DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 6/06/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/09/2025 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Park et al. (US 20200398767 A1) (hereinafter Park).
Regarding Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103,
Applicant contends that the cited prior art fails to disclose newly amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 14, including: “a spring constructed and arranged to bias the housing to the deployed position and enabling the housing to assume the stowed position upon application of an external force to the housing”, and “wherein the housing is a coupled to a side of the vehicle, and wherein the hinge is oriented vertically such that the housing is enabled to swing laterally about the hinge between the deployed position and the stowed position.”
See the rejection below for how the cited art in light of new/existing references reads on the newly amended language as well as the examiner’s interpretation of the cited art in view of the presented claim set.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, and 4-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites in part: “wherein the housing is a coupled to a side…” However, this should seemingly be --wherein the housing is [[a]] coupled to a side…-- for grammatical correctness.
Claims 4-13 are objected to based on their dependence from claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required. Any similar such recitations should be ameliorated in a manner consistent with the appropriate corrections made to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, 12-14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacross et al. (US 20230211740 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 20200398767 A1) (hereinafter Park).
Regarding claim 1, Lacross discloses:
An articulating camera assembly for a vehicle, comprising:
a housing; [See Lacross, ¶ 0074, 0077, 0082 discloses a camera wing or support arm that extends from a vehicle and operates in a deployed/extended state and an undeployed/flush state.]
a set of cameras attached to the housing; and [See Lacross, ¶ 0073-0076, 0082, 0102 discloses one or more cameras on a “wing” or support arm.]
a hinge that couples the housing to the vehicle, the hinge constructed and arranged to enable rotation of the housing between a deployed position in which the set of cameras extends at least partially outside the vehicle and a stowed position in which the set of cameras is retracted within the vehicle; and [See Lacross, ¶ 0077-0078 discloses a housing being rotated about a pivot axis (22a) so as to be swung between a retracted and deployed state; See Lacross, Figs. 2 and 3 illustrate the deployed and retracted states, respectively.]
wherein the housing is a coupled to a side of the vehicle, and wherein the hinge is oriented vertically such that the housing is enabled to swing laterally about the hinge between the deployed position and the stowed position. [See Lacross, ¶ 0077-0078 discloses a housing being rotated about a pivot axis (22a) so as to be swung between a retracted and deployed state; See Lacross, Figs. 2 and 3 illustrate the deployed and retracted states, respectively.]
Lacross does not appear to explicitly disclose:
a spring constructed and arranged to bias the housing to the deployed position and enabling the housing to assume the stowed position upon application of an external force to the housing,
However, Park discloses:
a spring constructed and arranged to bias the housing to the deployed position and enabling the housing to assume the stowed position upon application of an external force to the housing, [See Park, Figs. 2-6, ¶ 0045-0046, 0048, 0084-0088 discloses a piston 221 coupled to the support member 300, the cylinder 222, which has an inner space for receiving the piston 221 such that the piston 221 is extended or retracted through the inner space, and the tensioner 223 disposed within the cylinder 222, to apply predetermined tension to one end of the piston 221. The tensioner 223 may be driven by tension of the user. Accordingly, the damper unit 200 is configured to be retracted or extended in accordance with external force applied to the camera module 100 in a forward or rearward direction with reference to a horizontal plane of the vehicle. Different forces from the tensioner 223 may be applied to the piston 221 in accordance with different states of the tensioner 223. That is, the tensioner 223 may be configured such that recovery force is applied to the piston 221 in a fully extended state of the piston 221, and tension is applied to the piston 221 in a fully retracted state of the piston 221. Preferably, the tensioner 223 may include a return spring. The tensioner 223 is configured to provide different elastic forces in accordance with extension and retraction states of the piston 221. Meanwhile, the camera module 100 is configured to move in accordance with external force applied thereto in a forward or rearward direction of the vehicle.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Lacross to add the teachings of Park in order to enable selectable tensioning of a camera element mounted to the side of a vehicle, facilitating extension and retraction of a camera element to and from an imaging position.
Regarding claim 5, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Lacross discloses:
further comprising an actuator constructed and arranged to rotate the housing the between the deployed position and the stowed position. [See Lacross, ¶ 0080, 0102 discloses the wing portion 914b houses one or more cameras 915 therein and includes a powerfold actuator 930 that is operable to pivot the wing portion relative to the base portion, such as responsive to a user input or responsive to a gear selection or speed of the vehicle.]
Regarding claim 6, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Lacross discloses:
wherein the housing has a front edge and a rear edge, the front edge being closer to a front of the vehicle than the rear edge, and wherein the hinge is positioned closer to the front edge than to the rear edge, [See Lacross, Fig. 2 illlustrates a housing (22) with a front edge corresponding positionally with hinge (22a), and a rear edge on an opposite end of said housing (22).] such that the housing is enabled to swing about the hinge from the deployed position to the stowed position responsive to the housing encountering an obstacle while the vehicle is driving forward. [See Lacross, ¶ 0108-0109 discloses when in the extended state, the camera is positioned with a field of view exterior the vehicle. Additionally, the wing 1114b is rotatable beyond the extended position in a direction opposite of the retracted position to a forward fold position (FIGS. 41 and 42) (such as on impact with an object) and is biased or spring loaded from beyond the extended position back toward the extended position via a forward fold flap assembly 1138.]
Regarding claim 7, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Lacross discloses:
wherein the hinge is disposed at the front edge of the housing. [See Lacross, Fig. 2 illlustrates a housing (22) with a front edge corresponding positionally with hinge (22a), and a rear edge on an opposite end of said housing (22).]
Regarding claim 8, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 7.
Lacross discloses:
wherein the spring is a torsion spring axially aligned with the hinge. [See Lacross, ¶ 0113-0114, 0116, discloses a torsion spring biasing a camera wing toward a retracted position; See Lacross, Fig. 49 illustrates axial torsion spring (1168).]
Regarding claim 9, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Lacross discloses:
further comprising a first L-shaped bracket attached to the vehicle, the first L-shaped bracket having a front-facing member and an outward-facing member, [See Lacross, ¶ 0089, Figs. 13 and 14 illustrate “first” L-shaped bracket formed by 326a and 324.]
wherein the housing includes a second L-shaped bracket having a rear-facing member and an inward-facing member, the second L-shaped bracket fixedly attached to the set of cameras, and [See Lacross, ¶ 0089, Figs. 13 and 14 illustrate “second” L-shaped bracket formed by 326b and 324, wherein said “second” bracket is fixedly attached to camera device 314.]
wherein the inward-facing member of the second L-shaped bracket is rotatably connected, via the hinge, to the front-facing member of the first L-shaped bracket. [See Lacross, ¶ 0089, Figs. 13 and 14 illustrate an inward facing member of bracket formed by 326b and 324 rotatably connected to 324 by a hinge to a front facing member of bracket formed by 326a and 324.]
Regarding claim 10, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
Lacross discloses:
wherein the spring is disposed between the outward-facing member of the first L-shaped bracket and the second L-shaped bracket. [See Lacross, ¶ 0089-0090 discloses a spring-loaded or spring-biased gap seal or sealing element or cover or covering element 324 is movably disposed in the vehicle body portion and linked to the arm 322, such that, when the arm is extended, the sealing element is spring-biased and urged and moved into the aperture to seal at the vehicle body portion to limit water intrusion and the like into the vehicle body portion when the camera device 314 is extended; See Lacross, Figs. 13, 14, and 49.]
Regarding claim 12, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
Lacross discloses:
further comprising an outwardly-bowing horizontal rim having a fixed position relatively to the set of cameras and defining a farthest outward extent of the articulating camera assembly in the deployed position. [See Lacross, Figs. 23-25 illustrate an “outwardly-bowing” horizontal rim defining a “farthest outward extent” of the articulating camera in a deployed position.]
Regarding claim 13, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 12.
Lacross discloses:
wherein the housing is constructed and arranged to retract toward the stowed position responsive to the housing encountering a stationary obstacle both while the vehicle is driving forward and while the vehicle is driving backwards.[See Lacross, ¶ 0108-0109 discloses when in the extended state, the camera is positioned with a field of view exterior the vehicle. Additionally, the wing 1114b is rotatable beyond the extended position in a direction opposite of the retracted position to a forward fold position (FIGS. 41 and 42) (such as on impact with an object) and is biased or spring loaded from beyond the extended position back toward the extended position via a forward fold flap assembly 1138.]
Regarding claim 14, Lacross discloses:
A vehicle, comprising:
an articulating camera assembly disposed on an exterior surface of the vehicle, the articulating camera assembly including— [See Lacross, Figs. 2 and 3 illustrate an articulating camera assembly as it would be found at a side-view mirror of an exterior surface of a vehicle.]
a housing; [See Lacross, ¶ 0074, 0077, 0082 discloses a camera wing or support arm that extends from a vehicle and operates in a deployed/extended state and an undeployed/flush state.]
a set of cameras attached to the housing; and [See Lacross, ¶ 0073-0076, 0082, 0102 discloses one or more cameras on a “wing” or support arm.]
a hinge that couples the housing to the vehicle, the hinge constructed and arranged to enable rotation of the housing between a deployed position in which the set of cameras extends at least partially outside the exterior surface and a stowed position in which the set of cameras is retracted within the exterior surface. [See Lacross, ¶ 0077-0078 discloses a housing being rotated about a pivot axis (22a) so as to be swung between a retracted and deployed state; See Lacross, Figs. 2 and 3 illustrate the deployed and retracted states, respectively.]
Park discloses:
wherein the articulating camera assembly further includes a spring constructed and arranged to bias the housing to the deployed position and enabling the housing to assume the stowed position upon application of an external force to the housing.[See Park, Figs. 2-6, ¶ 0045-0046, 0048, 0084-0088 discloses a piston 221 coupled to the support member 300, the cylinder 222, which has an inner space for receiving the piston 221 such that the piston 221 is extended or retracted through the inner space, and the tensioner 223 disposed within the cylinder 222, to apply predetermined tension to one end of the piston 221. The tensioner 223 may be driven by tension of the user. Accordingly, the damper unit 200 is configured to be retracted or extended in accordance with external force applied to the camera module 100 in a forward or rearward direction with reference to a horizontal plane of the vehicle. Different forces from the tensioner 223 may be applied to the piston 221 in accordance with different states of the tensioner 223. That is, the tensioner 223 may be configured such that recovery force is applied to the piston 221 in a fully extended state of the piston 221, and tension is applied to the piston 221 in a fully retracted state of the piston 221. Preferably, the tensioner 223 may include a return spring. The tensioner 223 is configured to provide different elastic forces in accordance with extension and retraction states of the piston 221. Meanwhile, the camera module 100 is configured to move in accordance with external force applied thereto in a forward or rearward direction of the vehicle.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Lacross to add the teachings of Park in order to enable selectable tensioning of a camera element mounted to the side of a vehicle, facilitating extension and retraction of a camera element to and from an imaging position.
Regarding claim 16, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 15.
Lacross discloses:
wherein the housing has a front edge and a rear edge, the front edge being closer to a front of the vehicle than the rear edge, and wherein the hinge is disposed at a front edge of the housing. [See Lacross, Fig. 2 illlustrates a housing (22) with a front edge corresponding positionally with hinge (22a), and a rear edge on an opposite end of said housing (22); See Lacross, ¶ 0108-0109 discloses when in the extended state, the camera is positioned with a field of view exterior the vehicle. Additionally, the wing 1114b is rotatable beyond the extended position in a direction opposite of the retracted position to a forward fold position (FIGS. 41 and 42) (such as on impact with an object) and is biased or spring loaded from beyond the extended position back toward the extended position via a forward fold flap assembly 1138.]
Regarding claim 17, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 15.
Lacross discloses:
wherein the articulating camera assembly further includes a first L-shaped bracket attached to the vehicle, the first L-shaped bracket having a front-facing member and an outward-facing member, [See Lacross, ¶ 0089, Figs. 13 and 14 illustrate “first” L-shaped bracket formed by 326a and 324.]wherein the housing includes a second L-shaped bracket having a rear-facing member and an inward-facing member, the second L-shaped bracket fixedly attached to the set of cameras, and[See Lacross, ¶ 0089, Figs. 13 and 14 illustrate “second” L-shaped bracket formed by 326b and 324, wherein said “second” bracket is fixedly attached to camera device 314.] wherein the inward-facing member of the second L-shaped bracket is rotatably connected, via the hinge, to the front-facing member of the first L-shaped bracket. [See Lacross, ¶ 0089, Figs. 13 and 14 illustrate an inward facing member of bracket formed by 326b and 324 rotatably connected to 324 by a hinge to a front facing member of bracket formed by 326a and 324.]
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacross in view of Park in view of Brown et al. (US 10501967 B2) (hereinafter Brown).
Regarding claim 4, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Lacross in view of Park does not appear to explicitly disclose:
further comprising a latch coupled between the housing and the vehicle for selectively holding the housing in the stowed position.
However, Brown discloses:
further comprising a latch coupled between the housing and the vehicle for selectively holding the housing in the stowed position. [See Brown, col. 4 lines 9-33 discloses a latch release actuator may be biased against movement of a handle from the stowed state to the operative state.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Lacross to add the teachings of Brown in order to enable selective control of a latch to release a stowed housing from being flush with a vehicle’s surface to being deployed and protracted from a vehicle’s surface.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacross in view of Park in view of Oba et al. (US 20190118728 A1) (hereinafter Oba).
Regarding claim 11, Lacross in view of Park discloses all the limitations of claim 9.
Lacross in view of Park does not discloses:
further comprising a magnetic closure disposed between the outward-facing member of the first L-shaped bracket and the rear-facing member of the second L-shaped bracket.
However, Oba discloses:
further comprising a magnetic closure disposed between the outward-facing member of the first L-shaped bracket and the rear-facing member of the second L-shaped bracket. [See Oba, ¶ 0179-0184, Figs. 7B and 8 discloses a magnet 25 attached at supporting L-shaped brackets of a camera holding aspect of a vehicle imaging system.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Lacross in view of Park to add the teachings of Oba in order to enable fastening responsive to a vehicle collision detection.
Conclusion
/PATRICK E DEMOSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486