DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (2019/0255392). Claim 1, Watanabe discloses a multi-piece solid golf ball comprising a core, an intermediate layer, and a cover, wherein the core is formed of a rubber composition into a single layer or a plurality of layers, the intermediate layer and the cover are both formed of a single-layer resin composition [0028, 0032, 0059, 0067], and a relationship among an initial velocity of the core, an initial velocity of a sphere (intermediate layer-encased sphere) obtained by encasing the core with the intermediate layer, and an initial velocity of a sphere (ball) obtained by encasing the intermediate layer-encased sphere with the cover satisfies the following two conditions: 1) (initial velocity of ball = 77.2) < (initial velocity of intermediate layer-encased sphere =77.9) (table 5, example 1); 2) 0.60 ≤ (initial velocity of intermediate layer-encased sphere = 77.9) - (initial velocity of core = 77.3) ≤ 0.90 (m/s) (table 5, example 1), wherein when each sphere of the core and the ball is compressed under a final load of 1,275 N (130 kgf) from an initial load of 98 N (10 kgf) and deflections (mm) are denoted by C (mm) and B (mm), respectively, a value of C - B (3-2.4 = 0.6) is not more than 1.10 mm (table 5, example 1), and a relationship between a thickness of the intermediate layer and a diameter of the ball satisfies the following condition: 0.024 ≤ (thickness of intermediate layer)/(diameter of ball) ≤ 0.034 [1.2/42.7 = 0.28] (table 5, example 1). Claim 2, a specific gravity of the intermediate layer is at least 1.05 [0061]. Claim 3, the resin composition of the intermediate layer contains a high-acid ionomer resin having an acid content of at least 16 wt% [0059]. Claim 5, a difference between a specific gravity of the cover (1.15) and a specific gravity of the intermediate layer (1.1) [0061](table 5, example 1); a difference between the specific gravity of the intermediate layer (1.1) and a specific gravity of the core (1.05) [0058, 0061]; and a difference between the specific gravity of the core (1.05) and the specific gravity of the cover (1.15) [0058] (table 5, example 1) are all within 0.15. Claim 6, the deflection B of the ball has a value of 2.4 mm (table 5, example 1). Claim 7, the following condition is satisfied: ball surface hardness (59 = 88 Shore C) < surface hardness of intermediate layer-encased sphere (69 = 101 Shore C) > core surface hardness (92), where the surface hardness of each sphere means Shore C hardness (table 5, example 1). Claim 8, the following condition is satisfied: cover thickness (0.8) < intermediate layer thickness (1.2), where the intermediate layer thickness is 1.2 mm (table 5, example 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (2019/0255392) in view of Simonutti et al. (2004/0038752). Watanabe does not disclose fillers in the intermediate layer. Simonutti teaches an intermediate layer containing an inorganic particulate filler [0021]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included the filler in the layer for the desired weight.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (2019/0255392) in view of Watanabe (2021/0346765). Claim 9, Watanabe ‘392 does not disclose the hardness profile. Watanabe ‘765 teaches a core diameter of from 35.1 to 41.3 mm [0040], and the core has a hardness profile in which, letting the Shore C hardness at a core center be Cc, the Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm outward from the core center be Cc+4, the Shore C hardness at a midpoint M between the core center and a core surface be Cm, the Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm inward from the midpoint M of the core be Cm-4, the Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm outward from the midpoint M of the core be Cm+4, the Shore C hardness at a position 4 mm inward from the core surface be Cs-4, and the Shore C hardness at the core surface be Cs, and defining surface areas A to D as follows: surface area A: 1/2×4×(Cc+4 - Cc) surface area B: 1/2×4×(Cm - Cm-4) surface area C: 1/2×4×(Cm+4 - Cm) surface area D: 1/2×4×(Cs - Cs-4) [0051], wherein (surface area C + surface area D) - (surface area A + surface area B) ≥ 2.0 is satisfied [(14.8 +15.5) – (4.6 + 7.8) = 17.9] (table 5, example 4). Claim 10, the following two conditions are satisfied: (surface area C) - (surface area A + surface area B) ≥ 2.0 [(14.8) – (4.6 + 7.8) = 2.4]; (surface area D) - (surface area A + surface area B) ≥ 2.0 [(15.5) – (4.6 + 7.8) = 3.1] (table 5, example 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the core hardness profile for improved distance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
December 18, 2025