DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 16 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 9 are independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 7 and 9 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peng, Fenglin (US-20190318706-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Peng).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 9, Peng teaches:
A system to detect a hot pixel (e.g., defective or dead pixel of Peng) of an electronic display (e.g., LCD display of Peng) (See at least Peng, ¶ [0052]; FIGS. 1–4, 7; "…the display apparatus may include a camera or detector system disposed to receive light emitted by the electronic display and configured to identify defective pixels in the pixel array of the electronic display…"), comprising: a video source configured to drive the electronic display to a uniform grayscale (e.g., grayscale calibration maps of Peng) (See at least Peng, ¶ [0085, 0095]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…In some embodiments the DCS 90 may cycle through a plurality of pixel luminance settings for the display while camera 91 captures images of the display in order to obtain one or more grayscale calibration maps and to determine luminance curves for defective pixels, as indicated at block 213 of FIG. 7. The calibration processing unit or module 92 may use stored grayscale maps or pixel luminance curves to identify defective pixels…", "…the electronic display receives video data from processor 70, for example in the form of a sequence of input image frames 71 or subframes 73 as described hereinabove, and presents corresponding images to the user…"); a computer operatively connected to a digital camera (See at least Peng, ¶ [0085, 0095]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…In some embodiments the DCS 90 may cycle through a plurality of pixel luminance settings for the display while camera 91 captures images of the display in order to obtain one or more grayscale calibration maps and to determine luminance curves for defective pixels, as indicated at block 213 of FIG. 7. The calibration processing unit or module 92 may use stored grayscale maps or pixel luminance curves to identify defective pixels…", "…the electronic display receives video data from processor 70, for example in the form of a sequence of input image frames 71 or subframes 73 as described hereinabove, and presents corresponding images to the user…"); and the digital camera configured to capture a digital image of the electronic display driven to the uniform grayscale and send data of the digital image to the computer and saved in a memory (See at least Peng, ¶ [0084]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…In some embodiments the display image captures obtained by camera 91 may be stored in the capture memory 96, and analyzed by the calibration processor 92 to determine the location of a defective pixel in the pixel array of display…"), wherein the computer is configured to identify a pixel of the digital image for further analysis and for every pixel of the digital image identified for further analysis (See at least Peng, ¶ [0086]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…the ISD 60 may cycle through two or more states for each input frame 71, with the display processor 70 feeding corresponding subframes 73 to the display 50, so as to temporarily shift working pixels into the positions of identified defective pixels and to compensate for the lack of light at the defective pixel location…"), determine if a number of other pixels of the digital image identified for further analysis within a predetermined surrounding area exceeds a predetermined number (See at least Peng, ¶ [0086]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…DCS 90 may direct the display system 25 to operate in a pixel correction mode when the number of defective pixels that lack the ability to function within a predetermined range of characteristics exceeds a specified threshold…").
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 10, Peng teaches:
wherein the computer is further configured to: build a digital array of color values for each pixel of the digital image (See at least Peng, ¶ [0067]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…FIG. 2A schematically illustrates a 2D array of pixels 20…Each active area 21 may include some combination of two or more subpixels that may be configured to emit or transmit light of different colors, for example a red (R) subpixel, a green (G) subpixel, and a blue (B) subpixel…"); and calculate a luminance value (e.g., pixel luminance curve of Peng) for each pixel of the digital image based on a color value corresponding to each pixel (See at least Peng, ¶ [0067, 0085]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…FIG. 2A schematically illustrates a 2D array of pixels 20…Each active area 21 may include some combination of two or more subpixels that may be configured to emit or transmit light of different colors, for example a red (R) subpixel, a green (G) subpixel, and a blue (B) subpixel…", "…the calibration processor 92 of the DCS 90 may be configured determine pixel luminance curves for active areas of specific colors…").
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 11, Peng teaches:
wherein the computer is further configured to: compare an average luminance of pixels (e.g., the brightness/luminance of a group of pixels of Peng) adjacent to a pixel of the digital image to a luminance of the pixel of the digital image (See at least Peng, ¶ [0085, 0089]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…the calibration processor 92 of the DCS 90 may be configured determine pixel luminance curves for active areas of specific colors…the calibration processor 92 may be configured to compute a brightness correction matrix to enable suitable color and brightness correction of one or more pixels…" The Examiner notes that enabling brightness/luminance correction as disclosed in Peng requires a previous comparison of surrounding pixels; thus, meeting the limitation the claimed comparing limitation. "…the brightness of a group of pixels is adjusted, the display processor 70 may be configured to implement a smoothing function to prevent the appearance of hard edge…"); and identify the pixel of the digital image for the further analysis (e.g., from stored grayscale maps or pixel luminance curves - used to identify defective pixels of Peng), if the difference in luminance between the pixel of the digital image and the average luminance of adjacent pixels exceeds a threshold (See at least Peng, ¶ [0085, 0089]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…The calibration processing unit or module 92 may use stored grayscale maps or pixel luminance curves to identify defective pixels which luminance response to a pixel excitation signal deviates from a specified pixel response, i.e. which emit less or more light than specified for applied pixel signal…the calibration processor 92 of the DCS 90 may be configured determine pixel luminance curves for active areas of specific colors…the calibration processor 92 may be configured to compute a brightness correction matrix to enable suitable color and brightness correction of one or more pixels…", "…the brightness of a group of pixels is adjusted, the display processor 70 may be configured to implement a smoothing function to prevent the appearance of hard edge…").
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 12, Peng teaches:
wherein the computer is further configured to generate a defect map (e.g., one or more grayscale calibration maps of Peng) that highlights pixels of the digital image where the predetermined number is exceeded (See at least Peng, ¶ [0085]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…the DCS 90 may be configured to characterize light emitting capabilities of a defective pixel or active area in the pixel array of display 50. This may include determining whether a particular defective pixel or active area is dead, i.e. is incapable of emitting light, or emit light of incorrect intensity…the DCS 90 may cycle through a plurality of pixel luminance settings for the display 50 while camera 91 captures images of the display 50 in order to obtain one or more grayscale calibration maps for defective pixels…").
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 13, Peng teaches:
wherein the average luminance (e.g., the brightness/luminance of a group of pixels of Peng) is calculated for three pixels directly to the left (e.g., adjacent pixels of Peng), directly above, directly to the right (e.g., adjacent pixels of Peng), and directly below (e.g., adjacent pixels of Peng) each pixel of the digital image (See at least Peng, ¶ [0089, 0102]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…Defective pixels may then be identified by loss of brightness at specific locations of the display…User controls to increase brightness of groups of pixels may be incorporated in the controller 93 or as an element of the GUI. In some embodiments the user may be provided with control elements to use pixel shift to correct for single pixel's low illumination. When the brightness of a group of pixels is adjusted, the display processor 70 may be configured to implement a smoothing function to prevent the appearance of hard edge…", "…The operation of the optical display system 150 may be understood by considering corresponding active areas “A” and “B” of two adjacent pixels 121 of the display 153…The intensity of light transmitted by the active areas “A” and “B” of the display 153 during the first state of the SD 110 and the second state of the SD 110 may differ, so that the intensity of light seen from the first virtual pixel A1 (or B1) can be different from that seen from the second virtual pixel A2 (or B2). Therefore, the intensity of the two virtual pixel A1 and A2, or B1 and B2, can be modulated separately…").
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 14, Peng teaches:
wherein the average luminance is calculated for three pixels directly above (e.g., adjacent pixels of Peng), directly below (e.g., adjacent pixels of Peng), and directly to either the right or the left (e.g., adjacent pixels of Peng) of each pixel of the digital image depending from which side of the electronic display a corresponding one of each pixel of the digital image is taken (See at least Peng, ¶ [0089, 0102]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…Defective pixels may then be identified by loss of brightness at specific locations of the display…User controls to increase brightness of groups of pixels may be incorporated in the controller 93 or as an element of the GUI. In some embodiments the user may be provided with control elements to use pixel shift to correct for single pixel's low illumination. When the brightness of a group of pixels is adjusted, the display processor 70 may be configured to implement a smoothing function to prevent the appearance of hard edge…", "…The operation of the optical display system 150 may be understood by considering corresponding active areas “A” and “B” of two adjacent pixels 121 of the display 153…The intensity of light transmitted by the active areas “A” and “B” of the display 153 during the first state of the SD 110 and the second state of the SD 110 may differ, so that the intensity of light seen from the first virtual pixel A1 (or B1) can be different from that seen from the second virtual pixel A2 (or B2). Therefore, the intensity of the two virtual pixel A1 and A2, or B1 and B2, can be modulated separately…").
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 15, Peng teaches:
wherein the color values are obtained directly from the data and saved in the memory so that the values can be accessed directly from the memory (See at least Peng, ¶ [0085]; FIGS. 1–4, 7, 9; "…The calibration processing unit or module 92 may use stored grayscale maps or pixel luminance curves to identify defective pixels which luminance response to a pixel excitation signal deviates from a specified pixel response, i.e. which emit less or more light than specified for applied pixel signal…the calibration processor 92 of the DCS 90 may be configured determine pixel luminance curves for active areas of specific colors…the calibration processor 92 may be configured to compute a brightness correction matrix to enable suitable color and brightness correction of one or more pixels…").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peng, Fenglin (US-20190318706-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Peng) in view of Safaee-Rad, Reza (US-20040213449-A1, hereinafter simply referred to as Reza).
Regarding dependent claims 8 and 16, Peng does not expressly teach the concept of:
wherein in a case that the electronic display is a liquid crystal display (e.g., LCD display of Peng), the luminance of the center pixel is compared to the average luminance of all the surrounding pixels including the above average, the below average, and either the left or right average depending on which side of the electronic display the center pixel is located.
Nevertheless, Reza teaches the concept of wherein in a case that the electronic display is a liquid crystal display (e.g., displays, such as liquid crystal displays (LCDs) of Reza), the luminance of the center pixel is compared to the average luminance of all the surrounding pixels including the above average, the below average, and either the left or right average depending on which side of the electronic display the center pixel is located (See at least Reza, ¶ [0062, 0082, 0089]; FIGS. 4–7; "… the inventors have noted that there is often a significant amount of luminance variation within the same display panel (e.g., between the center and corners). As a result, the exposure times needed to be adapted for each sensor individually, and for each panel, and for each test-pattern combination…", "…a display pixel centered at pixel coordinate (m, n) 620 in coordinate frame 600 is mapped to a sensor pixel coordinate (p, q) 620 in coordinate frame 610…", "…for purposes of the foregoing calculations of weighting values, display pixel 675 is assumed to be rotated around its center point (m,n) 685 and aligned with area 690…" The Examiner notes that the variations, mappings and rotations of center pixels as disclosed in Reza are seen to meet the comparing concept required by the instant claims).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use and apply the known technique of comparing the luminance of the center pixel to the average luminance of all the surrounding pixels as disclosed in the device of Reza to modify and improve the known and similar device of Peng for the desirable and advantageous purpose of meeting the desire for methods and apparatus for detecting defects in sub-pixels of a display panel, without the drawback associated with the teaching of the '844 patent where processing images inaccurately from camera images result in having different misalignment angles, as discussed in Reza (See ¶ [0009]); thereby, achieving the predictable result of improving the overall efficiency and speed of the system with a reasonable expectation of success while enabling others skilled in the art to best utilize the invention along with various implementations and modifications as are suited to the particular use contemplated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO–892)
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866) 217 – 9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786 – 9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272 – 1000.
/IDOWU O OSIFADE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2675