Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 8-10 of U.S. Patent No.10331966. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claim 1 are obvious in view of the allowed claims 1, 3, 8-10 of US10331966.
Appl # 18660270 US10331966
Claim 1
Claims 1+3+8+9+10
Claims 1, 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6 and 14 of U.S. Patent No.11682225. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims 1 and 4 are obvious in view of the allowed claims 1, 5-6 and 14 of US11682225.
Appl # 18660270 US11682225
Claim 1
Claim 4
Claims 1+5+6
Claims 1+5+6 and corresponding claim 14
Claims 1, 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5-6 and 8 of U.S. Patent No.12051258. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims 1 and 4 are obvious in view of the allowed claims 1, 5-6 and 8 and 14 of US12051258.
Appl # 18660270 US12051258
Claim 1
Claim 4
Claims 1+5+6
Claims 1+5+6 +8
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Orhun. (US20060210192) hereafter Orhun.
1. Regarding claim 1, Orhun discloses a method (Figs 3-8 shows the method and the device/apparatus) comprising:
obtaining, by a device, an image of an object using a camera of the device (fig 8, paras 0028, 0030 shows the device 1 having a camera (image capturing device 2) capturing an image (fig 4 step 25) of a document 35 meeting the claim limitations);
identifying, by the device, at least two corner points from a set of corner candidate points closest, respectively, to at least one corner of a bounding shape used to generate the set of corner candidate points (fig 4 step 27, fig 5-6, paras 0030-0031,0033 and 0035-0036 shows and discloses calculate/identify the boundary image 47 (a bounding shape (i.e rectangle having four corners) used to generate the set of corner candidate points) enclosing the document 46 having the identified/detected markers 36,37,38 and 39 (i.e four corners meeting the limitations of at least two corner points or more than two corners from the set of the candidate corner points) are closest to the at least one corner of the bounding shape (i.e the sides of the bounding shape 47 have at least one corner (i.e four candidate corners of the bounding shape) meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of the bounding shape are not required by the current claim);
validating the at least two corner points by determining that at least one edge length between the at least two corner points is within a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape (fig 6, para 0033 shows and discloses “The third step of the perspective correction algorithm is to apply 29 the transformation, which will move the markers of the captured image (markers 36, 37, 38 and 39 of the captured document image 46 having the corresponding edges top, bottom, left and right edges) to the corners of the smallest rectangle that encloses the captured image (i.e validating/fitting the at least two corner points by determining that at least one edge length between the at least two corner points (i.e the edge length of the document 46 having the at least two corners 37 and 38) is within a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape (i.e fits/validated within the right edge (threshold size) of the bounding shape 47)
meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of a threshold size and a corresponding edge are not required by the current claim); and
performing, based at least in part on validating the at least two corner points, perspective correction on the image of the object using the at least two corner points (figs 4, 6 and paras 0033-0034 shows and discloses “The third step of the perspective correction algorithm is to apply 29 the transformation, which will move the markers of the captured image to the corners of the smallest rectangle that encloses the captured image (i.e the validated at least two corner points that fits the bounding shape image). The last step of the correction algorithm is to cut 30 the rectangular part of the image, the part of the image defined by the smallest rectangle, from the rest of the captured image (i.e output image with validated corner points as a result of the perspective correction performed). This rectangular image (cut out 30) is then made the principal (i.e the perspective corrected output image) meeting the above claim limitations” “abstract discloses the geometric transform are used to map the special markers in the captured image having perspective distortion to the corners of the smallest rectangle and create a distortion free image meeting the claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of perspective correction are not required by the current claim).
2. Regarding claim 6, Orhun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the device performs the perspective correction in real-time or near real-time as the image of the object is being obtained by the camera (para 0031 discloses “once it is established that all the markers are present on the captured image, correction (i.e the perspective correction) of the captured image begins (i.e in real time or near real-time) meeting the above claim limitations).
3. Regarding claim 7, Orhun discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting the image of the object with the perspective correction applied to a backend platform for further processing (fig 4 shows step 31, paras 0037-0039 disclose the image is transferred to the host computer for image processing meeting the above claim limitations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Orhun in view of Roach et al. (US20130155474) hereafter Roach.
4. Regarding claim 2, Orhun disclose the method of claim 1. Orhun discloses the perspective correction of the obtained/captured image and identification of the at least two corners as seen in figs 4-6. Orhun is silent and fails to disclose further comprising: converting the obtained image from color to grayscale before identifying the at least two corner points.
Roach discloses further comprising: converting the obtained image from color to grayscale before identifying the at least two corner points (para 0030, 0034,0040-0041 figs 17B-18, 22A-22B and 28A-28B shows and discloses converting the obtained image from color to grayscale before identifying the at least two corner points). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Orhun and Roach are combinable because they are form the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an improved quality of captured image at paras 0071-0072, 0093. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Roach in the method of Orhun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2.
5. Regarding claim 3, Orhun discloses the method of claim 1. Orhun disclose and shows the edges in the figs 5-6. Orhun is silent and fails to disclose further comprising: applying one or more edge detection techniques to detect the set of corner candidate points.
Roach discloses further applying one or more edge detection techniques to detect the set of corner candidate points (paras 0067-0068, 0085, 0128, 0143-0144 shows and discloses further applying one or more edge detection techniques to detect the set of corner candidate points). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Orhun and Roach are combinable because they are form the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be a faster (reduced data processing) and accurate processing method/system at paras 0143-0144. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Roach in the method of Orhun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
6. Regarding claim 4, Orhun discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the object is one of a document 46 in figs 6. Orhun is silent and however fails to disclose further wherein the object is one of an identification card, an insurance card, a transaction card, or a check.
Roach discloses further wherein the object is one of an identification card, an insurance card, a transaction card, or a check (fig 17 shows wherein an object is one of a check meeting the claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Orhun and Roach are combinable because they are form the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an improved quality of captured image at paras 0071-0072, 0093. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Roach in the method of Orhun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 4.
7. Regarding claim 5, Orhun discloses the method of claim 1. Orhun discloses the set of the corner candidate points as seen in fig 6. Orhun is silent and however fails to disclose further comprising: removing one or more points from the set of corner candidate points based on a corner test before identifying the at least two corner points.
Roach discloses removing one or more points from the set of corner candidate points based on a corner test before identifying the at least two corner points (Para 0277 discloses “In accordance with one embodiment, this goal is achieved by first looking for the "voting" points in the half of the "icon" that corresponds with the current side of interest. For instance, if the current side of interest is the document's top side, the upper part of the "icon" (Y<H/2) is examined while the bottom part of the "icon" (Y.gtoreq.H/2) is ignored (i.e the document bottom corners are ignored or removed).” meeting the above claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Orhun and Roach are combinable because they are form the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an improved quality of captured image at paras 0071-0072, 0093. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Roach in the method of Orhun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
8. Regarding claim 8, Orhun discloses a device (fig 8 device 1), comprising: one or more processors (fig 8 processor 6) configured to:
obtain an image of an object using a camera of the device (fig 8, paras 0028, 0030 shows the device 1 having a camera (image capturing device 2) capturing an image (fig 4 step 25) of a document 35 meeting the claim limitations);
identify at least two corner points from a set of corner candidate points closest, respectively, to at least one corner of a bounding shape used to generate the set of corner candidate points (fig 4 step 27, fig 5-6, paras 0030-0031,0033 and 0035-0036 shows and discloses calculate/identify the boundary image 47 (a bounding shape (i.e rectangle having four corners) used to generate the set of corner candidate points) enclosing the document 46 having the identified/detected markers 36,37,38 and 39 (i.e four corners meeting the limitations of at least two corner points or more than two corners from the set of the candidate corner points) are closest to the at least one corner of the bounding shape (i.e the sides of the bounding shape 47 have at least one corner (i.e four candidate corners of the bounding shape) meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of the bounding shape are not required by the current claim);
validate the at least two corner points by determining that at least one edge length between the at least two corner points is within a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape (fig 6, para 0033 shows and discloses “The third step of the perspective correction algorithm is to apply 29 the transformation, which will move the markers of the captured image (markers 36, 37, 38 and 39 of the captured document image 46 having the corresponding edges top, bottom, left and right edges) to the corners of the smallest rectangle that encloses the captured image (i.e validating/fitting the at least two corner points by determining that at least one edge length between the at least two corner points (i.e the edge length of the document 46 having the at least two corners 37 and 38) is within a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape (i.e fits/validated within the right edge (threshold size) of the bounding shape 47)
meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of a threshold size and a corresponding edge are not required by the current claim); and (para 0030 discloses upon the detection of the corners (i.e validating at least two corner points), the reader will give feedback to the user to capture the image of the object). As seen above Orhun discloses the user capturing of the image. Orhun is silent and however fails to disclose
automatically trigger capture of the image.
Roach discloses automatically trigger capture of the image (paras 0070-0073 discloses the automatically capture of the document/object image by the mobile device without the user capturing the image of the object). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Orhun and Roach are combinable because they are form the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an improved quality of captured image at paras 0071-0072, 0093. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Roach in the method/device of Orhun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 8.
9. Regarding claim 9, Orhun and Roach disclose the device of claim 8. Orhun discloses further wherein the bounding shape comprises a bounding rectangle (fig 4 step 27, fig 5-6, paras 0030-0031,0033 and 0035-0036 shows and discloses calculate/identify the boundary image 47 (a bounding shape (i.e rectangle having four corners) used to generate the set of corner candidate points) enclosing the document 46 having the identified/detected markers 36,37,38 and 39 (i.e four corners meeting the limitations).
10. Regarding claim 10, Orhun and Roach disclose the device of claim 8. Orhun discloses further wherein the one or more processors are configured to further validate the at least two corner points based on a spatial arrangement of the identified corner points relative to each other (fig 6 shows further wherein the one or more processors are configured to further validate the at least two corner points based on a spatial arrangement of the identified corner points relative to each other).
11. Regarding claim 11, Orhun and Roach disclose the device of claim 8. Roach discloses wherein capture of the image is automatically triggered based at least in part on a set of conditions for automatically triggering image capture, and wherein the set of conditions include verifying that the validated corner points are positioned within predefined regions of interest within the bounding shape (figs 4A-4H, 20 and paras 0070-0071, 0109 and 0113 shows and discloses the automatic capture of the image when the optimal parameters (i.e the set of predefined conditions) are achieved (i.e based on) and that the corners of the document are within the captured image (i.e bounding shape), examiner notes that as seen in fig 4H a green bounding box (a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape) indicates the corners of the document 406 with at least one edge length (side with at least two corners validated) fits within the bounding box regions meeting the above claim limitations).
12. Regarding claim 12, Orhun and Roach disclose the device of claim 11. Roach discloses further wherein the object is a check with at least one (fig 30,para 0372 shows the object is a check with the shadowed (damaged) corners in the right meeting the claim limitations).
13. Regarding claim 13, Orhun and Roach disclose the device of claim 8. Orhun discloses further wherein the one or more processors are configured to adjust the threshold size used for validating the at least two corner points based on one or more factors affecting image capture (para 0036 and fig 6 shows and discloses adjusting the reader (i.e image capture) based on the validated corners fitting the bounding shape (i.e increasing the threshold size of the bounding box) based on the object image having increasing distortion (i.e factors affecting the image capture) meeting the above claim limitations).
14. Regarding claim 14, Orhun and Roach discloses the device of claim 8. Orhun discloses further comprising a user interface configured to provide feedback regarding a validation status of the corner points (para 0036, fig 6 discloses proving the user with the feedback (i.e audio/LED) if the captured image corners (i.e the validation status of corner points) are fitted within the bounding box (i.e the image reader needs to be moved in particular direction) meeting the above claim limitations).
15. Regarding claim 15, Orhun and Roach disclose the device of claim 14. Orhun discloses the feedback as seen in para 0036. Orhun is silent and however fails to disclose further wherein the feedback includes a live preview image of the object being captured.
Roach discloses further wherein the feedback includes a live preview image of the object being captured (fig 4A-4H, paras 0102-0105 discloses wherein the feedback includes a live preview image of the object being captured (i.e displaying the instructions (feedback) to the user meeting the claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Orhun and Roach are combinable because they are form the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an improved quality of captured image at paras 0071-0072, 0093. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Roach in the method/device of Orhun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15.
16. Regarding claim 16, Orhun discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions (figs 4-8 shows the device 1 with a memory 5, processor 6 executing the algorithms, and para 0025 discloses other circuitry not shows such as ASIC for processing the image, examiner notes that from the teachings of the figs 4-8, memory, ASIC circuitry and processor executing the algorithms, user interface, a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions, the set of instructions meeting is implied/obvious meeting the limitations of non-transitory computer readable medium) comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device (figs 4-8 shows the device 1 with a memory 5, processor 6 executing the algorithms) to:
obtain an image of an object using a camera of the device (fig 8, paras 0028, 0030 shows the device 1 having a camera (image capturing device 2) capturing an image (fig 4 step 25) of a document 35 meeting the claim limitations);
identify at least two corner points from a set of corner candidate points closest, respectively, to at least one corner of a bounding shape used to generate the set of corner candidate points (fig 4 step 27, fig 5-6, paras 0030-0031,0033 and 0035-0036 shows and discloses calculate/identify the boundary image 47 (a bounding shape (i.e rectangle having four corners) used to generate the set of corner candidate points) enclosing the document 46 having the identified/detected markers 36,37,38 and 39 (i.e four corners meeting the limitations of at least two corner points or more than two corners from the set of the candidate corner points) are closest to the at least one corner of the bounding shape (i.e the sides of the bounding shape 47 have at least one corner (i.e four candidate corners of the bounding shape) meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of the bounding shape are not required by the current claim);;
validate the at least two corner points by determining that at least one edge length between the at least two corner points is within a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape (fig 6, para 0033 shows and discloses “The third step of the perspective correction algorithm is to apply 29 the transformation, which will move the markers of the captured image (markers 36, 37, 38 and 39 of the captured document image 46 having the corresponding edges top, bottom, left and right edges) to the corners of the smallest rectangle that encloses the captured image (i.e validating/fitting the at least two corner points by determining that at least one edge length between the at least two corner points (i.e the edge length of the document 46 having the at least two corners 37 and 38) is within a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape (i.e fits/validated within the right edge (threshold size) of the bounding shape 47)
meeting the above claim limitations, examiner notes that the specifics of a threshold size and a corresponding edge are not required by the current claim); and (para 0030 discloses upon the detection of the corners (i.e validating at least two corner points), the reader will give feedback to the user to capture the image of the object). As seen above Orhun discloses the user capturing of the image. Orhun is silent and however fails to disclose
automatically trigger image capture based on satisfying a set of conditions related to the identified at least two corner points, wherein the set of conditions include requirements that the validated corner points exhibit a predefined relationship with respect to the bounding shape.
Roach discloses automatically trigger image capture based on satisfying a set of conditions related to the identified at least two corner points, wherein the set of conditions include requirements that the validated corner points exhibit a predefined relationship with respect to the bounding shape (figs 4A-4H, 20 and paras 0070-0071, 0109 and 0113 shows and discloses the automatic capture of the image when the optimal parameters (i.e the set of conditions) are achieved (i.e based on) and that the corners of the document are within the captured image (i.e bounding shape), examiner notes that as seen in fig 4H a green bounding box (a threshold size of a corresponding edge of the bounding shape) indicates the corners of the document 406 with at least one edge length side with at least two corners validated) fits within the bounding box (i.e the validated corner points exhibit a predefined relationship with respect to the bounding shape) regions meeting the above claim limitations). Before the effective filing date of the invention was made, Orhun and Roach are combinable because they are form the same filed of endeavor and are analogous art of image processing. The suggestion/motivation would be an improved quality of captured image at paras 0071-0072, 0093. Therefore, it would be obvious and within one of ordinary skill in the art to have recognized the advantages of Roach in the method/device of Orhun to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16.
17. Regarding claim 17, Orhun and Roach disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16. Orhun discloses further wherein the one or more instructions further cause the device to: adjust the threshold size used for validating the at least two corner points based on one or more factors affecting image capture, wherein the one or more factors include angle of capture (para 0036 and fig 6 shows and discloses adjusting the reader (i.e image capture) based on the validated corners fitting the bounding shape (i.e increasing the threshold size of the bounding box) based on the object image having increasing distortion (i.e factors affecting the image capture) meeting the above claim limitations).
18. Regarding claim 18, Orhun and Roach disclose the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16. Orhun disclose further wherein the one or more instructions further cause the device to: dynamically adjust the set of conditions based at least in part on feedback received during validation of the corner points (para 0036, fig 6 discloses proving the user with the feedback (i.e audio/LED) if the captured image corners (i.e the validation status of corner points) are fitted within the bounding box (i.e the image reader needs to be moved in particular direction (dynamically adjusted)) meeting the above claim limitations).
19. Regarding claim 19, Orhun and Roach discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16. Orhun discloses further wherein the bounding shape comprises a bounding rectangle (fig 6 shows a bounding rectangle 47 meeting the claim limitations).
20. Regarding claim 20, Orhun and Roach discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16. Orhun disclose further wherein the one or more instructions further cause the device to: transmit the image of the object to a backend platform for further processing (fig 4 shows step 31, paras 0037-0039 disclose the image is transferred to the host computer (backend platform) for image processing meeting the above claim limitations).
Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited figures, and paragraphs in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested for the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Examiner has also cited references in PTO892 but not relied on, which are relevant and pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure, and may also be reading (anticipatory/obvious) on the claims and claimed limitations. Applicant is advised to consider the references in preparing the response/amendments in-order to expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
JAYESH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2677
/JAYESH A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677