DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 2 recites the limitation "the front casing" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear to the Examiner whether the limitation, “the front casing” is the same or different element from the previously recited “casing”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okuda (JP2012185246 and its English Translation).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4, Okuda teaches an imaging apparatus comprising:
a casing (16) having first and second attachment surfaces;
a sheet fixing member (76) having first and second contact surfaces (77 and 81) and coming into contact with the first and second attachment surfaces, respectively; and
a sheet-like member (66) disposed between the casing and the sheet-fixing member,
the sheet fixing member including a first portion and a second portion displaceable relative to the first portion (the engagement piece 81 is an elastic piece configured as displaceable relative to the base portion 77),
the first contact surface of the sheet fixing member disposed on the first portion, the second contact surface of the sheet fixing member disposed on the second portion (Fig. 1, a portion of the base portion 77 is in contact with the casing 16);
wherein the sheet fixing member (76) includes a connecting portion connecting the first portion and the second portion, and wherein the connecting portion is smaller than the first portion and the second portion in size in a direction where the front casing and the sheet fixing member face each other [claim 2]; and
wherein the second contact surface of the sheeting fixing member in contact with the second attachment surface of the casing via a portion of the sheet-like member (Fig. 1, a portion of the FPC board 66 interposed the casing and the sheet fixing member) [claim 4].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okuda in view of Owaki (US Pub. No. 2019/0174623).
Regarding claim 5, Okuda teaches all the claimed limitations except for the casing is fabricated from a metallic material, the sheet-like member is a flexible circuit board having a grounding terminal, and wherein the portion of the sheet-like member is the grounding terminal. Owaki teaches an imaging apparatus comprising a casing (16) is fabricated from a metallic material (para. 70), a sheet-like member (36) is a flexible circuit board having a grounding terminal, and wherein the portion of the sheet-like member is the grounding terminal (para. 13). It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a metallic casing and a flexible circuit board with a grounding terminal as taught by Owaki within said imaging apparatus in order to obtain a smaller and compact imaging assembly.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, applicant has sufficiently defined and claimed an imaging apparatus, whereby the prior art does not teach or suggest the first and second attachment surfaces of the casing each have a threaded hole, wherein the first and second contact surfaces of the sheet fixing member each have a through hole, and wherein the imaging apparatus further comprises a fixing screw passing through the through hole of the sheet fixing member to engage with the threaded hole of the casing, in combination with all other limitations set forth in the claim.
Regarding claim 6, applicant has sufficiently defined and claimed an imaging apparatus, whereby the prior art does not teach or suggest a wireless communication unit connected to the sheet-like member to perform wireless communication with an external apparatus, wherein the wireless communication unit is electrically connected to the casing via the grounding terminal of the sheet-like member, in combination with all other limitations set forth in the claim.
Regarding claim 7, applicant has sufficiently defined and claimed an imaging apparatus, whereby the prior art does not teach or suggest an operation button supported by the casing in an advanceable and retractable manner, wherein the sheet-like member is a flexible circuit board having a switch to be pressed by the operation button, in combination with all other limitations set forth in the claim.
Conclusion
MINH Q. PHAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/MINH Q PHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852