DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to amendment filed on 04-20-2026. Claims 1, 9, 12 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rollow, IV et al. (US 2020/0068297) in view of Southwell et al. (US 2024/0048931).
Consider Claim 1, Rollow teaches a beamforming audio processing apparatus(see figs. 2-3) comprising at least one processor and a memory storing instructions that are operable, when executed by the processor, to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus(see figs. 2-5 and paragraphs[0058]-[0068]}. to:
Receive(see figs. 2-5) audio data from a plurality audio capture devices comprising at least one microphone array located within an audio environment; generate a steered response power (SRP) transformation of the audio data, wherein the SRP transformation comprises a set of SRP weights for a spatial coordinate grid representing the audio environment;
perform, based at least in part on the (SNR) estimate (see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0063]-[0083]),
one or more of beamforming steering or beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array; and output, based at least in part on the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection, beamformed audio data via the at least one microphone array(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0085]-[0103]); but Rollow does not explicitly teach determine a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) estimate based at least in part on the SRP transformation.
However, Southwell teaches determine a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) estimate based at least in part on the SRP transformation; perform, based at least in part on the (SNR) the SNR one or more of beamforming steering or beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array(see figs. 19-20 and paragraphs[0296]-[0298]).; and output, based at least in part on the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection, beamformed audio data via the at least one microphone array(see figs. 7-25 and paragraphs[0296]-[0315]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Southwell in to the teaching of Rollow to provide a first content stream that includes first audio signals, rendering the first audio signals to produce first audio playback signals, generating first direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals, generating first modified audio playback signals by inserting the first DSSS signals into the first audio playback signals, and causing a loudspeaker system to play back the first modified audio playback signals, to generate first audio device playback sound. The method(s) may involve receiving microphone signals corresponding to at least the first audio device playback sound and to second through N.sup.th audio device playback sound corresponding to second through N.sup.th modified audio playback signals (including second through N.sup.th DSSS signals) played back by second through N.sup.th audio devices, extracting second through N.sup.th DSSS signals from the microphone signals and estimating at least one acoustic scene metric based, at least partly, on the second through N.sup.th DSSS signals.
Consider Claims 2 and 3, Rollow as modified by teaches the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: determine steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data; and perform one or more of the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the steering coordinates(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0085]-[0103]}; and the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: apply spatial filtering of the audio data based at least in part on the steering coordinates to generate the beamformed audio data for the at least one microphone array; and output the beamformed audio data toward a sound source associated with the steering coordinates(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0063]-[0092]}.
Consider Claims 4 and 5, Rollow teaches the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: select a first microphone array or a second microphone array to output the beamformed audio data based at least in part on a comparison between the SRP transformation of the audio data and an alternate SRP transformation of the audio data. (see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0085]-[0103]}; and the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: select a beamforming lobe for the at least one microphone array to output the beamformed audio data based at least in part on the SNR estimate associated with the SRP transformation(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0110]}.
Consider Claims 6 and 7, Rollow teaches the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: apply predefined beamforming coefficients to respective values of the spatial coordinate grid to generate the SRP transformation (see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0063]-[0092]}; and the beamforming audio processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: determine steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data; compare the steering coordinates against predefined polar patterns to verify the steering coordinates; and perform one or more of the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the steering coordinates(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0085]-[0103]}.
Consider Claims 8 and 9, Rollow teaches the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: determine steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data; compare the steering coordinates to a previous beamformed frame to verify the steering coordinates; and perform one or more of the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the steering coordinates(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0085]-[0103]}; and the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: determine steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data determine a confidence value for the steering coordinates based at least in part on the SNR estimate; and apply spatial filtering of the audio data based at least in part on the confidence value satisfying a confidence threshold(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0110]}.
Consider Claims 10 and 11, Rollow teaches the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: determine steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data determine a confidence value for the steering coordinates based at least in part on the SNR estimate; and update beamforming weights for the audio data based at least in part on the confidence value satisfying a confidence threshold(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0110]}; and the beamforming audio processing apparatus wherein the instructions are further operable to cause the beamforming audio processing apparatus to: compare the SNR estimate to a different SNR estimate for a different microphone array; and responsive to a determination that the SNR estimate is greater than the different SNR estimate, generate the beamformed audio data(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0110]}.
Consider Claim 12, Rollow teaches a computer-implemented method performed by an audio signal processing apparatus(see paragraph[0072]), comprising:
receiving(see figs. 2-5) audio data from a plurality audio capture devices comprising at least one microphone array located within an audio environment; generating a steered response power (SRP) transformation of the audio data, wherein the SRP transformation comprises a set of SRP weights for a spatial coordinate grid representing the audio environment; performing, based at least in part on the (SNR) estimate (see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0063]-[0083]},
one or more of beamforming steering or beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array; and outputting, based at least in part on the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection, beamformed audio data via the at least one microphone array(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0085]-[0103]); but Rollow does not explicitly teach determine a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) estimate based at least in part on the SRP transformation.
However, Southwell teaches determine a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) estimate based at least in part on the SRP transformation; perform, based at least in part on the (SNR) the SNR one or more of beamforming steering or beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array(see figs. 19-20 and paragraphs[0296]-[0298]).; and output, based at least in part on the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection, beamformed audio data via the at least one microphone array(see figs. 7-25 and paragraphs[0296]-[0315]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Southwell in to the teaching of Rollow to provide a first content stream that includes first audio signals, rendering the first audio signals to produce first audio playback signals, generating first direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals, generating first modified audio playback signals by inserting the first DSSS signals into the first audio playback signals, and causing a loudspeaker system to play back the first modified audio playback signals, to generate first audio device playback sound. The method(s) may involve receiving microphone signals corresponding to at least the first audio device playback sound and to second through N.sup.th audio device playback sound corresponding to second through N.sup.th modified audio playback signals (including second through N.sup.th DSSS signals) played back by second through N.sup.th audio devices, extracting second through N.sup.th DSSS signals from the microphone signals and estimating at least one acoustic scene metric based, at least partly, on the second through N.sup.th DSSS signals.
Consider Claims 13 and 14, Rollow teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: determining steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data; and performing one or more of the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the steering coordinates(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0103]); and the computer-implemented method further comprising: applying spatial filtering of the audio data based at least in part on the steering coordinates to generate the beamformed audio data for the at least one microphone array; and outputting the beamformed audio data toward a sound source associated with the steering coordinates(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0103]).
Consider Claims 15 and 16, Rollow teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: selecting a first microphone array or a second microphone array to output the beamformed audio data based at least in part on a comparison between the SRP transformation of the audio data and an alternate SRP transformation of the audio data(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0110]}; and the computer-implemented method further comprising: selecting a beamforming lobe for the at least one microphone array to output the beamformed audio data based at least in part on the SNR estimate associated with the SRP transformation(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0110]}..
Consider Claims 17 and 18, Rollow teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: applying predefined beamforming coefficients to respective values of the spatial coordinate grid to generate the SRP transformation(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0103]); and the computer-implemented method further comprising: determining steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data; comparing the steering coordinates against predefined polar patterns to verify the steering coordinates; and performing one or more of the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the steering coordinates(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0103])..
Consider Claim 19, Rollow teaches the computer-implemented method further comprising: determining steering coordinates for at least one beamforming lobe associated with the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the SRP transformation of the audio data; comparing the steering coordinates to a previous beamformed frame to verify the steering coordinates; and performing one or more of the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array based at least in part on the steering coordinates(see figs. 2-14E and paragraphs[0065]-[0110]}.
Consider Claim 20, Rollow teaches a computer program product, stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium(see paragraph[0072]), comprising instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of an audio signal processing apparatus, cause the one or more processors(see figs. 2-5 and paragraphs[0058]-[0068]) to:
receive (see figs. 2-5) audio data from a plurality audio capture devices comprising at least one microphone array located within an audio environment; generate a steered response power (SRP) transformation of the audio data, wherein the SRP transformation comprises a set of SRP weights for a spatial coordinate grid representing the audio environment; perform, based at least in part on the (SNR) estimate(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0063]-[0083]},
one or more of beamforming steering or beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array; and output, based at least in part on the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection, beamformed audio data via the at least one microphone array(see figs. 5-14E and paragraphs[0085]-[0103]); but Rollow does not explicitly teach determine a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) estimate based at least in part on the SRP transformation.
However, Southwell teaches determine a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) estimate based at least in part on the SRP transformation; perform, based at least in part on the (SNR) the SNR one or more of beamforming steering or beamforming selection with respect to the at least one microphone array(see figs. 19-20 and paragraphs[0296]-[0298]); and output, based at least in part on the beamforming steering or the beamforming selection, beamformed audio data via the at least one microphone array(see figs. 7-25 and paragraphs[0296]-[0315]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the invention was made to combine the teaching of Southwell in to the teaching of Rollow to provide a first content stream that includes first audio signals, rendering the first audio signals to produce first audio playback signals, generating first direct sequence spread spectrum (DSSS) signals, generating first modified audio playback signals by inserting the first DSSS signals into the first audio playback signals, and causing a loudspeaker system to play back the first modified audio playback signals, to generate first audio device playback sound. The method(s) may involve receiving microphone signals corresponding to at least the first audio device playback sound and to second through N.sup.th audio device playback sound corresponding to second through N.sup.th modified audio playback signals (including second through N.sup.th DSSS signals) played back by second through N.sup.th audio devices, extracting second through N.sup.th DSSS signals from the microphone signals and estimating at least one acoustic scene metric based, at least partly, on the second through N.sup.th DSSS signals.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Zheng et. al. (US 2025/0080892) is cited to show other related the BEAMFORMING FOR A MICROPHONE ARRAY BASED ON A STEERED RESPONSE POWER TRANSFORMATION OF AUDIO DATA.
10. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M(SPE), can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691 US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7501
Date 05-26-2026