123] - the UE initiates a (C) HO procedure towards to target cell according to a configuration stored and/or received);
performing, by the UE, a UL resource selection procedure to select a target UL transmission resource associated with the target cell for performing a target UL transmission to the target cell (See Qiu [0065]-[0067], [0074]-[0077], [0130], [0162] – UE performing UL resource selection associated with target cell), wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises
performing, by the UE, a HO confirmation procedure with the target cell by applying a UL timing adjustment information associated with the target UL transmission resource to perform the target UL transmission to the target cell (See Qiu [0129] - TA (timing advance) information, which is used to indicate the TA to be applied in the target cell. In an embodiment, the TA information may indicate to the UE to maintain the TA associated to a TAG (timing advance group) or indicate to the UE to autonomously pre-compensate the TA based on the assisting information (e.g., satellite ephemeris, common TA parameters, etc.) associated to the target cell); and
determining, by the UE, that the RACH-less HO procedure is successfully completed (See Qiu [0125] - In an embodiment, if the UE determines that the RACH-less HO is successful (e.g., successfully receives a PDCCH transmission addressed to the C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier)), the UE stops the T304 timer and releases the configuration for the RACH-less HO).
Qiu does not specifically disclose
wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises determining whether a time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration.
However, Bergqvist teaches of wherein the RACH-less available time comprises a starting time configured by the HO command (See Bergqvist [0025] - The validity of the RACH-less configuration can then include a starting point in time), wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises determining whether a time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration (See Bergqvist [0025], [0053]-[0054] - the target node configures the UE with a first occasion where the RACH-less configuration is valid, using a target cell SFN value. If the RACH-less configuration includes pre-allocated UL grants in the target cell, the UE considers those pre-allocated UL grants to only be valid starting from the indicated SFN value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH-less HO system, as disclosed in Qiu, wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises determining whether a time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration, as taught in Bergqvist. One is motivated as such in order to improve handover performance and success rate (See Bergqvist Background; Summary).
RE Claim 18, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, the step of determining the target cell according to the at least one cell configured by the HO command comprises:
determining, by the UE, the target cell according to a HO execution condition associated with each of the at least one cell configured by the HO command, wherein when a HO execution condition is fulfilled, the cell associated with the HO execution condition is determined as the target cell (See Qiu [0328] - Mobility management in wireless communication system can be assisted by neighboring cell measurements, based on measurement results received from UE, NW can adjust the criteria for cell (re) selection (e.g., adjust the cell and/or frequency priorities) and/or determine the target cells to be handover to and/or adjust the candidate target cells); or
determining, by the UE, a pre-configured cell configured by the HO command as the target cell (See Qiu [0124] – UL resources can be pre-configured).
RE Claim 21, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the HO confirmation procedure comprising one of the following:
a RACH-less HO procedure (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – RACH-less HO procedure which includes HO confirmation);
a RACH-based HO procedure (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – RACH-based HO procedure (fall back to RACH based HO if applicable) which includes HO confirmation); and
a connection recovery procedure.
RE Claim 22, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 21 above, wherein the RACH-based HO procedure comprising:
starting the running of the general HO timer when receiving the HO command (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – Timer T304 can be started when receiving HO command ([0123]));
performing a first UL transmission to the target cell by applying the UL timing adjustment information associated with the target UL transmission resource for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0129] - TA (timing advance) information, which is used to indicate the TA to be applied in the target cell. In an embodiment, the TA information may indicate to the UE to maintain the TA associated to a TAG (timing advance group) or indicate to the UE to autonomously pre-compensate the TA based on the assisting information (e.g., satellite ephemeris, common TA parameters, etc.) associated to the target cell);
receiving a Random Access Response(RAR) corresponding to the first UL transmission from the target cell, wherein the RAR indicates a timing adjustment value (See Qiu [0287] – RAR indicating TA value) and a UL transmission resource for a target UL transmission (See Qiu [0284] – RAR indicates UL transmission resource);
applying the timing adjustment value to the target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0129], [0287] – applying TA value to target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing with target cell).
RE Claim 23, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 22 above, wherein the RACH-based HO procedure further comprising:
when a fourth UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-less HO configuration is applicable prior to a fifth UL transmission resource indicated by the RAR, applying the fourth UL transmission resource for the target UL transmission (See Qiu [0074]-[0076] - selecting a first available UL resource (Nth resource) as a first available configured grant); and
when the fifth UL transmission resource indicated by the RAR is applicable prior to the fourth UL transmission resource, applying the fifth UL transmission resource for the target UL transmission (See Qiu [0074]-[0076] - selecting a first available UL resource (Nth resource) as a first available configured grant).
RE Claim 24, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 21 above, wherein the RACH-less HO procedure further comprising:
transmitting a first UL message to the target cell by applying the UL timing adjustment information associated with the UL transmission resource for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – transmitting first UL message (i.e. PUSCH) to target cell and applying UL TA for UL timing alignment with target cell);
starting a RACH-less HO timer (See Qiu [0192] – fallback timer for RACH-less HO), wherein the timing for starting the RACH-less HO timer comprises one of the following:
a timing when transmitting the first UL message (See Qiu [0192] - In an embodiment, the start point of this timer can be after the UE first selection of the UL grant resource for the PUSCH transmission); and
a timing when receiving the HO command (See Qiu [0192] - In an embodiment, the [timer] start point may be upon the reception of RRCReconfiguration that is not for the CHO, and includes the RACH-less HO configuration (for non-CHO cases). In an embodiment, for the CHO, the starting time can be upon the CHO configuration or upon the first CHO execution or the latest CHO execution); and
stopping the RACH-less HO timer upon receiving a confirmation of a successful transmission of the first UL message (See Qiu [0125] – upon receiving successful confirmation of first UL message, stopping timer).
RE Claim 25, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the RACH-less HO configuration comprising at least one of the following:
at least one UL transmission resource for transmission of a first UL message to the associated cell (See Qiu [0122]-[0124] – RACH-less HO configuration includes UL resources for UL transmission to associated cell);
a validity time corresponding to each of the at least one UL transmission resource (See Qiu [0160]-[0162] – validity time);
a RACH-less HO condition for applying the RACH-less HO configuration, wherein the RACH-less HO condition is at least one of a measurement-based criteria, a time-based criteria or a location-based criteria (See Qiu [0192] – fallback timer for RACH-less HO (i.e. time-based criteria));
a UL timing adjustment information, wherein the UL timing adjustment information comprises information for the UE to adjust transmission timing for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0120]-[0130] – applying UL TA for UL timing alignment with target cell); and
the RACH-less available time to indicate a time period during which the UE is allowed to change at least one connection from the source cell to the associated cell without performing Random Access (RA) procedure (See Qiu [0192] – RACH-less HO timer),
wherein the RACH-less available time comprises one of the following: a starting time (See Qiu [0192] – i.e. starting time), a starting time and a duration, a starting time and a stopping time.
RE Claim 26, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the RACH-less available time corresponding to each of the at least one UL transmission resource comprising:
a starting time that the corresponding UL transmission resource is allowed for the RACH-less HO procedure to perform transmission of a first UL message to the target cell (See Qiu [0192] – i.e. starting time for RACH-less HO procedure); or
the starting time and a duration, wherein the duration indicates a time period that the UL transmission resource is allowed, from the starting time, for the RACH-less HO procedure to perform the transmission of the first UL message to the target cell.
RE Claim 27, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the RACH-based HO configuration comprising:
the UL timing adjustment information, comprising information for the UE to adjust transmission timing for UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0120]-[0130], [0205], [0207] – UL TA information for UE to adjust UL transmission timing for UL timing alignment with target cell); and
a Random Access Resource configuration, comprising information for the UE to perform initial access via Random Access Channel (RACH) to the target cell (See Qiu [0205], [0207], [0273] – RACH configuration to perform access to target cell).
RE Claim 28, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the HO configuration corresponding to each of the at least one cell in the HO command further comprises at least one of the following:
a cell ID (See Qiu [0253]-[0254], [0261]);
a C-RNTI (See Qiu [0056], [0074], [0125], [0176]);
at least one CHO execution condition (See Qiu [0192]);
a RACH-based HO configuration (See Qiu [0205], [0207], [0273] – RACH-based HO configuration);
at least one RACH-less HO configuration (See Qiu [0122]-[0124] – RACH-less HO configuration); and
a RACH-less HO timer (See Qiu [0192] – RACH-less HO timer).
RE Claim 29, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the step of determining, by the UE, that the RACH-less HO procedure is successfully completed comprises:
receiving a positive acknowledgement, by the UE, from the target cell, wherein the positive acknowledgement is transmitted by one of the following:
a PDCCH (Physical Downlink Control Channel) indication addressed to the C-RNTI for the UE associated with the target cell (See Qiu [0125] - In an embodiment, if the UE determines that the RACH-less HO is successful (e.g., successfully receives a PDCCH transmission addressed to the C-RNTI (Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier)), the UE stops the T304 timer and releases the configuration for the RACH-less HO);
a MAC (Medium Access Control) CE (Control Element); and
a HARQ (Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest) feedback information.
Claims 3-4, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US# 2026/0025717 hereinafter referred to as Qiu) in view of Bergqvist et al. (US# 2022/0110037 hereinafter referred to as Bergqvist) and Leng et al. (US# 2024/0334268 hereinafter referred to as Leng).
RE Claim 3, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above, wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises:
when a RACH-less HO condition for applying RACH-less HO configuration is satisfied (See Qiu [0128] – i.e. receiving indication that RACH can be skipped; CHO – conditional handover; [0192] – i.e. when RACH-less HO timer hasn’t expired):
selecting a first UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-less HO configuration associated with the target cell, wherein the first UL transmission resource is capable of being used by the UE to perform the target UL transmission within the RACH-less available time (See Qiu [0122]-[0128] – selecting UL resources according to RACH-less HO configuration; within HO Timer T304).
Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, does not specifically disclose
when the RACH-less HO condition is not satisfied and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a second UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell; and
when the RACH-less HO procedure is not completed successfully and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a third UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell.
However, Leng teaches of
when the RACH-less HO condition is not satisfied (See Leng [0114] – if initial UL transmission control timer has expired) and the general HO timer is not expired (See Leng [0114] – RRC timer T304 is still running):
selecting a second UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell (See Leng [0114] – going back to RACH based HO and using common RA resources); and
when the RACH-less HO procedure is not completed successfully (See Leng [0114] – if initial UL transmission control timer has expired, RACH-less HO is failed) and the general HO timer is not expired (See Leng [0114] – RRC timer T304 is still running):
selecting a third UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell (See Leng [0114] – if RACH-less HO has failed, going back to RACH based HO and using common RA resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH-less HO system, as disclosed in Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, comprising when the RACH-less HO condition is not satisfied and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a second UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell; and
when the RACH-less HO procedure is not completed successfully and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a third UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell, as taught in Leng. One is motivated as such in order to more flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements (See Leng Background; Summary).
RE Claim 4, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist and Leng, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 3 above, wherein the RACH-less HO condition comprising one of the following:
a measurement-based criteria including at least one RSRP threshold, a RSRQ threshold, a RSSI threshold of a reference signal configured by the HO command;
a time-based criteria including at least one of a starting time, a stopping time configured by the HO command (See Leng [0114] - timer start value configured in RACH-less HO command); and
a location-based criteria including at least one of a location information of a reference location and a distance threshold configured by the HO command.
RE Claim 19, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above, wherein the UL resource selection procedure comprises:
when a RACH-less HO condition for applying RACH-less HO configuration is satisfied (See Qiu [0128] – i.e. receiving indication that RACH can be skipped; CHO – conditional handover; [0192] – i.e. when RACH-less HO timer hasn’t expired):
selecting a first UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-less HO configuration associated with the target cell, wherein the first UL transmission resource is capable of being used by the UE to perform the target UL transmission within the RACH-less available time (See Qiu [0122]-[0128] – selecting UL resources according to RACH-less HO configuration; within HO Timer T304).
Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, does not specifically disclose
when the RACH-less HO condition is not satisfied and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a second UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell; and
when the RACH-less HO procedure is not completed successfully and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a third UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell.
However, Leng teaches of
when the RACH-less HO condition is not satisfied (See Leng [0114] – if initial UL transmission control timer has expired) and the general HO timer is not expired (See Leng [0114] – RRC timer T304 is still running):
selecting a second UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell (See Leng [0114] – going back to RACH based HO and using common RA resources); and
when the RACH-less HO procedure is not completed successfully (See Leng [0114] – if initial UL transmission control timer has expired, RACH-less HO is failed) and the general HO timer is not expired (See Leng [0114] – RRC timer T304 is still running):
selecting a third UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell (See Leng [0114] – if RACH-less HO has failed, going back to RACH based HO and using common RA resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH-less HO system, as disclosed in Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, comprising when the RACH-less HO condition is not satisfied and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a second UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell; and
when the RACH-less HO procedure is not completed successfully and the general HO timer is not expired:
selecting a third UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource according to the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell, as taught in Leng. One is motivated as such in order to more flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements (See Leng Background; Summary).
RE Claim 20, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist and Leng, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 19 above, wherein the RACH-less HO condition comprising one of the following:
a measurement-based criteria including at least one RSRP threshold, a RSRQ threshold, a RSSI threshold of a reference signal configured by the HO command;
a time-based criteria including at least one of a starting time, a stopping time configured by the HO command (See Leng [0114] - timer start value configured in RACH-less HO command); and
a location-based criteria including at least one of a location information of a reference location and a distance threshold configured by the HO command.
Claims 14, 16, 30, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qiu et al. (US# 2026/0025717 hereinafter referred to as Qiu) in view of Bergqvist et al. (US# 2022/0110037 hereinafter referred to as Bergqvist) and Leng (US# 2024/0205766 hereinafter referred to as Leng ‘766).
RE Claim 14, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 1 above. Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, does not specifically disclose the method further comprising:
when the time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration:
selecting a RACH-based UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell for the first UL transmission to the target cell;
applying the RACH-based UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource to perform the first UL transmission of a RA procedure to the target cell when the RACH-based UL transmission resource is applicable within the RACH-less available time; or
applying a RACH-less UL transmission resource indicated by the RACH-less HO configuration as the target UL transmission resource when the RACH-less UL transmission resource is applicable prior to the RACH-based UL transmission resource within the RACH-less available time.
However, Leng ‘766 teaches of
when the time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration (See Leng ‘766 [0076]-[0082]; [0103] – resource selection for first HO is prior to second HO (which can be RACH-less HO)):
selecting a RACH-based UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell for the first UL transmission to the target cell (See Leng ‘766 [0076]-[0082]; [0103] – if first HO has priority is RACH based, selecting RACH based resources);
applying the RACH-based UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource to perform the first UL transmission of a RA procedure to the target cell when the RACH-based UL transmission resource is applicable within the RACH-less available time (See Leng ‘766 [0076]-[0082]; [0103] – if first HO has priority and is RACH based, ignoring second HO configurations and using first HO configured (RACH based) resources); or
applying a RACH-less UL transmission resource indicated by the RACH-less HO configuration as the target UL transmission resource when the RACH-less UL transmission resource is applicable prior to the RACH-based UL transmission resource within the RACH-less available time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH-less HO system, as disclosed in Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, wherein when the time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration:
selecting a RACH-based UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell for the first UL transmission to the target cell;
applying the RACH-based UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource to perform the first UL transmission of a RA procedure to the target cell when the RACH-based UL transmission resource is applicable within the RACH-less available time; or
applying a RACH-less UL transmission resource indicated by the RACH-less HO configuration as the target UL transmission resource when the RACH-less UL transmission resource is applicable prior to the RACH-based UL transmission resource within the RACH-less available time, as taught in Leng ‘766. One is motivated as such in order to more flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements (See Leng ‘766 Background; Summary).
RE Claim 16, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist and Leng ‘766, discloses a method, as set forth in claim 14 above, the method further comprising:
in response to receiving a RAR from the target cell (See Qiu [0287] – RAR indicating TA value), applying a timing adjustment value carried by the RAR to the subsequent target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0129], [0287] – applying TA value to target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing with target cell).
RE Claim 30, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 17 above. Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, does not specifically disclose the method further comprising:
when the time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration:
selecting a RACH-based UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell for the first UL transmission to the target cell;
applying the RACH-based UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource to perform the first UL transmission of a RA procedure to the target cell when the RACH-based UL transmission resource is applicable within the RACH-less available time; or
applying a RACH-less UL transmission resource indicated by the RACH-less HO configuration as the target UL transmission resource when the RACH-less UL transmission resource is applicable prior to the RACH-based UL transmission resource within the RACH-less available time.
However, Leng ‘766 teaches of
when the time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration (See Leng ‘766 [0076]-[0082]; [0103] – resource selection for first HO is prior to second HO (which can be RACH-less HO)):
selecting a RACH-based UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell for the first UL transmission to the target cell (See Leng ‘766 [0076]-[0082]; [0103] – if first HO has priority is RACH based, selecting RACH based resources);
applying the RACH-based UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource to perform the first UL transmission of a RA procedure to the target cell when the RACH-based UL transmission resource is applicable within the RACH-less available time (See Leng ‘766 [0076]-[0082]; [0103] – if first HO has priority and is RACH based, ignoring second HO configurations and using first HO configured (RACH based) resources); or
applying a RACH-less UL transmission resource indicated by the RACH-less HO configuration as the target UL transmission resource when the RACH-less UL transmission resource is applicable prior to the RACH-based UL transmission resource within the RACH-less available time.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the RACH-less HO system, as disclosed in Qiu, modified by Bergqvist, wherein when the time point for performing the UL resource selection procedure is prior to the RACH-less available time of the RACH-less HO configuration:
selecting a RACH-based UL transmission resource configured by the RACH-based HO configuration associated with the target cell for the first UL transmission to the target cell;
applying the RACH-based UL transmission resource as the target UL transmission resource to perform the first UL transmission of a RA procedure to the target cell when the RACH-based UL transmission resource is applicable within the RACH-less available time; or
applying a RACH-less UL transmission resource indicated by the RACH-less HO configuration as the target UL transmission resource when the RACH-less UL transmission resource is applicable prior to the RACH-based UL transmission resource within the RACH-less available time, as taught in Leng ‘766. One is motivated as such in order to more flexibly accommodate various services/applications with different requirements (See Leng ‘766 Background; Summary).
RE Claim 32, Qiu, modified by Bergqvist and Leng ‘766, discloses a UE, as set forth in claim 30 above, the method further comprising:
in response to receiving a RAR from the target cell (See Qiu [0287] – RAR indicating TA value), applying a timing adjustment value carried by the RAR to the subsequent target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing alignment with the target cell (See Qiu [0129], [0287] – applying TA value to target UL transmission for adjusting UL timing with target cell).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15, 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new grounds of rejection, necessitated by amendment (See Claims above, Bergqvist reference).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chen et al. (US# 2026/0281838 – which teaches of configuring RACH-less HO validity time window).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STEVE R YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477