Response to Arguments
The applicant has argued that amendments made to the independent claims overcome the currently rendered rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101. These arguments are persuasive as the independent claims now contain limitations that discloses “a camera configured to acquire a camera image representing an environment around the vehicle including a lane marking around the vehicle” which represents an additional element that is sufficient to integrate the abstract idea recited in the claims into a practical application and therefore the claims are eligible. Accordingly, the corresponding rejections are hereby withdrawn
The applicant has argued that amendments made to the claims overcome the prior art rejections rendered under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1). These arguments are moot, however, as a new grounds of rejection has been identified in a renewed search necessitated by said amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fowe (US 2020/0292338) in view of Urano (US 2020/0272832).
As per Claim 1:
Fowe discloses the following limitations:
“A vehicle comprising: a positioning information receiving device configured to output position information representing a current position of the vehicle; a camera configured to acquire a camera image representing an environment around the vehicle including land marking line around the vehicle; a processor configured to… generate probe data representing a road feature based on the camera image representing the environment around the vehicle; generate lane information representing a position of a lane in a road in which the vehicle was traveling when the road feature represented by the probe data was detected, based on the camera image representing the lane marking line around the vehicle”
Fowe Paragraph [0034] discloses a system that generates lane information based on recognition of lane markings as a vehicle travels along a path using a camera. Paragraph [0027] discloses a positioning system.
“transmit the lane information via a communication device and receive a determination result representing whether or not there is a transmission request for transmitting the probe data, which is determined based on the lane information, and transmit the probe data via the communication device when the determination result representing the transmission request is received”
Fowe Paragraph [0030] discloses a system that receives probe data in order to identify dangerous conditions in individual lanes, this data can be real-time and is therefore requested from the probes.
“wherein a map for automatic vehicular operation is generated or updated based on the transmitted probe data”
Fowe Paragraph [0037] discloses updating a map based on the data collected by a vehicle.
Fowe does not disclose the following limitations that Urano does disclose:
“…based on whether the current position of the vehicle represented by the position information is included in a collection target area...”
Urano Paragraph [0038] discloses determining the current lane of a vehicle and whether the vehicle needs to change lanes to arrive in a “collection target area” in order to begin collecting data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Fowe with the recognition of a current area as a collection target area disclosed by Urano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more efficient by ensuring data collection only takes place at relevant locations.
With regards to Claim 2, Fowe in view of Urano discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the lane information includes information representing whether the lane in which the vehicle travels is traveling on the leftmost side of the road, on the rightmost side of the road, or other than the leftmost and rightmost sides of the road.”
Fowe Paragraph [0064] discloses identifying whether a lane a vehicle is in is the left lane or center-right lane which demonstrates that all possible lane positions are accounted for included left-most, right-most, and any other lane position.
With regards to Claim 3, Fowe in view of Urano discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the lane information includes left side information representing a road feature partitioning the left end of the traveling lane relative to a direction of travel of the vehicle and right side information representing a road feature partitioning the right end of the traveling lane relative to the direction of travel of the vehicle.”
Fowe Paragraph [0034] discloses using lane markers to identify lanes and Paragraph [0064] discloses identifying which lanes in specific.
With regards to Claim 4, Fowe in view of Urano discloses all of the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses the following limitations:
“wherein the processor is further configured to generate a group of probe data including a plurality of the probe data for each predetermined data collection period, determine whether or not the vehicle has moved between lanes in a road within the data collection period based on the information representing the lane marking line around the vehicle, and generate a first group of the probe data including a plurality of the probe data representing the road feature detected in a lane before movement between lanes and a second group of the probe data including a plurality of the probe data representing the road feature detected in a lane after movement between lanes, and a first group of the lane information including a plurality of the lane information representing a position of the lane before movement between lanes corresponding to the first group of the probe data and a second group of the lane information including a plurality of the lane information representing a position of a lane after movement between lanes corresponding to the second group of the probe data, when it has been determined that the vehicle has moved between lanes of the road within the data collection period”
Fowe Paragraph [0030] discloses identifying the individual lanes in which a probe vehicle was travelling in real-time which would include when the vehicle changes lanes.
As per Claim 5:
Fowe discloses the following limitations:
“A data collecting system comprising: a vehicle comprising: a positioning information receiving device configured to output position information representing a current position of the vehicle; a camera configured to acquire a camera image representing an environment around the vehicle including land marking line around the vehicle; a communication device; and a device processor configured to… generate probe data representing a road feature based on the camera image representing the environment around the vehicle; generate lane information representing a position of a lane in a road in which the vehicle was traveling when the road feature represented by the probe data was detected, based on the camera image representing the lane marking line around the vehicle,”
Fowe Paragraphs [0030]-[0034] disclose vehicles that represent probes that gather data that identifies lanes.
“transmit the lane information to a server via the communication device and receive, for the server, a determination result representing whether or not there is a transmission request for transmitting the probe data, which is determined based on the lane information, and transmit the probe data to the server via the communication device when the determination result representing the transmission request is received;”
Fowe Paragraph [0030] discloses a system that receives probe data in order to identify dangerous conditions in individual lanes, this data can be real-time and is therefore requested from the probes.
“and the server comprising: a server communication interface; and a server processor configured to generate the determination result based on the lane information received from the vehicle via the server communication interface and collection lane information representing a lane for which it is necessary to collect the probe data, and transmit the determination result to the vehicle via the server communication interface.”
Fowe Paragraph [0030] discloses a central server receiving probe data.
“based on the transmitted determination result, receive the probe data from the vehicle, and generate or update a map for automatic vehicular operation based on the received probe data”
Fowe Paragraph [0037] discloses updating a map based on the data collected by a vehicle.
Fowe does not disclose the following limitations that Urano does disclose
“…based on whether the current position of the vehicle represented by the position information is included in a collection target area...”
Urano Paragraph [0038] discloses determining the current lane of a vehicle and whether the vehicle needs to change lanes to arrive in a “collection target area” in order to begin collecting data.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify the system disclosed by Fowe with the recognition of a current area as a collection target area disclosed by Urano. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to make the system more efficient by ensuring data collection only takes place at relevant locations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach examiner by telephone are unsuccessful the examiner’s supervisor, Vivek Koppikar can be reached on (571) 272-5109. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/GODFREY ALEKSANDER MACIOROWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 3667
/JOAN T GOODBODY/Examiner, Art Unit 3667